Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Schwinn Fitness Schwinn 420 Elliptical

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Schwinn Fitness Schwinn 420 Elliptical

Get the workout you desire in the comfort of your own home. The Schwinn 420 Elliptical provides eight preset programs for workout variety with a small footprint. BioGlide motion technology allows for a natural elliptical workout stride designed to deliver a comfortable routine with maximum results. This Schwinn elliptical machine features integrated grip heart rate sensors, an LCD computer display, retractable magazine rack, bottle holder, speakers and fan. The Schwinn 420 Elliptical is the perfect complement to your home gym. Other features of this elliptical workout machine include 16 levels of Eddy Current magnetic resistance and transport wheels.
Average Customer Rating:
4.032 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
30
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation85%53 out of 62reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
30
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Schwinn 420 Elliptical

Disappointed and Waiting for the Repairman

01/18/2012
By ,
Toledo, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have been waiting for a repair visit to be scheduled since I bought the machine 2 weeks ago. The customer service reps at Schwiin/Nautilus are nice, but the company's followup is poor. It's possible the machine will work great once it's fixed, so I can't speak to the mechanics. However, I can say the display on the console is not what's pictured on most websites. The readout is dim and hard to read. There is no backlight like you think from the pictures. As a result, you will likely need to provide your own timer for workouts and you can forget following the various programs in machine. I must say I expected more from Schwinn.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+38points
Review 2 for Schwinn 420 Elliptical

Great Buy

03/27/2012
By ,
SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had my elliptical for about a month now and so far no real issues. You need to be at least 6 ft. tall to feel the Fan, but I know other reviewers have already addressed this issue, just wanted to confirm that it is true. It's also true that the screen does not have a back light or LCD screen so it can be hard to read at night even with a light on. I have no problems seeing the screen when it's daylight and I've purchased a cheap book light that clips onto the book shelf/holder and shines down perfectly onto the screen. But with all that said, this machine does work properly and is quiet and I love it! You need 2 ppl 2 put it together and it does take a few hrs., but it's not that bad. The weight limit is 300lbs. Very good buy for the money spent!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 3 for Schwinn 420 Elliptical

It was money well spent

02/08/2012
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased my Schwinn 420 Eliptical in Jan. 2011
I had it delivered site to store and Wal-Mart put it together.
At first I thought there was a problem , But it turned out just to be one
loose nut.
Once I got that tight it worked fine.
I have had it now for one year -- 195 workouts --- 36 Hours --- 361 miles
38,957 calories burned.
It is quiet, and it has worked just fine for me.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Review 4 for Schwinn 420 Elliptical

Glad I waited to write this review

07/02/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Thought the product was okay when I first purchased. Mostly good reviews. I haven't even owned this a year and wish I hadn't purchased. Let me preface this review by saying that the customer service @ Nautalis is great. That's good because I have had to call 5 times in less than a year. Elliptical constantly has a squeak in the wheel. I have had two parts replaced. When the technician leaves all is well. Within two weeks it is back. I understand this is not a high end piece of equipment, but @ $500 it was cheap either. Customer service would like me to try and fix myself or have a neighbor or family come over to do it. Again I have owned this LESS than one year. Every time I call I get a different solution. My brother purchased the same elliptical and has the same problems so I know it is not just me. My advise would be to take the $500 and join one of the gyms that offer the $10 a month membership and use their elliptical. Save yourself the headache (the squeak is really loud).
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Posted 01/11/2014
You could get some noise-cancelling earphones and listen to something else while you workout.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Schwinn 420 Elliptical

Nice machine...BUT???

01/15/2012
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
first the good. Well made steel construction, smooth and quiet glide. Large size, looks and feels like something in a gym. Two hours to assemble is not bad considering the amount of parts.
They have added a fan and an MP3 connection with ipad holder and water bottle holder that was not on the previous version.
Price is good on first look...but.
Now the bad. No way to adjust machine for size of user. If you are under 5' 9" this machine will be a stretch for you to feel comfortable on.
The info panel, fan and ipod holder face upward, about 45 degrees, unless you are 6' 4" you will not feel the fan or see the info screen and seeing your ipad or magazine is out of the question.
The info screen is not lit or LED so it is useless and way too small, they made it smaller than previous models to incorporate the other features. Unless you have super perfect eyesite there is no way to see or read this thing. Fan is small and weak even on full speed.
I called Swinn and asked about updates and maybe recalls and they said they have no complaints or plans for changes at the moment. If they made the machine slightly adjustable and put the info console on a goose neck that could move up or down this would be an excellent buy.
The info readout must be changed to LED or something brighter before it will be usable to less than perfect eyesite users.It is virtually useless to us and we now just use the machine without any of the built in features such as heart rate and exercise programs because we can't see them.
The screen is tiny and has tons of info(I think) but not viewable. Swinn. MAKE THE SCREEN LARGER, keep the fan but put it some place else.
I guess I should have bought a more expensive unit, this is all I could afford to spend.
Sorry for the long review but it needs to be told.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+213points
Review 6 for Schwinn 420 Elliptical
01/23/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good elliptical. Everyone in my family is using it (including 2 teenagers). One problem is that only one users information can be stored so everyone else has to use the guest user profile. Assembling was long(4 hr) and somewhat difficult.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 7 for Schwinn 420 Elliptical

GREAT

01/20/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The fan us useless, you can't even feel it on your face -
The digitial display can be difficult to read -
The heart rate monitor doesn't seem to work -
Other than that, this this is excellent - was easy to assemble, is solid, and provides an excellent workout for me and my wife
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+49points
Review 8 for Schwinn 420 Elliptical

Great for the price

09/30/2013
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this ellitptical (plus a gym mat) for $476 including tax at Walmart online. A great deal. As I had bad experiences with shipping products from Walmart online to my home, I shipped it to the nearest store for free. It arrived fast and without damage. You do need help to carry the whole package once at home, it is too heavy otherwise (169 pounds). Either that or open the box and carry one component at a time. I am a medium built woman and was able to assemble it on my own. It took a good 3 hours but the instructions were very clear. One of the best instructions I have followed in years. The pieces are sturdy and solid. Screws aligned perfectly. Nothing went wrong. I did follow the advice I read in some reviews to use any grease left out in bags with pre-greased pieces to lubricate the inside of the female components of the mobile junctions. This makes sure there is no noise at the joints. My machine was very quiet during operation, so I imagine it helped. The elliptical itself had great reviews and although I have been using it for only 2 days, it is a great workout and a smooth ride. Only complaint is that the console is quite cheap. The fan is useless (too high on the console to reach my face, although I am 5' 7"), the book holder is even higher to be able to read anything, and the LED screen is small and dark, making it difficult to see what is displayed unless you stop working out and get really close to the display. The Schwinn 450 gets a better console plus more pre-programmed workouts, but you pay $700-800 for a machine that is otherwise identical. I compromised on the console quality to save $300, but some customers may prefer to invest more to get a better console. Other than that you cannot beat the quality of the machine for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 9 for Schwinn 420 Elliptical

Great Machine, Bad Console!

02/25/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great machine! Smooth and quiet. The console is horrible!... 1. Very hard to see display (no back light, small fonts, have to look on an angle to see) 2. The fan is 100% worthless! 3. The speakers for the iPod/mp3 are not amplified, extremely quiet. We knew from other reviews that the console was not the greatest so we purchased it anyway because the reviews said the machine itself was awesome, which it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 10 for Schwinn 420 Elliptical

Great machine but...

12/27/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this elliptical on clearance already assembled, and the manager knocked off another 10%! The machine is very sturdy and smooth. It does give you a great workout. The only complaint I have is like the others. The display is pretty bad. Maybe if it had a backlight it would be ok. And the fan is worthless, but I really don't care about that. I love being able to listen to my Ipod while working out. Some have complained that the speakers are not loud enough, but I think they are just fine because the machine is so quiet. I would definitely recommend this elliptical.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Schwinn 420 Elliptical

Well Made, Easy to put together, quality product

08/16/2013
By ,
Rhode Island
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a well made strudy elliptical, I gave it four stars. As stated in other reviews, the fan is little and will not cool you off. You might want to purchase other fans and put it beside you when you work out. Otherwise it was easy to put together. It took about two hours. It starts at a resistance 3, if you move it up to 8 and run for 20 minutes you will really feel it. Once you build up your strength, a resistance level of 12 will really wear you out. I haven't made it to level 16 yet. I would recomend this to a friend. I am very happy with this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 12 for Schwinn 420 Elliptical

Good Value

03/04/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this unit while it was on sale. It is VERY heavy duty. I've used it 5 days a week for 3 weeks now and not had any problems with it at all. It moves smoothly and it is very quiet. I read the reviews from others about the display being small and hard to read but I don't have a problem with it. I do however agree that the fan is quite worthless and you can't even tell it's on. The heart rate monitor works, but you have to give it about 30 seconds to pick up your heart rate. The machine itself is quite tall and takes up a pretty good chunk of space. It is very heavy and took my husband about 2 hours to put together. I feel it was definitely a good purchase and I'm very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+5points
Review 13 for Schwinn 420 Elliptical

Good quality at a reasonable price

02/12/2012
By ,
Galveston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The trainer was delivered to the Walmart store selected sooner than promised. The staff was helpful and efficient when I picked it up. Assembly took almost three hours for one person, but I recommend it be done by two people, as everything is heavy. Be sure not to over-tighten bolts on moving parts. It is quite sturdy and quiet. However, the display output is extremely small and weak, making it very difficult to read. I have asked Schwinn about an upgrade to a better display but have not yet received a reply.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 14 for Schwinn 420 Elliptical

Beginners will find the easiest setting difficult

06/12/2012
By ,
Acme, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After much research my husband and I settled on this model as it was rated highest by Consumer Reports. They did sell it at our local Dunham's store but it was over $100 more there.
After ordering online and having it sent to our local WalMart it came relatively quickly. Assembly is time-consuming - be very careful to read the directions thoroughly as you assemble. It definately helps to have 2 people to put it together. It is very heavy to move and you have to pick up the back high before you call roll it on the wheels to where you want to have it situated.
The easiest setting was strenous excercise but with practice it will become easier to use. The fan does not give alot of air - needs improvement. Hard to read screen in low light as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 15 for Schwinn 420 Elliptical

so far so good....but i've just had it a few days

12/15/2013
By ,
ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the only thing that i see that could be better is a back lit display...that would help a lot reading the settings...other than that it is great so far...very well made and durable...nice looking too
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Schwinn 420 Elliptical
03/17/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looked at a lot of reviews on this product and it met all my expectations! Great value! Walmart had the best price for this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 17 for Schwinn 420 Elliptical

Smooth, quiet operation but tiny display

03/13/2012
By ,
massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This machine is a great value for the money. It operates smoothly, has an mp3/iPod plug in. I don't find the lowest level too difficult as some people have stated and I have not worked out in some time prior to buying this. The things I don't like about is the display is way too small. I use it in an area that is not brightly lit and I had to use my reading glasses and a flashlight to see it. Also the book holder is too high, as is the fan. I am 5' 4". I will just set up a fan on the floor if I feel I need one. Overall I like this elliptical and would buy it again
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 18 for Schwinn 420 Elliptical

Great unit

02/21/2012
By ,
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased at Walmart.com. Took 3 weeks to be advised unit was available at store for pick up. Was able to fit 3/4. In Camry trunk. Tied down door and drove away
Assembly wasn't hard. I assembly unit by my self. I enlargen the assembly instructions and layed pieces out on floor. Solid unit. Took. Approx. 4 hrs to assembly......again by my self.
One of the base units was detectives. And held up assembly. Call customer service and they were extremely helpful........and felt bad because of this issue. Replacement parts arrived in 5 days. Over all was extremely pleased with Walmart customer service
I took out the 3yr warranty. Plus the Walmart one = 4 yrs in total
Only issue is the monitor unit. Very small window. Very hard to see without a flashlight and or unit is in a very well lite room. Solved problem by getting a battery light with goose arm and attached with earth quick clay. I turn light on when I'm using the unit
I've been using the unit 4 days a week. For, 3 weeks. No problems. I feel with the all inclusive warranty I set for 4. Years on any repairs needed. Most made of metals. Very little plastics
The unit is approx. 63inches long. And doesn't take up that much room
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 19 for Schwinn 420 Elliptical

Sturdy, Easy to put together Elliptical

01/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice easy to put together elliptical.
the "feet" on the lifting handle were misthreaded and could not attach handle properly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Schwinn 420 Elliptical

Very quiet!

01/20/2014
By ,
Northwestern PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very happy. It only took a couple hours to put together. It runs very quiet, but the screen is difficult to read.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1 2 3 Next