Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Scosche Scosche HD5253 - 5.25" 3-Way, Car Speakers Car Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Scosche Scosche HD5253 - 5.25" 3-Way, Car Speakers Car Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Upgrade your car audio with this Scoshe HD5253 5.25" 3-Way Car Speaker. It features a three-way design with an injected molded polypropylene cone. The speaker is capable of producing 200 watts of maximum power (40W rated) and 35HZ-20KHZ (-20 DB) frequency responses. This car speaker pair is constructed with a durable rubber surround and an oversized 10oz strontium magnet with a 1-inch copper-wound voicecoil.
Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation92%12 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 10 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Scosche HD5253 - 5.25" 3-Way, Car Speakers Car Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Good Speakers For The Low Price

08/13/2011
By ,
Ponderay, ID
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking to replace 2 OEM speakers in my Subaru and found these at my local WalMart. I'm not a fan of WalMart electronics, but the price caught my eye. I handled the box, and compared it to the weight of the Sony speakers, and the Schosche speakers are heavier. Bigger magnets.
I have tried Pioneer, Sony, and Kenwood car speakers, and these fall into 2nd place for me (Kenwood being in 1st). The highs are clear (which is nice because I have an Alpine Type-R 12" sub hooked to an Alpine M-500 amp), the mids are OK and the bass is OK. These are great for clarity, but not so great for full-range sound. I do recommend them for cheap replacements of OEM speakers, as they sound much better than most OEM speakers, but if you want high-quality sound with full-range reproduction, you might want to look in a completely different price range.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scosche HD5253 - 5.25" 3-Way, Car Speakers Car Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Great set of speakers.

07/29/2011
By ,
Lapeer,MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked these up from my local walmart cause they looked nice and for a good $26 price tag. These replaced some Boss Chaos 5.25" speakers and I put one in and mounted it to see how big the difference between my left and right were and it was huge. When they were both on,It was very hard to notice my right speaker was even on cause it was so loud. If you want loud and some good bass,these are a good pick cause youll get good voice coils and bass out of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scosche HD5253 - 5.25" 3-Way, Car Speakers Car Speakers (Pair of Speakers)
10/16/2011
By ,
Beaumont, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking for a 5.25 inch speaker for my Mazda Rx7 Convertible. The stock location calls for a 6 inch speaker with a strange bolt pattern that no after market speaker has. So I bought a speaker adapter specific to the 91 rx7 front door location. The adapter sizes them down a bit from a 6 inch to a 5.25 inch so you loose a little size. I had been listening to 100.00 alpine and 80.00 Kicker co ax speakers but didnt want to spend that kind of money for a car I drive on the weekends only. My wife and I went to walmart and they had one set left for 29.00 of the Scosche HD 3 ways so we decided to take a chance. We got them home and got I installed them into the doors. They were a perfect fit with my adapters and I got the connectors wired up and plugged them in and mounted. I am running them off a Alpine 121 HU and the rear and head rest speakers run off of the stock amp already in the car. I turned them up to about 30% of full volume and I was amazed at how well these reporduce low, mid, and Hi Freq. The specs say they can go down to 35hz! That is amazing since speaker costing 3 or 4 times this cannot go that low. The over all sound was as good if not better than the 100 Dollar alpine and kickers I had been listening to in other shops and stores. I have been building car audio setups for 16 years and I cant believe how good these are for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scosche HD5253 - 5.25" 3-Way, Car Speakers Car Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Great sound for the price.

09/12/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased for sound bar in Jeep Wrangler. They sound great especially for the cost. I kept the stock jeep grills as I was worried about someone poking through Scosche grills. Fit without any modifications. Buy them you'll like them, especially in a vehicle that others enjoy stealing your system from.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scosche HD5253 - 5.25" 3-Way, Car Speakers Car Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Great Sound !

05/20/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is probably the best sounding pair of speakers (for their size) that I have heard. I purchased these for an old pickup I have and didn't want to spend a lot of money. I am glad I didn't ! These speakers actually have good bass which is unusual for a 5.25. They also produce crystal clear highs as well ! I was really surprised. I am not a real boom boom person but I was going to add a small sub woofer to the cab. Now I really don't need to. These are a great for replacement for stock speakers. What more can I say.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scosche HD5253 - 5.25" 3-Way, Car Speakers Car Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Very good VW Rialta replacement speaker

05/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I installed these in a VW Rialta motorhomes front door panels. These were a easy replacement for the stock speakers that are an odd ball size. At first I wasn't totally impressed with the sound with only one installed and comparing to the stock on the other side. Once I got both installed there was a huge difference. My door panels have a enclosed speaker pocket so the speakers kind of hit hard on the lows. I removed the speakers and installed some fiberglass insulation in the pockets and re installed. This gave me a softer thump on the lows and an overall better clean sound. The rear of the camper will be next to do as I can't stand the sound back there after doing the front with the Scosches.
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scosche HD5253 - 5.25" 3-Way, Car Speakers Car Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Some better than OEM, but not great

06/03/2012
By ,
Montana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased Scosche 6-1/2" for my front doors and 5-1/4" for the rear doors of my '04 Subaru WRX. I had purchased and installed the 6-1/2" ones first and was quite impressed with the bass response and clear crisp highs (especially compared to the OEM speakers). Note: these required a 3/4" spacer to keep the depth of the speaker from hitting my window. I compared these to both Pioneer and Sony speakers at twice the price and preferred the Scosche ones. I'm using the stock low power head unit and am quite impressed with these.
Then the rear OEM speakers were replaced with the 5-1/4" Scosche. Note that this required the holes in the doors to be enlarged just slightly. I found the bass from these to be quite poor and the highs to be much more muffled than the 6-1/2" versions. This seems odd to me since I expect the tweeters are identical between the two. There is a chance that the OEM head unit EQ's the rear door speakers differently since the OEM ones did not have tweeters in them. Could also be that the rear door configuration/location do not lend themselves to clarity of sound, but I'm not convinced of either of these. I would say they sound some better than the OEM speakers with some improved high frequencies, but would try a different set if I had to do it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
From ScoscheCustomerService12/10/2013
We apologize for the disappointing experience you've had with our HD speakers. Did you try contacting Scosche Technical Support? We can be reached at 800 363 4490 x3 or techsupport@scosche.com. It sounds like you may have a warranty issue we can help you with.Scosche
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scosche HD5253 - 5.25" 3-Way, Car Speakers Car Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Impressive sound for a tiny 5 1/4" speaker...

06/22/2013
By ,
New Brunswick, Canada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I picked these up today and installed them in the dash of my 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. Fortunately the wires were in place but my model of van does not come with dash speakers installed. I could not believe the astronomical improvement in sound. These speakers produce very clean sound with great highs and mids and very respectable bass for such an inexpensive speaker. I am currently using the stock head unit but will be upgrading with an aftermarket factory fit DVD/NAV unit. I looked at many higher end speakers, such as Polk Audio, Rockford Fosgate, Focal etc, but I am glad I did not spend a vast sum as I'm really impressed with these 5 1/4" speakers.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scosche HD5253 - 5.25" 3-Way, Car Speakers Car Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Nice replacement speakers

01/14/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used these to replace door speakers in a BMW Z3. Since the replaced spkrs were blown, no way to compare. For the price, though, very nice sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scosche HD5253 - 5.25" 3-Way, Car Speakers Car Speakers (Pair of Speakers)
08/16/2013
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good for the money. They sound really good and look like they are built ok. We will see how they last.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scosche HD5253 - 5.25" 3-Way, Car Speakers Car Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

good

07/24/2013
By ,
grandville,mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
value priced, sound good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scosche HD5253 - 5.25" 3-Way, Car Speakers Car Speakers (Pair of Speakers)
12/22/2012
By ,
Dacula, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Installed these in the kick panels of my class Cutlass. They sound great!!! Highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scosche HD5253 - 5.25" 3-Way, Car Speakers Car Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

great for the price

09/05/2012
By ,
Henderson Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sharp sound, great bass. Was totally suprised with the quality of the sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Scosche HD5253 - 5.25" 3-Way, Car Speakers Car Speakers (Pair of Speakers)
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5