Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Garmin Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

Garmin Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

The Garmin eTrex 20 Worldwide Handheld GPS Navigator takes one of the most popular and reliable GPS handhelds and makes it better. Redesigned ergonomics, an easier-to-use interface, paperless geocaching and expanded mapping capabilities add up to serious improvements for an already legendary GPS handheld. The eTrex 20 Waterproof GPS Navigator is versatile and tough. And it's built to handle whatever Mother Nature can dish out and more. With a 2.2" 65K color display, you can use this portable GPS navigation system even under bright sunlight. To offer precise direction, it is WAAS-enabled and also has HotFix satellite prediction. With an array of mounts, you can easily mount this Garmin eTrex 20 Worldwide Handheld GPS Navigator in your motorcycle.
Average Customer Rating:
3.971 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation82%28 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 75 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

Sweeeeet!!!!

07/22/2013
By ,
Burlingame, Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Doesn't come with much of a map but you can get maps on the internet for free or purchase them from various sites.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

E-TREX 20

12/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely outstanding GPS!!! Does everything you could possibly need for your navigational needs in an austere environment. Lightweight, color screen, leaves tracks, way points can have proximity alerts, can put it all together for a comprehensive route plan. You can transfer it all onto your computer, make changes, and transfer it back (USB). Great professional tool for Marines.
Semper Fi.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

I haven't used it in the field yet!

08/02/2013
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I need to go out and explore to determine the quality of the Etrex20. My initial use was easy and I hope to have a product that gives me what I need. Under the tree positioning was awesome. I am sure the tracking is going to be satisfactory for my use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

Accurate and can take abuse

01/15/2014
By ,
Boulder, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use the eTrex 20 primarily for backcountry skiing and mountain biking and needless to say it doesn't get pampered. Not only has is come away unscathed after miles of abuse, it has also been impressive with it's accuracy and ability to keep a signal in places my prior GPS units have not (even in blasting snowstorms). There may be fancier units on the market (i.e. more expensive), but this little device is well worth the money. Remember to always back yourself up with a compass...batteries are designed to run out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

Works great !!

12/15/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The eTrex 20 is a great GPS unit. Has a lot of functions and does all of them exceptionally well. Easy to use with a very readable screen in color. Would definitely recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS
03/14/2013
By ,
Nashville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First time for Walmart.com. Order placed received product ontime great condition and correct value was wxcellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

great quality.

12/02/2012
By ,
transfer pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does need more instructions. But a great item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

great safty item

10/05/2013
By ,
waterport ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
as a gift to son in law, he is thrilled and states it does every thing he wished for
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS
09/09/2013
By ,
Jefferson City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this portable GPS to use for geocaching and it has definitely met our needs. There are MANY other uses for these kinds of units and being an avid outdoors person it will come in handy for fishing and hunting as well. I looked at other portable GPS systems, read lots of reviews on them and this particular one. For the money we were wanting to spend, or not spend, and all the features this one has we decided on this one and have not regretted one moment of our purchase. I also think the ease of use is a plus. We geocache at least twice week now. I would recommend this GPS.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

This GPS is a good value.

01/18/2014
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The GPS has more features than I expected even after reading the product specs and description I use it for hunting and fishing and some work related operations. The instructions for overlaying graphics on the unit were somewhat vague. Using MYTOPO.COM and GOOGLE EARTH I have been able to install many maps that are very helpful. I was hoping for more accurate satellite readings but it does do as specified.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

Great for hiking & biking!

06/14/2012
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maps are not a problem if you have the internet. Any thing you buy now a days, if it's missing something you can just punch it into the net with the word free in front of it and just watch how many things pop up. Use with caution of course but I have gotten topo maps, Illinois maps, trail maps etc for free and my gps works great. It's a little hard to figure out at first but gets easier with use. U-tube is a great help to see how it works. It is pretty small on handlebars, say a bit thicker than my cell phone, but about the same height. The way point features are great for many uses. Just got it yesterday, can't wait to try it in field today!! Oh yeah the bird's eye view, best ever!!! You have to pay to subscribe to it or you can just get a sample area, which I did and way cool. only $30 a yr I think to get it, might be worth it to you if you don't care for the Topo maps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Parrish
Your review after use
Posted 07/06/2013
Did you get a chance to try his out yet? Just curious after he field test.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

For the recreational to serious hiker

02/17/2012
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an exceptional value for the recreational to serious hiker but not for the professional who wants extreme accuracy. Learning curve for a portable hiker GPS is harder than the learning curve for a car GPS. This unit is easily readable in the sunlight - able to track both the USA satillites and the Russian Glonoss satilites for greater accuracy - has microSD card holder for 24K US Geological maps - use City Navagator for all roads in North America - uses Bluechart maps for marine use on the water - uses replacable 2xAA batteries. The unit comes pre-loaded with a basic map set that is of little use so one has to purchase maps for an additional cost (between $60-$80). Never used a portable GPS unit before- spent months researching the right type of GPS to purchase for back county wilderness hiking and snow showing in the High Tor Wilderness area - selected this unit for cost efficiency and features. This is a great cost effective unit -- good for geocaching but accuracy is within 10-20 feet and less accurate when one is within 10 feet of the geocatch. The tracking feature is great -- it leaves an electronic "bread crumb" trail as one hikes - and then one can follow this 'bread crumb" trail back to the starting point using the electronic compass or the map. Have not tried the mapping features of the unit but need a computer and software (free from Garmin) to use these features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

Love it!

03/21/2014
By ,
Fitzgerald, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great! I use it for Geocaching and it works great. I'm able to find them a lot faster. I didn't realize it when I bought it but you can't use it for driving. It gives a birds eye view of how to get somewhere. Not complaining, just letting others know. This is my first handheld. Easy to learn the system. Still use my phone for turn by turn directions. Still haven't had to replace the batteries, which surprised me. Able to mark waypoints so I can always find my way back to my car on those long hikes. Highly recommend this gps. Especially if you go in areas that don't have cell service. Also tracks where you go so you can see where all you went, how many miles, how fast you where going, and how long. Great handheld at a great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS
12/27/2012
By ,
NW Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This eTrex 20 works very well but doesn't seem as heavy duty as the GPSMAP® 60CSx that we're currently using. We purchased the eTrex 20 for Fire Department use so we'll find out how tough it really is.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

A good deal over all.

05/24/2013
By ,
Caldwell, ID
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The eTrex 20 is easy to use. The different pages are easy to find and to navigate through. After playing with it a few minutes I could find the different pages and options without having to refer to the manual for every little step. The pages are well laid out and easy to read.
Two things that I don't like: First, the joystick protrudes from the face slightly, which I suppose is necessary in order to be able to work it. The problem is, in a tight shirt pocket or in a tight pouch of any sort the friction of moving around is probably going to be accidentally working that toggle and making it do things you may not want it to do. For myself, I will generally have it mounted on the handlebars of an ATV, so shouldn't actually experience that problem too often. The second problem, though, is something that I will have to deal with. The track line on the map page is difficult to see in the daylight. There are options for different colors, but none of the options are black. The options available are all pale colors, and are hard to see against the colorful map background.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS
09/29/2013
By ,
Redmond, Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little GPS, meets and go's beyond all my caching requirements, great battery life.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

Preliminary opinion

08/09/2013
By ,
Aurora, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have not worked with it enough to feel competent. It does a lot. Topo Maps and SD micro card needs to be purchased separately.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

Great for Gocaching

06/23/2013
By ,
Claremore, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this GPS unit specifically for geocaching. I have been using an iPhone to do geocaching & really like it but wanted something I could use anywhere in the world without having to pay for data. Prices ranged from $166 (on walmart.com) to $199. I also had to purchase an SD micro card for about $10 to store the maps I wanted. The unit comes with a base map that is of no use at all. At least not for my purposes. Maps can be purchased from Garmin but I'm too cheap for that so I downloaded a free routable street map for the USA at http://www.osmmaps.com/maps/united-states It took a long time because the file is huge. Follow the install instructions--super easy, even for non-techies. If you want only certain cities or other countries check here for maps http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl/ (not as easy as the previous link, but if you're as cheap as I am, you will take the time to figure it out like I did) The device powers on quickly and the screen is easy to read even in bright sunlight and shows a strong GPS signal even in heavily wooded areas. When you activate the Geocaching dashboard, the top of the screen shows the name of the cache, terrain, difficulty and size of the cache, and a compass. I am not a premium member on geocaching.com, but if you are you can also access the logs, descriptions and hints. It is easy to load the caches on your GPS with just a few clicks. Uploading the field notes from the GPS to Geocaching.com was a little confusing at first. On your profile, look on the right side under "field notes". I have not used opencaching.com with this device. I have been using it for just over 2 weeks for about 3-4 hours a day and the regular Rayovak batteries are holding up just fine, even with keeping my screen on all the time at the highest brightness setting. Still shows a nearly full charge. The user interface is not as friendly as the iPhone, but what is. The menus & how to access them are not very intuitive. The best tip I can give on that is if you're not on the screen you think you should be, press the back button and try again. I recommend downloading the manual and reading it to set up your device. Then take it out for a test run. If it doesn't show something you think it should, or shows something you don't want, check the manual and make adjustments. This made a big difference in my geocaching experience. By the third outing I had it set up exactly as I want it. Watch out for the option to restore defaults. That got me more than once & I had to start over with my set up. You can make different profiles for different uses and it's pretty easy to switch back and forth. As far as accuracy, I have found it to be much more accurate than my iPhone. It usually puts me within 2-4 feet of finding my cache. If you are looking for a GPS for Geocaching, I would recommend the eTrex20. I have found it to be a good value and after spending time reading the manual, does exactly what I want it to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

About all you need!

03/07/2014
By ,
North-central Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this unit as a basic GPS for hiking, geocaching and marking fishing hot spots on the local lake. While there are cheaper Garmin units, I selected the eTrex 20 because it can be upgraded with the various maps available from Garmin thus making it far more versatile than Garmin units costing less.
This GPS comes only with the Worldwide DEM Basemap. As the name implies, this map covers a very large area, but does not offer a great deal of detail, such as unpaved roads, etc. You will definitely have to upgrade maps if you want turn-by-turn driving instructions in your car, or shoreline details on the lake.
The unit is loaded with features; far more than I knew when I order it. Navigating through the menus is quit easy and intuitive. I really like the fact that the full instruction manual is loaded in the GPS's software, so downloading the file to your computer is a snap using the provided cable.
Small, lightweight, has a compass and provides elevation. A slick unit for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin eTrex 20 2.2" Portable GPS

Perfect for Geocaching

04/09/2014
By ,
Waycross, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I downloaded some free maps and got right to geocaching. Easy to learn with all the booklets that come included. Only negative is that I feel it was overpriced.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next