Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical

Lose weight and feel great in just eight weeks! The Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical features iFit workout card technology with an included Jillian Michaels weight-loss card that delivers eight weeks of calorie-burning workouts. Automatic resistance control and audio coaching will help you lose weight fast! The Gold's Gym 410 Elliptical also features a generous 18-inch stride length with two-position adjustable pedals. Other features of this exercise equipment include 12 personal trainer workouts, 12 digital resistance levels and a compatible music port for iPod.
Average Customer Rating:
3.129 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(124 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
31
3 stars
5
2 stars
9
1 star
41
Customer Recommendation58%72 out of 124reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
50 Questions | 152 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
31
3 stars
5
2 stars
9
1 star
41
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical

If for long term, don't buy this elliptical.

06/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned this elliptical for 1 year and 2 weeks. Today it died. It will no longer switch to a different level of resistance. After removing the covers to repair it I found that the handle frame was cracked and barely holding together. The switch for the sifting wont work any longer as well. I have used this elliptical for 70 minuets every day. It squeaks bad and loudly, but I workout with wireless head phones. So for me it did not matter, but for my wife it was a different story. When I bought it I weighed 205 I now weigh 170. So I am in the required weight range. The machine did work to achieve my goals of weight loss, but is no good for the long term for your physical maintenance. $400 for 1 year? If you do buy it the batteries last for 6 months.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical

DONT BUY! JUNK

12/30/2013
By ,
Connecticut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked for awhile and then started making noise. The assembly process is very hard and I am very handy. Not even a year after I bought this the main frame broke. I am under the 250 weight rating. Stay away from this junk. Even the instruction manual is full of flaws.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical

LOVE IT! All the details you need to know...

01/21/2013
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE IT! I bought this elliptical because I want to change to a plant based diet and workout to get fit and glorify YaHWeH in my body, since it is the temple of His Set Apart Spirit per The Word. I chose this specific one because of the 18" longer stride length and to have Jillian Michaels as my trainer for a one time payment of $349 + tax = ~$374 plus batteries/adapter price. What a deal!
I read the reviews ahead of time, so I went into the purchase prepared for the flaws others described. Although flaws and all, I must say I totally love this elliptical and plan to use it everyday. The resistance really gives you a great workout, you can feel it is working and I find it fun and challenging! I can tell it is really working my muscles and giving me an awesome workout especially Jillian's programs! The program that came with my elliptical is Jillian Michaels Lose Weight Level 1. Jillian's coaching keeps me going and motivates me! This will be my main fitness tool, and then I also have some fitness DVDs and small equipment to help me meet my fitness goals. Make sure to warm up and then stretch your muscles before, in the middle and after your workout if you can to prevent injury and increase flexibility. And now I will go through all the details to help inform you and prepare you for this purchase. :)
POWER SOURCE AND IPOD CONNECTION: So first of all, the machine runs on 4 D alkaline batteries which will cost you around $7 or instead of using batteries you can buy a 6 volt 2 amp AC adapter plug in. If you choose the adapter option Walmart sells a ProForm 6-Volt AC Adapter on their website for around $19 plus shipping. I bought batteries so I could start using it right away, but to save money over time will probably order a cable soon. Though the batteries are nice if you use it in the middle of a room because then you do not need to be close to an outlet and can easily roll it around to move it. If you have an IPod and want to listen through the elliptical speakers, you will need a 3.5mm to 3.5mm audio cable. Walmart sells a Belkin 3' Car Auxiliary Cable on their website for under $3 plus shipping that you could use.
WAS IT BROKEN? I read all the comments about receiving cracked plastic parts. Due to this I chose to just go to the Walmart store instead of online order thinking perhaps it would be a better chance of not being cracked during shipping. 2 Walmart associates put it on a rolling cart and loaded it in the backseat of my car for me. Then I was able to get it in my home by rolling it and sliding it and dragging it by the yellow straps around it. It is heavy but possible. Just make sure to use your leg power and not your back and be careful with any stairs. Nothing was broken except the 2 gray plastic discs you see on the side in the picture. They are not attached very strongly to the base. The place where it attaches is too thin and flimsy, so these broke off from the base. This however does not affect the function of the machine, just the way it looks because these are just cover plates. So currently I put mine together without these 2 cover plates for the time being. I don't care if the machine looks perfect, so it doesn't bother me too much to not have them on. But the machine comes with a phone number to call if you receive broken parts, so I plan to request replacement discs in case I want to put them on later.
ASSEMBLY AND NEEDED TOOLS: So I read the comments on it taking a looong time to assemble. So I came in expecting it to take awhile. I just took my time and made sure to read the directions carefully and to assemble correctly. I was able to assemble this all by myself in a few hours. I did not find it very difficult, it was pretty straightforward. I just made sure to tighten the screws well, so that it was a solid assembly job. The tools you need to assemble are a phillips screwdriver, an adjustable wrench and a hammer or mallet...and patience and determination helps. :) Also you may need WD 40 spray (it says it was supposed to come with grease, but mine did not). First thing I did was to unbox and unwrap all the parts and lay them out on the floor. When assembling, just go slow and read carefully. The only part that didn't line up well for me was the small cover plates at the bottom of the arm holds. I had to break off the little insert sticks inside that didn't line up, but I got them snapped on eventually. I may request replacements of those too to see if perhaps the replacements would line up better. But again these parts do not affect how the elliptical works. They are just cover plates to cover screws and make it look nicer. Also please note the heart rate monitor has white plastic stickers over it that you have to take off to use the monitor. I didn't notice this at first and was trying to figure out why it wasn't reading my heart rate. Oops. :)
DOES IT MAKE NOISE? After assembly mine does make a swooshing noise when I use it as the wheels inside move. But it is not so loud that you cannot hear a tv or music while you work out. Perhaps in the future I will have a repair person look at it to see why it makes the noise and possibly make it quieter, but for now I am very happy with this elliptical so this swooshing noise is not something that stops me from using it. The benefits of this elliptical far outweigh the flaws for me! If you want a whisper quiet machine and noise is a big concern for you, you may want to hire a professional to assemble it for you. Not for certain that it would be quieter with professional assembly, but perhaps they would be more skilled and have better results?
IS JILLIAN LOUD? Yes, the volume of the machine is very loud and not adjustable. This is remedied for me by tieing a bunched up fleece blanket around the speaker area to cover where the sound comes out. The blanket therefore filters the sound making it a quieter more pleasant tone, so you can enjoy, appreciate and experience Jillian's amazing coaching as one should. Perhaps there are other items to filter the sound that might work better that you could cover the speakers with, so you get to be creative with that. I just searched my room, and saw a fleece blanket and was like Aha! This will do the trick. :)
CAN YOU SEE THE DISPLAY? I have positioned my elliptical underneath a ceiling light and do not have a problem reading the display. I can see it very clearly. If you do not have a light over it, you may want to purchase a clamp lamp to attach to the elliptical to help you read the display better.
The IFIT card is really easy to use. Just insert it and Jillian starts talking and gets you moving. If you need to stop and drink water, you just stop pedaling. The machine automatically stops your time until you start pedaling again. There are 8 weeks of Jillian programs on the card. Also the elliptical has 12 programs on it. Or you can just pedal freely on your own and choose your resistance level. You can pedal forward or backwards to work different muscles. You can workout your arms using the arm holds or if your arms get tired you can just hold the heart rate monitor for a bit. I like the removable cup holder and ipod compartment at the top to set your ipod in. The fan only gives a soft breeze, so you will need to set up your own fan by the elliptical if you want a strong breeze while working out. The elliptical is easy to move around, because it rolls very nicely on the wheels. Overall I am very happy about this purchase. I wanted a great workout and a top trainer in my home for an affordable price. And now I have it! Praise YHWH! Blessings and shalom to you and best wishes in your fitness. <3
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!

11/23/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the reviews that were mixed, some people giving it horrible reviews with only 1 star and others giving it decent reviews. So I took my chances and I took the time to create an account just to fill in this review so no one else makes the same mistake I did. The product arrives without batteries or a power connection, so despite costing almost $400 provides no way to actual turn it on. The left pedal didn't fit on the crank arm so I had to call for a replacement part. When I called and waited on hold to talk to customer service at the number provided for Gold's in the manual they told me I needed to talk to parts, another transfer, another hold, then the parts department told me I needed to go to another company called Icon Service and register my product in order to get a replacement product.
I expected more from Walmart and Gold's, but looking at the reviews, I'm the one who feels like a sucker for not listening to other people with similar experiences. Don't be a sucker like I was, buy a better product
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical

Icon has horrible service

09/29/2012
By ,
Winston Salem, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this eliptical on 9/10/12, when I got it home and unpacked everything the box did not have the hardware to put it together. I called the customer service number to order the hardware and they seemed concerned and said they would send the hardware in 7 - 10 days. On day 8, I received the hardware. Not sure what the hardware was for, but it was not for the machine I purchased, so I called back and they said it would be 7 - 10 days. I explained to the person that 7 -10 days was unacceptable and she told me that was the best they could do unless I wanted to pay for shipping. I asked to speak with a supervisor and the supervisor apologized and said I would have it in 3 - 5 days. Today is 9/29/12 and I still don't have the hardware. I am in the process of loading all this stuff back in the box to take back to the store. The point is the manufacturer Icon Fitness has no understanding of what customer service is and I will make sure never to purchase or let anyone I know purchase from Icon.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical

Squeeky after 1 1/2 weeks

06/26/2012
By ,
Seattle, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this eliptical because it looked durable and appeared to be a good value.
Big mistake.
The cheap plastic pieces broke during assembly. Yes, I was being careful.
Used it every other day for 1 1/2 weeks when it began to squeek. I tried to dissasemble it to re-grease. Every plastic piece broke in the process. I also found most of the bolts had loosened up. Spent the next 3 hours greasing everything possible on all connection points and cinched down all bolts. Surely it would not squeek anymore ... WRONG! The squeek was in the main bushings for the arm assemblies. Of course it squeeks, the 3/8" rod is supporting almost your entire weight. HORRIBLE DESIGN! Atleast I know what to look for in a future eliptical. If you consider buying this, BUY the protection plan, you will need it.
Pros:
It was simple to put together.
Walmart let me return it.
Great for kids.
Cons:
Bolt holes did not line up.
Bolts back off after using requiring the plastic guards be taken off.
Plastic guards will not come off without breaking...
Not very durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical

Great Price! Good Machine!

01/18/2013
By ,
Long Island
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this Elliptical for our 2013 resolution to get back in shape...I spotted this one as a great price for a nice machine and it had the Gold's Gym endorsement on it...We had it shipped and it took a couple of tries but finally it arrived.
The box arrived all beat up, dusty and torn as some other reviewers received it. I also found ours to have a plastic piece chipped off the front. It did'nt affect the functionality or safety of the machine so I let it go...
I put it together by myself, which I would not recommend. Saftey-first, have someone else help you put it together...it took me about 3 hours.
I finally put the machine together and it has been working great my whole family loves it.
So, overall it's a nice price, a good machine but it does have the cheap plastic shell that could crack. I would recommend the extended warranty based on the other reviews that it starts to squeak.
Despite the minor issues, it should work out and I need to work out so off I go....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical

Great piece equipment for the price!

02/10/2012
By ,
Toledo, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always been a runner, but because I run so early or late at night, it's not as convenient for me during the winter months due to darkness. I really don't enjoy indoor workouts, but I decided to try this elliptical and I'm happy I did because it is really a wonderful machine. The elliptical is sturdy and I believe has a weight limit of 300 lbs. It is very quiet and smooth. There are 12 built-in programs; 6 for weight loss and 6 for endurance so that your body doesn't plateau. The speaker for my i-phone works great. There is a water bottle holder in front which is another nice feature. The only thing that is slightly inconvenient is the display screen which has no background light. I have a clip-on light for reading that I use and that works fine, however. There is a little built-in-fan that also provides a nice breeze, which is also a convenient feature. I have friends that have similar equipment that cost thousands of dollars but this elliptical works just as well for much, much, less. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone interested in a great work out for a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical

Get the extended warranty

07/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Within the first month, started to get noisy. 4 months in and the leg broke off of the frame, here is the response that I got from the company who makes this, "I apologize for the problems you have had with the machine. We stand behind our warranty 100%. This machine only came with a 90 day parts and labor warranty, but the motor and frame are warranted for 5 years. If you find actual damage to the frame, we could cover that under warranty. "
Good luck if you decide to buy this piece of equipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical

DO NOT BUY STAY AWAY FROM THIS JUNK

07/28/2014
By ,
CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought in dec of 2012. 4 months later it started making this this noise, More noises from the right wheel.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical

Understand before you buy

02/07/2012
By ,
Richland, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this on 2/6/2012 from my local walmart store. They were helpful in loading it up for me. Two things I didn't like about this was 1.) The plastic shell that houses the wheel in the back was cracked upon opening. Has no effect on the function of the machine, but when you spend $400 on a anything you want it to be perfect. 2.) This machine has an electronic computer for different workouts and settings. Nowhere on the packaging does it tell you that you need to purchase a seperate plug in or 4 D batteries for this to work. Luckily I had a power supply that worked for it to test it out, I ordered the exact one from an online retailer for $25. I look forward to running the machine into the ground. I don't blame walmart in any way for this item not being properly labeled or packaged.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical

Good Buy

01/31/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After much research, we bought this elliptical from our local WalMart. Before purchasing, I was able to test out the floor model at the store, and thought that for the price it was a solid, smooth ride. We got it home and my husband (an engineer) began assembly of the product, only to find that the main base of it was cross threaded and would not take the screws. We called around to find another one in stock, and were able to just bring in the faulty parts and exchange them for new ones, instead of having to pack up the whole thing. It seems like it was just a manufacturing defect, becuase the new parts were perfect. That was a hassle, but fortunately WalMart was great about exchanging the bad parts. After that, it was easy for my husband to put together. It is a solid, smooth ride and is very quiet. I used elliptical machines at the gym for years, but didn't want to spend a huge amount on one for home, and this fits my needs perfectly. The machine comes with the cord to plug in your mp3 player, and the sound coming from the speakers is great. I did purchase the extended WalMart warranty on the product (2 years for $35), so if anything at all goes wrong with the elliptical I am covered. Overall, I would purchase the product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical

Don't buy - cheap product

04/01/2012
By ,
Rensselaer Falls NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this product brand new in a completely sealed box. The box is heavy and there are a lot of pieces to put together. We took everything out of the box and started putting this together to find out all the plastic connectors that hold the back fans on were broken. In the box it says do not return to store that Gold's Gym would replace broken / missing pieces. We have now waited almost 2 months to receive the new parts and was recently told we would need to wait another month. These parts are cheap plastic and just snap into place. We also had difficulty in lining up some of the other parts. Not the best product for the money and wish we just took it back to the store. We would have if we didnt have so much of it together. Gold's gym help desk is not helpful and Gold's Gym would not post this comment on their website, in which this product had 3 positive reviews and sells for more.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical

Overall experience and product poor

03/29/2014
By ,
Robinson IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Upon getting the product the box was in rough shape. As we put it together we found there were 3 tabs on various parts that were broken off. All these broken tabs were in the plastic coverings for the parts. The main console is also broken. The speaker cover is totally broken off on one side. The actual sound skips and breaks up as it is talking. This is when the machine is at a stand still and when moving so not just an issue of exercise messing with the speakers. We were unable to fully install one of the knobs that is supposed to adjust the pedal height. The hole was incorrectly made so that when the knob is inserted it does not allow it to fully go through.
It is not made of a taller person. I am 5'9" and when standing on the machine the arm bars have to be held at the very tip to be comfortable. I am also not able to clearly see the display without hunching down and the fan does not hit anywhere close to my face.
Overall the product is a huge disappointment for the price especially since it came with so much damage and broken parts. .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical

Worth the money!

12/04/2011
By ,
Dubuque, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always read reviews for products and sometimes search multiple sites to see if other people are on the same page with the product. After a good few years of going back and forth about getting a elliptical or treadmill I finally made a great choice. This year we got the Stride Trainer 410. I had looked at so many around Dicks sporting goods at the proforms and sams club only because i did not want to spend more then 500 dollars on one because most say that you tend to use as a decoration then working out. So since this is the first review i hope this helps others out.
This machine is great.. Nice look. not to bulky but is not a space saver. it does not have a colored screen or a real big screen but it is big enough to tell you what you need to know. It has the ifit card technology and also has the first jillian michaels that comes with it. The fan blows nice if you need it not over barring but not to little. The sounds is good if you do not turn the volume on your ipod to the highest it will sound good. You may have to get a new cord for the ipod theres i do not think is the best but it works. I would suggest also putting it on a flat surface with a matt underneath it so it dont wobble. Assembly was not to bad and you do need to people to put together but if you can work together then it will take about a hour to put together. Just follow the directions. All of the screws are numbered but the only problem was the big parts were not labeled but you can tell what they are if you match the picture to the part. Its simple.
Overall this product is great and for the price it is well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+114points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical

Great buy!

12/06/2011
By ,
Lapeer, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item was so easy to put together. It took my husband and I less than an hour. I love the fact that it comes with a Jillian Michaels workout chip. I've had my machine two weeks now any have not had any problems at all. It is a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical

You get what you pay for....

08/02/2012
By ,
West Palm Beach, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not the most expensive but not the cheapest, this Golds Gym elliptical performs as stated though there are pros and cons.
Pros: easier set up that other machines I had in the past (including an older generation GG elliptical and GG stationary bike), works as stated, workouts levels and resistance are effective
Cons: ill fiting parts that broke during set up; squeaks terribly after only 5 uses (210lbs, 20min sessions, and yes, ample grease was applied during set up; the screen does not light up; NO VOLUME controls for iFit program (Jullian is loud as he11, no exaggeration); unstable on any type of floor that is not hard wood or concrete.
Summary: if you are working with a budget and this is the best you can do, it will work once set up and the work outs are good. If you can do better and afford a better machine, I would go for it. In my experience (this is my 3rd GG machine), the more money paid, the better the product received.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical

Exceptional Machine

01/08/2012
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this 410 about a month ago but wanted to wait to provide any feedback after several days of use, whatever it may be, for other folks. Folks, I can't give you enough positive information about this machine. I absolutely love it. It took almost 2 hours to assemble, but I take my time and assure it's correct. The instructions are very easy to understand and follow. It does not come with an AC adapter but I purchased that online for around $20. You can probably get a cheaper one, but be careful as you don't want a real cheapy. It's a 6V regulated, 2 amp minimum, or just use the D battery option, (does not come with batteries) I'd highly recommend purchasing the adapter. I just did a google search by typing in the mfr. and model number AC adapter for Golds Gym Elliptical Stride Trainer 410. Anyway, once assembled, I of course had to do a little test run and it is absolutely as smooth or smoother than a lifecycle model that costs about 10X as much. The rear pedal arms have roller bearings and the upper arm handles use 4 pivot bushings which will be one of the weak points. As long as you keep them lubricated they'll last for a long long time. The electronic controlling system module is perfect in size, and it does have the input jack for your MP3 or Ipod to listen to music. And actually, it sounds pretty good too. If there was anything about that I think could be improved it would be to make the display brighter which would be nice, or at least have a dim back light. The only maintenance they recommend is adjust the feedback sensor when needed, and adjust belt tension. I would also recommend you lubricate those arm handle pivots every so often. I did that this morning and it took about 15 minutes for both. Very easy and everything is right there. They provide you with the allen wrenches to assemble it as well. The little plastic covers that hide the pivot points I left off as 2 out of 4 of them were damaged once removed. Not a biggy really, I'm an engineer so I like to see my machines working anyway. All in all, as of right now, I'd buy another just like it. I don't think you'll be disappointed if you purchase one. Best of luck and have fun!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical

If it sounds too good to be true...

11/04/2012
By ,
Northeast MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very excited when I found this elliptical on the website and purchased it. While it was easy for me and my husband to put together, several plastic pieces were broken and one of the predrilled holes was too large for the hardware to fit correctly. However, we got it together just fine. The first time using it, I noticed that even on level 1, the resistance was pretty hard. As a practicing licensed therapist, I don't think very many people could handle the level 1 for very long. After using the elliptical several times, the display started making a very wierd buzzing sound like it could catch on fire at any second (the fan also stopped working). There was also a wierd knocking sound when the pedals were making revolutions that started the same time the display messed up. The GOOD news is I just got off the phone with customer service and can return to the Walmart store within 90 days of purchase for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical

Love, love, LOVE this elliptical!!!

12/29/2011
By ,
Northern PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a "bit" of an endorphin junkie, and ellipticals are my poison. I have been using ellipticals since I was 15. I'm 28 now, and I've been the demise of 3 of then over the years. The last elliptical I owned was a Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 300 with the adjusted stride that went from 12" to 18". It was a FABULOUS machine, no matter what other reviewers have said about it. I ran on that thing practically every day for 11 months and it helped me shed 60+ lbs. I ran on it for at least 45 minutes a day, but a lot of the time, I would go for an hour and a half to two hours because it built up my stamina so much, that I felt like I could just go forever! I looooooved my 300. ..... I BROKE the frame of my 300 in half 3 times. Twice my brother welded it back together. The third time I broke it, he simply shook his head. There was no more fixing it. I was devastated, BUT I didn't think it would be a big deal to find a replacement. WRONG! They stopped making the 300, and I'm going to guess it's because there was a design flaw in the frame which led to it breaking numerous times. I bought a GG 310 THINKING it would be comparable. I put it together and I hated it!!! It was then that I realized I should have researched the strides more! It turns out, the 310 has a 14" stride, which is waaay too short for somebody of my height. I'm only 5'7", but the 14" stride was HORRIBLE. I returned the 310, and the wonderful people at my local Walmart took it back and gave me a full refund.
I purchased a used elliptical (not a GG) from a friend, and it had a 16" stride. Hated THAT one, too!
I am so extremely excited to say that I have FINALLY (after a MONTH!!!!!) gotten my replacement! The 18" stride on the GG 410 is exactly what I wanted. The fan is a very nice addition to the monitor. It gives just the right amount of air movement to keep me cool while I'm running. I love how the pedal incline is adjustable. Genius! It is a nice solid unit! I used automotive grade grease to lubricate EVERYTHING on my machine when I put it together, and it has a very nice, very comfortable motion. I cannot tell you how much I love this machine. I just put it together last night, and it did take me about an hour and half all by myself. It wasn't difficult, though. Just a little time consuming. I was too tired to work out on it last night, however. LOL! But TODAY! Aaaaah. Today I ran off 1000 calories and it felt AMAZING. I am a bit out of shape because I haven't been running consistently since right before Thanksgiving when my 300 broke in half for the final time. It took me about 85 minutes to run off 1000 calories, and even being out of shape, I felt like I could keep going.
I HIGHLY recommend this unit. Highly, highly, HIGHLY! I weigh 150 lbs, and this thing is nice and solid. It doesn't wobble. It doesn't squeak. It doesn't make any weird noises. If you want a great piece of equipment for a REALLY great price, get this one. You won't regret it. I'm looking forward to running for miles and miles with this thing to maintain my size 6/8 figure that I worked SO HARD to achieve with my Gold's Gym 300.
The ONLY THING that I have to complain about it, the disk shaped cover that goes over the flywheel was broken when I opened the package. That was little disappointing, because I paid over $400 for the machine after taxes. Not cool to find broken bits on such a big investment. However, it worked out okay because I like to maintain my units with grease and other lubricants, and I just left that flywheel cover off for easier access to the inner workings. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+197points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Honolulu
Posted 04/23/2013
Nice reivew! But, won't the inner workings of the flywheel collect dust and gum up over time without the cover? Just curious.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 118 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next