Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Electronic Arts Star Wars: The Old Republic (PC)

Electronic Arts Star Wars: The Old Republic (PC)

Star Wars: The Old Republic is a story-driven, massively multiplayer online (MMO) game from BioWare and LucasArts, breaking new ground in online gaming by delivering high quality, fully voiced storylines with personal choice and consequences. Set thousands of years before the classic Star Wars movies, players will be immersed as they team up with friends online to fight in heroic battles reminiscent of the films, exploring a galaxy of vibrant planets and experiencing visceral Star Wars combat. Players will be asked to join forces with either the Galactic Republic or Sith Empire and choose one of eight iconic Star Wars characters, including the Jedi Knight, Jedi Consular, Smuggler, Trooper, Sith Warrior, Sith Inquisitor, Bounty Hunter and Imperial Agent. Set against a sweeping musical score, Star Wars: The Old Republic is the most emotionally engaging online gaming experience ever.
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation69%11 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 29 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Star Wars: The Old Republic (PC)

Game is unplayable after recent patch

09/11/2012
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Patch 1.7.3 ruined this game it caused my Frame Rate to drop from 90 Frames per second to 10 Frames per second. Do not get this game unless it will be a part of your games that fail collection.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kauai
New patch 1.38 Fixed performance issue
Posted 09/16/2012
http://www.swtor.com/patchnotes/1.3.8/9132012
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Star Wars: The Old Republic (PC)

This will give World of Warcraft a run!

04/01/2012
By ,
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SW:TOR is an excellent MMORPG. It uses the same base engine as World of Warcraft so switching will be seamless as far as keyboard command for movement, skill tree, inventory etc.
What SW:TOR has that WoW doesn't is a changing story line that is dependent on how you respond to people in the game world.
Another thing that Star wars: The Old Republic has is challenge. You will not level a character to 50th, which is the current top level attainable, without death. Death is a very real possibility all through the game.
It IS a new game so there are a few kinks to get worked out in patches, but it is a superior game. One I hope to enjoy for years to come.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Star Wars: The Old Republic (PC)

Boring after a month...server population droping

06/04/2012
By ,
NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been a huge fan of the StarWars franchise since 1977. As a gamer and SW fan, I had great hopes for SW:TOR since its first announcements many years ago. I was involved in beta testing weekends and early release. Fun for a while....but found the linear play, lack of exploration and sinking server populations taking all the fun out of it for me.
Honestly, its just a FPS hiding behind a MMO mask. Its not worth the additional monthly subscription to continue playing a game with noting much to do. Also, very few players left. Servers are empty. There are no real challenges to advance in game. Just the typical grind found in most games. There is little to no exploration...surprising for a StarWars universe based game. No interaction with world objects....compleatly lifeless...
I cant beleive Bioware took 4 years to build this lackluster game. A real shame. True SW and Lucas fans will be very disapointed in this borefest. And if you keep up with any of the game news...recent events at Bioware show that EA has no long term support for it.
So Id recomend to anyone, to pass and find something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Never
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Star Wars: The Old Republic (PC)
04/17/2012
By ,
Denmark, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really enjoy playing after a days work to relax. I gave up World Of Warcraft to play Star Wars and do not regret it. I purchased a copy for my neice unfortunatly her computer won't handle it. Have a few friends that play so we all play together. Have met a few new friends too!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Star Wars: The Old Republic (PC)

THE BEST GAME EVER MADE!

04/25/2012
By ,
Maple Shade, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game has far exceded my expectations. And imagine it is only going to get better over time. Picking it up at Walmart after I ordered it online was another story. They had it there no problems, but the clerk who was working back there had no clue where to find anything. The worst part was the number codes that would have told her where to look was in big bold print on the wall. After 15 miniutes of ineptitude I finally had to point it out to her, but by that time someone was there to help her.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Star Wars: The Old Republic (PC)
04/30/2013
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After spending hours trying to download SWtOR, making this purchase was more than worth the money spent.
Needless to say, the disc arrived in great condition in a timely manner. All in all a very acceptable transaction!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Star Wars: The Old Republic (PC)

Great game

05/17/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: MMO RPG And STARWARS! If you love starwars you'll love this. It has great voice acting and some great content. Has lost of chooses for anyone! You can be a Good sith or an evil Jedi or vis versa! You pick your destiny! 100x better than WOW!
Cons: Like almost every good MMO RPG it cost $15 a month to play.
Overall: GREAT game for the price ans is totaly worth every penny a month. Constintly getting updated and fixed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Star Wars: The Old Republic (PC)

Great MMO

06/30/2012
By ,
Norfolk
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best MMO ever created
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Star Wars: The Old Republic (PC)

If you're looking for the epitome of MMORPG...

05/15/2012
By ,
Monticello, MN.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
...then run from this game far and fast. The servers are so terribly under populated that all there is to do for the most part is solo. Unless you're coming over from another FPS, or MMO, this game will frustrate and bore you. BioWare dropped the ball big time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Star Wars: The Old Republic (PC)

My son loves Starwars

12/25/2013
By ,
Canton, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son was excited to get this game. Had lots of initial updates though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Star Wars: The Old Republic (PC)
11/29/2012
By ,
ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this is a play for money game and it does not say so plus it takes for ever to load.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Star Wars: The Old Republic (PC)

Its a great game.

08/04/2012
By ,
Jackson, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The game was long anticipated by myself and others, and then when it came out we played it. And still play it. I will say that it is quite similar in play style to some other games, but basing the story of your character off of your choices and the light/dark system are both ingenious, brought back from KOTOR for those of us who played it. while some people may find the servers underpopulated, some of them seem to have far to many people for others. Its a matter of personal preference, and there are servers for everything, from pvp, pve, and Rp even. If your looking for something to engage you and make you lose hours of time, I suggest you get the game.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Star Wars: The Old Republic (PC)

Excellent game with room for improvement

03/11/2013
By ,
Haines City, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The game could offer more... exploration, maybe more options, allow players to ascend leadership and direct the galaxy, that's what is implied. Join the senate and vote or lead armies for either side. I have been playing for a couple months and love it, There are a lot of different skills, the servers are usually packed and just waiting to get stronger before seeking out the weakling Jedi forces :P I did the direct download so I don't know if you get anything special from buying the hard copy, but I am going to just to see.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Star Wars: The Old Republic (PC)

Great game, great story.

09/26/2012
By ,
STL, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I beta tested this game since September '11. Gained early access and have been playing ever since. I never played WoW, but I did play SWG, not the same game, but it is Star Wars. I played RIFT before I had beta access and both are great games, however I'll take SW:TOR over RIFT any day. I know BioWare, I know KoTOR 1 & 2, ME 1-3, DA:O, NWNand thus my expectations were set, and met. My wife and I both play this game, every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Star Wars: The Old Republic (PC)

Star Wars Computer game

08/24/2013
By ,
Mississippi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun and entertaining.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Star Wars: The Old Republic (PC)

Does it get any worse?

02/28/2013
By ,
Rice Lake, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2012 and they put out graphics from two decades ago. These game companies think they can get away with just about anything. To bad!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.