Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dr Infrared Heater Dr. Infrared Heater 1,500 Watt Infrared Cabinet Space Heater with Remote Control

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Dr Infrared Heater Dr. Infrared Heater 1,500 Watt Infrared Cabinet Space Heater with Remote Control

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation82%33 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dr. Infrared Heater 1,500 Watt Infrared Cabinet Space Heater with Remote Control
12/22/2011
By ,
Springfield, Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heater really works nice for my large bedroom and master bath area. (387 sq. ft.). I usually turn it on 70 or 72 degrees. Cycles on and off like a furnace. Heat is not as dry as natural gas heat. I turn my central heat to 63 degrees for the rest of the house and close the door to the bedroom where I use the infrared heater. My bedroom has a door leading to an outside deck and large glass windows. The central heat wouldn't heat that room properly and it was always much colder than the rest of the house. The infrared heater has solved my problem. Very pleased with it so far as I've only had it for 3 weeks. Don't know yet how it affects my utility bill as I haven't compared yet as this is new to me. Also love the remote control and can regulate the heat from my bed. I set the unit on top of my cedar chest as they say it works better if you have it elevated 2 or three feet above floor level. The wood exterior makes for a nice appearance and the small size of the unit makes it very practical.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Review 2 for Dr. Infrared Heater 1,500 Watt Infrared Cabinet Space Heater with Remote Control

Great investment and does the job as stated

12/15/2011
By ,
Texas & Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After doing much research on heaters that may do what I indeded to use it for, this was my final choice.
Keep in mind however, this heater will heat up the area, but it will take time, it is not going to produce instant heat unless one stands right in front of it. It honestly needs time to do the job and it will. If you start with a cold room, the air as well as the walls plus other places need to heat up. Once the room heats up it gets nice and warm then and will then shut on and off all by it self.
This is in a 35 foot 5th wheel RV with 3 slideouts. It heats the whole RV when it's needed. The cost of the Propane is just to expensive to use and this is really the answer. (Keep in mind that electric is needed to operate this heater).
To really give this a jump start we also use The Big Buddy heater. Use it first and switch to this and never be cold in a room.
I took 2 whole weeks to see if this is what I hoped it was and also to see if it would fit my needs. It did and will also maybe fit your needs. I know it works in a house also as we gave it a test in a friends house. They then bought one after that.
Everyone is warm now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Dr. Infrared Heater 1,500 Watt Infrared Cabinet Space Heater with Remote Control
4 out of 5(40)
 
 
 
Mr. Heater 4000-9000-18000 BTU Big Buddy Heater
 
 
 
 
 
+37points
Review 3 for Dr. Infrared Heater 1,500 Watt Infrared Cabinet Space Heater with Remote Control

Perfect!! Comfortable and even heat.

11/20/2011
By ,
Southeastern MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use it to heat a 580 sq ft cottage in MA that is not well insulated. I have had trouble in the past maintaining comfortable heat. Dr heater was my answer. It distributes evenly throughout my home. It is far superior to the electric radiator and forced hot air methods I have used in the past. No more feeling drafts, no more fighting the battle betweeen being either too hot or too cold. And if I want to warm up from coming in from outside, I just sit in front the heater for a minute or two and the air it blows out warms me right up. It's easy to move around the room since it's on wheels and is small. It keeps my house at a constant 70 degrees with outside temps going down into the 30's so far. I am confident it will perform well when even when outside temps go down to the teens. I keep my bedroom door closed during the day and open up the door about 15 min before I go to bed. That's all it takes for the whole bedroom (including all the bedding) to warm up thouroughly after being unheated all day. I don't even have to move the heater into the bedroom. I also love that I can leave the front door open while bringing in groceries, etc., and even though lots of cold air rushes in from outside, the room goes right back to being perfectly warm after I shut the door. Excellent product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+101points
Review 4 for Dr. Infrared Heater 1,500 Watt Infrared Cabinet Space Heater with Remote Control

Great heater with a problem

11/19/2011
By ,
Livonia, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This heater is excellent, however, it has a problem. I wanted it for my family room and I was quick to find out that the signal from my TV remote conflicts with the Dr. Heater remote. My TV remote turns the heater on and changes other settings as well, which is not a good thing.
The manufacturer is aware of the problem and is working on a fix. My 2 star rating would probably go to a 4 or 5 star when the remote conflict gets resolved. I had to return my heater because of this and look for something else. If you don't have a remote situation at your house then this heater would be a great buy. The remote turns the heater on or off, raises and lowers the thermostat setting, and can set the shutoff timer to 1, 2, or 3 hours. It is small and compact and fits in small places. The cabinet is wood and it looks great.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Review 5 for Dr. Infrared Heater 1,500 Watt Infrared Cabinet Space Heater with Remote Control

This heater is a joke

11/30/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this same heater from the manufacturer two years ago. It does not heat multiple rooms as the manufacturer advertises. This heater couldn't keep one room warm without running constantly. The money I saved on my gas bill was spent on my electric bill by keeping this unit running continuosly.
Direct from the manufacturer, I paid just over $200. Walmart's price is much better. I have a small 1500 watt ceramic heater that I paid $30 for. The $30 heater works better than this infrared heater.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
+16points
Review 6 for Dr. Infrared Heater 1,500 Watt Infrared Cabinet Space Heater with Remote Control

Great heater

11/19/2011
By ,
Somewhere in WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this Dr. Heater a couple weeks ago at Walmart.com. It is everything I expected it to be. It heats my 14x23 livingroom, and 14x21 kitchen. I set it at 67 and it stays at that temp. It also has a programable thermostat, and shuts off when it reaches the set temp. I haven't had it long enough to tell wheather it saves on electric, but I know it will compaired to that old 220 volt furnace that comes on every 20 min or so. I'll update this when I get my elec. bill. Thanks walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 7 for Dr. Infrared Heater 1,500 Watt Infrared Cabinet Space Heater with Remote Control
11/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AWESOME furnace has not run yet! last night was 28 and stayed 72 inside.heating 900 square feet nicely
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+53points
Review 8 for Dr. Infrared Heater 1,500 Watt Infrared Cabinet Space Heater with Remote Control

Great energy effecient heater

11/25/2013
By ,
Knoxville,TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My heat pump went out we bought this and I already had an eden pure that I bought 3 years ago between the two they keep my 2000 square feet home toasty,,, I also had the lowest bill in 7 years
but the duraflame puts the 300.00 eden pure to shame, to be honest
I couldn't believe the difference and no fans to circulate either just keep doors to rooms open its amazing
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 9 for Dr. Infrared Heater 1,500 Watt Infrared Cabinet Space Heater with Remote Control

Excellent infrared heater

12/24/2011
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This heater heats an entire room and the heat comes on quickly and is efficient. Our utility bills are 1/3 less than the same month last year. We attribute this to buying three infrared heaters and placing them in the three rooms that we use the most. We have now turned off our central heat, as it is just too expensive to run (luckily, we live in a southern state where this is possible).
We also are going to window units in strategic rooms in the summer (and turning off our central A/C). If we could afford solar panels, we would also go there. We are waiting for Walmart to offer the first affordable solar panel energy units. Best of luck...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 10 for Dr. Infrared Heater 1,500 Watt Infrared Cabinet Space Heater with Remote Control

nice looking unit that works well for more heat

10/24/2011
By ,
Holyoke, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The infra red heater brings the additional warmth to our large living area saving us the cost of boosting the central heating unit for those periods when we want to be just a bit warmer. the heat from the unit circulates evenly and we find it comfortable and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+42points
Review 11 for Dr. Infrared Heater 1,500 Watt Infrared Cabinet Space Heater with Remote Control

Not what claims to be and stopped working quick

12/21/2011
By ,
Kokomo Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cheaply made and stopped working after 3 times being used. I warn you to not buy this product. I should have listened to the reviews I read. There are a lot better products out there. They only honor the warranty if you ship it back to them. I decided to use the $70 to put toward a new heater that is worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
virginia
Dr. Heater review
Posted 01/30/2012
Why did this person not return to WalMart? Is this an item that they do not stand behind? WalMart is REALLY good about taking care of their customers in my experience.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Dr. Infrared Heater 1,500 Watt Infrared Cabinet Space Heater with Remote Control
02/25/2013
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased in Sept. 2012. It worked for 5 months and died.
Cannot contact customer service. They are not recieving calls.
This choice cost me. Buyer beware.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Review 13 for Dr. Infrared Heater 1,500 Watt Infrared Cabinet Space Heater with Remote Control
11/30/2011
By ,
Prestonsburg, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Doctor Heater is affordable, compact,and attractive. I have had it only two weeks, but, I prefer it to the Eden pure which cost nearly twice as much. Hopefully the Doctor will prove to be much more durable
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 14 for Dr. Infrared Heater 1,500 Watt Infrared Cabinet Space Heater with Remote Control

Really great!

01/04/2012
By ,
St Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this after reviewing lots of infrared heaters. We have a 900 sq ft basement with no heat. It is doing a great job, with no walls to stop it. The most comfortable the basement has ever been!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 15 for Dr. Infrared Heater 1,500 Watt Infrared Cabinet Space Heater with Remote Control

Heater that went south on me

11/22/2013
By ,
Godrey, Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the heater and put it in my daughter's bedroom to keep off the chill. Heater was not abused. Ran at a low temp. Only lasted one season. This year when we turned in on, it will only run at the highest temp and never shuts off.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 16 for Dr. Infrared Heater 1,500 Watt Infrared Cabinet Space Heater with Remote Control

Did not heat up the area that i needed at all

11/21/2012
By ,
Aston, pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It says 1000 sq ft, my livivng room and kithcen makes up about that. However it did not warm up the area. I do have an open area that could have been the problem not sure. I moved it to the dinning room that was a little more closed in and it still did not work. Maybe it would work in a room that isnt that big and you could close a door. In an open space it dosent work.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 17 for Dr. Infrared Heater 1,500 Watt Infrared Cabinet Space Heater with Remote Control
11/11/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this heater for a week now and it's working great and heats up 2 rooms of my house. No problems so far, great heater.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 18 for Dr. Infrared Heater 1,500 Watt Infrared Cabinet Space Heater with Remote Control

Not worth the Money

11/07/2012
By ,
Vermont
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this yesterday, unpacked the box, read the instructions, plugged it in and it worked for less than 5 minutes. Emailed service and I am waiting to hear on returning it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Review 19 for Dr. Infrared Heater 1,500 Watt Infrared Cabinet Space Heater with Remote Control

Heats a small room with no problem.

12/06/2013
By ,
Kentucky
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We have had this heater for 10 months now and use it to heat our small bedroom to keep warm at night. It warms the room quickly and keeps it at nice comfortable temperature. However it recently started shutting its self at random times and when it does this it take a lot of turning it off and on again to get it to work. Up until this started happening it work perfectly.
:Wayfair.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 20 for Dr. Infrared Heater 1,500 Watt Infrared Cabinet Space Heater with Remote Control

Great Product

12/10/2011
By ,
Rogersville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Dr. Heater just arrived this morning, it heats okay but it doesn't heat as much square footage as it says it does, it's nice looking though, I love the color and the design, the size is smaller than I thought. I love that there's wheels, it's easy to move. The price is good and the delivery is fast. However, I still recommend this to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+4points
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next