Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch, Multiple Finishes

Mainstays Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch, Multiple Finishes

The Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch is an ideal computer workstation for your home, home office or dorm room. You can create your own personal work environment almost anywhere. The L-shaped computer desk with hutch helps you minimize distractions in a low-traffic area and focus on your work. There's plenty of space for large or multiple monitors and an ergonomically friendly and space-saving slide-out keyboard tray. The computer desk with hutch is available in multiple finishes, including black and alder or black and cherry. There's plenty of surface work space, as well as an overhead storage cabinet. The L-shaped computer desk also includes two convenient storage cubbies and a flat top for displaying photos or other personal items. You can add your choice of work chair (not included). The Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch is durably constructed and easy to assemble; it wipes clean with just a few swipes with a damp cloth.
Average Customer Rating:
3.935 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(1244 Reviews) 1076
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
548
4 stars
376
3 stars
133
2 stars
65
1 star
122
Customer Recommendation83%1,025 out of 1,242reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
138 Questions | 980 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
548
4 stars
376
3 stars
133
2 stars
65
1 star
122
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch, Multiple Finishes

Great for the price

12/16/2012
By ,
Orlando
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fits in the corner of my office and serves its purpose, I needed space to write and/or have a book open while using my computer and this works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch, Multiple Finishes

great desk for the money

09/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought this desk was a great value and pretty easy to put together by myself. I am a female and am horrible at putting things together. Even though it took me about 4 hours I was still able to get it. my only complaint is that the sliding keyboard is a pain and didn't want to line up correctly. As of right now it still feels a bit wobbly but that is the only thing. You can see in my pics that it is pretty decent in size. it fits 2 monitors, all my pony stuff (I never grew out of it) and your basic office/desk supplies. I will warn you though that it is HEAVY both in the box and out. I deff recommend putting it together where you are going to set it up so your don't have to move it much.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch, Multiple Finishes

Worth the money....with some work.

06/02/2013
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this desk in January, and bought it solely because of the cost and the fact that it was an L-shaped desk. My biggest issue with this desk is the sturdiness of it and the materials used for some parts. The pull out keyboard tray will overtime come off the tracks because there isn't a bracket pushing up against the keyboard tray, (easy fix but shouldn't have to be done). When both hands are on the keyboard and put pressure to each side, the desk will move. I have a 24" monitor and a 21" monitor with a full tower.
Other information that isn't provided for this desk:
The height from the floor to the actual tabletop: 30.25"
Width of open space looking at monitor: 28"
Depth of workspace for main desk: 19.75"
Main monitor width: 30.5"
Main monitor height: Just under 20"
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+182points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Posted 10/13/2014
Height from floor to bottom of key board tray please?
0points
Customer Avatar
Brooklyn, NY
Issue with the keyboard tray
Posted 11/07/2013
Every time you pull the keyboard tray in and out it just falls off and my keyboard and mouse fall to the ground.... and way of fixing this ...this is the only problem I am having with this desk and I bought it about 5 months ago
+2points
Customer Avatar
Storm Lake, Iowa
What are the dimensions?
Posted 07/29/2013
What is the length of each extension from the corner going outward? I can't find the dimensions of this thing anywhere.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 4 for Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch, Multiple Finishes

Could be worse, but could be a lot better.

05/06/2014
By ,
Tampa, Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As far as ease of set up and appearances go, this desk gets an A+. The directions are a little confusing but not impossible. It took us about three hours to assemble. But where durability is concerned, it certainly doesn't meet expectations. It wobbles like crazy and you can't tighten the screws very much because you'll split the wood. Use a manual screw driver; I wouldn't recommend a drill. The reason the movement concerns me is because I have a little goldfish tank that sits on the shelf where the cabinet door goes. Even the tinniest movement shifts the water around. I'm actually surprised they get away with selling something this flimsy for this price.
Overall I wouldn't say I'm disappointed, as this is a vast improvement from the desk I had (which I also purchased from Walmart) but I wouldn't say I'm terribly impressed either. The only reason I'm giving this three stars is because of the appearance and the amount of room it has. God forbid you had to take this apart or move it. I guarantee it wouldn't survive that.
Also the piece that goes at the top to prevent things from falling arrived split in half, so I just didn't use it. Beware of broken pieces because its very heavy and the wood is easily split if someone drops it during shipping. I'd say if you're looking for something sturdy that will last you years, look elsewhere.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch, Multiple Finishes

Needed another desk for my home office.

10/20/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I owned the previous version of this desk and thought it was a good value. I wanted to add another desk to my home office and decided to go with this one since it matched well the original desk. These desks come with the "L" on the right hand side. I "re-engineered" the new desk to have the "L" on the left hand side (as well as the shelves) and I am quite happy with the results. I wish there was an option to order factory pre-made left or right desks so that I wouldnt have had to put in the extra time to flip the "L" but as I said - I am happy with this product nevertheless.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Goodview, VA
Re-engineering to the left side
Posted 08/20/2013
I was reading comments to see if anyone had managed to switch the extra side table of the L to the left side instead of the right side and was wondering how easy this was to accomplish? I really would love to get two of these desks, one for me and my boyfriend, and set them up side by side but that's the main thing holding me back.
+6points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch, Multiple Finishes

Recommended for ANYONE

05/03/2012
By ,
Woodburn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this today, and I was so excited! It took me approximately 4 hours to setup and then setup all my computer, Xbox 360 and other stuff. (I am OCD so it takes me extra long). I setup the desk by myself in about 1-2 hours. Very simple, easy to setup and it looks great! My only complaint, was that the wood inside the box was dusty and kinda messy so I had to wipe it down. But other than taking 5 seconds to wipe everything down, I have had no problems! I love my new desk!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch, Multiple Finishes

Best desk for the price.

08/09/2013
By ,
Pompano Beach,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So i was worried as people were saying the keyboard holder will break off but so far its been 2 weeks still no signs of breaking, Building this is very simple the instructions are straight forward, And it looks pretty good, I have my laptop xbox 360 a 24 inch monitor, my speakers and subwoofer and my tritton headset all on the desk and it looks really neat, Its very strong though i would recommend tightening the screws every now and then, It took me 3 hours to build with a drill and no ones help .but all and all i am very happy with purchase and would recommend it to anyone looking for an awesome desk.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch, Multiple Finishes

Great Bargain

03/27/2013
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before i made this purchase a few days ago...i read most of the reviews for it just to get an idea of what to expect. I first want to say thanks to all that gave a review...they were all spot on! so i will return the favor and review this item for the next person.
1. This ships via FEDEX and Walmart does not require a signature. This means that fedex will leave it at your door. (i didn't mind this as my home is set back a bit from prying eyes and it is HEAVY...so i did not care for going to pick it up at the FEDEX office). If you live in an apartment or do not trust your neighbors...that is something to think about.
2. Give yourself at least 3 hours to completely set this up. I will say that if you have an electric screwdriver...you can cut this time in half. It is very easy to set up. 18 steps in total and the instructions have pictures and tell you exactly how many pieces of hardware you will need for each step.
3. Packaging was done very well. no damage to the product at all. I will say that while some of the pieces have the big white sticker with the letters identifying the pieces...some had the letters stamped in the unfinished edge of the desk parts...so be on the lookout for that and arrange your pieces in order to save time later.
4. Most important to me...make sure you are setting this up in a carpeted area if you can. the pieces start coming together very quickly and it is easier to slide and piece things together when you are on a carpet. Also...i was bending and crawling around so often...i felt like i was playing twister.
For those that are concerned about setting it up themselves...be patient. I am a 32 year old female and i was able to set this up from start to finish in 2.5hrs. All with a standard screwdriver and a hammer. I've put all my work stuff on the table for now and will be decorating further tomorrow.
Hope this helps you in your decision. I've attached pics for reference.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch, Multiple Finishes

Great desk for college student.

05/23/2012
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great deal for anyone who is starting college. I was looking for a desk that has plenty of space of me to work at the computer and with paper and pencil as well. This desk is very spacious and will allow me to do everything I need to do at it. Just follow all directions and be sure you have an extra set of hands to help you put it together!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch, Multiple Finishes

very fashionable outlooking, but unstable

02/17/2014
By ,
secret
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I took me 4 hours and another 2 hour with my friend to set it up, really a tough job, and indeed it's as pretty as the advertisement, but there is a severe problem: instability. every tiny movement shall shake the table, such as typing, writing, or pull out the keyboard tray. If this table is positioned into wall corner, then perhaps it's ok. If not in the corner, then it's really terrible
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch, Multiple Finishes
08/21/2012
By ,
DeKalb, IL NIU
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had been searching for quite sometime for an L-shaped desk with a hutch. I'm a college student living in a town house, but I wanted one that would compliment my bedroom set, fit in my room, and would be good for homework and daily use. This one works and the price is very reasonable compared to many others that I had previously found.
PROS:
Big, but not huge
Easy to assemble. Took me an hour by myself, no help and use basic tools (screwdriver, hammer)
Affordable
Good amount of storage space
CONS:
Seems a little wobbly unless you kind of stretch the ends out a bit, but I guess thats okay
Overall I'm very happy with the desk. We will see how it holds up throughout the school year.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch, Multiple Finishes

Love it!!

05/24/2013
By ,
Pembroke Pines, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No complaints, no problems. Very happy with my purchase and I will definitely recommend this product to a friend. It took about an hour and half to put together by myself. I have noting negative to say about this product. I love it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch, Multiple Finishes

Dang keyboard tray!!!

01/24/2013
By ,
Washington, DC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have been using this desk for almost a month now. It is definitely cheaper than what I usually would buy; but I knew that so that is not the issue.
Let's start with the good though. The desk looks great. The color is nice. The L-shape was exactly what I wanted. For an L, it is not too big and not too small (I'm in a small apt. so....#. The area for the monitor was important to me because hutches limit computer monitor space; but I saw the dimensions before I bought it so I knew I was good to go. I can put things under it with easy access #including the pc#; I can put things on the desk part; I can put things on the hutch; and I can put things in the cabinet. All good. Lastly, it was actually easy to follow the instructions and put together. I was sick so it took me a long time; but taking my time was not an issue. I will admit, I kept wanting it to be done and over.
TIP: In the instructions, you put the hutch together first; then the desk part; then after you stand it up it tells you to hammer in that back part to enclose the back of the cabinet. Put that stupid back part on before doing the desk so that you can but it on while the hutch is face down. It will not effect anything else and it will be a little easier.
Now the bad. Wow, that stupid keyboard tray!! I hate it!! It is a big nuissance #sp?#!! It is always falling off. Yes, off!! Which then flips my whole keyboard off. This has happened over and over and over and ........ It seems the width of the tray is slightly shorter that the length of it's rolley things so the left side always moves off to the right and falls or flips off. This is actually a horrible thing. I don't know how this is working out for others but it is totally ridiculous.
If I could recommend AND not recommend this product, I would. For what it is and what it does #including space efficiency# it is good #especially for being cheap#. But that keyboard tray issue is a hot stupid annoying mess #that's what I get for buying a cheap product). I will have to figure it out.
If you are thinking about purchasing this product, make your own decision. And good luck.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch, Multiple Finishes

Great Desk for Price!

09/01/2012
By ,
Albuquerquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this desk online and had it shipped to my Mailbox at a UPS Store. Bad idea. It has hard to lug out to my car then lug into my house. (about 105 lbs) One piece arrived badly scratched, but it was the one on the very top so you can't see it. It took about 30-40 minutes to assemble. The directions were a little confusing but you can understand them. The wood is cheap, but very strong. I really like the cabinet to store things out of view.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch, Multiple Finishes

Good desk, I like it, but scratches to easy.

09/02/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this desk for my 11 year old son. He has had it about 3 weeks now. For the most part it works great for what he needs. It does scratch SUPER easy with little effort. Attached it a picture of the wear and tear from his laptop sliding on it. It's not to bad, but it has only been 3 weeks. Other then that, it was super easy to put together and it is very sturdy. It is particle board, so it will warp fast to any water damage.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch, Multiple Finishes

This desk and chair purchase was a great buy...

03/22/2012
By ,
Dolton, Il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This desk and chair purchase was a great buy, both in price and quality. It took very little time to assemble and all that was needed was 2 tools (screwdriver & hammer). It will satisfy your home office or workstation needs. :-)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch, Multiple Finishes

Horribly made, fell apart right away.

02/15/2013
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was looking forward to using this desk. It was fine putting it together, and kind of an easy set up. The parts looked great but I noticed the pressed wood was a lot less compacted than previous products I have purchased. That being said, when I finally put most of it together (following all of the instructions) it completely collapsed under it's own weight, and the "CAM" system it used completely failed and I had to pick up whole chunks of "wood" for a good while. I ended up taking it back of course and got a full refund, but nonetheless I would never recommend this desk to anyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch, Multiple Finishes

Great desk for the price!

01/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this desk to put my laptop tv xbox 360 and playstation 3 to put on it and it all fits perfectly! building it was very easy the instructions were very clear through. it took about 3 hours to build it alone but 2 people would really help when holding a few pieces while u attatch the pieces. NOTE: the desk weighs about 75 pounds and the box it comes in is very weak so dont try to carry it yourself
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
 
My Product Recommendations
Sceptre 32" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV, X322BV-HD
4.1 out of 5(4,871)
 
 
 
 
 
+124points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Cypress, Calif.
Setup
Posted 09/07/2013
Preview
Please review your comment and submit
Selah4me
Cypress, Calif.
Setup
09/07/2013
Hi, thank you for your review. Very useful.
Did you or your husband put this desk together? My husband is handicapped and cannot get on his knees. Is that necessary? I have no knowledge of assembling desks. Is it possible for him to tell me where pieces go and I can put each piece in its place without desk assemble knowledge or should I contract someone to assemble this desk? My point is: My husband, before his accident, used to do lite construction and know how to assemble desks but has limited mobility now. I don't want to pay someone to assemble this that will charge more than what the desk cost. Since you have assembled yours, what do you think?
0points
Customer Avatar
South Carolina
I noticed a PS3 in your picture
Posted 06/24/2013
Can Ps3 games fit vertically in the top cubby like area? I have a lot of games and I really want to know if there's enough space to keep them there like a library.
And thanks for answering my question about the TV fitting on the desk! I appreciate it! :3
0points
Customer Avatar
Chandler, AZ
Posted 04/24/2013
It is actually about 100lbs lol. I put this together by myself in about 2 hrs.
0points
Customer Avatar
twinkies
Posted 07/02/2012
this the exact reason i bought it isnt it the best
+1point
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 19 for Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch, Multiple Finishes

Looks nice, sturdy for the price

02/05/2012
By ,
Sumrall, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We ordered one of these in each color for our home office. They were both easy to put together following the instructions carefully. Once fully assembled both units look nice and seem to be sturdy enough for our computers and a few desktop items. Overall we are satisfied with our purchase considering the great price.
However, there are a few things we were disappointed about. First, with the black/cherry unit...it appeared it had been used, returned and repackaged...at least some of the parts anyway. On one piece the finish was damaged and a not-so-good attempt had been made to repair and repaint it. Sorry to say it ended up being in a noticeable place on the leg...oh well.
On the black/cherry unit all of the surfaces are covered in either the wood-grain or black laminate, which will protect the underlying particleboard from moisture and wear. The maple unit is only laminated on the surfaces that show from a sitting or standing position. The undersides of the desk top, and the back of the unit are exposed particleboard. Very poor design considering it obviously is not a big cost issue to laminate all of the surfaces to produce a longer lasting item. We plan to apply a coat of polyurethane to the exposed areas to protect from moisture, etc.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch, Multiple Finishes

Great desk. AND YES YOU CAN SWITCH THE HUTCH SIDE

02/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So when shopping for a desk with hutch, it was really expensive. I couldn't find one i wanted, nor one with the hutch on the side i wanted it to fit.
I saw this desk and said it was perfect and so was the price.
So i ordered it to see if i could switch it around and it is way easier than i thought it would be. I will explain it because I know some people want it the other way like I did. DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK! THIS IS NOT WALMARTS OR MAINSTAYS DIRECTIONS!
Basically, I put together the desk and hutch normally by the directions. EXCEPT, I did not put the keyboard drawer in (ill come back to this) and I moved the "L" on the right side. If you look at the main picture that walmart shows you, the hutch is on the left and the "L" on the right. If you take off that extra "L" its a normal desk with hutch. Use that as your base.
Now, when you put together the "L" (it is going to be the rectangular piece that is rounded at one end) to the "T" shaped leg (the supporting leg at the right side of the main pic.) The part that attaches this "L" to the main desk are 2 rectangular metal brackets that go underneath (Lets call it "B"). There is going to be preset holes on the right of the main desk. DONT USE THOSE IF YOU WANT THE HUTCH ON THE RIGHT! This is where it gets tricky...
You are going to take the brackets and screw them into the "L" piece normally in the provided holes. Now place the "L" on the left side of the desk, line it up straight (It will be easier with two people. One to screw and the other to hold the "L")
Now I used a power drill on a low setting and went slowly to screw the screws in because there were no preset holes. And it works great. no issue.
And then you have it done.
Back to the keyboard drawer...
I thought it was annoying that the cabinet didn't have a shelf. I cut my keyboard slat of wood a bit and shoved it in the cabinet in the middle and made a shelf. I made it so it was tight in the cabinet so you don't even need to screw it in.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Thanks YOU very much
Posted 08/23/2014
I wanted to know how to make the "L" on the left. Awesome!
0points
Customer Avatar
london, ky
keyboard
Posted 08/10/2014
Could you post another pic of where you put the keyboard.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
1-20 of 1,077 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  54 Next