Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Pure White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

South Shore South Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Pure White

When it's time to update your bed and change the look in your bedroom, start with the clean modern lines of the South Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Pure White. This simple yet practical furniture piece can add a stylish touch to your personal space. The contemporary platform bed is full-size and does not require a box spring, making it lighter in weight and easy to move around as well as being less bulky. It is designed with simple, clean and straight lines including the decorative legs, which give it a smart look. The finish will very likely complement your existing decor and it pairs beautifully with other pieces in the South Shore design collection. The pure white finish of this South Shore platform bed gives you the freedom to use brilliant colors, patterns and designs in your bed linens so that your room makes a bright impression.
Average Customer Rating:
3.684 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
28
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation80%45 out of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
28
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Pure White

Platform bed

12/11/2012
By ,
Lopatcong, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not too bad for the money. One of the corner pieces was chipped but otherwise not to bad. I put the whole thing together by myself and manage to get the pieces upstairs to build. There were other reviews that said directions were confusing but I did not have any trouble.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 2 for South Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Pure White

Was pleased at the beginning, but now, not so much

11/13/2013
By ,
TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this bed for about six months and it is already broken. The entire time I had it, you could always feel it shifting as you got and the bed and every time you moved. One of the two middle support boards was always at an angle instead of being up and down from it shifting so much. I have a tendency to lean on the wall while sitting at the head of the bed and one day, one of the sides where the end and side piece connect broke. Most of the holes where torn out and then the plastic pieces that go in there where broke in half. I had the bed supported on that side and then a week later the other side of the head of the bed did the exact same thing. When I first looked at this bed I thought it would work out great since it would get full time use for two more years and then I would be leaving for college. Despite some of the bad reviews, I bought it anyways and now I get to buy a new bed to last me the next year and a half.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 3 for South Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Pure White
03/09/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bed frame looks a lot better than it did to me online actually, so I am very happy about the purchase. I just wanted to get something simple that would be easy to match (I got white) if I wanted to add on or change any of my daughter's current bedroom furniture. It also prevented me from having to purchase a boxspring, as I only had a new mattress for her. The assembly was also very simple, taking a total of about 40 mins to complete.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Review 4 for South Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Pure White

Broke after six months!

05/27/2013
By ,
San Francisco, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not sturdy and not very strong for weight over 150. The materials are really low quality and the sturdiness of the bed was very weak. I would only suggest this bed for children/youth. Otherwise, it cannot hold a lot of weight.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 5 for South Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Pure White

Directions were a bit tricky, but figured it out

11/02/2012
By ,
Blue Earth, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall, for the price that you pay, it is a good bed. I actually bought 3 of these....one for each teenager. (The bed will be college bound some day!)
The directions were sometimes a bit confusing, but if you take your time, you can figure it out. Really liked how the screws were packaged with "pieces or other parts" that they went to. Made it much easier to figure out what went with what.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for South Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Pure White

Great bed for kids

08/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I knew this bed wouldn't be the best out there, but I only need a simple bed for kids. This is perfect for that purpose. It looks great and once put together is quite sturdy. (Not sure if it would survive kids jumping on it)
It was easy to put the bed together. I ordered two and we put the second one together in 30 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 7 for South Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Pure White
02/05/2013
By ,
DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Package is very heavy, not one to move on your own. But that means the pieces are solid and its very sturdy when put together right. NB we got the supposedly matching headboard to go with it but, because Walmart are, we guess, just making one headboard to go with either the full or queen bed, the way the two fit together is a bit messy - it's a 'make do' fit rather than a good one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 8 for South Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Pure White

Nice bed for the price

08/10/2013
By ,
winterville nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The frame is sturdy, our daughter loves it. We have tried other beds but she wanted something lower to the floor. It is not to low or to high, very nice especially for the price. You can add a headboard. Very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for South Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Pure White

Good bed, but noisy

03/30/2013
By ,
Bushwick, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a good bed. Sturdy, looks nice. But it's a little loud every time I move. Also, some of the holes weren't pre-drilled... so it will require a power drill.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for South Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Pure White

Good, solid, reasonably priced bed

01/08/2014
By ,
Space Coast, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The title basically sums it up. Very happy with this purchase. Very heavy, but that shows the quality of the components in the bed. It was not difficult to assemble. Took me about an hour once it was out of the box ( I know how to do this stuff, so it might take a little longer for someone else. ) I'm more of a "minimalist" when it comes to decor, so it's simple, clean design is perfect. Also, the item shipped very, very quickly via FedEx. I was impressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for South Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Pure White
04/22/2013
By ,
Visalia, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bed looks nice, is very easy to assemble. Took less than and hour to put together, just organize all the parts first and its a breeze.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for South Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Pure White

great platform bed

02/09/2013
By ,
oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This platform bed has a chic look..i love it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for South Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Pure White

VERY GOOD DEAL !!!

04/19/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this for my daughter....she loves her new bed !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for South Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Pure White

Would recommend

01/20/2014
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our daughter. Product was made in Canada, it came well packed with no damage or missing parts. Instructions similar to a lego set up, took roughly 30-45 minutes. For the price it was decent quality that should last us a few years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for South Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Pure White

great toddler bed

01/17/2014
By ,
san antonio, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up and looks adorable sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for South Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Pure White
This review is fromSouth Shore Fynn Full Platform Bed, Gray Oak.

Purchased with matching headboard - very happy

03/06/2013
By ,
New Berlin, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently remodeled one of the bedrooms in my home, and was looking for gray furniture to go with the theme of the room I had in mind. I was skeptical about buying prefabricated furniture made of particle board, but the finished product looks incredible and very classy. I am so happy with the way this bed looks in the room (I purchased the headboard with side bookcase to go with this).
I will say that building this took way over an hour--maybe even two hours, and I probably could not have done it without my husband. There are good directions, but there are certain pieces that do not have holes drilled into them. Theoretically, you should be able to just screw directly into the wood - but you do need to measure precisely - and my husband just drilled the holes himself. You also need a screwdriver that has a square shaped head.
I am very happy with the finished product. It looks extremely nice - not like I imagined particle board to look.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Pure White
This review is fromSouth Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Chocolate.

STAY AWAY FROM THIS BED

08/09/2012
By ,
VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bed should get ZERO if I can. This is the most annoying thing ever happened to me in the past decade!!!! I really mean it.
In spite the fact that it takes forever to install, and the more you work on the installation, the less you feel comfortable about how well this cheaply made bed can function. Not a single piece of it is make of solid wood!!!!
After it is installed, I got annoyed more because you literally cannot touch this bed at all, not even to mention sleep on it by putting at lease 300pounds of weight on it. even my baby who is one year old, her movement, I mean just a movement, not crawling or walking or jumping, this wonderful bed makes tremendous amount of noise and makes you worry that it would crash any time on its own.
This bed is for sure going to be returned, but who is going to disassemble it????? It is going to take at least one hour by myself to do that and we have to manage to take it to the store!!!!
If I insisted not buying this bed based on the review from Amazon, thing should've been much better. But unluckily my husband chose to buy it and now I am the one have to deal with the installation and disassemble and return.
Please do yourself a favor not to buy this bed!!!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 18 for South Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Pure White
This review is fromSouth Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Chocolate.

Solid product with tough assembly.

07/18/2014
By ,
So Cal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed this queen bed for a memory foam mattress in my guest room. I needed strength for LARGE friends and young men in the family. The bed met my hopes there. The finish looks good but is actually plastic veneer very susceptible to dings so real iffy in a high traffic bedroom.
The only real negative was construction. Some 28 screws with No starter holes! 20 dowels and 16 locking dowels(only 14 worked so add 2 more large screws)is all a bit much. I suggest at least pre-drilling for the screws like for the dowels at manufacturing.
So......delivery was great, all parts were there and in good shape, assembly was direct and a physical pain in the wrist and knees resulting in a "good" product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 19 for South Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Pure White
This review is fromSouth Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Chocolate.

Bed and Headboard

12/21/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bed instructions were a little unclear but I was able to make it out and prep everything to be put together with the help of my brother when connecting the items. The boards to put the bed on are very sturdy. If you put the bed against the wall and put your mattress on it and push it against the wall the board will show at the end of the bed. So you have to put your mattress in the middle which is fine. I don't have a problem with it. The only problem was connecting the headboard. I bought the one that was a full/queen thinking it would fit both size beds but it didn't match up with the holes on the bed itself. So my brother had to make his own holes to attach the headboard to the bed to make it sturdy. Only disappoint. Other then that the bed is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 20 for South Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Pure White
This review is fromSouth Shore SoHo Full Platform Bed, Chocolate.

Nice Bed

07/13/2014
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well, a few negatives to start. I bought this bed thinking it would go well with my other furniture but it is darker than pictured. I thought it was black at first! I will end up buying the matching pieces later on, I'm sure. The pieces are fairly heavy and came in good condition (but one piece does have some bumpy paint). I would have called to have it replaced but I just put it on the side by the wall.
It really looks nice, though! I bought the headboard as well and it looks like a great piece of furniture. It is very sturdy. The instructions were easy to understand and I put it together myself. However, there's NO way I could have put it together without a power drill, even though it says not to use power tools. It doesn't squeak or move at all if you put it together properly.
All in all, I am happy with my purchase. It's a wonderful bed for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Original Poster
Posted 07/22/2014
Well, I still like the bed but have a major issue with how it fits the mattress! When I first purchased it I realized I needed a mattress that was higher than 8" to make it cover the gap on the headboard. No problem. I returned the mattress I had already purchased (and thankfully hadn't opened!) and bought a 12" mattress. It's a full size bed and I bought a full size mattress but it leaves a gap! You can clearly see a 1 inch gap all along the side and bottom of the bed, where the bed is slightly bigger than the mattress. If you pull the mattress more into the middle of the bed it looks better but that just makes a larger gap on the top of the bed (which can be covered with pillows but is REALLY obvious as soon as the pillows move). I'm annoyed that it's not a better fit. It make it look sloppy. If you have a heavy blanket it will help but it's summer so my thin blanket doesn't help. That's the worst part of this bed.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1 2 3 Next