Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Liquid Lightning Liquid Lightning Buffered Sulfuric Acid Drain Cleaner

Liquid Lightning Liquid Lightning Buffered Sulfuric Acid Drain Cleaner

Liquid Lightning Buffered Sulfuric Acid Drain Cleaner is safe for use on septic tanks, sinks, tubs, toilets and more.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation64%14 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Liquid Lightning Buffered Sulfuric Acid Drain Cleaner

Best Drain Clog Remover/Slow Drain cleaner EVER

06/21/2014
By ,
Milwaukie, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used quite a few different, Slow Drain Cleaners and Drain Clog Removers, Most of them were Sodium Hydroxide ( Caustic Lye) which I would of thought would of worked best. But I have had a drain from washing machine that every so often starts slowing down then I use some mainline cleaner and it speeds it back up, but I have always thought it should drain faster.
Last night the drain was acting up and pretty much stopped. could drain a trickle of water that's all, Needed to wash cloths so I went to find something quicker then normal 8-10 hours normal cleaner I use.
I seen this Sulfuric acid one and it said cleans in 15 min so I bought it.
I took off vent pipe (Bypass the S trap that way) and dumped the bottle in and installed vent pipe again. waited 15 min went to flush and I thought Oh no it did not work as water was backing up, then the water got bubbly like soda and gone was the water.
I have NEVER been able to run both my Hot and cold water full power in sink without backing up. Normally I am lucky to run cold or hot at full without backing up in sink..
I am so impressed, This stuff blew me away never expected drain to be 200% better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Liquid Lightning Buffered Sulfuric Acid Drain Cleaner

4-day old clog busted! Germophobe happy!

12/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being a mild germaphobe, I do not own a plunger and never intend to. So my spare bathroom had a clog for 4 days that would not drain for any reason whatsoever! I had just had a plumber over a month ago to make sure my washer was properly installed and he found some more issues that he had to fix and it had cost a pretty penny, so I was very worried that I would have to call him again. Online, I found suggestions for baking soda, hot water, dish-washing fluid, tried them all, NOTHING WORKED! I waited 4 days for the plug to work itself out as water slowly drained past it, but no such luck. Being near tears, and ready to throw dynamite down the thing, I went to Wal-Mart and five dollars and some change later, I poured the liquid lightning slowly down the almost over-filling toilet, and just as I was getting to the bottom of the bottle, walla! I heard a trickle, trickle, trickle, and then swoosh! Everything went and I was standing there like, "Oh my goodness! NO, THAT DIDN'T HAPPEN IN FRONT OF MY EYES!" But it did! THIS IS THE BEST THING OUT THERE (If it destroys my pipes, I'll be back here to report it, but for now, it worked PERFECT, PERFECT, PERFECT!). I can't say enough about this!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Liquid Lightning Buffered Sulfuric Acid Drain Cleaner

Just... WOW... Beyond Expectations.

01/18/2012
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have tried plunging it for two days and using all the other liquid plumbers and Draino to no effect... I put this in it left the room and came back in and it was all drained... this worked way beyond my expectations than the other stuff...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Liquid Lightning Buffered Sulfuric Acid Drain Cleaner

Piece of JUNK -- DO NOT BUY -- WILL RUIN YOUR SINK

09/08/2012
By ,
Ballwin, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just bought and used this product to unclog our kitchen sink..followed directions as described step by step...stank the entire home for days...burnt the sink literally ruined the finished layer of of sink...we will have to get a new sink now :-(
at the end, DID NOT SOLVE the problem...instead made the problem worse and clogged even further...ended up using "snake" for over 2 hours to unclog...
****stay miles away from this****
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Liquid Lightning Buffered Sulfuric Acid Drain Cleaner

It works

10/26/2012
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hello, I had a pretty bad clog in my shower. I tried several different drain cleaners and they didn't work. So I gave this one a try after looking up sailfuric acid drain cleaners, I just follow the direction very carefully and after 25min I had a clear drain. Very happy and will use and recommend again :D
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Liquid Lightning Buffered Sulfuric Acid Drain Cleaner

SAVE YOUR MONEY

12/20/2013
By ,
millbrook, al
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the 32 oz. container based on the money back guarantee. Used as directed on the label to unclog a stopped up toilet. No luck. Went back to the store and bought one of the bellows type plungers. Voila. Three day old clog removed in under a minute. Also, please be aware that the money back guarantee is no guarantee. It permits the maker 45 days to review and determine the applicability of your receiving a refund. I am currently inside the 45 day waiting period and do not hold out much optimism. Would like to encourage people with toilet clogs to try the bellows plunger...it was my first use of this fantastic and cheap (about half what the liquid drain cleaner cost) tool and I am sold.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Liquid Lightning Buffered Sulfuric Acid Drain Cleaner
06/11/2012
By ,
miami
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The minute that this product was poured into my toilet it not only cracked the toilet but the base. As I am writing this review there is a plumber repairing both. This $9.00 item turned into a $200 major repair along with a new toilet. By the way it never unplugged the toilet!
Signed,
Dissatisfied customer
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
VA
Did you read the directions?
Posted 04/12/2013
The directions clearly say to add a small amount first, and then add more after a few minutes. Drain cleaners produce heat. Too much heat in too short a time causes a temperature change that can cause toilet bowls to crack. Adding a small amount and waiting a few minutes is a to allow the temperature change to occur slowly and reduce the chance of cracking.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Liquid Lightning Buffered Sulfuric Acid Drain Cleaner

I couldn't be happier!!!!!

01/08/2013
By ,
MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a floor drain in the basement that gets clogged and overflows every 6 months or so and I normally jam a small garden hose down the access hole that bypasses the trap and turn the water on high and it breaks the clog free. This time it didn't work. (NOTE: this main drain is for the kitchen sink with a garbage disposal, laundry tub, water softener, dehumidifier, and humidifier for the furnace)
After reading reviews and watching a convincing youtube demonstration, I tried Liquid Lightning. The clog I had was not complete. It just wouldn't allow water to flow fast enough without it overflowing onto the floor. There was standing water in the bottom 1/4 of the drain and I slowly poured the whole bottle in and immediately it started fizzing and bubbling. I put the plug back in to prevent the smell from getting in the house and waited 20 minutes.
Then I tried flushing with cold water but it freed up so much muck leading to the main clog that it clogged it more. I jammed the garden hose down the drain about 15 feet and was able to break the clog free so at least water would go down.
I then used another full bottle and repeated the same thing. I could then run the water full blast without it backing up! Liquid Lightning dissolved so much junk in my drain which no other product I used previously could do.
Since about 15 ft of drain was clear of junk now, I decided to pour a 3rd bottle down the drain to dissolve stuff past 15 ft. Maybe it won't clog for years now, I hope!
The drain has never been this clean probably in the 29 years of living in this house. By the way, the drain pipe I used this product on is steel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Liquid Lightning Buffered Sulfuric Acid Drain Cleaner
09/06/2012
By ,
greensboro, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it works just they way it said!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Liquid Lightning Buffered Sulfuric Acid Drain Cleaner

Best Product Every

11/21/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product work great. Once you know where your clog is at... Put it in the hole and it starts to work. It will bubble like crazy.. The smell will knock your sock off.... Use this only in basement cuz the smell is so bad. I will use it again. Work better than any other product I have used. I have done them all. i had a clog for three or more weeks... i got this its done...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Liquid Lightning Buffered Sulfuric Acid Drain Cleaner

Horrible

09/13/2012
By ,
Waynesfield, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not spend your money on this product unless you want to replace your kitchen sink. I used this product and it ate away all the seals on my sink. Now I have to replace my sink
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Liquid Lightning Buffered Sulfuric Acid Drain Cleaner

Amazing

10/24/2013
By ,
clawson
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Follow the directions and watch the youtube video - worked like a dream in my laundry room sink. It is so rare to find a product that actually does what it says it will - - but this one did!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Liquid Lightning Buffered Sulfuric Acid Drain Cleaner

had a plug

03/17/2013
By ,
Waukesha , WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i had a plugged drain for close to a year. tried many drain cleaners most did little to nothing. pro strength liquid plumr clog destroyer along with alot of plunger action would open it up some would use a gallon and sit for up to 12 hours. plummer wanted over $1000. to rip apart wall and replace pipes. in less then 2 hours my drain is running better then in a very long time. not 100% but good.
I'd give it 5 stars but i don't give 5 stars unless its perfect. but i highly recommend it. not the gallon size one that looks the same but bigger (did not work). But this one worked great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Liquid Lightning Buffered Sulfuric Acid Drain Cleaner

Cleared Clogged main under toiled

01/28/2013
By ,
MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Woke up this morning to a clogged toilet drain.Like anyone would. I grabbed the plunger and went to work.The only progress I made was to push the water up and out the sink drain.Well to make a long story short. My wife told me we had some of a drain clearing acid called "Drain Lightning".I poured it down the toiled and waited the required time and it was cleared.I highly recommend this stuff.I bet it would work with slow drains also since it flows to the clog and sticks to it.PLEASE FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS TO THE LETTER!!!.This stuff is very dangerous.But it works!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Liquid Lightning Buffered Sulfuric Acid Drain Cleaner

Worked great

04/16/2013
By ,
Athens, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are basically two ways to chemically unclog a drain. Use a base, like sodium hydroxide (active ingredient in Liquid Plumber) or an acid, like the sulfuric acid in Liquid Lightning. Do not use both! I have read other reviews that stated that the Liquid Lightning destroyed the finish on their sink, etc. You need to be aware if your sink or fixtures are susceptible to a strong acid, if not, Liquid Lightning should work great. The acid broke down the material that was clogging my drain and it has been running clear ever since.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Liquid Lightning Buffered Sulfuric Acid Drain Cleaner

Too bad I didn't read first!

05/19/2013
By ,
huntsville
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just poured it in, and now there is a crack all the way down my toilet. This product turned my simply clogged toilet into an expensive repair! Beware!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Liquid Lightning Buffered Sulfuric Acid Drain Cleaner

Works Every Time

02/21/2013
By ,
Greenville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've been using this for years - only thing that works for our basement drain. We've tried everything else.
Follow the directions *exactly* as written.
Don't let it come in contact with any of your fixture finishes (chrome, bronze, nickel). It will discolor it.
Most importantly, I strongly urge everyone to take all precautions to cover your skin and eyes. It *will* burn you. I wear long gloves and safety glasses. Even pouring it slowly into the drain results in tiny splash ups that you won't know about until your skin begins to burn.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Liquid Lightning Buffered Sulfuric Acid Drain Cleaner

bad drainage

05/24/2013
By ,
indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a bad drain issue in my shower causing the washer to flow into the shower. I used this for 15 minutes and 2 times for 15 minutes on the shower. Black sludge was emitting from the shower like foam. rinsed away and don't have the problem anymore. I can see how it damages plumbing, but at the same time I have old metal pipes. I don't recommend using with pvc piping. it was worth trying I feel
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Liquid Lightning Buffered Sulfuric Acid Drain Cleaner

OMG, BUYER BEWARE - RISK!!!it destroyed my commode

01/25/2013
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First treatment did not fully relieve clog problem. Instructions indicated using weekly to maintain clear drains...so a week later I purchased a second bottle, carefully followed directions and within 15 minutes there were two loud pops and the fluid was oozing out of the lower part of the commode surrounding the stool, it had cracked all the way around! I had to replace the commode and all the expenses that involved!!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Liquid Lightning Buffered Sulfuric Acid Drain Cleaner

Clogged Kitchen Sink

03/15/2013
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This did not unclog my kitchen sink. At the most, the water runs possibly a tad faster but not much.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next