Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Roebic Foaming Root Killer

Roebic Foaming Root Killer

Keep your plumbing system healthy with Roebic Foaming Root Killer. This product kills roots and keeps them from clogging your pipes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.769 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation77%10 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 8 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Foaming Root Killer

No more sewer line backups!

02/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About ten years ago, the drain from my house backed up. The plumber found roots filling the drain line in the yard near the street, and for $200 cleared them. This mess repeated the next year, and the time between clogs was shorter each year, until the drains were backing up every four months. Often this occurred on a Friday evening; go figure. It was nasty inside, plus we couldn't run water or flush until the plumber came.
About five years ago, I tried Roebic foaming root killer, hopeful that foam filling the pipe would work better than other line treatments. Since my roots were near the street, I was able to dump the powder into a cleanout plug outside the house. I decided to repeat the application in the cleanout (dump the powder and follow it with a 3 1/2 gallon bucket of water) every 3 months. I have not had another sewer line backup in 5 years! I would hug the guy/gal who developed this product if I met him or her. HIGHLY recommended.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Foaming Root Killer

Root Killer

12/31/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I watched the video on the Roebic website to get hints on how to use. Because my sewer line was longer than fifty feet (according to the video one bottle is good for fifty feet, two bottles will do seventy-five feet) and the root problem was beyond a cleanout in my yard, I determined the best way to use it was dump it down the cleanout and follow it by about three gallons of water. There was one problem. Moisture had gotten to the granules in the bottle and it was one giant lump. I broke up the lump and put it down the cleanout followed by the water.
I contacted Roebic Customer Service to see if my bottle was defective because of the moisture. They claimed that several customers had reported this problem with bottles bought at Walmart. Roebic claims that they have tested the root killer in this condition and it still works properly. I think Roebic needs to put a real seal under the bottle cap so that moisture doesn't get into the product. Because of where I placed the product, I can't really tell if it worked. I have to trust Roebic Customer Service that it did. I was told by them that because of my long line, I should use the Roebic K-77 root killer.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Foaming Root Killer

Best $20 I ever "literally" flushed down the toile

09/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My pipes were backing up into tub, sinks, shower and toilet was overflowing, I thought it could be roots by alot of research. I followed the instructions exactly it said "limited water usage for 4-6 hours" I let it sit overnight ended up about 7 hours and everything is working like there was never a problem. We heard like a burp in the line and I never smiled so big, I dont have the money to hire someone and to be honest this was alot of money for me but the best money I ever spent!!! Would recommend to everyone!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Foaming Root Killer
01/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For use with sewer systems, not septic systems. I own a house that required root removal from sewer line twice per year until I found Roebic Foaming Root Killer. I have been using this product for 3 or 4 years and have not had a problem with roots since I started using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Foaming Root Killer

Working Well If You Know When to Use It

04/21/2012
By ,
Saint Louis
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using this product for 4-5 years now. The first couple times I did not follow the instructions very well (I used it either after the drainage pipe was clogged or right after the roots were removed), and I did not think it worked very well. However, for the last 2-3 years, I've used it every six months (before the pipe was clogged with tree roots), and my sewage system has been flowing freely. I think the manufacturer should try to find a better way to inform their customers about when to use this product in order to see good results.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Foaming Root Killer

Keep your sewer pipe clear

04/11/2012
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In order to prevent gigantic plumbing bills, I have started using this sewer pipe cleaner. The pipes that go from my home to the main sewer line are made of this glorified tar paper called "orangeburg" and allow plant roots to grow inside them and make for a nasty clog. The Roebic stuff is great since all it requires is to throw a bottle of it into the toilet and flush, and suddenly your pipes are clear. Much cheaper than a plumper and a back hoe.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Foaming Root Killer

Extremely good product

04/02/2013
By ,
Marlette, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a plumber I recommend it after cleaning a sewer line clogged by root growth. This product does what it says it kills roots and continues after intial treatment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Foaming Root Killer

Cheaper than replacing your line.

11/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Years ago, I started having spider roots growing into my drain line outside of the house. Disaster is an easy word to use when describing this. You know exactly what I'm talking about if you've experienced it, too. I had to have a plumber out at various times over the years to run the snake with a grinding bit on the end of it repeatedly. Replacing the exterior line was not an option ($5000-$10,000), yet it was costing me at least $300 every time that someone came out - once even two times in as many weeks.
Then, my house burned. (Yeah, I know that it sounds like a country song) The exterior line was completely impacted with debris and water for weeks after the fire. During rebuilding, my contractor worked with his plumber of choice, who had years of experience, and he recommended that I try Roebic's Foaming Root Killer. He said that it was the same thing as in Root X and much cheaper. So, I started using it.
Yes, I do still have the problems in the line, because I have very large trees in my yard, and I still can't afford the ever expensive replacing the line. But, I honestly believe that this product has reduced the number of my problems. I've taken to using it every, few months, just as an extra precaution, even though it says to use it once a year. But, I would much prefer to be safer than sorry. I do tend to have the issues more during the dry times of the year, because that's when roots are searching for water sources, and cracked, water lines are the perfect target for them. And as much as I love my current plumber who had to come out again this week because I haven't been home to keep up with my lines, he offered to use Root X on the line for $140. I'll continue using Roebic ($20).
Is it the perfect resolution to the problem? No, nothing outside of replacing the line is going to take care of that. But when used in a common sense manner as a preventative, it's been a great product. Would I continue using it, even if it meant that I had to pay $20 a month to buy a container of it? Absolutely.
And PS for those who have questioned - when you use it, do so when you head out to work in the morning or at night before you go to bed. Give it at least 5 hours to sit in the lines with no water running through them. The longer, the better. And when you do use it, have a bucket of water with you. Pour the root killer into the toilet and quickly pour the bucket of water in with it, this will prevent the foaming from happening so quickly that you can't flush in time. Then, just flush away. Make sure you wash your hands afterward. All done!
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Foaming Root Killer

Great root killing product!

11/13/2012
By ,
Colorado springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has the same exact ingredients as rootx that costs almost 3 times the amount and you also need a plumbers licence to purchase, use this as directed and ONLY after cabling the drain with a drain cleaning machine with cutting bits or it will not work!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Foaming Root Killer

Root Problems

11/26/2012
By ,
Anaheim, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are tired of paying a plumber to clean out your sewer pipes because of tree roots invading the line, then this is the product you need. First you have to have a flowing sewer line, if it is clogged it must be cleared and flowing first. Pour it into your toilet all in one flush. It is better if you put it in a larger container and mix it up. Then flush and as the water starts to swirl pour it in to the swirl. It works great and will keep the roots out. I put it in every month right now because it is cheaper than calling a plumber. Next month I will start putting it in every 3 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Foaming Root Killer

product did not foam

11/21/2013
By ,
ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product did not foam up. The roebic company would not even respond to my complaint.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Foaming Root Killer

Can not believe this is sold in Fl by Wal Mart

01/17/2012
By ,
sw Flordia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this [product to use in rental house septic system. Read label and instructions,Manufacturer disclaimer stated in Bold type" " Not for use in septic systems in the State of Florida "
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Foaming Root Killer

Waste of time and money.

02/11/2012
By ,
Marion, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I found this product ineffective for any immediate relief for drain clogged by roots.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cedar Park, TX
Right, you have to fix the clog first
Posted 03/05/2012
You have to get water flowing again, or else the foam won't be able to get to the roots to cover them for 4-6 hours.
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)