Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Xplod CDX-GT40UW Car CD Receiver with Front USB Port

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony Xplod CDX-GT40UW Car CD Receiver with Front USB Port

The Sony Xplod CDX-GT40UW Car CD Receiver is a perfect entertainment partner for the road. It plays music files in MP3, WMA, AAC1 formats from your CD collection. This in-dash CD receiver features an USB port in the front, so as to allow you to play digital music from your handy electronic gadgets. It also features Radio Data System to let you access to various FM radio stations. The built-in equalizer and 52Wx4 high-power amplifier with the Advanced Sound Engine processor delivers superior audio quality. It incorporates Quick-BrowZer and ZAPPIN technologies which make song selection a breeze. This CD receiver with USB features red-light illuminated keys which ensure clear operation even in darkness. It comes along with a wireless remote for customizing the menu settings even from the back seat. The intuitive LCD screen tells you about the current activity status.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation92%12 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony Xplod CDX-GT40UW Car CD Receiver with Front USB Port
05/27/2012
By ,
Lewisburg, Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the best sounding stereo, car or home, I have ever owned! What attracted me was the usb input, the front aux input and the price. I wasn't sure what to expect at first from a unit with all these features at such a ridiculously low price.
I have to say I was totally blown away by the extreme customization ability. I especially like the feature that lets you use the rear speakers as a sub woofer if you don't have one. I replaced the original 6x9" rear speakers in my 1993 Ply. Voyager minivan with a set of Sony 6x9" 2 ways and disabled the tweeters. This enables me to enjoy the sound I like-bass from the rear and the rest of the music from the front. Also, the left to right channel separation is insane on this unit.
I would not hesitate to recommend this unit to anyone looking for a top of the line sounding stereo at a more than reasonable price! I would also not hesitate to purchase one for every vehicle if I owned multiple vehicles!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 2 for Sony Xplod CDX-GT40UW Car CD Receiver with Front USB Port

Has your basic needs, but that's it...

06/28/2012
By ,
Big OZ, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this is an average stereo player, and just becuase it says Sony doesn't make it perfect. it does have the Aux input, cd player, and usb input, But each has its own Demons so to say...
The Aux input is the best and fastest way to hook up anything and play music. But sadly I have to admit that the sound is actually degraded if you use this feature instead of the usb or cd player feature. this equals less bass :/
Then comes the most interesting feature, its USB input. I hook up my Android phone to it and after it starts up, music starts playing with crisp, clear volume. But unfortunetly, this stereo wants you to rearrange your whole music player to fit its needs. You can't just hook it up and play whatever song you want. Instead, it compresses all your songs into ONE PLAYLIST :(
I've been told you have to rearrange your music device into all new playlists if you want to play certain songs at certain times.
But the player does come with a cool remote! Seriously, i like to hold a remote in the air to just to turn up the volume haha.
It shouldn't be soooo dificult to learn all this stereo stuff, so why Sony makes it complicated to fit THEIR needs is beyond me. Hope this helped, gived a thumbs up for all this writing lol...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 3 for Sony Xplod CDX-GT40UW Car CD Receiver with Front USB Port

works great

04/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this yesterday and hooked it up... i was kind of iffy on sony. i usually go with pioneer because u can adjust the eq pretty easy. but i got to say this sony is very good. sound is good and it works great.
+10points
Review 4 for Sony Xplod CDX-GT40UW Car CD Receiver with Front USB Port
02/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this Sony player... you can never go wrong with Sony products!
Allows me to use connect my MP3 player with ease.
Price was right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 5 for Sony Xplod CDX-GT40UW Car CD Receiver with Front USB Port

Good buy!

06/20/2012
By ,
AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found the unit to be as ordered. Since it had been so long since I had installed a stereo in a car I ran into a little problem with the power hook-up. I didn't realize that even though I had the red and black wires (power & ground) I still needed the yellow wire to be hooked up for the unit to power up. After I figured THAT out installation went smoothly.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 6 for Sony Xplod CDX-GT40UW Car CD Receiver with Front USB Port

great

08/26/2012
By ,
ponca city ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this sony is one of the best i've ever had and for the price it's even better. putting it in was really easy if i can anyone can.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Sony Xplod CDX-GT40UW Car CD Receiver with Front USB Port

Great Sound for the $

09/21/2012
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hooked this up to my factory speakers which were rated 45 watts in a Ford Taurus....Easy Install.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Sony Xplod CDX-GT40UW Car CD Receiver with Front USB Port
08/13/2012
By ,
riverton wyoming
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love how the radio instantly finds stations .....For 95 dollars this is a excellent car stereo..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Sony Xplod CDX-GT40UW Car CD Receiver with Front USB Port

Sub-woofer enhancement nice surprise

10/26/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This replaced a similar Sony in same price point. I liked the addition ofa USB port, RDS digital song info and audio positioning of sound. The RBH (rear bass enhancement) feature was a pleasant surprise. Great value and no other speaker replacement was needed for a better sound from same type of older version.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Sony Xplod CDX-GT40UW Car CD Receiver with Front USB Port

Good Value

07/19/2012
By ,
Montclair, NJ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good product, good value for money. I like the fact it has a USB drive so I can play my music. But I dont like that its a 'face off'. Overall you get what you pay for. Sound is good, I wanted a cheap replacement for the oem version and I got one.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Sony Xplod CDX-GT40UW Car CD Receiver with Front USB Port

Good

02/07/2013
By ,
PuertoRico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it! I installed it for my honda accord and i loved it because i wanted it for the usb and it works great. Recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Sony Xplod CDX-GT40UW Car CD Receiver with Front USB Port

Sony! No Baloney!

12/01/2012
By ,
Falling Waters, Wv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Nice Unit. Easy installation. This $79 stereo has better quality and more features than others at twice that price. You know what you're getting with a Sony!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sony Xplod CDX-GT40UW Car CD Receiver with Front USB Port
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5