Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mobil 1 Mobil 1 5W-30 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Mobil 1 Mobil 1 5W-30 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Mobil 1 Extended Performance 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil provides outstanding engine protection.
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%26 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 27 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mobil 1 5W-30 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.
11/01/2012
By ,
Washington DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobil 1 is a great product. Makes my engine last much longer than other oils. Take off the front wheel to give yourself more room to drain the old oil. See pic
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mobil 1 5W-30 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Prefer Pennzoil Ultra

06/14/2013
By ,
South Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used Mobil 1 Synthetic for years, and I recently used Mobil 1 Extended Performance. I honestly don't have any complaints about Mobile 1 EP. I have a 2007 Honda Accord 4 cylinder with 130,000+ miles. I have used Mobil 1 Synthetic 5w-20 for the first 125,000 miles, and then I used MB1 EP 5w-20 for one oil change between 125,000 and 130,000 miles. I honestly can't tell a difference between the two. However, at the 130,000 mark, I switched to Pennzoil Ultra in 5w-30 and I can honestly notice a difference for the better. With the Pennzoil Ultra, my engine is quieter and smoother. I can't tell you specifically if the reason that my engine is running better is because of the Pennzoil Ultra, or because I switched from 5w-20 to 5w-30, or perhaps both. All I can tell you is that I used to be a loyal Mobil 1 fan for over 20 years, and I have now switched to Pennzoil Ultra. I am going to use it in my 09 Toyota Rav4 Limited with 4 cylinder next, and will give an update at that time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oregon Central Coast
Mobile 1 vs Pennzoil Ultra
Posted 07/27/2013
How many auto manufactures put Mobile 1 in there new cars and how many put in Pennzoil Ultra? Enough said!
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Mobil 1 5W-30 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Dexos1 approved! Better than paying dealer prices

10/26/2012
By ,
Niles, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've changed oil in my cars myself for decades. We recently purchased a Chevy Cruze LT, and with GM's requirement for "Dexos approved oil" for their warranty, that put a surprising kink in things. It turns out that not many oils are Dexos approved. But this one is, plus it gives you confidence that it will last longer than the car thinks it can in case you do run it to where your car says to change it.
That all being said, I think 15,000 miles is stretching it. My oil looks pretty dark after 5,000-6,000 miles, which is the interval I tend to change it. The car says it still has 50% oil life remaining, but it's cheap insurance to me to keep the oil fresh. My other car has 375,000 miles on it (and still going) and my previous car had 275,000 on it when I sold it. Both are 4-cylinder engines. I attribute that longevity to regular oil changes using quality oil & filters as well as keeping up on other routine maintenance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/20/2013
Oil looks dark means nothing and says nothing about the life left in the oil.
I suggest to do UOA (Used Oil Analysis) and it will confirm that 5000 mile is simply too low for this oil to change.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Mobil 1 5W-30 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

great buy

04/05/2014
By ,
manhattan, ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
walmart has the best price for this oil compared to autozone and oreiley's auto parts. They charge $35 for the same thing. I have a 96 honda civic with a little over 200,000 miles and still running strong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mobil 1 5W-30 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Best synthetic around

04/13/2012
By ,
Pine Bluff, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have used Mobil 1 for the last 25 years and have not had any engine problems. It keeps the engine running cooler in the hot and humid weather of Arkansas. Less engine wear under heavy driving pulling a bass boat or carrying an ATV in the bed. Have run it in 4,6, and 8 cylinders in Dodges, Fords, Cadillac, and GMC truck. As for the length of duration, I totally disagree with one poster here that says it won't last 15,000 miles without breaking down. I don't leave mine in the engine that long and change it only once a year in my Northstar V-8 Cadillac no matter the mileage run. Now I am using it in my GMC Canyon 4 cylinder and loving it. Has over 70,000 miles on it and it was at 68,500 when I recently bought it. No problems changing over to Mobil 1 High Mileage synthetic oil. As far as I am concerned you cannot get a better motor oil or synthetic motor oil.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mobil 1 5W-30 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Be careful about claims

04/16/2014
By ,
Bethlehem, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Do not buy this oil if you think your car needs 10/30 grade and Mobile 1 meets or exceeds the "toughest" industry standards. VW, for example, requires oil that explicitly meets Standard 502.00 and not every synthetic oil will do.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mobil 1 5W-30 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

It will save you money in the long run!

02/25/2012
By ,
League City, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife drives about 28,000 miles a year. I started using Mobil 1 Extended range in her car the first oil change in it. It is a 2003 Toyota Camry 4 cylinder. It now is approaching 219,000 miles. It is running fantastic. I am a believer in this oil because I change the oil every 15k miles. It saves me 4 oil changes a year over regular oil and 2 oil changes a year over synthetic. Thats about 60 to 80 bucks a year, PLUS I don't have to crawl under her car as often. I Highly recommend this oil! That is why I use it in ALL my vehicles!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mobil 1 5W-30 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Very good buy and very good synthetic oil

12/29/2011
By ,
Central North Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 5 qt. container is great and the extended performance let's you go another 3-7,000 miles between oil changes!
It works great in heat and very cold weather. Perfect for North Dakota!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mobil 1 5W-30 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

great product (one of the best in the industry)

11/22/2013
By ,
Ellicott City, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a quality product at a good price. I've used Mobil1 for years and its performance has been stellar.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mobil 1 5W-30 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Top of the line motor oil

11/25/2013
By ,
Virginia Beach
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been running Mobil 1 products in my automobiles for years and have had excellent results. I am now using Mobil 1 Extended Performance in both my 2005 Toyota 4runner with 4.0 liter V6 and my 2004 Volvo S60 T5 with a high-compression 2.3 liter turbo inline 5 cylinder and they are running very smooth and with excellent fuel efficiency. Walmart seems to have the best price on this oil that I could find. Match this with a good quality oil filter and your engine should last for an eternity!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mobil 1 5W-30 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Great product best price

03/09/2014
By ,
chicago,il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product best price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mobil 1 5W-30 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Why NOT?

11/21/2012
By ,
Niagara Falls, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobil 1 Extended Performance 5W-30 is guaranteed to protect for up to 15,000 miles between oil changes.
For most people that's 1 oil change / year. $25 for oil + $15 for a "Mobil1 Extended Life" oil filter = $40 and you have a year's worth of protection. This is the greatest value for routine maintenance that I've come across. When you consider you only have to jack up the car and get dirty 1x a year, that's an extra bonus.
Why anyone would pay for oil changes every three months is beyond me. Mobil 1 is the only answer when it comes to convenience, value, and protection.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mobil 1 5W-30 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

great , you pay and its ready

02/02/2014
By ,
los angeles, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great oil
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mobil 1 5W-30 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

5,000 miles

03/08/2013
By ,
Los Angeles,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got over 5,000 miles on the oil and it's still clean as a whistle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mobil 1 5W-30 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Why Can't Foothill Ranch, CA keep this in stock???

03/23/2013
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Been using this exact oil at every oil change the entire time I've had my truck. It has 190,000 miles and is 8 years old. I've never had an engine issue yet. I drive a 2005 Chevy Silverado 2500HD.
The only issue I have is that it is NEVER in stock at Walmart in the 5 quart size. Without fail, the shelves are always bare for the 5W-30 oil making it impossible to find at Foothill Ranch, CA store. Why in the world would I pay $7.92 a quart when I can get the 5 quart bottle for only $26????? That would cost me and extra $13 for the same thing!!!!! Is there any way this store can stock this oil.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mobil 1 5W-30 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.
08/30/2013
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product speaks for itself. Walmart's price makes it even better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mobil 1 5W-30 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

great oil...in my bmw 325i.

06/03/2012
By ,
los angeles ,CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have a BMW 325i...and since i used this oil, my car runs like i am using the expensive original bmw brand synthetic oil i was using before..i drive in areas of stream heat and my car still performs at 100 % ...and even the gasoline consumption is better with this oil .i get Great compression in the engine..., no leaking and excellent response of my engine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mobil 1 5W-30 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Mobile 1 is a Reliable Product

02/06/2012
By ,
Houston, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first time I've used synthetic so I don't have much experience with it.
It was either Mobil 1 EP or Pennzoil Platinum
According to the information on the web, synthetic is much better than conventional.
I'm sure at the same oil change intervals (3K) it's better at engine protection than conventional, but not much better at the longer drain intervals (6k-9K) as the syn. oil's ability to trap dirt and contaminants is diminished past the long drain intervals.
Probably the biggest advantage over conventional is the extended oil drains which means less oil consumed and disposed off, and less time wasted changing engine oil multiple times a year.
Mobile 1 Extended Performance is guaranteed up to 15,000 miles before oil is changed, under normal driving conditions.
I don't think I would go this far, and from what I've read on-line most people are getting between 7K-9K miles between synthetic oil changes, before possible oil protection ability starts degrading.
The technical advantages of synthetic motor oils include:
Measurably better low- and high-temperature viscosity performance at service temperature extremes
Better chemical & shear stability
Decreased evaporative loss
Resistance to oxidation, thermal breakdown, and oil sludge problems
Extended drain intervals with the environmental benefit of less oil waste.
Improved fuel economy in certain engine configurations.
Better lubrication during extreme cold weather starts
Longer engine life
Superior protection against "ash" and other deposit formation in engine hot spots (in particular in turbochargers and superchargers) for less oil burnoff and reduced chances of damaging oil passageway clogging.
Increased horsepower and torque due to less initial drag on engine
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Apple Valley MN
Mobil One
Posted 09/28/2012
I have a 1998 Cadillac Deville with the Northstar V8 bought it used in 2002 with 59000 miles on it. That engine requires 7 quarts of oil. So i end up buying 2 5qt and a filter. My son the auto technician would only change my oil with Mobil 1. The car now has over 172000 miles on it. He says the cars engine will outlive me. Im 64 and beginning to wonder LOL GREAT PRODUCT With the gauge in the car that tells me about the oil I ususally get 7000-8000 between changes.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Mobil 1 5W-30 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Excellent oil

07/07/2013
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very high quality product. Engine sounds like a friendly kitty. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mobil 1 5W-30 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Best Motor Oil out there

09/10/2012
By ,
The Highlife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own a '01 Lexus GS430 and this is the oil I have been using for the past 2 yrs, replacing it w/ Castrol High Mileage Syntech. This stuff rocks - - treat your car right, don't go cheap on the oil, this is best for my 4.3L V-8. Mobil has some of the best motor oil.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next