Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym XRS 30 System

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym XRS 30 System

Build incredible total-body strength with the Gold's Gym XRS 30 System. Featuring a 112 lb. weight stack, this Gold's Gym home gym delivers a full-range of workout options and up to 300 lbs. of resistance for maximum results. Plus, with Gold's Gym XRS 30's combination chest press/fly station, you'll get twice the upper-body results. This home gym also features a 4-roll leg developer, high and low pulleys, a lat bar and an exercise chart designed by a Certified Personal Trainer.
Average Customer Rating:
3.965 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(171 Reviews) 139
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
76
3 stars
15
2 stars
5
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation87%148 out of 171reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
67 Questions | 148 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
76
3 stars
15
2 stars
5
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym XRS 30 System

Great Gym!

08/18/2012
By ,
Lansing, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had very little problem putting it together. All parts were there and nuts and bolts were marked so it was very easy to assemble. Very sturdy and easy to use. I added the Preacher pad to make it more complete. Very nice machine. I use it every day and am very happy with my purchase. Would highly recommend this gym.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gold's Gym XRS 30 System

Do not purchase

04/07/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've only had this gym for three days. This machine will not hold up under the pressure of using the max weight. While under tension of the max weight one of the pulleys broke and bent a piece of the frame that it was attached to. It will be packed up and taken back to walmart.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hinesville, GA
Posted 05/21/2014
We've had the same thing happen to us twice now!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Gold's Gym XRS 30 System

Outstanding Value, works great,

12/18/2011
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In a nutshell, this gym works very well, assembly was well documented, and it meets my needs. I have three times paid for gym memberships only to rarely go. Finally decided to use my spare room as a gym. The price on this unit was the lowest I had seen, but reviews were good and assembly seemed not too long. The box was smaller than I thought, and easily fit in my Corolla trunk with about two feet sticking out. Heavy as heck..took three of us to load it in. Arriving home, we just cut open the end of the box and brought in the pieces, which was very easy, so you could go get this yourself, have them load it, and use my method.
The assembly went well as we laid all the pieces out and followed the very clear directions. I recommend you have a metric socket set, and an adjustable wrench. Only 3 sockets were needed. It comes with 2 Allen wrenches in the bolt bubble sheets. A drill with a Phillips tip is good also but not necessary. I also recommend that if you have four cats like me you lock them out of the room. Once assembled, it worked perfectly! Very smooth, nice variety of exercises. This easily replaces my trips to the gym. I also bought a slant board and a recumbent bike, so I feel that now I have in my home everything the gym offered, except the fanatical jocks who act like they own the equipment. I would also note that they made it so if you move, you can take apart just a few pieces to get the weights off. But with the weights on, it moved around my tile floor surprisingly easily. Buy this, you won't regret it. The attached photo shows the top of the completed gym, with official inspection by the head cat.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+117points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gold's Gym XRS 30 System

Gold Gym XRS 30

12/31/2011
By ,
lancaster, pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PRO: Easy to assemble. Very sturdy. Good presence.
Very happy with my purchase because it was a good investment for a top quality product at an affordable price for everyone.
CON: The bar that goes inside the weights is not long enough and sometimes comes out of its place when I bring the weight completely up at an 180 degree angle.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gold's Gym XRS 30 System

Everything I Expected

03/26/2014
By ,
Macon, Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
All of the screws, nuts, washers, etc...were labeled. The instructions were easy to read. Very sturdy and easy to use.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gold's Gym XRS 30 System

Nice Sturdy Inexpensive Machine*******I Love it!!!

07/06/2012
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a home gym that would not take up space and offer me a nice workout. Well I took a chance on this machine and I am very pleased. It took me a few days to put it together as I put it together a little at a time and was relatively easy to do. All the parts were there, all the screws, nuts and bolts and cables were there..no missing parts. Once I used it, it was really great. I am feeling stronger already. Weights are pretty smooth and so far, I just used only the first level, and am getting tighter. It also is nice looking. This is a great deal if you do not want to spend 500.00 on a home gym or buy a shaky shabby model like they sell in some of the department stores. The gym does not shake when using it it is sturdy! Also plan where you want to put it because once you put it together, it is too heavy to move.. weighs around 200 lbs...I have been going to the gym for years and this really beat buying another 900.00 membership. This will last me for a long time!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gold's Gym XRS 30 System

Bowflex my eye

11/24/2011
By ,
B.F.E, Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First off value for money, you simply can't beat it. If you happen to be an "every man" like me and just want to improve yourself, not spend half a years wage, and have a well built quality machine this is it. Extremly easy to assemble. If you have any mechanical ability at all and a basic set of metric wrenches your set. All of the fasteners are bubble wrapped and numbered for assembly. The directions are easy to follow and understand. Also every step of assembly has a parts breakdown, if you really need one. I did not have to modify, buy extra hardware, or find an extra person to help put it together. Unpacking included it took less than three hours to complete assembly. As a added plus it dosn't take up much floor space. BUT it dosn't come with the $30 preacher pad, and the included excersise chart is really too small to see unless you happen to be blessed with binocular vision. That being said walmart sells the preacher pad and whats a little eye strain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+117points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gold's Gym XRS 30 System

Go in with your eyes open

07/22/2013
By ,
Brighton MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I waited two months after I purchased and set up this home gym to write this review because I wanted to be able to give a pre and post review. Okay so first things first. The gym is inexpensive compared to most. This is because you are getting a low level basic home gym. As long as you know that going into it you are fine. The gym is well worth the money as long as you aren't expecting a lot. I am not a professional body builder and I wanted something simple just to keep my muscle tone up. This gym is perfect for that. It too me, my son and my nephew about 4 hours to set up the gym. The instructions are pretty easy until you get to the pulleys. There are about 14 pulleys on this thing and the pictures are not great. We had a couple of mis-steps but finally got it together. Overall I would give this gym high marks. I only gave it a four because the poor assembly instructions, but overall I would reccommend this to anyone looking for a basic home gym.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gold's Gym XRS 30 System

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

03/07/2012
By ,
Phenix City AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please check all your parts on this when you take it out of the box. Larger parts are not labeled. Smaller parts are labeled but I am still missing a few. I have been on hold with customer service for 30 minutes and no one has came on the line yet. That is BAD, BAD, BAD business. What company does that? So rude!!!!!!!! I will not buy products from Gold's Gym ever again simply because of customer service. I can order the replacement parts online for $3.80, HOWEVER, they then charge over $17.00 to ship that via REGULAR mail. That's insane!!!! And no, what I'm missing is a very small part, two spacers, TWO PLASTIC SPACERS and they charge $17.00 to mail it. Wow!!! And I'm STILL on hold, and you can't order warranty replacement parts online, you MUST call the customer care line and stay on hold. Or you can press 1 and have them return your call. But if they do that as quickly as they answer calls, don't hold your breath. Bad business!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gold's Gym XRS 30 System

Good Gym for Good Value

01/12/2012
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gym is pretty good for the price. It took me and my husband about 4hrs to put it all together. Instructions are good and the small nuts and bolts are all labeled well. The tricky part was the pulley system. We have owned for 3 weeks and it works well and will be great for averaged height individuals. I am very petite at only 4"11 and my hubby is 5"6 so for small people like us it works pretty good except that the butterfly arms are a little too high. We can still use, but we have to grab bars like a horizontal bench press. Feels pretty solid and the leg extension is good. The bottom leg extension strap is why I wanted this so I could work out my thighs and buttocks, but the single weight is to heavy for me to pull with a single ankle. So I use for arm pulls instead. We have low ceilings at only 8ft and the gym fits fine and does not make the room look full or low. This would be a great starter or average user gym. If you want something close to a professional set or Olympic set you will probably have to look at the higher-end ones. But for an average everyday user this has been great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gold's Gym XRS 30 System

Excellent product

12/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a perfect starter or toner machine for fitness. Getting back in shape for myself. Easy to assemble. Took about 3 hours with clean up. Instructions clear. Does what it says. You can definitely feel the burn. I am really impressed with this machine. Fits in small apartment nicely. Walmart associate was very helpful. You will need to have another strong person to help unload as it weighs 190 pounds or a cart or dolly. I did it myself with a dolly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gold's Gym XRS 30 System

Make sure you have all your pieces..

02/27/2012
By ,
Winchester, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Make sure you have all the pieces in the box when you leave the store. If you are missing a piece, Even tho it says in the box not to do this, just take it back to the store for a refund. After 3 weeks of attempting to contact this company, hold for hours, never speaking to a live rep seems to be useless. After getting disconnected from live chat 3 different times, and going through the whole story of my 2 missing pulleys from the original purchase, the rep would state that he needed to transfer me to a chat group for assistance and disconnect me. Now I finally get an email that states that they are on backorder for 2-3 weeks. If it hadn't taken 4 hours to put the thing together since nothing was labeled or numbered on the parts, I may have just taken it back. NEVER will I buy gold equipment again. At this time I still have no pulleys
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gold's Gym XRS 30 System

Decent product for good price.

02/13/2012
By ,
Bellville, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Compared to other $400-500 gyms this is an excellent value. Have used it for two weeks. It does take a few hours to put together, so have a friend help you if you don't like putting things together. The workout is good. Only real pain is nothing outside of the weight is adjustable, so a couple things are a little too tall for my fiance (who is 5') and a little too short for me (I'm 6'1).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gold's Gym XRS 30 System

Great price. Meets basic needs.

03/20/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Knew this wasn't the higher end home gyms and I didn't want to spend an entire paycheck on one, so this fit the bill. Does all the basic moves needed for a good home workout without having to leave and go to a gym. My weird work schedules did not permit me time to go to a gym and now I can just go to my basement and work out when I want... day or night, with no creepy stalker guys watching :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gold's Gym XRS 30 System
01/23/2012
By ,
MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The box was pretty heavy. Make sure you've got another person to help move it around. Setup was pretty strait forward and simple. Took about 5hrs or so to assemble. The resistance is different for each position - I was thinking it would be all the same. Using the leg extension to do some upright rows requires the user to step on the base so it doesn't tip while rowing. Doing the butterfly is a bit awkward for me as it feels too far away from me (I'm 5'1"). I suspect someone taller should feel fine while using it. Also, the plastic stopper on the lower cable rubs against the two disks that stop it. It makes some gashes to the plastic stopper. I can't imagine this holding up forever, so I would recommend sticking some rubber or something round that won't cut the cable stopper. Other than that, its a pretty good machine to start out with.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gold's Gym XRS 30 System

All around excellent buy

01/20/2012
By ,
Rochester, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 star for unbeatable price, 1 star for accurate assembly instructions and all parts included, 1 star for a very solid home gym, 1 star for a very positive workout experience.
Really, this is a fantastic gym for a beginner like myself. I've been going to planet fitness for a year now, so I decided to buy this gym to see if I can keep it up at home. Yes, I can. Fact is I can do my normal 45 workout routine in about 30 minutes and I don't have to drive or run anywhere to do it.
Cons and why it didn't get the 5th star:
-Needs a socket set to put together... didn't seem to mention that anywhere, but try to get it together without it!
-There are absolutely no instructions for the exercises
-Can't find any accessories except the preacher pad
Yeah, I know, minor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gold's Gym XRS 30 System

Great for a beginner or fabricator

06/10/2012
By ,
AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have owned this piece of equipment for close to a year now and at this time I'm quite happy with it. But I had to get replacement parts and make my own brace to do so.
In the first 2 months I made great strides in the amount of weight I could utilize. Then I started having problems with the angle of the metal that the wheels/pulleys are attached to. Under weight the metal is not braced properly and bends causing extreme stress on the wheels/pulleys themselves. The metal tabs the pulleys are attached to end up bending which cause the steel cable to pop off randomly under load. Eventually one of the wheels/pulleys broke as well. I contacted golds gym for replacement parts, and explained to them what was wrong with the item and what needed to be done to fix it. After one week I had yet to receive anything from them and decided since I didn't have the money for better equipment I would fix it myself. To solve the problem of the metal tabs bending, I bought 1/4" flat bar, measured & cut accordingly, bent the tabs back to where they are supposed to be, used a torch and bent the flar bar to look like a V, drilled holes in the flat bar for the bolts to fit, and reattached everything from there. I haven't had a problem since with the metal tabs bending, cables popping off, or excessive stress on the wheels/pulleys. To fix the wheel/pulley I simply used some high strength epoxy and put the pieces back together. I used 1/4" flat bar to add an L brace over the steel cable as the plastic one that comes from the factory will do absolutely nothing to stop the cable if something failed and it wants to slip off. Again I haven't had a problem since... Almost 12 weeks after fixing the item golds gym finally delivered a rear bar with extra bracing and two new pulleys/wheels. Personally I feel my bracing is much more cost effective and stronger as their welds on the updated piece looked pretty bad. Replacement wheels/pulleys look much cheaper and lower quality so I am glad I was able to repair mine. For reference I have been using this piece every other day for the last 9 months w/ my repairs and everything operates exactly how it should a photo is attached to my review in case anyone else finds themselves with broken equipment and stuck in the same position I was.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gold's Gym XRS 30 System

Not a good idea!

02/17/2012
By ,
O Fallon, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This machine looked good to begin with but things went downhill once I brought it home. I followed directions very carefully and when the product is fully assembled it's a little shaky. It will wobble slightly while you're lifting and you don't get good, smooth, full strides from the pulley system. It's had a recall on it already so in the packaging is a separate piece with a note stating "hey we messed up, here's another part to add". The lower pulley cannot be used for curls as shown in picture, you get about half way through the curl and you run out of slack and the weight stack slams into the top of the machine (I'm 6' 2"), even if with the chain attached for extra length it just doesn't work. The way the butterflies are configured is stupid. First you must choose how much weight you want and then wrestle with the machine to maneuver the pins into the correct position, which is definitely not convenient. Long story short, I took the whole thing apart less than 2 weeks after I purchased it and took it up to Walmart where they were nice enough to refund the full purchase price without a box and it was in pieces. The whole deal was a pain, I live on 3rd floor of apartment building so lugging this thing up 3 flights in many pieces multiple times was frustrating, not to mention assembling then disassembling it which took a combined total of 6 hours of my life.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tn
It's not a 5000.00 gym
Posted 03/30/2012
It beats paying for a gym membership
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Gold's Gym XRS 30 System

Gold's Gym XRS 30 is the best starter gym

03/02/2013
By ,
Philadelphia PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It maybe a little to early to give a review being that its only been about 2 weeks since my purchase. My first comment would have to go with assembly. I put the whole thing together by myself with no help and I'm not the handy-type of guy. If I can do it you can do!!! How ever I was very frustrated with the pieces that came in a bag. The cable and rollers wasn't label and I had to guess which one was which by the picture. I was also upset about having to hold the bolt and the nut to screw them together. They could have made the bolt lock in place just like every other piece of equipment that have. I must say once assembled the GOLD'S GYM XRS 30 worked perfectly. I've been able to get a great work along side of my treadmill and elliptical. I can honesty feel it after each work out. I would recommend this to all of my friends
PS I WISH GOLD'S GYM XRS 30 WOULD HAVE CAME WITH A LARGER WOULD POSTER OR A DVD, BECAUSE THE ONE THAT CAME WITH THE GYM IS TO LITTLE AND IT HAS THING ONE THAT CAN'T BE DONE WITH THE XRS 30 *****
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gold's Gym XRS 30 System
02/18/2013
By ,
north tonawanda ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a great product for the price. some of you that may have a problem with the weight bar coming over to far and hitting the weight blocks on the way back down is a pretty easy fix. (you may find another way but this is what worked for me) take an empty roll from your scotch tape dispenser, lift weight stack with only the first block on, slide the empty roll up the bar(it's just tight enough to where it wont slide back down) and into the bottom of the first weight stack, it gives it just enough stability so the bar remains relatively straight and will no longer hit the stack on it's way down. with that being said have fun and enjoy your machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 140 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next