Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Schwinn Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Schwinn Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

The Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike allows you to shed those extra pounds and stay in shape, all within the comfort of your own home. The unit has an exponential wind resistance feature that is designed to match your effort and use resistance to help you burn more calories. This upright exercise bike is made to work well for both novice users and elite athletes alike. It has an integrated LCD computer console that monitors your exercise parameters such as time spent, distance traveled, calories burned and rotations per minute. This state-of-the-art Schwinn exercise bike comes with non-slip grips for a comfortable and stable foundation throughout your workout, a quiet belt drive and foot rests for those times when you only wish to focus on your upper body. This bike fits in most spaces and provides you with a fun and convenient way to get your daily exercise.
Average Customer Rating:
4.418 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation93%62 out of 67reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 54 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Every home should have at least one.

05/16/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Extremely easy to assemble. The bike is sturdy, well built, fun to use, and great looking too. From the sides it looks like a Harley Lowrider to me. The best part about using this bike is that the people who designed it understood that most users would probably get bored with just trying to pedal their way to good health and quit. This machine is designed for multi tasking. Sometimes I pedal, other times I put my feet on the foot rests and just work the upper body with the gliding handlebars. Sometimes I do both. Recently, I've started working out with a pair of hand weights while seated on the bike, to add even more variety to my 15 minute sessions. Is the seat hard and uncomfortable? Yes, sometimes. Am I going to use that as an excuse for not using this bike? No. I can buy a nice plush and cushy bicycle seat if I want to, but I've learned that if I adjust the seat height so that I can sit more to the rear and adjust my posture by sitting up straight or even leaning back on the seat a bit, then I can stay on the bike comfortably for a longer period of time. When the seat becomes uncomfortable, I use that as my signal to get off the bike and maybe just continue working out with my hand weights or whatever. The trick is to keep moving for the duration of the workout routine that you have set for yourself, whether it's 5, 10, 15 or more minutes. It doesn't have to all be done on the bike, does it? One last thing, if you have preteen or older children at home, wouldn't it be nice to have a pair of these Schwinn Airdyne 2 bikes, so that you and your child can sit side by side and work toward healthier bodies together. Why not? They cost the same amount of money or less than what you're already spending on those couch potato interactive TV games.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Ours was broken

03/30/2013
By ,
Central VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our Schwinn AD2 came with a broken wheel cover. It had been broken in 3 places and the broken pieces were not in the box. Very odd. We called Schwinn (Nautilus) and are promised a replacement piece and instructions for replacing the wheel cover. The piece was out of stock, but they said they would send it to us within two months. Otherwise, the bike is great, and can operate fine with the broken wheel cover. Walmart has the best price for this AD2. Photo uploaded shows broken wheel cover.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Great exercise bike!

08/13/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I reviewed several Schwinn Bikes and even went into stores that had this on display. The price in several stores was above what I was willing to spend. I received an email alert that the price had dropped on this bike. I decided to buy it. Shipping was expected in 2 weeks, but I received it in about 5 days and it was brought by FEDEX. The box was very big and the base was very heavy. The nuts and bolts are in a thin piece of cardboard. At first we thought we didn't have the pieces. Look for this immediately. There were only a few nuts and bolts we had to put together. The seat, arms, pedals, digital display, and 2 cylindrical bases were all we attached. The rest was all intact. I researched this bike ahead of time. You are the tension and resistance on this bike. It does not have a way of changing resistance. Some other reviews said the seat was uncomfortable. I did not find this to be true. If it does become an issue I will probably just buy a gel cushion that I can wrap around the seat. The construction is heavy duty. I primarily purchased this to have equipment to use in the early morning prior to leaving for work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Quite, Compact, Rides great. Love it.

08/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have the larger Airdyne. It's been around awhile and things are starting to wear out. It's been a pain waiting for parts and repairs. Order this bike and I love it. The reviews said that the seat is uncomfortable. Even the seat on the larger one with padding is uncomfortable after an hour. I don't think comfort is part of the design for exercise equipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

A well built exercise bike.

09/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arrived 2 days early and was 95% assembled. Schwinn always made an exceptional bicycle and that shows in the construction and function of this air bike. My wife just went though three months of cardio therapy and was pleased with the Schwinn air bike she used at the hospital. This will allow her to continue her recovery. The only problem is that she can do about twice the time that I can, but I will catch up. This offers probably the most workout for the dollar of any of the equipment I looked at. Thank you Schwinn and Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Good Buy for the Money

02/24/2014
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For anyone considering an all around low/no impact workout for cardio and upper and lower body, especially if knee or hip issues (I've had one hip replaced), it's a good buy. It's a relatively easy assembly, helps if there's a second person there to balance, though one person can do it. All assembly tools (Allen head, screwdriver, wrench) are included.
I owned an original Airdyne and foolishly sold it during a period I wasn't using it. The action of the AD 2 compares to the original; quality of working parts seems to be the same. Covers and wind screen on the AD 2 are plastic vs metal.
If you're having it shipped, check the front wind screen carefully on receipt. It isn't well protected by the front of the carton, and mine, like other reviews I've read, was broken in transit, with no obvious damage to the carton. Bowflex (distributor for Airdyne) was contacted and the part is supposed to be on the way at no charge.
Dislikes: The seat. If you plan on long sessions on the bike, get a gel cover.
The display. REALLY dislike that it cycles through the options (Time, Calories, Miles, MPH, RPM) in 5 second intervals and there's no way to choose and keep one option - so if you're following and want to maintain RPM, you can only view it for 5 seconds every 25 seconds. Terrible design.
At present, Walmart has the best price, shipping was quick.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Great Bike

06/16/2014
By ,
GALVESTON, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought Schwinn ellipical and trike. Not impreseed wih either, but the Airdyne 2 is great. Easy to assemble, great work out and no storage problems. Seat is a little uncomfortable, but hey, this ia a bike. Highly recommennd and Walmart delivered one week ahead of promised delivery date. Thanks Schwinn and Walmart for a job well done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Great exercise bike!

01/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike was half price, which was a factor in getting it sight unseen. Arrived quickly. Husband assembled it without any difficulty, just took a little time. It exceeds my expectations! Quiet, and comfortable so far, though I haven't built up stamina to ride it for too long yet. (May need more comfortable seat in the long run as all reviews cautioned.) Doesn't need much space. It is easy to operate, and the readout is helpful and clear; I love that it exercises arms and torso too. If I were shorter however, the arm reach might make me lean in too much. ( I am 5' 7 1/2".) I am really pleased, and i am critical by nature, so this is a really good review!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

You'll love it! Read my review below.

01/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched exercise machines for over a month & was unhappy with what I read in regard to problems with the magnetic based bikes (almost all of them). I also was unhappy because most bikes have stationary handlebars, so you get no upper body benefits. I knew I wanted a bike, because I suffer from foot problems, & I felt I needed aerobic exercise. Because I am older, doctors were not recommending elliptical machines of any type. That eliminated almost every machine out there. By total accident I came across an article about the original Schwinn Airdyne series. They were developed in the 60's & many doctors considered them the gold standard. Anyone in any condition can use one, & the resistance level is infinite- it depends on how fast you want (or can) peddle. (No adjustments-trust me this is good.) The "stopper" was the hefty pricetag- $700 & up for choice of two models. Then I saw the Airdyne II at $399. Its superior in may ways to the original (lower in height-easier to get on & off.) Also it is MUCH quieter, using a grooved belt drive instead of a chain. Your pedaling operates a free-rolling flywheel, and that in turn runs a fan in front. The fan puts out a little breeze towards you in the forward direction & a lot in reverse pedaling. There is a large digital readout that tells you time elapsed, speed, calories burned, etc. (But not heart rate- but I didn't want that feature anyway) The seat is OK, (maybe could be padded a bit more- but I'm heavy) but if you don't like it, you can toss a towel on it, or pick up any standard bicycle seat at a cycle shop & pop it on there. My wife is under 5' & it fits her fine and I am 5'10 & very comfortable. I believe this bike could be used by anyone. There are no tension controls, you just get on & pedal at whatever speed you want. When your fitness level goes up, just pedal a little faster, or pedal for a longer time. The handle bars move back & forth & you can use them or not. I'm comfortable just pedaling hands free when I want. You can also put your feet on the footrests & pump the handlebars to spin the wheel to get an upper body workout, too. The machine is so darn flexible in use- that is what impressed me. Its very sturdy & was very easy to assemble in a few minutes. I'm cheap & thought $399 was a bit high, but after using this machine, I could not be happier. The quality is pretty good for Chinese (sigh) manufacture. Everyone says they received their product in a box poked full of holes & that was my experience. But it's packed so well in hard foam, you can see there was no danger of scratching the unit. This is a wonderful product, that does what is promised. Why they are not promoting this model instead of the other "junk" (magnetic repulsion bikes with digital "programs", iPod sound systems & other BS) in the Schwinn line is beyond me. My best advice: Buy the Schwinn Airdyne II at $399. You will be happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+120points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

I loved using my exercise bike. I hate the seat.

03/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent exercise bike.
My family and I have enjoyed using the exercise bike.
The only complaint is the "Hard Seat".
I am going to purchase me a larger overstuff seat, so I can ride longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Great overall excerise bike

01/26/2012
By ,
Atlantic City, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Extremely satisfied with the value and quality of this bike. It's quiet, sturdy and meets all of my expectations. I do a 30 minute workout every other day and I look forward to doing my excercise. The digital display allows me to keep a record of my progress. I would highly recommend this excerise bike for a great upper and lower body workout.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

I love it!

11/04/2012
By ,
Portland OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very happy with my purchase. Having a low back injury and sore shoulders for many years, it has been very difficult to find an "at home" exercise machine that is flexible for my needs. I love that I have the option on this machine to work only my upper body, only my lower body or both at the same time. The operation of the bike is very smooth and not very loud. It is great being able to add my MP3 and listen to some tunes while I'm working out. I also like that the intensity increases as I pedal harder. Lately, I've been rotating between pedaling forward and backward to work my anterior and posterior muscle groups in my legs. My legs definitely get that "worked out" feeling that I am able to control (harder vs. easier) based on my effort and pedal speed. This bike has a very uncomfortable seat, but that is the worst thing about it and was very easy to fix by adding some padding to the seat (I just used theraband to strap a small pillow over the seat). The bike was pretty easy to put together too. I was able to put it together by myself in a small space (my baby's nursery) about 6 weeks after having a C-Section. I ride it while I'm putting my baby to sleep, which is great. The sound of the fan just lulls her right to sleep. (Good "white-noise"). Chris
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Well-built, sturdy, quiet bike

08/29/2014
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tested this bike out at another store and then found it a little cheaper at Walmart.
The bike is pretty easy to assemble. The body of it is a little bit heavy...so 2 people
putting together is a good idea. Some of the other bikes did not feel sturdy or stable,
but this one does. Schwinn makes a good product. And the seat is OK.
Also, it doesn't have a lot of high tech stuff on it. Just simple read out/display.
Note: I ordered from Walmart and had it delivered to my home.
The truckers left it (big, heavy box) right on the walkway...not at the door.
What a hassle. Had to remove all parts from the box and carry in the bike body.
So, long story short, no problem with the product. Problem was just the delivery/arrival.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Buyer Beware

04/23/2012
By ,
farmington, maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a very well made exercise bike with one big exception: VERY uncomfortable seat. I started on this bike for 10 minutes for 3 days in a row with no problem...Day 4, increased to 12 minutes and hurt my tailbone. That was last thursday, it is now Monday and still can't sit down without excrutiating pain, never mind get back on the bike. I am going to buy a padded seat cover and try again when I feel better, but quite frankly, am a little afraid to get back on it. It is also a little weird getting on and off of it.
Before buying this bike, I read the reviews and dismissed that many complained about the uncomfortable seat thinking to myself....what bike seat IS comfortable? Trust me...This one is horrible!
I could go on and on, but can't sit long enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Shwinn Airdyne 2

11/03/2013
By ,
N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the bike but as everyone has said, the seat needs to be changed. I added a gel seat topping to get longer ride time that way. The machine is sturdy and you burn a lot of calories. The computer read out is great. The bike is sturdy and looks like I will be riding it a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Schwinn Airdyne hits the mark

10/18/2013
By ,
Salem, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have the original Airdyne 1 - all metal - costing about 900 and this model costs a third but runs smoother and looks great. They covered the fan so there is less wind - but I it wouldn't be the worst thing to let a bit more wind through - but all in all - we'll likely buy one or two more for our training studio.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike
02/23/2012
By ,
Cape Coral, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had it shipped to the store for pickup. The entire transaction was quick and painless. Easy assembly. Nice bike and gives a great workout. See some results in two weeks after riding about 10 minutes 4-5 days per week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

excellent machine

12/19/2011
By ,
iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this schwinn exercise bike is a great workout . worth its money. very stable and built well. the only problem we have is getting use to the seat. very hard and narrow. i did put a gel seat over it but still very hard, maybe time will help.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

Great Exercise Machine

04/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this machine because I was tired of pounding on the treadmill. I thought just riding an exercise bike would be too easy, so when I found the Schwinn Airdyne II, with the ability to include an upper body work out, I thought it would be a good way to condense my work out efforts... I was right. After 10 minutes, I'm completely exhausted and have worked my upper and lower body and raised my cardio level. I have had the machine only a week and can tell its going to take a while to build up to a longer work out.
As far as the quality of the machine goes, it has the quality construction of Schwinn products that I expected. The electronic monitor is rather rudimentary, but I tend to rely on how my body feels rather than what the machine says so that's not too important to me. The machine also doesn't have a tension/resistence control to make the work out more difficult, but instead increasing the speed makes it more difficult. For the average exerciser not training for the Ironman competition, this isn't a problem. The only other concern I had when I bought the machine was the seat comfort. Some reviews stated that it wasn't comfortable and recommended a padded seat or using a towel to cushion it. I have not found this to be a problem. yet.
All in all, for the price ($399.00) I think its a great deal so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Schwinn Airdyne 2 Exercise Bike

our first exercise bike

01/10/2014
By ,
Winchester VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit was fairly easy to assemble. There was some damage in manufacturing (no damage to the box) but did not affect operation of the unit. Assembly instructions were in diagrams, not many words, and we prefer words and diagrams.
Quiet unit, doesn't take up a lot of room, adjustable for both my husband and me. I like the simplicity of the panel which switches automatically from time to calories used to rpm to miles traveled. .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next