Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Schwinn Fitness Schwinn 250 Recumbent Exercise Bike

Schwinn Fitness Schwinn 250 Recumbent Exercise Bike

Get fit and shed those extra pounds with the Schwinn 250 Exercise Bike. It has a plush seat with lumbar support that supports your back even through long, rigorous work out sessions. The Schwinn exercise bike features 16 stages of Eddy Current Magnetic resistance and 18 programs to suit your intensity and workout requirements. The Schwinn Bio-Fit comfort system integrates pedals with 1mm inclination to minimize the stress on your joints and to ensure comfortable dynamics through the workout. Further, the Schwinn recumbent exercise bike has a built-in magazine stand, bottle holder, backlit color LCD, fans, speakers, transport wheels and a retractable reading shelf. Also, the bike incorporates heart rate sensors to keep track of your pulse rate.
Average Customer Rating:
3.959 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation81%59 out of 73reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 75 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Schwinn 250 Recumbent Exercise Bike

Walmart shipped in damaged box with damaged part

01/09/2014
By ,
Cedar Park, Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have not used the Schwinn 250 enough to rate it but Walmart shipping or product depot damaged the box, taped over the damaged, and delivered the Schwinn 250 with a damaged part. The bike appears to work and I will pursue a replacement part.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Schwinn 250 Recumbent Exercise Bike

Bike had broken fly-wheel shroud and broken cable

04/16/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unable to rate until repaired.
Shipper(s) dropped the box at front of bike breaking the shroud into many pieces and disconnecting the electrical cable. Contacted Walmart (via e-mail support) and Nautilus (Schwinn) by phone who were very helpful. Waiting for new shroud parts to come.
Expect 30 day warranty period to start when I receive the parts from Nautilus (5 working days from today).
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Schwinn 250 Recumbent Exercise Bike

Good value for home use.

02/05/2014
By ,
WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Now that this bike is set up and I am using it, it's great! A solid, quiet and compact piece of home gym equipment. Smooth peddle motion and easy workout set-up. Even the bike assembly was pretty easy...1-1/2 hours with two people, one an engineer admittedly.
I gave it 4 stars because it is not the recumbant bike you ride at the gym. It is a home gym bike that is less durable than the gym bikes, a little shaky in the seat and screen. But, good for what it is.
It was the delivery that was BAD. The first bike was delivered smashed up with the box disheveled. Had to return that one. Walmart paid for all shipping including the return.
But, imagine how different the story would have been if Fed Ex and UPS had sent more that one person to deliver/pick-up a 116# box. The second bike was delivered when I was home and the delivery lady, smaller than I am, said if I had not been there she would have had to just shove the box off the back end of her van. The man who picked up the first bike for return thanked God I was there to help him get the box up into his truck.
Schwinn could have packed the bike a little better to protect the wheel housing more but I'll bet if the box had been handled with more care it would not have been the problem it was. Who knows what happened to the boxes at the shipper warehouses...
So happy that 2 week saga is over and I am riding in comfort.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Schwinn 250 Recumbent Exercise Bike

Pretty good, could use better shipping.

04/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bike itself went together fine and there haven't been any issues in relation to Schwinn quality. I've put a week on it and no complaints, it works fine. The fan is as many have noted, a joke, but I wanted to use a larger fan anyway. The resistance can be adjusted from "I can't feel it" to "I can't pedal it" so it's more than enough for what we need. The seat adjustments fit my 5'0 girlfriend and myself at 5'11 just fine. Overall I really like it. Now, the downside. It was smashed a bit in shipping. Fedex smashed the rear "carry" or "move" handle in shipping quite badly. Not so bad that I'd raise a stink or anything as it doesn't impact the performance of the bike but it should be noted that economy shipping gets economy care. Anyway shipping aside it is a solid product and we are happy with our purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Schwinn 250 Recumbent Exercise Bike

product good, service horrible

04/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bike was very good and we use it every morning. When I got home to find the package it was very apparent that it was a return to WalMart and it was just shipped on to me. The box had been opened and the flaps were ripped with only one staple still in a flap. The box was held together with nylon banding straps and fell apart when I cut them. The shroud on the bike was in pieces, it took a week to superglue everything together until it held. It was obvious that WalMart was sending out returns to people that ordered online, something I will no longer do from WalMart.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Schwinn 250 Recumbent Exercise Bike

Great product for joint inflammation

04/04/2014
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have lumbar pain, sciatica, & knee pain. I love the padded seat and lumbar support. I love the HR sensors. I love the fitness test. I love that the console has different programs and can hold my galaxy 4 or surface tablet. I wish the cup holder was bigger. Also, I'm 5'4 & had to tilt console back so that my knees would stop hitting the console tray. Schwinn connect does not work with the 250 & fitness pal. It works with the 270 instead.... what a bummer. A 250 fitness pal app is needed. I expected the product to be a bit more durable. When I pedal very fast the bike shakes a bit. If I hold the handle bars attached to the console it remains stable. The instruction manual does not direct you on using the speaker system. I have owned this product for 5 days now, when I connect the MP3 cable to my phone or tablet no sound is produced. I guess I will have to call customer service to assist with this. My hubby put this together & said there were lots of pieces. It took him about 2 hours to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Schwinn 250 Recumbent Exercise Bike

This is a great option for home workouts.

05/23/2013
By ,
Scotch Plains, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Due to schedule conflicts, I couldn't get to my health club anymore. So I decided to get a bike for the home. I did alot of research before I selected and bought the bike, and the Schwinn 250 was one of the highest rated. But what really caught my attention were the comments about how sturdy (well made) it felt. And I wasn't dissapointed.
The assembly directions that came with the bike were so easy that I put it together in less than an hour. I do alot of work around the house (plumbing, electrical, carpentry), but even so, the directions were clear, precise and the diagrams made it very simple.
Once I tried the bike out, it was exactly what I was hoping for; a sturdy, well made bike that was good for daily use and reasonably priced. The only negative I've found was the computer/control console was made of plastic and felt a little weak, considering the rest of the bike is made of steel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Schwinn 250 Recumbent Exercise Bike

Good bike at a fair price

10/15/2013
By ,
Ossining, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this bike ship to store so the shipping was free. It shipped in 2 business days much faster than expected. The bike is well build and the tools and parts are packaged very well so you can easily identify them. I was able to put it together myself in 2-2.5 hours. The console works pretty well but the built in programs only use 10 intervals. So a 30 Minute workout has 3x10 intervals, I am used to shorter intervals. You can build 1 custom workout that can be 20 intervals. That's why I find it odd you are stuck with 10 only on the built in programs. The only issue I have had is that the console shakes a little when I ride and if I don't hold the handle bars it can be distracting. This may be because I got the bundle with the rubber mats and that may be why it is doing that. I usually hold the handle bars up top because I bought a separate heart rate monitor. I saw a lot of reviews of this bike and others and bought the Walmart extended warranty. It was like 3 years for $30. You can't beat that for something I will be giving a lot of use. I know this is an older model 2011 but is it a great value and you will enjoy it for a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Schwinn 250 Recumbent Exercise Bike

Pretty good but not perfect

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like many of the reviews said, the bike arrived damaged. The plastic cover that covers up the flywheel, etc. was badly damaged when the bike arrived. The box didn't appear to be terribly beat up but the plastic cover on the bike was cracked pretty badly. It would help if they'd ship the cover separately or at least not mounted to the bike so maybe it would survive the shipping. Rather than ship the whole thing back and risk getting another damaged bike, I called Schwinn and asked them send me a replacement cover which I can replace, myself. Their customer service people were friendly and cooperative. I haven't gotten the replacement parts yet, but it's only been a few days.
As for the bike, itself, it was easy to assemble and seems sturdy, other than the plastic cover. I haven't had any problems adjusting the resistance or figuring out the programs. I know some other people had those issues but I did not. The bike is super quiet and comfortable. Of course, the fan is a bit of a joke and same with the MP-3 speakers, but I knew that so wasn't expecting much anyway.
All things considered, I'd recommend the bike. Just be prepared to replace the plastic cover because it will likely be damaged in shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Schwinn 250 Recumbent Exercise Bike

Does the job.

03/16/2014
By ,
Chicago IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've only been using the bike for a week and it does the job. I didn't install the bike but my son did and he was able to to it in about an hour and a half. I was upset because they did not send all the parts. It was missing two screws. The bike works without the screws but without the screws the pole that attaches to the control panel is loose. The plastic cover at the bottom was cracked. I called Shcwinn they apologized and said they would send me replacements. It will be a week tomorrow and I am still waiting It doesn't surprise me the cover was cracked the box it came in was beat up and it looked like it had fallen off a truck. There wasn't much protection around the pieces. If I could do again I wold buy at a store and not online.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Schwinn 250 Recumbent Exercise Bike

good cycle for the home and price

11/29/2013
By ,
no. st. paul, minn.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it took me a little over 2 hours to put this cycle together, remove packaging and cleanup. the instuctions were pretty much on. although there were a couple of instructions that did not make sense. it you are mechanically inclined it goes together well. common sense needs to be used on the instructions that are not clear. all of the parts were neatly marked and packaged. nice job! there were 4 or 5 extra washers left over. i would recommend using the extra washers to stabilize the counsel to the counsel bracket as there seems to be a sizable gap between the two. i did this and it snugged up nicely. council works great so far. the book rack is plastic and rattles some. the step through design is nice. i don't like the seat adjustment though. my old vision fitness cycle had a bar for seat adjusting which was really nice cause you didn't have to get off to adjust like this one because it has a spring knob that is hard to reach sitting down unless you have long arms. the fan is quite pathetic. why bother unless it really blows some air. the power pack is heavy and plugs directly into the wall socket and has a tendency to fall out. i would recomend a short extension cord instead and let the power pack sit on the floor. it is quiet and smooth. this is my third recumbant and probably the most comfortable of the past two. all in all a good product for the price. i would give it a 4 0ut of 5 score.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Schwinn 250 Recumbent Exercise Bike

Great basic bike

02/24/2014
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike has everything I need, including size ( I am 6'3"). It is quiet and has a magazine rack. I read and/or watch TV and the workout time flies by. My biggest up front concern was damage in transit. Not to worry, FedEx delivered the container in perfect condition. It takes a little time for assembly but all the special tools are included.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Schwinn 250 Recumbent Exercise Bike

Jury is still out...

10/13/2013
By ,
Greenfield, MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My first attempt at owning this bike was very upsetting. I had it delivered to my house. The box arrived in shambles. It wasn't surprising that the bike itself was damaged. Getting it back to the store was not easy.
But I decided to try again this time after ordering online I had it delivered to the store and had them assemble it. This seemed the wise choice and would avoid the previous problems. Well, I still had a problem. The heart rate function does not work( it reads a pulse of 212 at rest)
So I called the company and they were very amenable to send me new handle grips.
So the jury is out for me. I'll have to replace the handle bars and see how well this works out. I did purchase the warranty plan. I hope I don't need to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Schwinn 250 Recumbent Exercise Bike

Rough start

04/11/2014
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this for my mother to use instead of riding outside. EVERY piece of plastic that this bike has was broken or damaged upon unpacking the box. ONE phone call and one email to Nautilus took care of everything and the lady I spoke with couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Thankfully none of these parts was critical to the operation of the bike and it could be used until the free replacements arrive. Sounds like they need to do some research into some better packaging when shipping via UPS/FEDEX. Purchased this model because of it's ease of getting on it. Only have to step over one bar in the middle that's about an inch and a half off the floor. No complaints from Mom so far. She's very happy with it and wishes she had it sooner.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Schwinn 250 Recumbent Exercise Bike

Workmanship and price.

01/18/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted a Schwinn 250 recumbent exercise bicycle as a Christmas present for my wife. She had a recent knee replacement and the recumbent style of exercise bicycle was recommended for her. I thought of Schwinn, the American icon of bicycles! I knew that I was getting a well-made exercise bicycle; it would be sturdy and designed to last a lifetime. I was very surprised that Schwinn it is no longer any of those things. As I was assembling the equipment, I found that one or rear stabilizers was broken (plastic part) and would not work. It rattled inside the tube and had been packed broken. The console graphics are difficult to read and the letters look like stick people. The peddle straps are made of a very thick plastic, without any elasticity, and the plastic peddle strap studs immediately broke off of both peddles on the first try to fasten the straps. The assembly was easy for two people and the tools to assembly the bicycle are included in the packaging. If you ignore the console, the slight wobble when in use, and by keeping your feet pressed to the bicycle peddles, she rides it each day. I rated it as average for workmanship and overpriced, for all of the plastic parts.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Schwinn 250 Recumbent Exercise Bike

Great exercise bike for anybody

09/05/2013
By ,
Indianapolis, In.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this bike for about a month now. I am 56 and weight 300 lbs. I have had 20 hours of major back surgery in the past two years. I now have nerve damage in both legs and can no longer bend at the waist. I also have loss of motion from side to side,but not about me about the bike. I use every day at the request of my doctor. It is not hurting or harmful to my back. Now I can get some exercise and lose some of this weight I have gained. Excellent bike easy to use and comfortable. I would recommend to anyone at any age or fitness level.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Schwinn 250 Recumbent Exercise Bike

Very good bike.

02/13/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My legs are bad. I have to hold on to the bike in order to get myself into it. It's more comfortable than I expected since I weigh about 270 lb.. I have to place my feet on the pedals, thanks to wideness this is not hard. The screen is easy to see. The bike is very quite. Don't know why they add a fan. Has two profiles and a guest. My son and I put it together in about 45 min. with no problems and i'm in a Hover Round. Just follow the directions. It had a broken caster wheel for the front. I called and the piece was sent quickly. Shipping was the cause for the part being broken. The box looked like a bomb went off under it. I was surprised only one item was broken. My wife and I use the bike and like it very much. I would like for it to cost less but it is what it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Schwinn 250 Recumbent Exercise Bike

Great exercise bike for a good workout

12/08/2013
By ,
Westminster, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very happy with this purchase. Though more than I wanted to spend, it works great for my needs. The instructions for putting it together were easy to follow, though it took me over 2 hours. It has lots of features, like calorie counter, speed/distance, and even a heart rate monitor. It has an iPod connector and the speakers are pretty good. The only flaws I found is that the fan is pretty weak (not sure why they bothered), and the tire housing was tweaked upon arrival but we were able to fix it. One other feature I like is how quiet it is. I would definitely recommend this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Schwinn 250 Recumbent Exercise Bike

Good bike for the money

04/20/2014
By ,
Orlando, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this bike for about a month now and been using it nearly everyday. The bike came with all the right pieces & nothing was damaged. The assembly took me about 2-3 hours by myself. The directions were easy enough to follow though I would recommend 2 people for assembly. It was hard to hold parts together while trying to tighten screws at the same time. The bike rides very smooth and is very silent. Actually, the ceiling fan makes more noise than the bike does. I really like the digital display on the bike. The bike has a fan built in, but it doesn't really seem to work that well. It must not have enough power because the air blown by the fan never actually reaches you. The bike has wheels on the front base so that you can move the bike to different locations, if you want. The problem is that you have to lift the back of the bike so high off the ground for the wheels on the front to actually touch the ground. It was really difficult for myself because the bike is kind of heavy. I ended up putting something under the front base so that I could slide the bike on the floor instead to move it. The construction of the bike seems to be fairly sturdy and secure. In the month that I have had the bike, it seems like there are some screws that need to be tightened, like in the seat for example. I guess after time & use, screws will naturally get loosened. So far I would say that I am happy with the bike. Before I purchased the bike, I compared reviews of other bikes and this one seemed to be the bike that was most recommended. Walmart's price was also really low compared to other retailers & came with free shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Schwinn 250 Recumbent Exercise Bike

Trying it again..

02/01/2014
By ,
Litchfield, MN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The bike was delivered in horrible condition. The box was severely damage and appeared to have been drug about when ever it was moved. Upon opening the box we realized the bike was damaged too. The plastic housing surrounding the gears and peddles was badly damaged with multiple cracks and large pieces of plastic crumbled and missing. I'm not happy. I will be returning it. We did not take the bike out of the box. So I can't comment on how the bike works. I will be returning it today and reordering. I will update this post when my 2nd bike arrives. Until then, better luck to everyone else!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 68 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next