Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Singer Singer Red Dress Form, DF151

Singer Singer Red Dress Form, DF151

Seamstresses and designers alike will delight in the cheerful Singer DF151 Red Dress Form. The fabric dress form includes 13 dials for adjusting body contours — bust, waist, hip, length and neck. Height adjustment is a snap, too. Lightweight and durable, the Singer Adjustable Dress Form is quality constructed of dense foam and durable natural fabric. The form is an excellent tool for any sewer who wants to achieve professional results with the look and fit of her garments. The fabric dress form makes it is easy to see the drape and hang of a fabric on the body, and easily adjust patterns before cutting any fabric. With a red foam-backed fabric cover you can easily pin directly to the form. A hem gauge and basting attachment are included. The Singer DF151 Red Dress Form will make dress design and construction a snap!
Average Customer Rating:
3.925 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation82%33 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 23 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Singer Red Dress Form, DF151

No size was mentioned on the web page.

08/30/2012
By ,
Smithtown, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I picked up the dress form from the store I was very surprised to read the size on the box. I purchased this dress form to display my mothers antique wedding gown at my daughters wedding only to discover the dress wouldn't fit. I thought the dress form would be adjustable considering no size was mentioned on the web page. I needed a small size 6-8 dress form only to receive an extra large form, size 16-22. I returned the dress form and then had to search for a dress form from a local store which caused me much stress at the last minute before the wedding. I can't say anything about the quality of the dress form because I never opened the box once I discovered its size. I was pleased Walmart accepted the return without any hassle but would have been happier had I known the size before I purchased.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hampton va
re size
Posted 11/01/2013
if the two that complained about the size had read the specifications they would have read the measurements that the form fits...don't blame the manufacturer OR walmart for something the two of you failed to do, I have this form and absolutely love it, perfect size and easy to adjust .WITHIN the size range it so clearly states ..research next time, save yourself time and bother
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Singer Red Dress Form, DF151

Nice appearance, but unstable

04/01/2014
By ,
Calexico CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros:
This was the most cheap adjustable dress form I could found.
The box looked bad, but the dress form itself came safe in a plastic bag.
Even if -the base- is like a base of fan, is pretty stable.
It was available only in red color, but looks good.
Cons:
It arrived just in the original box, it looked very old or kicked (2 sides bare cardboard, the other 2 sides old inked look).
Size not match with the description on-line neither the original box.
At adjust the measures, one dial doesn't maintains!!
I knew it would be light weighted, but the dress form moves a lot at working time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Singer Red Dress Form, DF151

Poorly made

12/27/2013
By ,
SF Bay Area
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this dress form to replace a similarly adjustable one purchased 20 years ago that broke. When the dials are turned, the four quarters of the dress form above and below the waist (8 total) move apart or close depending which way each section's dial is turned. The form's sections do not stay evenly lined up, resulting in up to nearly a half inch difference in how far each side extends outward, and when closing, the sections have a tendency to overlap as well. You'd need to pad each area differently to address the resulting discrepancies. There's hardly any depth to the fabric glued to the form, and I don't think it would be easy to pin your fabric to the form. I took this purchase back and spent more money to get a much higher quality product. .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Singer Red Dress Form, DF151

Love this dress form and great price!

02/09/2014
By ,
Clovis, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got the DF151 model which states sizes 16-22. But, do yourself a favor and go by the measurements not rack size!! I originally got the medium DF150 model because it showed for sizes 10-16. I did check my measurements and originally was going to get the large but I thought since the medium was within the size range I am (12-14), I would go with it. Should have trusted my first instincts...had to return the medium and go with the large, DF151. However, due to my broad shoulders, big bust (hard to find clothes because of my bra size) and a little bit of a "booty", I had to turn the knobs on most of this to the farthest they could go. I don't see how this would fit a size 22 considering I am not more than a size 14 and, depending on the brand, size 12. So, just make sure you do ALL your body measurements BEFORE you buy if you are a size 16 or above. I am lucky that this form fits my measurements nearly perfect! :-)
Also, if you have to open the form to the widest and you get the gaps, just put a stretchy camisole on it. I used my spandex undergarment tank to put over it and it works great! I can still stick pins in where the gaps are because of the tank over it. I absolutely love this form and will be getting a medium one so I can sew some outfits for my 22 year old.
I have seen complaints that people didn't realize what size they got because the Walmart description online doesn't say. But, you should go by your body's measurements and not the rack size or whether it's medium or large. Maybe that's why they didn't put it because they give you the range of measurements in the "description" so look there and measure your body - bust, waist, hips and from back of neck to waist to make sure the dimensions go with your physic. Do not ever trust the rack size number for a dress form and, especially, for sewing patterns because you may be disappointed. All in all, this is a great product for the low price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Singer Red Dress Form, DF151

This was easy to put together and easy to adjust.

12/17/2013
By ,
Aiken, South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dress form was easy to put together and easy to adjust. The size listed on the box threw me off and I thought I had received the incorrect size; however, based on my measurements it works great. Don't expect the "box" size to match your retail dress size or your pattern size. Go strictly by the measurements and you'll be happy with the finished results. I do not have any problems with the stability of the stand. If you want to place the form on a thickly padded carpet, you might want to weight the legs with ankle weights.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Singer Red Dress Form, DF151

Great way to adjust, good value for money

03/12/2013
By ,
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is going to be the cheapest most versatile dress form you will find. Believe me, I tried looking for it everywhere (amazon and other shops). Other dress forms alike are at least 200 dollars.
Assembling the dress form wasn't too difficult, it will take 15-20 minutes if you have a hard time understanding how it goes together from only the picture in the box.
I like this dressform because you can really adjust it everywhere. You can adjust how tall the person is, and how wide or narrow in the back, front, sides and even the neck.
Now to what I don't like: The minimal measurement on this dress form is chest 40, waist 32, and hips 40 inches. The problem arises when you have someone that is a bit wider on the waist, because if you turn the knobs, the body will be proportional to the beginning measurement, so the chest will become even wider.
One way around this is to put some fabric around the waist to make a padding-like on the dressform, which I might try later.
This dress form has some padding, it has been easy to pin fabric or patterns to it. You can also use it for draping but you will need to make a cover (just use jersey fabric and put it together with a sewing machine around the dress form, there are many sources online that tell you how to do this. Just google dress form cover).
Anyway, I love my dressform and it has been very useful so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Singer Red Dress Form, DF151

Better than Expected

09/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dress form has a greater ability to adjust to different body shapes than those I've had before. This seems to be due to the additional adjustment dials placed for breast-waist-upper hip-lower hip sizing. The stand is also more stable because it has four legs instead of the usual three. It's also light weight, which makes it easy for me to move as needed. I haven't used the hem guide yet but it seems quite helpful. I am very happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Singer Red Dress Form, DF151

Great for seamstresses of all levels.

02/11/2014
By ,
Bradenton, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Daughter and I have been wanting a dress form for a very long time.
Being larger women, I was concerned that it wouldn't be what we needed to help us
really enjoy making the clothes that each of us want. Surprisingly it fits our needs
quite well.
The part that I love the most is that I can tweak the dimensions in one area but not
another. Allowing me to adjust the pattern, material, facing and trim to best tailor
the item to my needs.
Wonderful product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Singer Red Dress Form, DF151

This product is unique in features for the price.

11/10/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked for a dress form with a torso length adjustment for several months--with no luck until I found DF151. I couldn't be more pleased with this product. I assembled it in minutes. I adjusted it in several more minutes. I had read that these light weight dress forms were unstable. This is not a problem that I can see. I can move it easily with one hand--it only weighs a little over eleven pounds. Again, I couldn't be more pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Singer Red Dress Form, DF151

Love It!

03/09/2013
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dress form is very useful. It's great to see what you're working on in 3D. Love that it is adjustable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Singer Red Dress Form, DF151

great

02/16/2013
By ,
white bluff, tn.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love my dress form. it is just what i have been wanting for a couple of years now and the price fits right into my pocket-book. i am already using it and everything about it is perfect. thanks for everything. skw
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Singer Red Dress Form, DF151

Would have gotten 5 Stars if sent RIGHT SIZE

04/24/2013
By ,
Fort Lauderdale, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
They sent me a Size 16-22 women's dress size mannequin.
Really? That's the size they sent me. That's a plus size. I ordered a regular mannequin.
No offense, but if there is more than one size options, we should have a choice to know before it ships. Now I have to go back to the store to return it which is time wasted.
I really wanted to use this tool for making costumes this week. Plus, I have to drive all the way across town to Jo-Ann Fabrics to buy their mannequin because they offer sizes.
Looks like it would have been a wonderful purchase if it was the right size. :-) Ordering department needs to fix this asap.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Singer Red Dress Form, DF151

This is based on sewing sizes, not rack sizes.

01/05/2014
By ,
Central California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what was described. I understood what real sizes I needed when I went looking for this item. If you are looking for an adjustable form, make sure you base it on actual measurements (neck, bust, waist, hips) and not generalizations (small, medium, large, 8, 10, 12). There are way too many variations in clothing these days. I ordered this for my wife and we were able to adjust it to fit the clothes she wears. This will allow her to tailor fit her outfits.
Shipping was fast, came in early even though I ordered it the day after Christmas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Singer Red Dress Form, DF151

Great for others like me that are new to fitting

04/01/2013
By ,
Cypress Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its a good product for beginners learning to fit to body shapes that are not exactly like the patterns that are available. The more expensive ones are heavier duty but for the price of this one its perfect. If I am successful in learning to fit clothes better then would consider a more expensive one. This same dress form is $249 at JoAnn's.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Singer Red Dress Form, DF151

Every sewers dream come true!

03/26/2014
By ,
Las Vegas NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dress form is something I have always wanted! Great value for the home seamstress. Adjustable to fit almost everyone you want to make an article of clothing for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Singer Red Dress Form, DF151

great

01/02/2014
By ,
ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never knew just how handy one of these could be, it helps me so much and having one cuts down on your time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Singer Red Dress Form, DF151

Great for first form.

04/02/2013
By ,
Boston MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excelent body form. Stand is very lightweight, may need to weigh it down with something. Very adjustable. Easy to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Singer Red Dress Form, DF151

Very impressed

08/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a Dritz my double for years and still use it but an adjustment is very hard to make. I was pleasantly pleased to see how easy this one was to adjust for a different size. I would recommend this to anyone that needs a dress form. this is my first experience with a Singer Dress form but I am sold for now on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Singer Red Dress Form, DF151

cheak the size

05/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you order online you may find the size is wrong. They don't give you an option for a size online but i found out that the df151 is the larger size and the df150 is smaller size 10-16. I found this item in store for $75.00 but it was not listed online as in store. i was just lucky i look in the clearance on regular. This is a good dress form easy to size but you just have to add a silky shirt to it after you size it out because of the gaps.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Singer Red Dress Form, DF151

singer red dress form.

02/11/2014
By ,
elkhart,in
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the dress form is exactly what I needed to do the job for the project of plus size women. this dress form opens out to the exact size that I want. i would recommend any one that is looking for a dress form to buy this on ,it shapes to your size perfectly. thanks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next