Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sanyo Sanyo 42" 2D-3D Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42851

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo Sanyo 42" 2D-3D Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42851

The Sanyo 42" LCD TV with integrated digital /analog tuner offers the latest wireless Internet-ready technology. Whether by Ethernet LAN port or internal integral wireless (802.11 b,g,n) reception, if you have a high-speed ISP, this smart Sanyo 42" LCD TV can receive new applications through firmware upgrades.The 2D-3D converter of the Sanyo 42" LCD TV is capable of turning 2D content into a 3D display when viewed through passive polarized stressless 3D glasses (2 pairs included) with the touch of a remote control button. The digital tuner is Clear QAM capable of receiving unscrambled digital cable and over-the-air digital broadcasts. In a high-gloss black finish, the 3D Sanyo 42" television blends into the background when the lights are dimmed in your den or living room.
Average Customer Rating:
3.662 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation75%60 out of 80reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sanyo 42" 2D-3D Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42851

Not Ready for Primetime

01/15/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture quality is good & sound is fair. This TV is not Internet Ready it doesn't matter if it's hooked up wired or wireless it doesn't work. It tells you it needs to do a update and to turn TV back on after 5 mins. after 30+ times trying it still doesn't work. This TV also makes a slight humming noise while on. If you just want a cheap 3D TV and don't care about the internet connection the price is right.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 02/17/2012
Internet applications worked great for me. Enjoy Vudu daily Netflix will be available soon
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Sanyo 42" 2D-3D Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42851

Internet connection

09/23/2013
By ,
Princeton, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sanyo DP42851: Received this Site to home 2 days sooner than promised, good start. Unfortunately it has the network connection problem described by others. Even worse, I have not found a technician at Sanyo tech support that can supply the needed files to correct this although I have been promised a return call in 24 to 72 hours. So its going to the local Walmart if its not working by Thursday. Which is too bad because otherwise I like this TV. The "real" 3D works although limited by the 60HZ, and the simulated 3D gives an interesting picture sort of like a "Magic Eye" with a wavy back ground. Otherwise it is a basic, no frills TV which is all I need. I can't comment on the internet operation other to say that it did initially connect wirelessly but it did an automatic software update and would not connect afterwards. The local TV shop for Sanyo warranty said they could not do the software fix but they could fix the problem by replacing the mother board!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 3 for Sanyo 42" 2D-3D Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42851
02/28/2013
By ,
Alexandria, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While I do think this is a great TV for the features it has and the price, we did end up returning it within a few days for two reasons. First, this tv makes a constant buzzing/humming noise when it is on. It has nothing to do with the connections, component audio, feedback or anything else, it makes this noise when watching recorded shows that are paused, and when absolutely nothing is plugged in to the TV/connections. It is just simply something that you have to deal with on this TV. It is so loud/annoying I could hear it even while watching shows, especially during pauses in conversations. Second, there is a huge 'soap opera' effect with the picture, and there are no options whatsoever to turn it off or adjust it as with other models. There are very limited menu options as far as adjusting the features. Since the picture and the sound are pretty much the two main functions of a TV, and they both were undesirable, we took it back. If I could adjust the picture, I would have been willing to deal with the humming noise, and vice versa. But not both.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Review 4 for Sanyo 42" 2D-3D Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42851

really liking it!

01/26/2012
By ,
midland tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am really liking this tv.i bought it mainly for the cheap 3D which is good quality if u have the 3D blu ray player and of course a 3D blu ray.I have alice in wonderland and it really impressed me!as most other buyers i was having problems connecting to the net apps.after trying over and over for a couple of days i gave up.ive had this tv for about 2 weeks and all of a sudden the apps started working so i think it just takes time to update the the software in the tv after its connected to your network.Im really glad i didnt take it back like most others did.The picture quality is great and the sound is good.i have it hooked up to a surround sound system with ps3 and it really is an awesome tv for the price.Overall im liking everything about this tv.its a steal for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 5 for Sanyo 42" 2D-3D Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42851

An exceptional TV for the money.

02/01/2012
By ,
Bonifay, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After looking for a replacement for our CRT TV, I stumbled upon the Sanyo 42" 2D-3D, internet ready, with Wi-fi LCD TV. I also found the Vizio 3D for $150 more than the $ 449 online price of the Sanyo. I was quite hesitant to say the least, because I felt getting a quality TV at this price, with all the features offered by Sanyo didn't seem possible. Certainly so, when this was less than a comparable LCD with hardly any of the added features. I decided to buy with the thought of returning it if I wasn't satisfied. Well it will not be going back.
This is a great TV, with exceptional picture quality in both 2D and 3D, and the 3D is passive (meaning no expensive shutter glasses). Sound is very good, even for someone with two hearing aids. Internet hookup was a breeze, and painless. I decided to purchase a Sony 40" Soundbar from Sam's for $88. and a LG BD670 Wireless Blu Ray Player for playing movies. This system is paired with a DirecTV HD-DVR, and works flawlessly. With the USB, or my Laptop, I can display pictures, and also stream content. The autoscan for both Analog and Digital antenna reception works like a charm, and is quite sensitive.
I highly suggest if you are looking for a new Smart TV, that is loaded with the latest features, don't pass this one up. For the low cost you will not get anything better. In fact, I don't believe you can find better unless you are willing to part with $750 or more. I also own a Sony 46" LCD flatscreen that I was quite impressed with. The Sanyo does a lot more, for much less money.
If it matters to anyone, I am a 62 year old technology nut, that appreciates nice things which work great. Each of these entertainment pieces described in this article are worth considering, if you happen to be in the market for them. They work very well and are pretty much plug and play, unless you are like me, and want to experiment with different hookups. Oh the technology..........
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
LG BD670 3D-Ready Blu-ray Player
4.2 out of 5(45)
 
 
 
 
 
+49points
Review 6 for Sanyo 42" 2D-3D Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42851

It is finally working.

01/21/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this TV few days ago, internet had the same connectivity problem like the other reviews, but after 2 times calling the customer service, finally a technician called me, and informed me that they would send me a flash drive to update the internet applications software. I received the flash drive just today after 2 days, and updated the system, so now all internet applications are working fine. The only problem is, I needed Netflix, but among all application (about 20) Netflix is missing. So I am going to call them after the weekend to see what they can do about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Review 7 for Sanyo 42" 2D-3D Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42851
01/26/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I first purchased the television had no internet applications. I emailed sanyo at
support@sanyotv.com and also called them at 1-800-877-5032. The agent was very helpful and supplied the firmware upgrade that I needed. The applications now work great. I noticed my television received a download with the latest technology last night. Great Value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Review 8 for Sanyo 42" 2D-3D Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42851

Still Waiting But Hopeful!

01/20/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have the same problem as everyone else.... However. I called Sanyo support. They seem to realize the problem but they cannot fix it remotely. They have now sent me a USB drive with the applications on it. Turns out the correct applications were not on the USB drive. They are sending them to me via e-mail now. The support guy, Jerry was very helpful though and so a little frustrated but I think we are close. For the price you cant beat it. Good picture, sound, 3d for $449!! I am sure I will have the apps figured out by the end of the day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Canton, Michigan
Always Research
Posted 04/08/2012
Always research new high tech devices before buying, today it is easy and most important doable because of internet. First, never, ever automatically flash firmware, just because there is an update. ONLY update when you know exactly why you should and you know it will probably go OK. Only update if you know how to return to your factory settings. Update failures are common across the high tech landscape. Updates that are buggy are also common.
The same is true for Windows updates. Never set Windows so it auto downloads and installs updates. I've avoided many problems by always checking out the update first.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Sanyo 42" 2D-3D Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42851

Best 2D-3D HDTV for the money.

11/08/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I also had to hard wire connect to update it the first time. Once updated it works like a charm. From my 60" to my 32", it has the best picture quality. It's much more adjustable through the 3D converter. Love the Pix 1-7 over the normal regular , Fill and over-fill selections of most TVs.
The 2D to 3D converter works get, special with 3D enabled sources; like Blu-ray players and Gaming systems. Two good pair of 3D glasses also. Hard plastic lens and not the flimsy kind. #They look sort of cool.
A lot of apps were available after the upgrade. They are through Vudu. I had a free Vudu account.
My Netflix worked great through the button available on the remote. Rented a movie free I almost paid for on Vudu.
All tings considered Ha, ha! things , I give this TV 5 out of 5.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for Sanyo 42" 2D-3D Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42851

Great performance at a good price

01/03/2012
By ,
San Diego
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent for the price.
Great picture quality in both 2D and 3D modes, we tested a lot of Disney 3D movies this holidays
:-)), Tangled 3D was awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
+88points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
GA
warranty
Posted 01/13/2012
hi what is the warranty on this TV? and the Wifi does it just automatically connect to your home wifi or do you have to program, etc?
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 01/05/2012
How is the 2D to 3D conversion? That's my main buying point right now but I've heard mixed reviews about conversion in general.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Sanyo 42" 2D-3D Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42851

Great 3d tv with internet for good price

02/16/2012
By ,
usa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well so far this tv has passed my expectations the 3d works well and the 2d to 3d conversion also works well it gives most shows much more depth .
I have had no problems with the internet apps or connecting and updating the firmware.
netflix also works but just hitting the button does nothing until you go in to the menu to network connections then to information then to software and then you will see the netflix esn which you need to actvate netflix by going to netflix on a pc and entering the esn number in the add netflix ready device. once done it should work fine.
Vudu and facebook ,twitter along with many other apps work great and vudu gives you a 5.99 credit for a free movie to try the service no credit card needed.
If your router has a push to connect button then use the wps push to connect automatically .
If you have to use wep or wpa psk then just remember to enter your ssid and your password and it should work and if all else fails use the built in ethernet .
Remember to shut the tv off for the firmware update and i left mine off for 30mins not the recommended 5 and when i turned it back on all the apps were all updated.
The tv has a great HD picture and i found the sound to be way better then most tv`s especially if you do custom and use the equalizer i think it sounds great it was way better then my vizo tv.
The only draw back on the tv to some people may be that is is only 60hz but i myself have not seen any problems with the refresh rate so that did not deter me and i am glad of that.
The tv comes with 2 pair of passive glasses so if you need more any passive glasses even the ones you get in a theater should work fine and no batteries or recharging to worry about.
You will need a source for 3d either a 3b blu ray player or a source like a HD Cable box that offers 3d movie rental or even Hbo which does have some movies in 3d with subscription to Hbo.
The set has 3 hdmi ports it also has rca and component ports for a total of 6 and a pc vga with audio jack and also sports usb for viewing pics and media .
Well i hope this information helps anyone looking to purchase this tv and i hope it solves the problems for most people with netflix and vudu and apps set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+33points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
united states
re: esn
Posted 02/20/2012
not sure how you got this to work i have tired and it doesn't
the app is not on the tv so the activation will not work . the number from esn is not the activation code and this is from netflix the code will only come from the application once you try to sign on
so can you tell me how you got this to work
0points
Customer Avatar
stoneage, georgia
Netflix still not working
Posted 02/17/2012
Netflix still not working after trying esn number
0points
Customer Avatar
usa
follow up to my other review for this tv
Posted 02/17/2012
Talked to sanyo by phone and they said the netflix app will be upadted with new firmware push in around 30 days.
also talked to vudu about 3d streaming and they said it is available but sanyo needs to update the firmware to allow 3d streaming from vudu .
this makes no sense to sell a 3d tv with vudu app and not have the 3d streaming enabled for it and i was under the impression that the esn info would allow the netflix to work but no we have to wait for the new firmware. I hope sanyo really does give us the upgrade soon.
sorry about the wrong netflix info on my review but all else still stands.
now lets hope sanyo pushes the frimware out and we get all the features they said we should get.
+2points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 12 for Sanyo 42" 2D-3D Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42851

A 2D to 3D TV that performs as advertised.

09/27/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose this unit because of the 2D to 3D feature. The feature works fairly well, but not every image is enhanced. The full 3D is marvelous when used as intended on 3D movies. Yes, it does come with two pairs of 3D glasses (the glasses that 3D theaters use will also work with it.) Both Netflix and Vudu have separate buttons on the remote - a useful feature.
Shipment was quite quick via FedEx.
I also chose this unit for the price. Other 3D units are pricier - and don't necessarily convert 2D to 3D. So far I've had a good experience with it, and would certainly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 13 for Sanyo 42" 2D-3D Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42851

OK for the frugal buyer if you can get it to work

01/12/2012
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If your looking for an inexpensive smart 3D TV this might fit the bill. This guy touts 3D, wireless wifi, network applications like Netflix, VUDU and others, the 2D to 3D upcovert and other features many people will find useful and most importantly it uses the passive technology. (I could give you pages on why to choose passive over active shutter glasses, but suffice it to say that I believe that in a year or two the active shutter setup will have gone by the wayside.) The refresh rate of 60hz is bottom rung and the contrast ratio of 4000:1 is bottom of the barrel too. If you want higher refresh rate and contrast ratios then you will need to spend a lot more money. Don't expect true 3D with the upconvert feature. It will work on any 2D content, but sometimes the picture still seems flat or it may have some 3D simulation. Motion can be blurred and I can easily see this causing eye strain and headaches. On occasion the upconvert can be fairly impressive. Watching 'True Grit' (the classic with the Duke) I paused it on a scene of the open prairie and was impressed by the 3D picture. The remote is decent. It lights up when you press a button and has dedicated buttons for the net apps, Netflix and VUDU. I was pretty much impressed with everything about this unit except for the network capabilities. This is where I had problems.
There are several options given for setting it up on your network. Press the Menu button on your remote and navigate the on screen menu to select wireless (assuming you have a wireless router) and insert your routers pass code. It's pretty intuitive. This never worked for me. Repeated attempts resulted in failure to connect. I tried the next option of entering my routers PIN number into the TV. This worked and the TV was now on my network. I also tried the 'push button' feature to set up the network and that worked fine as well. (Your router must have this feature in order for it to work.) The initial failed networking attempts didn't bother me. I was now on the network. Time to take a look at the network applications. I found if I selected the 'net apps' button, Netflix button or the VUDU button the TV would say there is a software update available. Do I want it? Yes or No? Well, yes of course. Without this update none of the apps are available. I spent two days trying to get this software update to download. Nothing ever happened. I turned off the firewall on my router and nothing happened. I even put the TV's IP address in my DMZ and nothing happened. (Basically out on the internet with no protection what so ever and so nothing that might block the update.) I finally ran an ethernet cable from the TV directly into my modem and manually configured the IP address and remaining network configuration. Try the software download again. Nothing happened. There is nothing in the user manual regarding getting the software update to download. I assume that's because this function is virtually plug and play and nothing needs to be said about it. In my case it wasn't plug and play. Should the TV be on or off for the update? Nothing tells you. The TV does tell you to turn the TV off for five minutes for the update to download and install. It will shut off automatically after 30 seconds anyway. It says you can turn it on again after the five minutes. (Let's assume it needs to be on because when it is off the TV is no longer on the network. I can ping the TV's IP address when it is on, but not when it is off. No IP address means no network connectivity means no software download.) How long is this update supposed to take? 30 minutes or a week? No info in the manual and tech support doesn't know. Over the course of two days I tried to get the net apps to download unsuccessfully. I tried leaving the TV off all night and I tried leaving it on all night. No go. I had called technical support the first day. The Indian I spoke with was clueless and just told me he would escalate the problem and I would be receiving a call back. Six hours later I hadn't received the call back so I called support again. I was told it took 24 hours to receive the call back. The only plus here was that on both calls I immediately received a human with no waiting. It's just that these humans were no help. Anticipating the call from support, I waited until the next day while continuing to try to sort out the issue on my own. As of this writing, 30 hours after my initial call to support, I still have not received a call back. So much for escalation. I returned the TV to Walmart. Even with the low price of this TV it's still too much money to deal with the frustration. Maybe I sound impatient, but if this thing doesn't work out of the box then I hate to see what it's not going to do six months from now.
If the software download had worked I would be a happy camper and would heartily recommend this TV for the frugal crowd. Based on my experience, I can't recommend it. I recommend either spending more money and buying a different brand or just waiting until prices come down a little more and still buying a different brand. (Stick with passive glasses though.) I guess I was swayed by the fact that Sanyo is a subsidiary of Panasonic. My current LCD is Panasonic and I've never had a problem with it. It's just not 3D or internet capable.
One other minor quibble. The speakers certainly aren't the best, but you wouldn't expect high quality at this price. I increased the base a bit – I didn't max it – and found that some low sounds sometimes caused a buzzing in the speakers.
If you want to chance it then go for it. Maybe I just got a lemon. Maybe Sanyo's server was having problems so my TV couldn't get the download, but tech support should have known this. If you have problems with this TV it is easily returned to Walmart. To show that I AM patient I'm keeping an eye out for the next deal. A 3D smart TV is something I want. It's not something I need. I can afford to wait a little longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+174points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
Alabama
Sanyo
Posted 10/02/2012
I bought a 32" Sanyo TV in 2005 and it is still going strong. It wasn't LCD flat screen or anything like that, but it still works like new. I bought a 32" Sanyo LCD flat screen TV about two years ago. Still no problems. I bought a 42" Sanyo LCD flat screen a couple of months ago. Same thing. I just bought the TV you wrote a novel about. It hasn't come in yet; but based on past experience, I don't foresee any problems. Maybe you just got a bad unit. It happens to even the best company every once in a while.
0points
Customer Avatar
Texas
Impatient or recognizing an issue with the set?
Posted 01/18/2012
Mjg7419
How patient should one be? If you bought a network card for your computer, how long would you keep it if you couldn't get it to work as advertised? The TV's network applications wouldn't download. There is no information in the manual on getting them to download. The Sanyo website had no information. The Sanyo tech support couldn't help and NEVER returned my ESCALATED call. I still haven't heard from them. They don't know I returned the set. This was supposed to be plug and play. I shouldn't have to jump through hoops to get it to work. I'm a network engineer. I know networking. I should have listened to the alarm bells when repeated attempts at accessing my home network using the router password were unsuccessful. So how long should I keep a TV that is not functioning correctly to not be impatient? You say the TV works fine, but you fail to say how long it took for the network applications to download. You fail to even MENTION them. You are frugal too or you wouldn't have purchased this set. Of course, if you purchased it 9 months ago you probably paid a few hundred dollars more than the current price. (I often find that people who spend a lot of money on something are loath to admit that they have had problems with their purchase.) I'm glad it worked out for you. Please share if your network applications worked immediately, downloaded as expected, what you had to do to get them to download, how long they took to download or if they never downloaded and you don't care. I definitely disagree with your comment that the 3D upconvert is excellent. It is not. It reminded me more of the 3D you would see in an old Vincent Price 3D movie wearing the paper red and blue glasses. I didn't necessarily consider this a down check. It was pretty much what I expected. I watched the 2D version of TRON Legacy using the upconvert to 3D and was not impressed any more than with watching the True Grit classic. Some scenes look OK. A few scenes look pretty good. None of the scenes looked excellent. For excellent I would have to see things jutting out of the screen as in true 3D. This doesn't happen with the upconvert. If you choose to disagree with my review that's fine. Just say why you disagree. Just don't just say the 2D to 3D upconvert is excellent. It's not excellent. Not on any TV. It's just a gimmick that's fun to use. I still say the TV is a good purchase for the frugal buyer as long as it functions as advertised.
Itslookingood
The TV is definitely low end, but if you don't mind that and don't care about the network applications (hey, you might get one that will actually download the net apps) then this might be the TV for you. If you have problems, just don't expect any help from tech support. I note also that Walmart raised the price up a bit since I bought (and returned) mine. I think I'm with you though. Network applications won't be a selling point on my next TV purchase as I'm sure they will be included in the blu-ray player I buy. Personally, I'm going to wait a while. There really isn't that much true 3D content out there to watch anyway. I will be patient. Prices will continue to come down and the availability of 3D content will increase. I can always go watch 3D at my son's house even though he has those nasty active shutter glasses.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Seattle
But what about the 3D?
Posted 01/17/2012
The question I have is, if I have no use for the "Smart" apps on this tv is it still a good buy? I use my AppleTV, Blu-Ray player and Mac for all media plus cable for live tv so I have no use for the internet apps. I probably wouldn't even bother with connecting to my network. Plus, I prefer the passive 3D over active and love the price on this set.
So, if all I want to use the tv for is watching tv is it still a good option?
+2points
Customer Avatar
San Diego
Had the same problem
Posted 01/16/2012
I guess older version had different firmware, so they could go online.
I was able to connect to my network with no problem (both wireless and wired), but when asked to do the update, TV shut down and I can't even ping it (so as the previous review said - it's not connected).
After reading his review, i didn't wait for tech support to call back.
Return the set and will buy a TV + streaming media player.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Texas
You are frugal and impatient!
Posted 01/14/2012
Ive had this tv for 9 months and it is by far the best 40" hdtv for its price range! It sounds like this customer is just very impatient. I have to disagree with the unsatisfied customer. By all means, purchase this set, you will not be disappointed one bit! The 3d unconvert is excellent and LOVE LOVE LOVE the Starwars collection not only on Bluray, but in 3D as well on this tv set.
-1point
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 14 for Sanyo 42" 2D-3D Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42851

Great TV

11/05/2012
By ,
texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I almost didn't buy this TV because of all the negative reviews. I'm glad I did!
I figured Walmart would take it back if it failed to work. Everything worked perfectly the first time through. I scanned my cable channels, it connected to my 8 year old Mircosoft wireless G router with WEP security. I messed with the settings for picture and audio a bit, and boosted the bass all the way. The sound is good on this TV. I then turned it off and moved it to its spot in the living room. By the time I did that, when I turned it on , it informed me that it had done a firmware upgrade. It must have been downloading it before I unplugged it. Awesome. The netflix button worked the first time, no problems. I entered my netflix userid and password, and away it went.
The picture on this tv is also great. Don't let anyone tell you that the 60HZ refresh rate is a problem because it is not. I watched an $850 LG at Best Buy that had all the same specs, and this tv is just as good. The 2d to 3d up convert is cool. It seems as good as the LG I looked at in the store. It's not as good as a 3d movie made specifally for 3d, but it is decent and the kids love it. Some 3d-ish video for the kids witout the cost of 3d blueray movies. If they made this tv in a 32" class, I'd buy another for the master bedroom. Get one, you will love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 15 for Sanyo 42" 2D-3D Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42851

a lot of good at such a low price

04/12/2012
By ,
Bellevue, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pros:
-decent LCD quality.
-3D is awesome.
-passive 3D viewing glasses are very cheap on famous auction website.
-Real D 3D glasses work with this model.
-firmware upgradable.
-netflix works like a charm.
-comes with bunch of other apps that i have not tried yet.
-wifi/lan both work; takes a little while for the net to come up after turning on during which TV shows a proper message; have patience; wifi works fine with my wpa2/AES 9 chars long key (wpa2 didn't work with 63 chars long key but i'm not sure if WPA2 was AES or PSK).
-sound, to me, is fair enough.
cons:
-missing youtube app.
-missing 3D streaming in builtin VUDU app - i use ps3 to get around this (VUDU in ps3 supports 3D and works well with this TV).
-missing Amazon app- (i use ps3 for this too).
-remote is ok.
by-design things:
- 60Hz creates motion artifacts when viewing 3d, but to me, it does not ruin the experience.
other thoughts:
- this TV, to me, is perfectly worth the price.
- not the best, but gives a lot of good at such a low price.
- my TV received two firmware upgrades; i did both upgrades via LAN and waited for 30 minutes (powered-off with AC plug connected) for each;
- after 1st firmware upgrade TV started recognizing a USB wifi interface.
- then it received 2nd upgrade; been running since then just fine.
- Netflix app does not show in the app list under Menu, but launches fine via remote.
- Sanyo should provide an indication to user while the firmware is being upgraded.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bellevue, WA
3d problem in recent firmware
Posted 07/04/2012
It looks like 3D feature is broken with recent firmware. When i play blu-ray 3d via ps3, very rarely it will show 3d correctly. Most of the time the picture would appear very close to 2d. After spending a lot of time on this, i figured out a hack to make the 3d better. Just go to 3D options in Menu, turn Left/Right Swap to Swapped and then back to Normal (even if it was on Normal at first). This will make the video pop again (much better, but not really like when it works correctly BY CHANCE). This is annoying, Sanyo should fix it.
For those of you wondering if this TV supports depth control, it has an option for this that works only when TV is in 2D-to-3D mode, i.e. with a 2D source. The depth control does not work for 3D source, go figure!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Sanyo 42" 2D-3D Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42851

Netflix now.......

03/28/2012
By ,
stoneage, georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got the TV early Feb. Took 6 weeks but Netflix app now works. Have not tried 3d as thats not wifi supported yet, but looking for a 3d home theater system and that should make it good to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 17 for Sanyo 42" 2D-3D Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42851

Met expectations.

02/05/2012
By ,
06067
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If I cared to make a side by side comparison with a top of the line TV I'm sure the viewing experience would show a significant difference; as it is, in my own environment, a remarkable value for the price.
With the usual need to get used to yet another menu, set-up is straight forward except for internet use which requires a little extra expertise - probably a generational problem!
The only negative I can think of are the rather "chintsy" 3D glasses!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 18 for Sanyo 42" 2D-3D Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42851

Great TV

10/06/2013
By ,
TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Only one thing is that when you 1st turn it on it makes a humming noise then it goes away.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Sanyo 42" 2D-3D Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42851

Software update - hang up

01/15/2012
By ,
California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Just like the other reviewer before my, the set turn off during SW update, but update never go through.
My guess is a bug in firmware, but I'm not going to wait for the fix.
The TV is a great deal if internet applications are working, otherwise, I will get lower cost TV with an internet connected Blue-ray player.
Tech support is not up to speed (same experience as other review)
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 20 for Sanyo 42" 2D-3D Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42851

Sanyo Blew It!

01/25/2012
By ,
OKC, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this TV Jan 12th and I'm still trying to work it out. I have had the same problems as everyone else with the exception of the internet connection. I was able to connect automatically via WiFi. However, without the apps it does you no good!!! Sanyo forgot to include the apps!! Don't waste your time trying that download cause its not happening. I received the flash drive from Sanyo and it worked except there is no Netflix as promised. For me that is a deal breaker. Netflix is the only way to go. I haven't tried the 3D as this was not that big a deal to me. The picture is nice and the sound is ok for me also. I will update if I receive the Netflix or ultimately took the TV back. Btw, I have many wireless items operating in my home. I put the att wireless modem in the most central location, as high in the air as I could get it. All items in all rooms connect with no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-11points
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next