Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Federal Ammunition Federal Ammunition 223 Rem 55gr Full Metal Jacket, 100ct

Federal Ammunition Federal Ammunition 223 Rem 55gr Full Metal Jacket, 100ct

The Federal Ammunition 223 Rem 55gr Full Metal Jacket is target ammunition for practicing and plinking.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%13 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 47 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Federal Ammunition 223 Rem 55gr Full Metal Jacket, 100ct

one of the best values

08/03/2014
By ,
Fort Collins, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is one of the better values on the market for basic plinking ammunition. Even at Walmart, I made a log of about a dozen ammo types that I could obtain across 5 local stores, and the cost per round of this ammo was second to the best. Other manufacturers and makes of ammo provided a better group in my Ruger mini-14 ranch. But if you need a hefty box of bullets at a decent price, this is worth buying.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Federal Ammunition 223 Rem 55gr Full Metal Jacket, 100ct

Very good

11/21/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stuff runs clean, is 100% reliable and dead accurate in both of my AR's. I buy all that I can, every time it's on the shelf - and so do all of the shooters I know. If you have a 1:8 to 1:9 twist barrel, this ammo will produce tighter groups than most people can hold at 100-200 yards. It also performs great in my 1:7's that love longer bullets.
This ammo is well regarded by knowledgeable people, but Mall Ninja's will tell you that it's no good because it's not incendiary or hollow point or heavy enough or.........
You are buying standard full metal jacket ammo at a very, very good price/performance point.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Federal Ammunition 223 Rem 55gr Full Metal Jacket, 100ct

great buy!!!

09/17/2012
By ,
Wichita, Ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought 5 boxes of this ammo & had no jams or mis feeds. It's nice to have an inexpensive alternative with a brass casing instead of having to use a steel cased round. This ammo won't hurt your rifle. My DPMS rifle loves this stuff. My only complaint is none of our stores can keep it in stock. A case Might last 2 or 3 days TOPS.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Davie, FL
quick question
Posted 10/24/2012
What was the price you paid for this ? Thank you..
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Federal Ammunition 223 Rem 55gr Full Metal Jacket, 100ct

Great Ammo

01/01/2014
By ,
UPLAND, Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoots great out of my AR and Mini14 with no problems,Cant beat the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Federal Ammunition 223 Rem 55gr Full Metal Jacket, 100ct

Great Ammo! Great Price!

07/18/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Ammo, never had a misfeed or any issues with jamming. Will continue to buy.
Shot out of a Ruger Mini-14
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Federal Ammunition 223 Rem 55gr Full Metal Jacket, 100ct
08/27/2012
By ,
steeler country
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
200 rounds down range with only 1 miss fire. Can't beat it for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Federal Ammunition 223 Rem 55gr Full Metal Jacket, 100ct
05/13/2012
By ,
Belair
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hey...Ammo DEAD ON Target...no... jams....no problems none @ 100 yards.... Group size of a quater...Mini-14 Target Rifle...Real Nice Ammo... WILL BUY AGAIN.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+94points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Federal Ammunition 223 Rem 55gr Full Metal Jacket, 100ct

Federal Ammunition 223 Rem 55gr

06/13/2012
By ,
Port Angeles, Wa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Federal .223 ammo is great and the price is the best I have found anywhere. I wil be buying more in the future!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
El Paso Tx
I would like to know I
Posted 01/22/2014
How much is the ammo ?
0points
Customer Avatar
Peoria, Az.
Federal Ammunition, good to go
Posted 01/11/2014
I love shooting this ammo, and specifically the Lake City Arsenal ammo as well. This ammo shoots clean and I have not had any FTF/FTE issues with either of them. I'm shooting it out of a custom built AR full-floating upper 16" 1/7 twist and billet lower with a 2 stage trigger and adjustable stock. Iron sights with a co-witness Eotech combo. The main problem I have is getting it stock so I can buy it, or at least that was the problem. My Wal-Mart receives their ammo on Thursdays and our guy there is really good about getting it onto the shelves as soon as he can. I have used the Russian ammo that is half the price, but I really don't plan on ever shooting it again if I can get the Federal. I much prefer to buy American over any type of import product. I would rather buy American that keeps Americans in jobs than send my money overseas to some third-world country. America first forever!!!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Federal Ammunition 223 Rem 55gr Full Metal Jacket, 100ct

Best Value for your money

12/06/2012
By ,
Miami, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is cheaper than reloads. First quality and workmanship. Good for any use, plinking or personal defense. Cannot recommend it higher than this. Wish it was more readily available at stores than it is now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Federal Ammunition 223 Rem 55gr Full Metal Jacket, 100ct
10/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This ammo was pretty good for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
stillwater ny
Fed Ammo
Posted 11/12/2012
Great ammo for the price, cheaper then online!My Galil eats this stuff and never a jam..I recommend!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Federal Ammunition 223 Rem 55gr Full Metal Jacket, 100ct

Good Ammo, Best Price.

07/08/2013
By ,
Medical Lake, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While not the best ammo going, it is by far the best priced in my area. It shoots fairly clean and is very accurate in my M&P 15 with Vortex Strikefire red dot sight, giving 1" groups @ 50 yards and shooting consistently, with 2-3" groups, into a 5" Shoot and C target at 100 yards. However, I have experienced several FTEs in another rifle, a new Ruger Mini-14 tactical. I see one of these malfunctions every 10-12 rounds or so. It seems as though the ammo is not powerful enough to fully cycle the bolt and extract the round. Even after a thorough cleaning and lubing, this problem persists. By comparison, PMC ammo is much more reliable in the Mini. I do experience an occasional FTE but much less frequently, about one every 24-25 rounds.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Federal Ammunition 223 Rem 55gr Full Metal Jacket, 100ct

223, 55gr. ammo

12/16/2011
By ,
sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
use them in a 223, mini ruger range rifle ,plinking target practice before hunting cyaote,,cant beat them for the chore there mad for,,very good pattern ratio
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
-21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SW Okla.
Dependable rounds that go "Bang!" every time.
Posted 04/02/2012
I'm a avid hunter & also use my rifle for home defense. I've fired several hundred of these .223 Rem 55 gr. rounds through my S&W M&P 15 without any problems. Clean polished brass & shinny copper bullets. Military grade sealed primers. They go "Bang!" every time.
I think these would make a good home defense round ... as they are not as loud & powerful as their big brother 5.56 NATO rounds.... so your hearing is less likely to be injured [but you still want to keep some electronic ear protection near your rifle in the home] and in close quarters these rounds will definitely inflict serious injury or death to a bad guy who has forced his way into your home. I think it would probably work OK on a coyote or most any small game / varmint... but not for hogs as the fatty tissue of a hog wound tends to close up around the small bullet and seal itself.
I've also got the Federal 5.56 NATO 62 grain green tipped penetrators that Walmart sells in the 420 rd metal ammo can. Those are definitely military grade rounds.. the brass isn't as shinny as in the Federal 100 ct bulk packs of .223 Rem... but they are the NATO rounds with more Umph and a heavier copper jacketed steel cored bullet. Those could take a coyote... and a medium sized hog too if hit in the shoulder or head. These Federal 55 grain .223 Rems listed above are safer for home defense because from the ballistic tests I've seen... they drastically slow down after penetrating approx. 4 sheets of 1/2" wall board.. or about 2 walls in a standard home or apartment.... not the 5-6 walls that the 5.56 NATO rounds & 000 buck shot might penetrate. And these .223 Rems still travel at about 2,500+FPS at the muzzle ....creating a pretty good sized hydrostatic wound cavity in soft tissue at close ranges like you would encounter inside your home or in your yard or even on the ranch / farm in a self defense situations.
+9points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Federal Ammunition 223 Rem 55gr Full Metal Jacket, 100ct

Good price & value

01/05/2013
By ,
hatfield
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used several hunderd rounds and get a 3/4 inch group at 100yards. The size of a .223 case should be 1.76 inches, these are all over the place. 1.74, 1.754 etc. This is not a great target round but more of a AR semi round. Its probally a deal that Federal made with Walmart to take their rejected ammo. Fantastic round for the price and usually available. If your looking for extreme accuracy, look elseware. If you are looking for a good time at the range without going broke, these are great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.