Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Garmin Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

Garmin Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

The Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS takes one of the most popular and reliable GPS handhelds and makes it better. Redesigned ergonomics, an easier-to-use interface, paperless geocaching and expanded mapping capabilities add up to serious improvements for an already legendary GPS handheld. The Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS is versatile and tough. And it's built to handle whatever Mother Nature can dish out and more. With a 2.2" 65K color display, you can use this portable GPS navigation system even under bright sunlight. To offer precise direction, it is WAAS-enabled and also has HotFix satellite prediction. With an array of mounts, you can easily mount this Garmin eTrex GPS in your motorcycle.
Average Customer Rating:
4.158 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation86%49 out of 57reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
51 Questions | 102 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

Sweeeeet!!!!

07/22/2013
By ,
Burlingame, Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Doesn't come with much of a map but you can get maps on the internet for free or purchase them from various sites.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

great safty item

10/05/2013
By ,
waterport ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
as a gift to son in law, he is thrilled and states it does every thing he wished for
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

This GPS is a good value.

01/18/2014
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The GPS has more features than I expected even after reading the product specs and description I use it for hunting and fishing and some work related operations. The instructions for overlaying graphics on the unit were somewhat vague. Using MYTOPO.COM and GOOGLE EARTH I have been able to install many maps that are very helpful. I was hoping for more accurate satellite readings but it does do as specified.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

Hunting

01/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works very well, lightweight for backcountry hunting. Quick reception, easy todonwload dditional maps....
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

Ready to Hike

02/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I havent had a chance yet to do any major hiking with it but it did show me the way back to my starting point. The directions are not as clear on how to use it as I would like but i am sure over time it will really come in handy. I like tge small size and the cute little joystick. I got lost last time I hiked so i am hoping this will make my trips more enjoyable.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

It does what it is supposed to do!

12/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are very happy with our Garmin e-Trex! Only thing we wish is that the screen were a little larger.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

Good service

09/13/2014
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this product. Walmart shipped on time. Will use them again.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

great quality.

12/02/2012
By ,
transfer pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does need more instructions. But a great item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

Having used other GPS units, this is the easiest.

06/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For anybody seeking a GPS to be used in various situations, this is the one. Easy to understand the menu system and step through the options. Thumb toggle is a little sensitive but with little practice it's not that bad. Love it and won't be looking for another anytime soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

Works great !!

12/15/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The eTrex 20 is a great GPS unit. Has a lot of functions and does all of them exceptionally well. Easy to use with a very readable screen in color. Would definitely recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

Very useful and reliable.

10/02/2014
By ,
PR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rugged, flexible and reliable for city walking but you have to learn by yourself how to use it, the manual is too short. Garmin maps expensive but you can use OSM instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

I haven't used it in the field yet!

08/02/2013
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I need to go out and explore to determine the quality of the Etrex20. My initial use was easy and I hope to have a product that gives me what I need. Under the tree positioning was awesome. I am sure the tracking is going to be satisfactory for my use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

Great little unit

06/11/2014
By ,
Washington state
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use and small enough not to be a burden or distraction while hiking. I think the only downfall is the cost of buying extra maps for this unit. A topo map for a Mt. Rainier hike will cost me almosy $100.00.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS
03/14/2013
By ,
Nashville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First time for Walmart.com. Order placed received product ontime great condition and correct value was wxcellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

Small but Accurate GPS with long lasting battery

01/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have hiked three times with this GPS sicnce I purchased.
It is small but amazing acurate GPS with long lasting battery.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

Does everything needed for hiking

12/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A pleasant surprise when it arrived in one day instead of the estimated 7-10. I have been hiking for years with a Garmin GPS and have directed several friends to this same model. It was time for me to upgrade and I knew what I was getting.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

Accurate and can take abuse

01/15/2014
By ,
Boulder, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use the eTrex 20 primarily for backcountry skiing and mountain biking and needless to say it doesn't get pampered. Not only has is come away unscathed after miles of abuse, it has also been impressive with it's accuracy and ability to keep a signal in places my prior GPS units have not (even in blasting snowstorms). There may be fancier units on the market (i.e. more expensive), but this little device is well worth the money. Remember to always back yourself up with a compass...batteries are designed to run out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

Garmin eTrek-20

09/21/2014
By ,
Escalante, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not much to say EXCEPT I did read the reviews and the documentation contained in the package is to get you up and running with little or no explanation on how to "use" the GPS. Works as advertised. Wal-Mart is a lot faster, in getting it to me, then other vendors, a LOT faster...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

Kayak river camping

08/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The eTrex 20 works great for my purposes. Using google and bing maps, I manually entered the way points on the river for where we planned to camp and other landmarks. The proximity alarm worked as advertised and we never missed the sandbar where we planned to camp. The unit has a very basic map installed, but when traveling downstream on a river, the compass is useless, getting lost is just about impossible. I'm thinking about purchasing a sim card with detailed maps, but haven't made up my mind. I was able to save waypoints with a brief description of interesting points along the trip. Batteries lasted for the entire trip of 3 days. Satellite acquisition time was acceptable. There are other GPS units with more bells and whistles, but for an inexpensive unit that shows where you are, where your going and where you've been, this one is perfect.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

good deal

01/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great, great price, good basics.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1 2 3 Next