Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mr. Bar-B-Q Mr. Bar-B-Q 18" Cast Iron Wok

Mr. Bar-B-Q Mr. Bar-B-Q 18" Cast Iron Wok

The Mr. Bar-B-Q 18" Cast Iron Wok offers those who love to cook a sturdy and durable option to preparing stir fry and other dishes. This 18" wok features the classic wok shape with a cast iron finish for long-term use. The Mr. Bar-B-Q 18' Cast Iron Wok can be used on standard cooktop surfaces or try it on a grill for a different taste sensation. Whether cooking classic Asian food or contemporary fare, this classic wok is so versatile that you can create a variety of dishes with it. For both timeless and exotic cooking, this cast iron wok can make all of your favorite dishes better.
Average Customer Rating:
4.133 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation80%12 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Bar-B-Q 18" Cast Iron Wok

poor packaging

03/16/2012
By ,
chicago
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Walmart did not pack the wok properly for shipment. As a result of the wok moving and sliding inside the box that was loosely packed with brown paper, the handle of the wok punctured a hole in the box. The product label was torn with instructions about how to season the wok missing.
The wok has uneven base and walls. It rocks on a flat surface, and the walls are thicker on one side than the other. There are also ridges / folds on the inside bottom of the wok.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mr. Bar-B-Q 18" Cast Iron Wok

At long last; Success!

05/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seems most indoor gas stoves have a maximum of 17,000 BTU output: when the gas jets are clean and working properly. Otherwise the heat output goes down from there. More then once I've mistakenly put my chicken into a smoking wok only to have it sizzle for 3 seconds and then the meat cools the wok down and sizzle becomes silence. For good stir-fry flavor and food texture the wok must remain hot. Most restaurants have a 65,000 - 100,000 BTU burner under their steel woks.
This cast Iron wok is heavy and does take 10 minutes to heat up, like most cast iron, but once hot it retains it's heat and does not drop in temp when meat, etc. is introduced. Hence, a much higher degree of finished dish is attained compared to a steel wok or, heaven forbid the worthless electric wok .
A must for every home that enjoys stir-fry/deep fry.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Bar-B-Q 18" Cast Iron Wok

Good buy

06/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arrived quickly and as described. No defects we seasoned it the Brasilian way wife being one. She just put it over our cook fire on the grate for a couple of hours . Left it there until sat. morning and voila perfect. We are happy with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mr. Bar-B-Q 18" Cast Iron Wok
02/19/2013
By ,
Queens, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 4 different woks, one of which cost $175 [Scanpan] and none of them can hold a candle to this cast iron beauty. Once this gets hot it cooks almost as good as any Chinese restaurants which have a lot more heat than a home gas range. Be sure to "season" it and always preheat 15 minutes before cooking anything.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Bar-B-Q 18" Cast Iron Wok

great wok

06/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it. Nice and heavy for high heat...good quality but strongly agree with others that getting the factory coating off is no easy chore.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Bar-B-Q 18" Cast Iron Wok

Best wok ever!

02/23/2014
By ,
Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best wok I have ever owned. Make sure you clean it real well and season it real well. I cleaned mine then oiled it and placed it on the grill for about 2 hours...(my oven isn't big enough for this thing). It turned out great! I fried up some chicken drummettes in it and that also helped the seasoning...not to mention the chicken was really good.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Bar-B-Q 18" Cast Iron Wok

Mr. Bar-B-Q Cast Iron Wok

05/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For starters I seasoned my Wok on the grill and forgot about it and it burned a little on the cooking side at the bottom of the wok. After scrubbing a little and cooking to try and cook off the residue left from over seasoning I am no longer wiping off burn chips. I absolutely love it. The wok cooks evenly and I can stir fry all of my vegetables at once due to its size. Therefore it saves me a lot of time. My Mr. Bar-B-Q is my new best friend. I would highly recommend this product to any one looking for a wok.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Bar-B-Q 18" Cast Iron Wok
12/05/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1) heavy duty.
2) need seasoning first, or will rust.
3) bottom is nor curve as regular wok.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr. Bar-B-Q 18" Cast Iron Wok
02/26/2012
By ,
columbus ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good cast iron for cooking. good buy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Bar-B-Q 18" Cast Iron Wok

cracked wok

01/22/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I like cast iron products but this one came withslightly cracked and dent interior. It has poor interior molding due to some dent like dips. So anyone buys this item should check interior crack or dips due poor workmanship
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Bar-B-Q 18" Cast Iron Wok

Decent piece of cast iron

10/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a wok I can use inside my Weber kettle and this seems like a good option. Fits and sits well in the weber gourmet grate opening. Finish is a bit rough, but expected for the price. I burned off the coating used to protect the wok in my gas grill which I cranked to 650 degrees for a few hours. Several layers of oil to season and I'm happy with it. Will store indoors to try and keep rust at by until I really get it very well seasoned.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr. Bar-B-Q 18" Cast Iron Wok

Big and Easy

09/13/2014
By ,
Killeen, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for almost everything. Steaks to Stir Fry pure cast iron estacy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Bar-B-Q 18" Cast Iron Wok

A very versatile product

07/06/2014
By ,
Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a Father's Day gift for my dad this year. Considering he's loves to cook, especially fried rice, I knew this would be the perfect gift for him! My mom said how excited he was when he opened the box! It works well. The cast iron makes it durable, and it should last a long time! My dad loves his gift.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Bar-B-Q 18" Cast Iron Wok

I do not recommend!

11/05/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used this wok once and it become rusted on the bottom. I did not even scrub it. I made some fried rice and after that I put my wok in water to soak. When I used my normal kitchen sponge to wash it, the bottom was rusty and it lost its original color. I would think it takes a long time for iron to be like that.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Central Kentucky
soaking cast irion
Posted 07/27/2014
cast iron should never be soaked if food is stuck on the inside add water and bring to a boil but be advised you will have to reason after wards> most of the time I rinsed mine out wit water towel dry then oil down with evoo place in warm over or on a warm burner to insure no moisture is left I have cast Iron over 100 years old and it still in the cooking rotation I even have some Griswold but I actually prefer an unmarked skillet due to it extreme thickness and weight, the Griswold looks pretty and has a higher collector value but if i only could take one it would be the beast and a domed lid
+1point
Customer Avatar
Posted 01/17/2014
It probably rusted because you are not suppose to let water sit in it. You season it before using and after cooking you wipe it out with a wet sponge and season more if you like.
+1point
Customer Avatar
san jose, ca
SEASONED IT CORRECTLY??
Posted 12/05/2013
MAYBE YOU DIDN'T SEASON THE OUTSIDE OF YOUR WOK.? ??
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 15 for Mr. Bar-B-Q 18" Cast Iron Wok

Love this dress!

05/29/2014
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very lightweight and cool, hangs nicely. Great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.