Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

The Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone features mobile web services, email, Bluetooth technology and much more to keep you up to date and connected to your world. This Nokia E-5 Smartphone includes battery, charger, headset, silicone cover, 4GB microSD memory card and services guide. 3G/Wi-Fi enabled, your Nokia GSM Smartphone allows you to go completely wireless. Features of the Nokia E-5 Smartphone include real-time push email, IM instant messaging, free voice-guided navigation, 5.0 megapixel camera and video recorder, music player and Bluetooth wireless technology. You can have multiple email accounts including Microsoft Outlook, Mail for Exchange, Gmail, Yahoo! mail, Hotmail, AOL and MSN with your Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone.
Average Customer Rating:
3.684 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(171 Reviews) 154
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
79
4 stars
30
3 stars
16
2 stars
21
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation69%117 out of 170reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
79
4 stars
30
3 stars
16
2 stars
21
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Nokia E5-Good Phone, Easy Straight Talk Set-Up.

08/17/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Nokia E5 as a replacement phone for a Nokia E71 that I tried for about a week. I really like the E5. I first bought the E71, which I did not like. I bought it due to the glowing, positive reviews that stated the high tech positives to the phone (true). However, I'm not a tech. person and didn't need the phone for business purposes. For me, the E71 was not user friendly, not to mention small font/text and a lot of problems when I tried to update the phone. Also, I carry the phone in a shirt pocket, and the E71 is VERY heavy.
Ok, the E5 is similar to a Blackberry. Not the same, but similar. The E5 was much easier to set-up, and to update through Nokia.com. As far as the keypad locking, the keypad comes unlocked and the setting has to be changed to make it lock after a call. The user sets the lock/unlock, and the length of time that the keyspad stays unlocked. It designed to stop "pocket or purse calls," it's very easy and quick to unlock. The E5 has a great camera, push email, and many other uasable features. Very pleased with the E5.
Additionally, I ported my existing phone number to the E5, very simple and quick. It took Straight Talk about 30 minutes to complete the swap. Also, I've had no dropped calls or weak signal(s).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+537points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Barker, NY
Great Phone, Great Service Department
Posted 07/09/2012
Bought 3 of these for my family last August. Works great for busines for my wife and myself. My 17 year enjoys it from music to GPS navigation, to Facebook and of course tons of texting. Had issue with my son's phone not turning on today. Within the warranty period and Smart talke is going to replace it. I am saving a ton of money over the old Verizon plan. With unlimited voice, text and data. Make the switch - you will be glad you did.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/30/2011
Did you have dropped calls/ weak signals with the E71?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)
10/04/2011
By ,
Clinton, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband yelled at me about spending the $200 for this phone, but since I have had it, now he wants one! This phone is everything I expected and more! I'm not one who likes to buy phones everytime a new one comes out so when I destroyed my other phone when I went to the beach by wading in the water with the phone in my pocket (I know, I forgot it was there) I dreaded having to get another one. I didn't want the same phone that I had, I wanted an upgrade because I like having as much modern technology and features on my phone that I can get. So I was pleasantly surprised when straighttalk came out with this phone. I have never been more happy with a phone than I am now with this Nokia smartphone! I read previous reviews about this phone before purchasing it and saw a lot positive feedback about it so I said why not? I'm gonna buy this phone. It comes with the memory card and a protective case and earbuds which makes this phone worth it on that alone! This phone does so much more than advertised, you just have to take the time and really go through the phone. It does auto key lock after every use, but for me, that's great because I have a tendency to pocket dial. All in all, I am very pleased with my choice of buying this phone and I sure that other owners will agree. As I stated before, my husband is now willing to purchase this phone because he is so impressed with everything it does. My 19yr old daughter now wants this phone also. The only thing they both complain about is the small keys which I initially had the same complaint, but since I have had it I don't mind that the keys are small because I navigate a lot better with it than I have with previous phones that had bigger keys. If your in the market for a new phone at a great price and no contract and only have to pay $45 a month for service, I think this phone beats out all the contract service providers and the phone pays for itself in just a few months. Take it from me, you want a phone like this, it's awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+217points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Safford, AZ
Dont Do It!
Posted 04/17/2012
I bought two E5 phones online and have had nothing but trouble with BOTH phones. Keys freeze up and won't work, camera freezes and all you can do is take out the battery to get it working again. Clicks off ond on in your ear while you are trying to talk. One phone not working I would think it was just coincidence. With both phones having the same problem, I would never try another one. Vendor did eventually offer to fix the phones but I can't do without a phone for WEEKS while they try to fix it. I paid $200 for each phone. I expected better quality! A total waste of money.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Covington, GA
Nokia N5
Posted 11/25/2011
I have been using this phone for the last few days and I really love it. I can stream youtube videos from anywhere without network connection unlike some other reviews. About the only downside of this phone is small screen. I have perfect vision so I can see everything just fine. Having a actual keyboard is great. I'm starting to get faster at typing already. I don't like the finicky touch screen phones keyboard, I like having the actual keyboard. I love the unlimited data and that i don't have to worry about some crazy bill and that the phone has no limits. websurf all day long if you want and NEVER have to say " I cant" again. :) camera is great. You want this phone.
+7points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Amazing phone for the price

08/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone has amazing features and is far superior to the Nokia E71. I recently switched, the only down side is the plastic instead of metal casing, but the operating system, camera, text, features, etc. are all an improvement. Thank you straight talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+222points
Review 4 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)
09/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone three days ago and it's all I expected and more. It is very user friendly. It has a lot of features and I loved that I can talk and text at the same time. It also has a lot of free app from ovi store. At $45 a month + tax you are getting a great deal. I paid twice that amount from my former carrier + they charged extra for pic text and I was on a two contract so you do the math:). Think blackberry!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+169points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Tallahassee
Carrier Service
Posted 02/24/2012
Which wireless provider does it use?
-2points
Customer Avatar
St. Louis, MO
Posted 09/21/2011
Does it run windows mobile and have microsoft office apps?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Worth the money!!!

09/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone about two weeks ago, thought it was a little expensive for my budget but it was totally worth every cent! I owned a blackberry curve before this phone and it just doesn't compare to this phone. So far I haven't had a dropped call and everywhere I have traveled throughout my hometown has had all it's bars which is quite a big deal since AT&T claims to have "more bars in more places". I have 3G internet speed everywhere I go even in my home that's located out in the country. Now all of my family is going to switch from Sprint to Straighttalk. I recommend it to any smartphone fans out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+59points
Review 6 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Satisfied.

11/23/2011
By ,
Walla Walla, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been very satisfied with my Nokia phone. I was looking for a phone that used either AT&T or Verizon towers and this seemed to be the phone with the best features with either service provider. I would have liked to have a fully touch-screen phone, but eh, not the end of the world…
To comment on what some of the other reviewers have said, I will say that yes, the speakerphone stinks. It is NOT very loud. But I don’t use it that much with the Bluetooth capability, so to me, not a big deal.. This phone does not come with an official Nokia user manual. It comes in a green Straight Talk box with a Straight talk manual on the phone. The manual that is provided is a bit limited in the information it gives you. This phone has a lot of capabilities that are not covered at all in the provided manual… That being said, if you’re a computer/electronics savvy person AT ALL (and I consider myself to be mediocre in this department), you can figure out what you need in just a few days of using.
There was a reviewer that says that this phone does not support Hotmail. I did not have that problem at all. On Hotmails website there are instructions on how to get Hotmail running through this phone. While this phone was not a model that was listed on Hotmails list, I tried some of the other instructions for other Nokia phones and it worked perfectly. I now get my Hotmail through my phone, no problems. I do find that other than Google searches, that many other sites are VERY slow to load but for my needs this isn’t a big deal either, but is kind of annoying.
The setup with Straight Talk was very easy and FAST. I did take another reviewers advice and have not set up my recurring payment yet, just to make sure my phone is fully activated and working well, but I will probably do that. I have had no problems with the internet, my phone service, or texting.
I like that this phone comes with a rubber cover to protect it. I like the price. So far, I am one happy customer. I would suggest that if you are not technology savvy that this phone with the limited user manual would be a pain in the butt to learn. But if you’re like me and can poke around and figure things out, and want a phone with a fair amount of options, a pretty decent camera and a reasonable price, then this might be the phone for you.
In response to the complaint about paying for a phone, I would say that even if you decide you hate the Straight Talk service and discontinue the service after six months, you haven’t lost any money. The money you save on the Straight Talk plan will offset the amount you had to spend to get this phone. So after 6 months if you continue with the Straight Talk plan, you would start saving money vs. a phone plan through another major provider that gave you a free phone. Not bad in my opinion, especially to get a phone that I love with lots of features. But if you hate Straight Talk after 6 months you can still take this phone and sign up for an AT&T plan.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+55points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Locust Grove, GA
What Towers Does It Use?
Posted 05/09/2012
Is this an AT&T or Verizon tower based phone?
0points
Customer Avatar
Cozad, NE
I was just curious..
Posted 12/04/2011
I know the phone can record videos but would I be able to send the videos via text or e-mail? thanks
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Awesome..!

11/01/2011
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So, I waited 1 whole week before writting a review and I am so glad I brought this phone! I started to give it 4 stars due to volume when you use the speaker phone but after making some adjustments its better now! First of all I left Sprint which I had for 9 yrs, paying $75 monthly. Straight talk really dnt know how good of a deal this nokia phone really is?!! I had a Black Berry nd boy did I love those apps (ex; BOA,Mr number Call Blck) but this has nokia apps which are somewhat decient. This really is a smart phone, it really functions almost, just almost like a Black Berry!!! It was worth the $200 plus it runs off of At&t towers which is superb, I need good coverage being that I travel alot!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+43points
Review 8 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Overall a great phone

10/07/2011
By ,
Chattanooga, TN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Switched from Sprint to Straight talk and so far it's been great. Great coverage and signal strength. With Sprint I couldn't get a signal in my home. The Nokia store has a lot of free apps to download. The phone itself has plenty of features. The only drawback is RealPlayer will not magnify videos, but that to me is a minor issue. Someone earier wrote that they couldn't keep the key pad unlocked- yes you can. Go to settings- general- secrity- phone and SIM card-keypad autolock period and phone autolock period and change settings.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Review 9 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Love it!

11/03/2011
By ,
abilene, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for 3 months now. I am a 50 yr old female and have not had a blackberry or iPhone. I am a bargain hunter. I think this has been a great purchase for $200. I'm sure I am not the most proficient at using all of the features. As far as easily keeping up with my emails, Facebook, weather, movie times, internet surfing AND all for under $50 a month for unlimited service, I feel like the smartest person around. I have messed around with my husband's company iPhone and I much prefer my keyboard over his. The keys are slightly rounded and make it very easy to text and type. I've been pleased with the camera. The battery life is great. I'm not into applications but did purchase a golf GPS program. Do not purchase this app! Apparently the Nokia is a much bigger item in Europe than in the US so there were very few US golf courses listed. The free GPS and wi-fi hotspot can come in handy. I can use our iPad in the car using my phone as the wi-fi. I'm amazed at this. I do find the screen to be tiny at viewing some websites. I am researching a GPS heart monitor (Sports-tracker) that connects by bluetooth to record your workouts and uses your phone screen to show current stats. I think Nokia is manufactured in Finland so it has to be purchased overseas. Overall, I am extremely happy with this phone. I am going to save $600 a year and do not have to worry over minutes, data, or waiting until 9PM to make phone calls. I also need to add that I have not noticed any difference in Straight Talk's phone service than with Verizon. The fact that it is no contract as well makes it even sweeter. After 3 months, I feel I have broken even so far. Everything after this is money in the bank!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 10 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Was skeptical

11/01/2011
By ,
South Sioux City, Ne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't know whether or not I could find a phone of value at a Walmart. Though already being a straighttalk customer I figured what the heck. Besides if I didn't like the phone I could have returned it no problem. I've had the phone a week now and I have honestly been blown away. I had a problem with the internet the day I got it, but after calling the customer service line, it was fixed and have since had no problem. A couple downers though are that if you want to watch youtube videos, you have to be connected to a wifi signal. At least for me, the phone just wont support it without one. Also if you want to send a video clip via text message, you really have to lower the quality. And in some cases the quality of the video sent by my phone is so poor it's nearly unwatchable by the reciever. Other than those two things I am overall very impressed. The speed of the internet is great, the multitasking feature is great, and the value of the service is great. I am very impressed with straight talk and love the unlimited plan, it's a amazing bargan. Now if you have little patience then I wouldn't recommend using straight talk as your cell provider. When something does go wrong you do spend a considerable amount of time on hold, and it's extremely difficult to understand the service reps. But fortunatly I am a patient, and am willing do undergo a little inconvience in order to save big bucks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Review 11 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Great phone with a lot of features

12/06/2011
By ,
Dickson, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone. I was a little hesitant in getting it because of some of the reviews I read, but I love it. My emails come in real time which is nice, but the best feature to me is the GPS. I just got back to the states after living in Germany for 3 years and forgot how to get everywhere I needed to go, but this phone always gets me there. I would actually say that it is more accurate than my GPS I had in my last car!
I live in a semi rural area and the signal strength is amazing. I haven't dropped a single call in the 2 weeks that I've owned the phone. I get 3G coverage all over the place and the web is relatively fast for the product. I only runs couple apps, but they run flawlessly.
I have to get up early in the morning for work and I've discovered the flashlight on the phone and it works great. I'm able to navigate around my room and get what I need without waking up my wife which I used to do a lot bumping into things.
The camera has a little to be desired, but it does the trick and gets the point across. You can zoom in and the tools and function of the camera is very easy to use.
Overall, great phone for the money. I love straighttalk, and will never have a cell phone contract again!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 12 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

WILL NOT PLAY YOUTUBE VIDEOS

09/22/2011
By ,
Albany, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you plan on watching or playing Youtube videos on this phone without having to download or convert them first, FORGET IT. This phone does NOT do that, altho when I purchased it in the store it showed the Youtube logo indicating (to me anyway) that it could do that. Imagine my surprise when I go to the Nokia online store, try to access it and get an error saying my phone doesn't support it.
Aside from this, I do like the phone and hope to get some good out of it after paying megabucks.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+31points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Florence, AL
Youtube?
Posted 01/07/2012
As someone who has owned at least one Nokia Symbian OS phone for over a year now, and who currently has the E5, I can say that you can definitely play youtube videos on it. I stream them everyday. And there are several ways to easily do it. Of course, the easiest would probably be to go to the Nokia Ovi website and download their free youtube app. But it is quite easy to play it through the Opera browser, or through the Realplayer too. Hope this helps!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/04/2011
Respnding to comment about "Will not play YouTube videos" I have the E-5 and I'm able to play and watch videos without downloading. You first have to have a YouTube account.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Albany, NY
actually it does play them!
Posted 10/31/2011
Shortly after I posted this review, I found a way to play the videos via the Real Player already installed here.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 13 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Not Happy!

02/09/2012
By ,
Kinston, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was excited to see this phone available to my area when I entered my zip code. I received my phone today and low and behold it will NOT work here! I went to Straight Talks website to transfer my number to the new phone and it would not accept it so I called their customer service and they were unable to activate it either. They stated there were not towers available to support it in my area. My old Samsung works off Verizon and the Nokia E5 since it is a GSM phone is supported my AT&T towers. WalMart needs to make sure these are TRULY available before listing them!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+21points
Review 14 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Great Great Product!

10/03/2011
By ,
Ocean City, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am Thrilled w/ my straight talk phone! The price is great! I already have had 8 (yes 8) people switch from a contract to straght talk, because of my coverage and rate per month!! Great Job Straght Talk!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 15 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

WALMART will put other wireless co. OUT OF BUSINES

10/18/2011
By ,
indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gift I purchased for my sons birthday and what I like about it the most is the unlimited straight talk, text & internet acess for only $45 per month!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 16 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Nice for texting

10/22/2011
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good texting phone, sturdy keyboard. I don't accidentally dial people when its in my pocket. Web browsing is ok, not great like some of the iphone's or droids, but its usable. I like the map function, its saved me a couple of times. AT&T network is my biggest complaint.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 17 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Excellent Phone

01/20/2012
By ,
Waxhaw, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in the Charlotte area and Sprint coverage is sparse. I needed a phone that worked in rural areas as well as inside of large buildings. Not only was I looking for a phone that would not disconnect during calls, but a device that would also keep me connected with business and personal email. The Nokia has done all of that, excellent service in areas I didn't expect, lotus and yahoo email delivery on time, very good internet surfing. Have had a blackberry and this is very similar in size and function, but at a fraction of the price. Although the initial cost of the phone may seem high, its worth the money for all of the features considering the low monthly cost of the service!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Durham, NC
Posted 02/21/2012
Can you access wifi at anytime with this phone, or do you need a wifi hotspot? I purchased a phone that said wifi connectivity and it has to have a wifi hotspot and I cannot use it while traveling. Thanks in advance for the info because I have purchased and returned 3 phones in the last 2 weeks because of this reason alone with straight talk.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Straight Talk Phone

12/30/2011
By ,
KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I just purchased the WalMart Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone.
Reading all reviews definitely helped to make the decision. One review stated that there
was a vague user's manual that comes with the phone. FYI: Here is a web-site for
anyone who has purchased this phone and would like a manual. www.nokia.ca/get-support-and-software/guides-and-demos
Just click on the Nokia E-5 phone and scroll down for a downloadable user manual.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 19 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)
08/14/2011
By ,
ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As the information states, the phone is full of features. It does everything that is states, but unfortunately the phone requires too much work for operation. I bought the phone because I was looking for a backup phone or possibly a replacement for my Verizon phone. I read reviews on other sites and decided to give the phone a try. After realizing that the phone kept locking after every use and you had to press two buttons to unlock the phone, I became frustrated. I also became frustrated when I had to press another button twice to change from letters to numbers.
In all fairness, the phone has a wonderful radio, multiple email accounts and the Internet worked well. I may just be spoiled by the one touch operation of my current phone or maybe I didn't spend enough time trying to learn all of the features on this phone. I guess for a smart phone it was too complicated for my needs. After much consideration, I returned the phone to Walmart and purchased a BlackBerry Style from Boost Mobile.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wetumpka,Al.
Keeping your old number
Posted 08/17/2011
You CAN port your number but ONLY if your old number is active at the time so don't let your current coverage lapse before porting.
+8points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Do your research;ALWAYS buy 18 mo replacement plan

11/22/2011
By ,
SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was very excited to get my Nokia E-5 at first. I am 29 years old and consider myself to be at least average when it comes to technology. It took me almost a month to figure everything out on it. It's not very user friendly and should be used by someone who is very advanced. However, I have a feeling that someone who is very advanced would not purchase this phone anyway. After having it for less than two months, it started acting up. I had to put it on speaker to hear people talk. Then the text messaging sound just simply stopped working. I worked with nokia and straight talk trying to troubleshoot the problem with no positive results.
Straight talk told me i had to send the item back to them and it would take them over 3 weeks to send the phone back, leaving me with no phone. I would have to go buy another cheap straight talk phone to use as a backup and pray the Nokia is sent back within the 30 days i would have to take the back up back! Thank goodness i bought the 39.00 replacement plan! ANYTIME YOU BUY THE REPLACEMENT PLANS KEEP YOUR RECEIPT!!! So instead of playing straight talk's game of getting more money out of me, I went and bought an Android phone that is better and cheaper along with a new replacement plan. Walmart's replacement department will be cutting me a check for the amount i paid for this less than desirable Nokia E-5 as soon as i send it to them.
OVERALL Don't waste your money. This phone cost way too much, when you can get much better cheaper. It's a blackberry wannabe that requires more work to use than other smart phones. Also, it would drop calls and make this horrible sound in my ear once a day at least!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
1-20 of 155 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next