Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Exerpeutic Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse

Exerpeutic Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse

The Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse provides a "zero impact" workout with no stress on hips, ankles and joints plus the benefit of upper body exercising with dual action arms. This elliptical machine features a natural elliptical motion that eliminates any bouncy movement. The Exerpeutic 1000XL has eight level magnetic tension resistance adjustments to provide a more challenging workout. The flywheel of this elliptical machine is dual direction for frontwards and backwards workout capability.
Average Customer Rating:
3.959 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(633 Reviews) 563
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
257
4 stars
228
3 stars
64
2 stars
33
1 star
51
Customer Recommendation85%536 out of 631reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
86 Questions | 432 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
257
4 stars
228
3 stars
64
2 stars
33
1 star
51
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse

Parts Manufactured Incorrectly, No Customer Servi

01/14/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This elliptical came missing all of the screws, for one. The left metal leg under the foot pedal is also manufactured incorrectly, which I didn't discover until the thing was 90% assembled. The holes in the foot pedal and the holes on the leg don't line up if you have the pedal resting flat (there are pegs it rests on). I've tried contacting the manufacturer 6 times so far in the past 2 weeks. A live person hasn't answered the phone even once; I've left 2 messages with no response. I've sent two emails including all the information it says to for replacement parts, and still haven't received so much as a reply. With the product being assembled nearly all the way, it's going to be a pain to take apart and return, so if you don't know how to weld or cut metal yourself, I wouldn't buy this elliptical, because if anything goes wrong, the warranty doesn't make a difference when the company doesn't respond to your inquiries.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse

Thoroughly impressed!

12/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked at sooo many different ellipticals & researched until my heart's content. I kept coming back to this one, the price dropped so I took a chance. I love this elliptical the size is awesome & it's practical for an upstairs apartment; it doesn't make noise either. I like that you can choose the resistance and it works like the expensive ones. You can also go forward & backwards which is a definite plus. The pulse sensors seem to work fine, the only thing that I don't think works correctly is the calories burned. I used to go to the YMCA to use their ellipticals all the time & I'm pretty sure I used the same amount of time & effort on this elliptical & didn't get anywhere near the amount of calories burned I should have. Also I thought that the stride on this was going to be too short & awkward because I'm used to the expensive ellipticals but it's not a problem (I'm 5'7 & 170lbs). My boyfriend who is 5'10 & his friend who is over 6 feet tall tried it out & think that it's pretty nice. Overall it seems to be a really sturdy piece of equipment & for the price it can't be beat.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+126points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse

Squeaky

03/31/2014
By ,
Star City, AR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's very squeaky and I've loosened and tightened the screws??!! :(
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse

Money well spent

10/02/2013
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this machine online so I did not know how good the quality would be. So I read over all of the reviews by others and decided to but one. It took about 5 days to arrive to my local Wal Mart. I picked it up without any problems. I would get it delivered to your home if you can as the box is big and much heavier than what is reported on the listing. It took me just over 2 hours to put it together. The hardest part was installing the trim covers because they did not fit too well. The machine works very well and the quality is above average. I wish it had a drink holder and directions on setting the little monitor. But these do not in any way alter the way the machine performs. Already up to 30 minutes after just about 7 training sessions on it. I don't believe anyone could actually burn 150 calories in a half hour as some suggest in their review. But 80 to 100 per 1/2 hour is realistic. I can already feel the difference in my body. Time will tell how well it holds up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse

Excellent buy!

01/18/2012
By ,
Forest, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used to be an avid runner but developed plantar fascitis in one of my feet. I therefore decided to buy an elliptical since I have heard it was a great way to enjoy a good, low-impact workout. I was surprised to find how intense of a workout it actually is! This product is very well constructed and contains good, solid parts. There are only two minor complaints I might have. One is that everything refers to "easy assembly" and that is SO not the case. It took a good couple of hours for my husband (who is very mechanically inclined) to put it together. The other complaint is that there was a crack in the main part of the item that seems to have been caused by shipping. I contacted Wal-Mart about it and they said that the manufacturer could be contacted and would be ship me the required part free of charge. I decided against the hassle of dealing with that but at least I know that Wal-Mart was more than willing to help out.
Overall, the two minor hiccups were far exceeded by a terrific product for a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse

Great product for the cost

01/23/2012
By ,
Jackson, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Opening the box and looking at all of the parts may scare you at first, but it was not difficult to assemble. I would suggest having an extra pair of hands to assist. If you've ever used one of these in the gym, don't expect the stride to be the same. It's taking me awhile to get use to the position of the foot petals because they tend to angle downward and make you slide forward. Otherwise I have a new love/hate relationship with my eliptical. I love the way it works and gets my heart rate up and I love that when I need to stop for a moment to catch my breath that the clock stops and starts back once I start moving again. Helps to keep me honest in tracking my time. It has been years since I've tried to exercise on a regular basis and this machine is no joke. I'm looking forward to the day I get to increase the tension and/or last more than 15 minutes. I would reccomend this product to anyone from beginniners to those more experienced.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+338points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Martinez, GA
Sloping solution
Posted 03/25/2012
It helps to find something to slightly shim up the front!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse

STABLE, STURDY, SMOOTH, QUIET

08/21/2013
By ,
DOTHAN, ALABAMA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CONS:
1. THE STRIDE IS A LITTLE BIT SHORT. I DON'T RECOMMEND IT FOR PEOPLE, TALLER THAN 6'2"; HOWEVER, YOU WILL STILL DEFINITELY GET A GOOD WORK OUT REGARDLESS.
2. THE HINGES ARE PRE-PACKED WITH OIL; HOWEVER, I RECOMMEND THAT YOU APPLY EXTRA OIL ON THE MOVING PARTS WITH METAL-TO-METAL CONTACT. I JUST USED CONVENTIONAL MOTOR OIL FOR A CAR. YOU DO NOT HAVE TO DRENCH IT IN OIL, JUST A THIN COAT WILL DO.
3. NOT AS GOOD AS THE ELLIPTICALS YOU WOULD NORMALLY FIND IN A GYM.
PROS
1. EXCELLENT WORK OUT.
2. VERY QUIET
3. VERY STURDY (AS LONG AS YOU INSTALL IT CORRECTLY, IT IS VERY QUIET AND STURDY.)
4. REALLY CAN'T BEAT THE PRICE
5. THE MATERIALS SEEM PRETTY HEAVY DUTY, SOLID STEAL THICK GUAGED TUBES AND BARS.
6. THE RESISTANCE LEVEL IS EXCELLENT.
7. VERY SMOOTH STRIDE
NOTE: I HAVE ONLY HAD THIS FOR 2 WEEKS, SO FAR SO GOOD. THE BIGGEST THING IS INSTALLING IT CORRECTLY. IF INSTALLED CORRECTLY, EVERYTHING FITS TOGETHER LIKE A GLOVE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
erie pa
can you help me with an assembly question ?
Posted 11/25/2013
i cant seem to connect the tension control knob to the tension cable,any ideas of what im doing wrong?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse

Not perfect, but good value.

12/16/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It took me about 3 hours (spread over 2 days) to put it together. It is small and easy to move and perfect for my one bedroom apartment!
I just finished my first workout. It is comfortable and smooth, and I am 5'2". I like the scan feature on the display so I don't have to keep pressing buttons to see speed, then heart rate, then calories, then distance.
My only complaints are that I feel the calorie calculator is not accurate. It does not take weight or age into account, and said I only burned 85 calories in half an hour when the nice machines at the gym would say over 300 calories burned.
The other complaint is that with the heart rate monitor, it starts from around 70bpm every time and you have to keep your hands on the sensors until it slowly climbs up to the number that matches your actual heart rate. It is nice if you want to take a break from the moving handle bars.
Overall I feel that it was a good value and good for a first machine for a college student like me, with a small space and small budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse

Great product!

01/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this elliptical to anyone. This is the first elliptical I've ever owned and I love it! We did the site-to-store thing and my fiancee picked it up today.
It took over 1 hour to put it together. The tools that come with the product aren't that good. They do the job but it's faster if you use a better screw driver, etc. Other than the assembly, I have no complaints.
It doesn't make a sound. It doesn't take up much space. It's super sturdy, I plan to use it every day. As other reviewers have said, the pedals slope downwards but it's not a problem for me. I tried the heart rate monitor and I think you might need to hold it for a while before it gives you an accurate reading. That is also not a problem for me because I'm more concerned about distance than anything else.
So far, so good. I guess I'll update my review later if I need to address any issues... :) I hope this helps someone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+128points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse

Good Elliptical for a Beginner

05/23/2013
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because I have medical problems with my back and my knees and have become very weak. I have never used an elliptica before (or any other exercise machine) and didn't want to invest a lot of money on something I may not use. On the easiest tension I could only do 1 min initially, 3 weeks later after using it every day I can now do 10 min and have increased my speed. So I am making progress on it and it's not causing any pain to my back or knees.
It took me 4 hours to put it together, however once I started using real tools instead of using the ones supplied it went much faster.
My one complaint is that there is not enough instructions for the computer. I have not been able to set goals on it and it drives me crazy that it continually scans from one mode to another when all I'm interested in is my time. In spite of this it does meet my needs, seems to be of good quality, I'm very happy with my purchase, so I give it 5 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse

Once it is put together it is great!

07/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The box comes with instructions and "tools" necessary to put this together, however, I ended up using my own screw driver and wrenches as the ones provided were frustrating to use. Also, when you are putting it together Pay Attention to the stickers that tell you how to assemble the right and left pedals as the usual "right tight, left loose" does NOT apply. The plastic covers that go over the corners are the most difficult to get on properly, fortunately they are just for show so it isn't such a big deal. FYI - took about an hour for 2 of us to put it together.
I would not recommend this for someone 6' tall. I am 5' and it is perfect for me but my b/f is 6'2" and the stride is not really long enough for him.
The computer is basic and easy to use but does everything you need it to. The resistance is a manual dial on the front which is easy and convenient. The heart rate monitor is a nice addition.
All in all - I love this!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse

Exactly what I was looking for

04/03/2014
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this for a few weeks now and I love it. It was delivered quicker than promised. It took my husband about 3 hours to put it together and he only used the tools that it came with. It feels very sturdy. It gives a great at home workout and to be honest, it wears me out which I like! It's quiet and smooth. I don't know how accurate the calories burned are but I mostly pay attention to the time and distance. I have been suffering from a dislocated knee for several years and was worried how much pressure this machine would put on it. Amazingly, it does not stress my knee out at all. I'm real careful to keep my body in balance so that the workout pressure is evenly distributed. I just thought I would mention that in case someone else has a similar problem and worry about this machine. I think it's a great price for what you are getting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse

Worth the price

12/30/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pro:
- No squeaking or other noises; very quiet. When I first assembled the unit, there was click sound every stride. I found that the issue was the small plastic cap that connects to the left-front stride. Took it apart and reassembled it and the sound went away.
- Does not take up too much space. Much smaller than most units I have seen in store.
- Assembly: Not bad at all. Most of the parts come pre-assembled so you only have to put together the big pieces and a bunch of bolts. Having a ratchet speeds assembly up by a lot. I recommend you take your time for assembly because you only assemble it once and you definitely don't want to skip a step and hear squeaking or clicking sounds.
Con:
- I think there is some issue with the heart rate monitor. I think you might have to hold on to the handles with the pulse monitor for like 30 sec before you get a real good reading.
Other: Not really a con for me, but the pedals are sloped downwards (see video above).
I was thinking about getting the Gold 380 elliptical but I saw comments on there about squeaking/clicking sounds. Very happy I chose this elliptical.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+179points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse

Great little machine!!

02/03/2014
By ,
Detroit MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so pleased with this purchase. I have been working out on a super fancy $6000 elliptical at my gym and really wanted something for home. This is perfect! I live in an apartment and this is very compact sized, lightweight yet durable and easy for a woman to move around on her own. Assembly was a little tricky - vague instructions are to blame. Solutions were found by searching the questions online I found that other owners have gone to the internet to post their suggestions and this helped me out of every glitch. Took 2.5 hours to assemble. I would agree with other reviewers that its helpful to have a nice wrench and socket set handy for efficient assembly. The workout on this machine is amazing! You definitely feel the burn and I was sweating hard after 30 mins. Its definitely not as smooth as my fancy gym elliptical but the workout is felt much more on this and I love that I have it at my disposal. If you want a great cardio workout for a great price, this is absolutely the machine for you. Its also very quiet so you needn't worry about hearing your tv or bothering other people in the house. Great Value and Great Purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse

elliptical

10/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wow omg, it gives a work out. 10 min i am done. i could go on the tread mill for half hour. not on this. works the whole body. get the heart going.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse

Great value

04/13/2014
By ,
Rochester, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this last November and have used it about 3 times a week since then (until the end of March, when the weather finally warmed up). As other reviews noted, it took about 2 hours to put together. I consider myself reasonably handy. I used most of my own tools, although for one operation, I did use their gadget because my wrench wasn't thin enough. But their tools should be sufficient. No missing parts. I did add grease and/or household oil to moving parts to avoid the squeaks some people noted. (WD-40 is NOT a lubricant, it is a dispersant, which disperses existing lubricant.) Once in a while if the basement is cold it squeaks a bit until it warms up, but then quiets down. My only complaints are 1) The arms are kind of short. I am average height and I wish they were a few inches longer so I could get more of a stretch. 2) Related issue: I can get more stretch by stepping halfway back on the footpads, but I inevitably slip forward again. These seem to be too far forward. I am 5'8" and my wife is 4 inches shorter and she also finds the arms too short. Other than that, it works really well, and is a really good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse

Better Than I Expected

10/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This elliptical really surprised me. First time I have ever used an elliptical. Great quality and very quiet! So far, no squeaking. Very easy on your joints. Really is non impact. But don't let that make you think its not a good work out! This elliptical will give you a great work out and get your heart rate up there. It is more challenging than I expected! Put it together in just a few minutes with no problems. I'm also recovering from a lower back strain and can use this elliptical with out it aggravating my injury. But that is my experience, if you have back problems, I would talk to a doctor before using.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse

Good for the money

05/06/2014
By ,
eastern Ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a Christmas gift to myself. It arrived at my home in a reasonable amount of time and my husband put it together in about an hour and a half (if memory serves me correctly). I've used it for 30 minutes a day, 4-5 days a week since Christmas (over 4 months ago). It does not make a sound which I am thrilled about because my last elliptical (not this brand) was very noisy no matter how much I oiled it or tightened the screws. That was my main reason for ordering this one so I am very please that it is quiet.
My main issue with this elliptical is that I feel that there is a big difference in level 1 and level 2 on the tension. I find level 1 not much of a workout but level 2 is a little too hard as a beginner-moderate user. Other than that issue I think this is a great buy for the money. If you are a more advanced/experienced trainer, level 2 or above may be just right for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse

good

09/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse

low quality

10/25/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very low quality. Terrible resistance
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
From ParadigmHealth10/27/2014
Hello XNemoX,

In regards to your Exerpeutic 1000XL High Capacity Magnetic Elliptical with Pulse we would like to go over a few troubleshooting steps in which we believe will improve the tension setting so the bike is adjustable and more form fitting. Please provide a contact phone number or contact us at (844)641-7920 and we will be at service to you and get this issue resolved immediately.ParadigmHW
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 564 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  29 Next