Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Federal Ammunition Federal Ammunition 22LR 40gr Auto Match, 325ct

Federal Ammunition Federal Ammunition 22LR 40gr Auto Match, 325ct

The Federal Ammunition 22LR 40gr Auto Match is target ammunition designed to work well in semi-auto firearms.
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation75%21 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 18 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Federal Ammunition 22LR 40gr Auto Match, 325ct

March winner

05/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use Federal Auto Match in Lever Action Silhouette matches and usually win my class. If I don't win it is not the ammo's fault. I found it runs well in my much-altered Ruger 10-22 rifle also. The only downside to this ammo is the supply...I haven't found any in Walmart is a year and a half, but I don't go there at 7am every morning either. When ammo supplies get back to normal this will still be my go-to round for my lever action and semi-auto rifle.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Federal Ammunition 22LR 40gr Auto Match, 325ct

Very good 22 semi-auto ammo!

06/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been my primary 22 ammunition for a few years now. It works well in all of my 22 semi-auto pistols and rifles, as well as revolvers and other 22 firearms. It goes bang every time you pull the trigger and has no problem cycling the slide on anything that I have used it in. I use it in speed based shooting sports (i.e... Steel Challenge, Bowling Pin, etc...) and have had good results with it. It is fairly clean and doesn't leave behind any fouling that is out of the ordinary. I have not found any loose lead as I do with some of the other bulk 22 ammo. I do not know if it is super accurate as I don't do much bullseye type shooting, but I have no problems hitting what I aim at. Give this ammo a try and I would bet that you will like it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Federal Ammunition 22LR 40gr Auto Match, 325ct

Cycles Well and Is Accurate

11/08/2013
By ,
NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've shot close to 5000 rounds of this ammo through my Ruger 10/22 Target Model, and about 1000 rounds through my Ruger Mk II. I've only had a couple bad rounds out of at least 6000 total. In fact, I can't really remember when they occurred because it was so rare.
With my 10/22 Target, I get between 1/4" and 1/2" 10 shot groups at 50 yards. Now one thing that all 10/22 owners should know is that IF there is going to be a flyer, it will happen during the first shot. After the 1st round, the remaining 9 rounds will load fine. This is also true for other .22 caliber auto-loaders, like the SW M&P. So YES, you might experience a flyer, but it isn't because of the ammo. Auto-loaders are NOT bolt-action target rifles, so there's a little more slop (head-space). However, it's because of this slop that the 10/22's are the best "fun gun" ever made. Want 100% precision, buy an Anschutz target rifle.
At 100 yards, I've gotten 10 shot groups at between 1" and 1.25", with an occasional 1.5".
My Ruger Mark II absolutely loves this ammo (even more than my 10/22)!
What I absolutely can't recommend is the Remington Target ammo. That ammo misfired way too often! Remington, what happened to you! 35 years ago I used the Remington for target practice out of 3 Anschutz target rifles. It use to be accurate and reliable. Now it's junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Federal Ammunition 22LR 40gr Auto Match, 325ct

This is one of the best .22LR ammo you can get !

08/30/2012
By ,
Chandler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Various handguns "like" different .22LR ammo - they are finicky !
However, these Federal Auto Match Ammo is one of the best you can buy, at least from Walmart.
They work well in everything i have tried them and in terms of value (i.e. low price and high count) they are great as well ! In fact, these will work great, even through some handguns that don't like most other ammo. As far as accuracy goes, they are as accurate as you can be and they are very consistent as well.
I have used various other Federal types, a few Remington types, some Winchester, every type of CCI out there, and in my opinion these are better than other Federal, much better than all Remington and Winchester combined, and as good as most of the CCI ammo.
If you find a box at Walmart, GIVE IT A TRY for sure !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Federal Ammunition 22LR 40gr Auto Match, 325ct

Excellent, if your gun likes it

11/09/2012
By ,
Homewood, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been shooting AutoMatch in my CZ 452 Varmint and 452 Style. Great ammo for those two rifles - excellent groups and consistent performance from box to box (even if lot numbers are different). I mostly shoot at 50 yards and get dime to nickel sized groups using a Leupold Vari-X III 6.5-20x40 scope on the CZ rifles. The key with .22 rimfire ammunition is finding a round that your rifle or handgun likes and sticking with it. This is a good round for casual target shooting and silhouette practice (and maybe even competition) if your gun shoots it well. It's definitely a bargain for a rimfire round capable of very good accuracy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Federal Ammunition 22LR 40gr Auto Match, 325ct

Good all around ammo

04/28/2013
By ,
sioux city, GE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've used this auto match ammo in all my .22's and I never have any problems with it.No jams ftf's etc.I use it mainly for plinking and informal target practice.But I have not seen any rimfire ammo on walmarts shelves in months !
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Federal Ammunition 22LR 40gr Auto Match, 325ct

Worst 22 ammo I have ever shot

08/08/2014
By ,
Irvine, Ca.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got a good deal on two 325 round boxes and was very hopeful that this ammo would work well in either my Glock 22 conversion and my Ruger 10/22. First, it would not even come close to operating properly in the glock conversion. Many FTF and FTE. It is picky, so I put it aside and tried in the Ruger 10/22 which is less than one year old. I'm now through most of the fist box and there's at least one or two FTPE (failure to properly eject# and FTF #feed). I've trained my ears now to hear the noticeable weak round and can guess 9/10 times with my eyes closed that the next round will not fir because there's a spend shell stuck in the breach.
When the rounds fire with the right load, they perform well. But the ammo is horribly inconsistent and the most inconsistent ammo I've every shot - and I've shot tens of other ammo brands and configurations. IMO if a particular 22 ammo can't shoot properly out of a Ruger 10/22 then it's a fail. It seems to shoot everything reliably until I ran this ammo.
Thought it was me and started researching online, and read many reviews that sounded exactly as my experience - and with all different kinds of rifles and pistols.
This stuff is such junk that I went online to the Federal website convinced that I'd find a recall notice. None yet, but wouldn't doubt if one's coming. noticeably inconsistent.
Stay away at any price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Federal Ammunition 22LR 40gr Auto Match, 325ct
04/20/2012
By ,
Central MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 30+ years, I've gotten back into shooting. I bought a new CZ 452 Style with Mueller APV 4.5-16x44 scope for it. I tried a few CCIs Stingers, MiniMags, SV, Remington Golden (never again) and some Winchesters from decades ago. I then figured I needed a lot of ammo to practice again so bought a couple boxes of this. I was floored when my groups improved within 20 rounds. I even shot a couple dime size groups at 50 yds, and a quarter size group at 100 yds. That might not mean much to experienced shooters, but this for me was GREAT! I'm going to buy a case of it when I find it again, it's really fun to have good results!
Try this stuff. Your gun and you might like it too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
el paso
me too
Posted 10/12/2012
I just got back into shooting after 30 years too so I bought a new Marlin 795 cause I'm sort of poor. This ammo for the money can't be beat. I've had one FTF in 2 boxes.
0points
Customer Avatar
Erie
Federal Ammunition 22LR
Posted 05/12/2012
Fired the entire box in about an hour with my S&W M&P 15-22. Not one single problem.
I will definitely buy more
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Federal Ammunition 22LR 40gr Auto Match, 325ct

The name is misleading

10/30/2013
By ,
south central WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Federal Auto "MATCH" is the name and it would seem to imply that it is a match grade ammunition. That would be incorrect. It is not particularly accurate and my experience has revealed a significantly high percentage of flyers. Some rounds go where you aim and some are not even close. For reasons that I still cannot figure out, the nose of the bullets frequently hang up in my 25 round Ruger BX-25 magazines that I use in my 10/22 and prevent it from feeding. This is the only ammo I have tried that does this and I have tried many. I learned that if I apply Hornady ONE SHOT to the top of the magazines I can get them to feed better, but not reliably.
They also have a high percentage of weak casings near the rim. I cannot fire them in my bolt action Marlin XT-22 because the rims bulge slightly after firing and the casings will not extract more than 50% of the time.
However, after all these critiques, it does have a clean burning powder that does not rapidly foul the action of a semi-auto with thick gritty carbon residue. They may cycle fine with other semi-autos and might be fine with the standard 10 round Ruger box magazines. But I would not refer to it as a "MATCH GRADE" ammo.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Federal Ammunition 22LR 40gr Auto Match, 325ct

Federal 22 Auto Match

10/19/2011
By ,
Logan, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most accurate of all 22 ammo sold at Walmart in both my rifle and handgun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Federal Ammunition 22LR 40gr Auto Match, 325ct

If your gun likes it..

01/17/2014
By ,
IL/WI Stateline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just like all .22 ammo, if your gun likes this round it'll shoot great.. Experimenting is the key..
My Anschutz 65MS loves it and will give one hole groups all day long. It likes it better than a lot of other expensive match ammo. So far, no fliers, and I wish I could say the same for Wolf Target Match grade ammo out of the same gun.
The Auto Match is cheaper.
Now to get it back on the shelves.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Federal Ammunition 22LR 40gr Auto Match, 325ct

Cannot recommend these rounds...

02/05/2013
By ,
Fayette County, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this Federal Auto-Match .22LR ammo for the first time today - I was pleased finding these "target match" 40gr. rounds available at a bargain price. Later in the afternoon I ventured out to a local range with my spanking new Marlin 795 (a semi-auto .22 rifle w/ 10 round magazine), as well as my older & most reliable Marlin Model 60 (semi-auto .22 rifle w/ 14 round tube magazine).
****
Loading the new rifle for the first time-- after 6 shots experienced a failure-to-eject (FTE). Clearing this malfunction, I reloaded and reattempted another 10 rounds. After 4 shots, alas, the FTE occurred again.
*****
SOo-o-o-.... I switched to my trusty never-malfunctioned Model 60 and sent 8 rounds downrange before experiencing a FTE on this rifle as well. Cleared... reattempted... another FTE.
Before the range session was over, I made one more re-attempt with 3 rounds in the Model 795 -- the second round failed-to-eject (FTE). At this point I called it a day with these Federal Auto-Match .22LR rounds.
*****
Perhaps they will work in my antique single-shot .22 -- The grandkids can enjoy shooting them. I won't buy them again.
...Just a bad batch...?? perhaps... ?? Federal should make it right.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Missouri
Great ammo, poor guns
Posted 08/02/2013
I have fired 1000's of rounds of this ammo through both a ruger 10/22, a savage mark II, and a heritage rough rider. I have never once had a failure to feed or failure to eject. I would suggest buying better guns. Marlin model 60 = very poor quality, which is why you most likely are having such poor results. Marlin actions are notorious for failure.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Federal Ammunition 22LR 40gr Auto Match, 325ct

great product

01/29/2014
By ,
ft. lauderdale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 inch groups at a hundred yards with very few fliers. what more do I need to say.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Federal Ammunition 22LR 40gr Auto Match, 325ct

Only 22 ammo I use

10/12/2012
By ,
el paso, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I too got back into shooting after 30 years. No having a lot of money I bought a Marlin 795. I bought this ammo at Walmart cause of the price and the box looked sort of cool. Stuff works great. I like the fact that it's solid lead too and not coated. Get the Tasco 4x15 scope too for $6.95 and enjoy yourself for a few $$. Best value around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Federal Ammunition 22LR 40gr Auto Match, 325ct

goes bang

09/10/2012
By ,
concord nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tried this out in my phoenix 22 auto and out of a box, I had about five that wouldn't load but I put this on the pistol. Lead nose isn't my number #1 choice because I shot so much I sometimes fill up the rifling in my barrell with it. I like the federal value pack much better. Still, god ammo for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Federal Ammunition 22LR 40gr Auto Match, 325ct

Just okay

09/17/2012
By ,
NJ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After going through two boxes of this in my M&P 15-22 and Remi 597, I can’t give it better than an average rating. Very few misfires, but accuracy isn’t as good as I expected. Not a great ammo for 50+ yard shots. Federal Bulk was slightly better and CCI Tactical was much better onthe target.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Federal Ammunition 22LR 40gr Auto Match, 325ct

Federal AutoMatch ammo works well in my semi-auto

12/29/2013
By ,
Niagara Falls, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This ammo works great in my Savage semi-auto rifle. Only about 1-2 FTF or FTE per box of 325 rounds. Not bad for low cost ammo. Also, with current 22LR ammo shortages, I was very happy to find one box in Westchester, NY store (the price went up about 20% in the last 10 months, though).
I read some negative reviews of this ammo but I figured that I don't have many choices in the current ammo shortage situation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Federal Ammunition 22LR 40gr Auto Match, 325ct

Worked well after a rough start

07/02/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In the first 20 rounds through a Ruger SR22 I had 1 FTE and 2 FTL. After that I put 120 more rounds through it without any issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Federal Ammunition 22LR 40gr Auto Match, 325ct

very decent ammo for semi autos

06/05/2013
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very decent round for semi autos...read my review for winchester 555 vs this ammo...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Federal Ammunition 22LR 40gr Auto Match, 325ct

Good for Bulk

10/12/2013
By ,
Washington
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I test 5 boxes of this bullets, diferent firearms...
Ruger 10/22 50 bullets just some ejection problems
Mosquito 50 bullets 15 with problems of ejection
Marlin 60 50 bullets just few ejection
Sr22 50 bullets some ejection problems
I guess for me is a good average bullet for the price, just few of them sounds like not enough powder on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
OK
Confusing Terminology
Posted 06/20/2014
Firearm might work better if you tried loading the whole cartridge instead of just the bullet.
:)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next