Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Schwinn Fitness Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Schwinn Fitness Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

The Schwinn AD2 Airdyne Exercise Bike provides you a simple way to shed those extra pounds and keep fit. It features the exponential wind resistance, which caters to both novice users and elite athletes with equal ease. The Schwinn upright exercise bike matches your effort, so the harder you pedal, the tougher it gets. It integrates an LCD computer console, which helps you monitor parameters like time, distance, calories and RPM. Further, the Schwinn exercise bike comes with non-slip grips that provide a stable foundation throughout your workout. It has a quiet belt drive for noiseless operation. The bike can support up to 250 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.321 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation91%48 out of 53reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 34 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Every home should have at least one.

05/16/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Extremely easy to assemble. The bike is sturdy, well built, fun to use, and great looking too. From the sides it looks like a Harley Lowrider to me. The best part about using this bike is that the people who designed it understood that most users would probably get bored with just trying to pedal their way to good health and quit. This machine is designed for multi tasking. Sometimes I pedal, other times I put my feet on the foot rests and just work the upper body with the gliding handlebars. Sometimes I do both. Recently, I've started working out with a pair of hand weights while seated on the bike, to add even more variety to my 15 minute sessions. Is the seat hard and uncomfortable? Yes, sometimes. Am I going to use that as an excuse for not using this bike? No. I can buy a nice plush and cushy bicycle seat if I want to, but I've learned that if I adjust the seat height so that I can sit more to the rear and adjust my posture by sitting up straight or even leaning back on the seat a bit, then I can stay on the bike comfortably for a longer period of time. When the seat becomes uncomfortable, I use that as my signal to get off the bike and maybe just continue working out with my hand weights or whatever. The trick is to keep moving for the duration of the workout routine that you have set for yourself, whether it's 5, 10, 15 or more minutes. It doesn't have to all be done on the bike, does it? One last thing, if you have preteen or older children at home, wouldn't it be nice to have a pair of these Schwinn Airdyne 2 bikes, so that you and your child can sit side by side and work toward healthier bodies together. Why not? They cost the same amount of money or less than what you're already spending on those couch potato interactive TV games.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Ours was broken

03/30/2013
By ,
Central VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our Schwinn AD2 came with a broken wheel cover. It had been broken in 3 places and the broken pieces were not in the box. Very odd. We called Schwinn (Nautilus) and are promised a replacement piece and instructions for replacing the wheel cover. The piece was out of stock, but they said they would send it to us within two months. Otherwise, the bike is great, and can operate fine with the broken wheel cover. Walmart has the best price for this AD2. Photo uploaded shows broken wheel cover.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Great exercise bike!

01/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike was half price, which was a factor in getting it sight unseen. Arrived quickly. Husband assembled it without any difficulty, just took a little time. It exceeds my expectations! Quiet, and comfortable so far, though I haven't built up stamina to ride it for too long yet. (May need more comfortable seat in the long run as all reviews cautioned.) Doesn't need much space. It is easy to operate, and the readout is helpful and clear; I love that it exercises arms and torso too. If I were shorter however, the arm reach might make me lean in too much. ( I am 5' 7 1/2".) I am really pleased, and i am critical by nature, so this is a really good review!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Good Buy for the Money

02/24/2014
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For anyone considering an all around low/no impact workout for cardio and upper and lower body, especially if knee or hip issues (I've had one hip replaced), it's a good buy. It's a relatively easy assembly, helps if there's a second person there to balance, though one person can do it. All assembly tools (Allen head, screwdriver, wrench) are included.
I owned an original Airdyne and foolishly sold it during a period I wasn't using it. The action of the AD 2 compares to the original; quality of working parts seems to be the same. Covers and wind screen on the AD 2 are plastic vs metal.
If you're having it shipped, check the front wind screen carefully on receipt. It isn't well protected by the front of the carton, and mine, like other reviews I've read, was broken in transit, with no obvious damage to the carton. Bowflex (distributor for Airdyne) was contacted and the part is supposed to be on the way at no charge.
Dislikes: The seat. If you plan on long sessions on the bike, get a gel cover.
The display. REALLY dislike that it cycles through the options (Time, Calories, Miles, MPH, RPM) in 5 second intervals and there's no way to choose and keep one option - so if you're following and want to maintain RPM, you can only view it for 5 seconds every 25 seconds. Terrible design.
At present, Walmart has the best price, shipping was quick.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Excellent exercise bike

01/21/2014
By ,
slc, ut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had the Schwinn Airdyne bike for over 2 weeks and i am very satisfied with it. I am able to raise my heart level for my cardio and get a total body workout. I really like how i dont have to move a dial to increase the tension. Just by pedaling faster on the bike the resistance increases. The assembly of the bike was very easy as the instructions were detailed. It took me about 20 minutes to assemble. The bike does not take a lot of room, so thats another plus. Overall i am glad i spent a little more money on this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

our first exercise bike

01/10/2014
By ,
Winchester VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit was fairly easy to assemble. There was some damage in manufacturing (no damage to the box) but did not affect operation of the unit. Assembly instructions were in diagrams, not many words, and we prefer words and diagrams.
Quiet unit, doesn't take up a lot of room, adjustable for both my husband and me. I like the simplicity of the panel which switches automatically from time to calories used to rpm to miles traveled. .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Overall it's a good exercise bike.

02/01/2014
By ,
Rockton, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Instructions were good and easy to follow. When installing the rear floor rest I found that one end of the concave bracket was slightly bent. I was able to straighten it without much trouble. It looked to be bent in shipping. Other than that installation went good. I agree with other reviewer's on the seat being uncomfortable. If you rode for more than 15 minutes it feels like you are sitting on a rock. I bought the bike for my wife who is soon to have a total knee. I will buy a gel seat to fit over the original. She only weighs 118 lbs. but if you were heavier it might get uncomfortable sooner. All in all it is a good product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Shwinn Airdyne 2

11/03/2013
By ,
N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the bike but as everyone has said, the seat needs to be changed. I added a gel seat topping to get longer ride time that way. The machine is sturdy and you burn a lot of calories. The computer read out is great. The bike is sturdy and looks like I will be riding it a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Schwinn Airdyne hits the mark

10/18/2013
By ,
Salem, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have the original Airdyne 1 - all metal - costing about 900 and this model costs a third but runs smoother and looks great. They covered the fan so there is less wind - but I it wouldn't be the worst thing to let a bit more wind through - but all in all - we'll likely buy one or two more for our training studio.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

You'll love it! Read my review below.

01/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched exercise machines for over a month & was unhappy with what I read in regard to problems with the magnetic based bikes (almost all of them). I also was unhappy because most bikes have stationary handlebars, so you get no upper body benefits. I knew I wanted a bike, because I suffer from foot problems, & I felt I needed aerobic exercise. Because I am older, doctors were not recommending elliptical machines of any type. That eliminated almost every machine out there. By total accident I came across an article about the original Schwinn Airdyne series. They were developed in the 60's & many doctors considered them the gold standard. Anyone in any condition can use one, & the resistance level is infinite- it depends on how fast you want (or can) peddle. (No adjustments-trust me this is good.) The "stopper" was the hefty pricetag- $700 & up for choice of two models. Then I saw the Airdyne II at $399. Its superior in may ways to the original (lower in height-easier to get on & off.) Also it is MUCH quieter, using a grooved belt drive instead of a chain. Your pedaling operates a free-rolling flywheel, and that in turn runs a fan in front. The fan puts out a little breeze towards you in the forward direction & a lot in reverse pedaling. There is a large digital readout that tells you time elapsed, speed, calories burned, etc. (But not heart rate- but I didn't want that feature anyway) The seat is OK, (maybe could be padded a bit more- but I'm heavy) but if you don't like it, you can toss a towel on it, or pick up any standard bicycle seat at a cycle shop & pop it on there. My wife is under 5' & it fits her fine and I am 5'10 & very comfortable. I believe this bike could be used by anyone. There are no tension controls, you just get on & pedal at whatever speed you want. When your fitness level goes up, just pedal a little faster, or pedal for a longer time. The handle bars move back & forth & you can use them or not. I'm comfortable just pedaling hands free when I want. You can also put your feet on the footrests & pump the handlebars to spin the wheel to get an upper body workout, too. The machine is so darn flexible in use- that is what impressed me. Its very sturdy & was very easy to assemble in a few minutes. I'm cheap & thought $399 was a bit high, but after using this machine, I could not be happier. The quality is pretty good for Chinese (sigh) manufacture. Everyone says they received their product in a box poked full of holes & that was my experience. But it's packed so well in hard foam, you can see there was no danger of scratching the unit. This is a wonderful product, that does what is promised. Why they are not promoting this model instead of the other "junk" (magnetic repulsion bikes with digital "programs", iPod sound systems & other BS) in the Schwinn line is beyond me. My best advice: Buy the Schwinn Airdyne II at $399. You will be happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+109points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

I loved using my exercise bike. I hate the seat.

03/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent exercise bike.
My family and I have enjoyed using the exercise bike.
The only complaint is the "Hard Seat".
I am going to purchase me a larger overstuff seat, so I can ride longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Great overall excerise bike

01/26/2012
By ,
Atlantic City, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Extremely satisfied with the value and quality of this bike. It's quiet, sturdy and meets all of my expectations. I do a 30 minute workout every other day and I look forward to doing my excercise. The digital display allows me to keep a record of my progress. I would highly recommend this excerise bike for a great upper and lower body workout.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

awesome so far

03/29/2014
By ,
MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just put this together last night used for first time this morning. Was super simple to put together directions were better than most I've seen for similar items. Product is just what I was looking for very similar to a bike I used in my old gym. Would highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Schwinn an icon can't go wrong

04/01/2014
By ,
West Bend Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Didn't "work out"

03/24/2014
By ,
Dallas tx
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Gave two stars since walmart didn't give me a hassle about returning. Waited a week and a half for shipping. The box had been opened and retaped. The metal base came bent. And the plastic around fan was broken in places. Quite disappointing. Love the product but still don't own one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Good, but not perfect.

03/22/2014
By ,
Cave Creek, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice machine. Well designed, built well and easy to assemble.
Seat is uncomfortable. It should come with a recumbent seat for the price.
LCD readout should be lighted.
Feet tend to slide off foot pegs.
Paid extra for quicker shipping, but was not delivered when promised.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

I love it!

11/04/2012
By ,
Portland OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very happy with my purchase. Having a low back injury and sore shoulders for many years, it has been very difficult to find an "at home" exercise machine that is flexible for my needs. I love that I have the option on this machine to work only my upper body, only my lower body or both at the same time. The operation of the bike is very smooth and not very loud. It is great being able to add my MP3 and listen to some tunes while I'm working out. I also like that the intensity increases as I pedal harder. Lately, I've been rotating between pedaling forward and backward to work my anterior and posterior muscle groups in my legs. My legs definitely get that "worked out" feeling that I am able to control (harder vs. easier) based on my effort and pedal speed. This bike has a very uncomfortable seat, but that is the worst thing about it and was very easy to fix by adding some padding to the seat (I just used theraband to strap a small pillow over the seat). The bike was pretty easy to put together too. I was able to put it together by myself in a small space (my baby's nursery) about 6 weeks after having a C-Section. I ride it while I'm putting my baby to sleep, which is great. The sound of the fan just lulls her right to sleep. (Good "white-noise"). Chris
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Excellent bike value

03/19/2014
By ,
Sedona, AZ.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike for the money. Well built and easy to assemble. I had a $150. bike before and was not worth the money. Cheaply built, noisy, and it finally broke apart on me. This Schwinn is quiet and built rock solid. No doubt the last one I'll need to own.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Great way to buildup strength!

02/26/2014
By ,
Winchester, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Airdyne 2 Exercise bike to strengthen my back and avoid surgery in my senior years. At 74 years old I am able to buildup my strength and also get an aerobic workout at my own pace. The Airdyne lives up to my expectations...and my husband is also utilizing the bike. As most reviews have indicated the seat is somewhat uncomfortable. I have heard that it takes awhile to adjust to it. If it continues to be somewhat painful, I will consider getting a gel seat cover or gel bike shorts. I am extremely happy with my purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Buyer Beware

04/23/2012
By ,
farmington, maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a very well made exercise bike with one big exception: VERY uncomfortable seat. I started on this bike for 10 minutes for 3 days in a row with no problem...Day 4, increased to 12 minutes and hurt my tailbone. That was last thursday, it is now Monday and still can't sit down without excrutiating pain, never mind get back on the bike. I am going to buy a padded seat cover and try again when I feel better, but quite frankly, am a little afraid to get back on it. It is also a little weird getting on and off of it.
Before buying this bike, I read the reviews and dismissed that many complained about the uncomfortable seat thinking to myself....what bike seat IS comfortable? Trust me...This one is horrible!
I could go on and on, but can't sit long enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next