Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic Big Buck Hunter Safari Plug & Play TV Game

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Generic Big Buck Hunter Safari Plug & Play TV Game

The Big Buck Hunter Safari TV Game will keep your kid engaged for hours with its creativity and graphics. This hunting game lets him shoot shotgun controller and target things across the jungles and also plains of Africa. The Big Buck Hunting Game allows hunt some of the most bizarre animals and makes it a thrilling experience. Travel through different places and get the pleasure of hunting through the Plug and Play TV game. The game is easy to understand for a little child and is also challenging at the same time. It gives full control and has many levels which make it interesting and anticipating. Using the unique weapons and gadgets the child can move, jump and fight in the game.
Average Customer Rating:
2.818 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation36%4 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Big Buck Hunter Safari Plug & Play TV Game

Not nearly as excellent as the arcade version.

11/14/2011
By ,
Portland, OR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was prompted to purchase Big Buck Hunter Safari for two reasons. One, I absolutely love playing the arcade version of the game with my fiance whenever we see it. Restaurants, bars, etc. Two, the other Big Buck Hunter plug & play games had such excellent reviews. I was so, so, SO disappointed - at first. I realized I had extremely high expectations for such "simple" technology. The graphics are half of what they are on the arcade game which is sad in itself, but it also makes the game play very difficult. There's five animals to hunt in the arcade, three here. Things I was excellent at in the arcade version (ie, bonus games) I'm HORRIBLE at now. The batteries also die VERY quickly. Calibrating was difficult at first, we had to move so far back the cord was nearly fully extended. Unlike the arcade version... where you point the gun isn't so much the point. It's where you move the crosshairs on the screen. When playing in the arcade, you miss, you miss. And you can tell why, and adjust accordingly, it's really quite excellent. When playing at home, calibration is either high, or low (depending on where you put the sensor bar) and you just have to make sure you put the cross hairs in the right place. So the aiming is very different - therefore the game play is very different. So to recap the negative, less animals, worse graphics, and aiming is not nearly as precise. Now! There ARE some positives. Once I got over my original shock about how dissimilar this is and the arcade version are (they shouldn't have the same name, if you ask me...) And once I realized I couldn't point the gun where I wanted to shoot, I needed to move the CROSSHAIRS where I wanted to shoot, I did have some fun. It's very affordable, and I had some fun with it. Is it a replacement for the real thing? No way. Did it meet my expectations? Not at all. Am I having a good amount of fun for my dollar? I am. Most of the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+28points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Arkansas
Awesome Game for Kids
Posted 01/17/2012
I bought this item for my kids and they absolutely love it. They enjoy the levels and its one of the few games they like to play over and over again. Its also fun for when relatives and friends visit.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Big Buck Hunter Safari Plug & Play TV Game

Takes lots of batteries

01/16/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an awesome game. My kids love it (5 & 4 yrs old). The only bad part is it takes lots of batteries. we have to change them at least once a week. 4AA in the gun part and 3 AAA in the controller part. so lots of batteries otherwise good game
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 3 for Big Buck Hunter Safari Plug & Play TV Game

excellent!

03/27/2012
By ,
Syracuse, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this item for my husband who already owned Big Buck Hunter Pro. The product was sturdy and well built and fun to play. Just wish it came with 2 game guns like the previous version but other than that a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 4 for Big Buck Hunter Safari Plug & Play TV Game

Waste of money

12/30/2011
By ,
North Dakota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This game is a huge disappointment! We got the Big Buck Hunter version for our 5 year old for Christmas. Everytime you turn the game on you have to calibrate the gun. This was a difficult task! Shooting a moving target was even harder!! After spending 10-15 minutes trying to get it to calibrate and not having any luck, I gave up on it & decided to take it back. I exchanged it for the Big Buck Hunter Pro because that was all the store had. It was even worse!! When we turned it on it made the tv screen crackly. We got it to calibrate without a problem, but it never continued on to the next screen. So for some reason it just stopped there and we didn't get to play a game. Definately NOT worth $40.00! This one is going back too.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 5 for Big Buck Hunter Safari Plug & Play TV Game

didn't work long

10/21/2012
By ,
Roanoke Rapids, N.C.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This game didn't hold up well. It quit working after a few times of playing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 6 for Big Buck Hunter Safari Plug & Play TV Game
04/05/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good game works well but not much to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 7 for Big Buck Hunter Safari Plug & Play TV Game

Boring and horrible graphics

12/27/2011
By ,
WV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I thought my 5 year old would be able to do this. First of all your target and aim has to be 100% and the games are boring. Graphics arent good either. Glad i got this for $20 but not very fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Review 8 for Big Buck Hunter Safari Plug & Play TV Game

Total Bust!

04/02/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The safari version doesn't even come close to the deer version. My son plays the deer game all the time, but he only played this once and never asked to play it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
-1point
Review 9 for Big Buck Hunter Safari Plug & Play TV Game
04/27/2012
By ,
Westminster, Md
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor quality materials. Sight for scope barely visable. If the box hadn't been destroyed by my grandson I would have shipped it back. Terrible.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
-1point
Ratings-Only Reviews for Big Buck Hunter Safari Plug & Play TV Game
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5