Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

The Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone features mobile web services, email, Bluetooth technology and much more to keep you up to date and connected to your world. This Nokia E-5 Smartphone includes battery, charger, headset, silicone cover, 4GB microSD memory card and services guide. 3G/Wi-Fi enabled, your Nokia GSM Smartphone allows you to go completely wireless. Features of the Nokia E-5 Smartphone include real-time push email, IM instant messaging, free voice-guided navigation, 5.0 megapixel camera and video recorder, music player and Bluetooth wireless technology. You can have multiple email accounts including Microsoft Outlook, Mail for Exchange, Gmail, Yahoo! mail, Hotmail, AOL and MSN with your Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone.
Average Customer Rating:
3.684 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(171 Reviews) 154
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
79
4 stars
30
3 stars
16
2 stars
21
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation69%117 out of 170reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
79
4 stars
30
3 stars
16
2 stars
21
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Awesome..!

11/01/2011
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So, I waited 1 whole week before writting a review and I am so glad I brought this phone! I started to give it 4 stars due to volume when you use the speaker phone but after making some adjustments its better now! First of all I left Sprint which I had for 9 yrs, paying $75 monthly. Straight talk really dnt know how good of a deal this nokia phone really is?!! I had a Black Berry nd boy did I love those apps (ex; BOA,Mr number Call Blck) but this has nokia apps which are somewhat decient. This really is a smart phone, it really functions almost, just almost like a Black Berry!!! It was worth the $200 plus it runs off of At&t towers which is superb, I need good coverage being that I travel alot!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+43points
Review 2 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

READ if You're Actually Considering This Phone

03/24/2012
By ,
Kentucky
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
So, I went with Straight Talk after I decided I was tired of paying a fortune for service through Verizon. I had an Incredible and was honestly tired of the touch-screen feature. I wanted a "Blackberry" style phone with a GPS, which left just this one to choose from in my area. I got it because of the apps available to me through the Nokia store, the GPS feature that I knew I would miss with my Incredible, but still have a decent camera since I love to take pics on the go. Next time, I will just invest in a GPS unit instead of relying on a phone for that instead of thinking that I would actually have a functioning phone that had the options I wanted.
This phone is $150 in the first place so you would think you would get what you paid for as opposed to the cheaper versions of pay as you go phones. Nope. The apps available through the Nokia store only download half the time, leaving you to not have a lot of the apps you actually want. The camera....omg the camera....5MP right? Wrong. ALL the pictures that you take with this will be 2MP tops, and I have yet to take a picture that actually reaches that level of "quality." It doesn't take a genius to go through the settings and select the highest quality mode for your pictures, which 5MP is selected every time because I check, and I still only produce 2MP results. The Facebook app included is very poor in its functionality, along with the customizing options available to you. When you start the phone up, it clearly indicates that its a product of TracPhone...why is this a product of TracPhone? If I had none that I seriously would not have bothered.
I know this phone is no Incredible, and I honestly do not even consider it a smart phone no matter how hard it claims to be. For $150 though, I expect a phone to deliver what it promises to. I literally only use this phone for talking and texting because that's all it is good for. With so many other different options out there for the main purpose of talking and texting, why on Earth would anyone who has read my review still choose this phone that requires you to pay $45 for the unlimited plan because it is that "nifty?"
*Yep, I'm getting another phone, fyi.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)
08/14/2011
By ,
ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As the information states, the phone is full of features. It does everything that is states, but unfortunately the phone requires too much work for operation. I bought the phone because I was looking for a backup phone or possibly a replacement for my Verizon phone. I read reviews on other sites and decided to give the phone a try. After realizing that the phone kept locking after every use and you had to press two buttons to unlock the phone, I became frustrated. I also became frustrated when I had to press another button twice to change from letters to numbers.
In all fairness, the phone has a wonderful radio, multiple email accounts and the Internet worked well. I may just be spoiled by the one touch operation of my current phone or maybe I didn't spend enough time trying to learn all of the features on this phone. I guess for a smart phone it was too complicated for my needs. After much consideration, I returned the phone to Walmart and purchased a BlackBerry Style from Boost Mobile.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wetumpka,Al.
Keeping your old number
Posted 08/17/2011
You CAN port your number but ONLY if your old number is active at the time so don't let your current coverage lapse before porting.
+8points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Nokia E5-Good Phone, Easy Straight Talk Set-Up.

08/17/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Nokia E5 as a replacement phone for a Nokia E71 that I tried for about a week. I really like the E5. I first bought the E71, which I did not like. I bought it due to the glowing, positive reviews that stated the high tech positives to the phone (true). However, I'm not a tech. person and didn't need the phone for business purposes. For me, the E71 was not user friendly, not to mention small font/text and a lot of problems when I tried to update the phone. Also, I carry the phone in a shirt pocket, and the E71 is VERY heavy.
Ok, the E5 is similar to a Blackberry. Not the same, but similar. The E5 was much easier to set-up, and to update through Nokia.com. As far as the keypad locking, the keypad comes unlocked and the setting has to be changed to make it lock after a call. The user sets the lock/unlock, and the length of time that the keyspad stays unlocked. It designed to stop "pocket or purse calls," it's very easy and quick to unlock. The E5 has a great camera, push email, and many other uasable features. Very pleased with the E5.
Additionally, I ported my existing phone number to the E5, very simple and quick. It took Straight Talk about 30 minutes to complete the swap. Also, I've had no dropped calls or weak signal(s).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+537points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Barker, NY
Great Phone, Great Service Department
Posted 07/09/2012
Bought 3 of these for my family last August. Works great for busines for my wife and myself. My 17 year enjoys it from music to GPS navigation, to Facebook and of course tons of texting. Had issue with my son's phone not turning on today. Within the warranty period and Smart talke is going to replace it. I am saving a ton of money over the old Verizon plan. With unlimited voice, text and data. Make the switch - you will be glad you did.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/30/2011
Did you have dropped calls/ weak signals with the E71?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Great phone with a lot of features

12/06/2011
By ,
Dickson, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone. I was a little hesitant in getting it because of some of the reviews I read, but I love it. My emails come in real time which is nice, but the best feature to me is the GPS. I just got back to the states after living in Germany for 3 years and forgot how to get everywhere I needed to go, but this phone always gets me there. I would actually say that it is more accurate than my GPS I had in my last car!
I live in a semi rural area and the signal strength is amazing. I haven't dropped a single call in the 2 weeks that I've owned the phone. I get 3G coverage all over the place and the web is relatively fast for the product. I only runs couple apps, but they run flawlessly.
I have to get up early in the morning for work and I've discovered the flashlight on the phone and it works great. I'm able to navigate around my room and get what I need without waking up my wife which I used to do a lot bumping into things.
The camera has a little to be desired, but it does the trick and gets the point across. You can zoom in and the tools and function of the camera is very easy to use.
Overall, great phone for the money. I love straighttalk, and will never have a cell phone contract again!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 6 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Hard to really tell how good it is

01/28/2012
By ,
Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The manual that comes with the phone is sub-par at best. You have to figure it out on your own about many of the functions. Even making a call isn't straight forward - no icon to select to make the call - you can't get info from the manual. I had to go online to get the basic information that should be in the manual.
The phone itself seems to be excellent - I get a signal in areas where my other service always failed. The keyboard is fairly easy to use but again, finding the shift key was a treasure hunt because the manual didn't give the info. Voice clarity is very good - ear phones are bad (cheap) and uncomfortable - get bluetooth it's worth the cost. The GPS is fair - it failed to alert me in time to take my exit on the interstate but was extremely good when it comes to neighborhood streets - this may be due to the fact you drive slower than on the highway. Overall the phone and the service are very good - as good as any of the national carriers.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Atlanta
To clarify...
Posted 02/02/2012
When you say that, "Overall the phone and the service are very good - as good as any of the national carriers", just to clarify for people.... you ARE using a national carrier for your signal. This phone typically uses AT&T for the service, and I think it can roam on T-mobile towers when you're not in an AT&T area. Straight Talk isn't a carrier... they just sell phones and pay the already existing national carriers for the signals.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Very disappointed

04/01/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I brought the Nokia E-5 with Straight talk. The straight talk service is great. I would rate that a 5. The phone on the other hand I rate a 1-2. The first few weeks the phone worked good. It made good calls and the internet froze a few times but nothing I couldnt deal with . The camera took good pics. But now I have had the phone for two months. I am restarting the phone 3 times a day. It seems when moving from one app to another I have to restart the phone. The internet freezes the whole phone after about 5mins of using it. Most the time I use wi-fi it seems to drop it all the time. Even when I am standing right next to the router. I have to restart to get the phone to work. Nokia advertises tons of apps but they arent useful. No Netflix app or Kindle type. The Nokia- e-71 has an Netflix app so I do not understand why the E-5 doesnt. I will be replacing this phone as soon as I can. I feel like I opened a window and throw away 150.00. If you really only use the phone for calls then buy it but for texting and data dont waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 8 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Great Phone

01/30/2012
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone as an upgrade to my E71 after I had purchased an LG touchscreen phone and then returned it. This phone is much lighter than the E71 and that has been a big plus for me. It contains all of the same features as my E71 but I like the design better. The keyboard is better on this one because it includes the symbol ( and ) on the keyboard for sending smily faces on your texts. The E71 lacked those symbols and I could never send smiley faces (my preference). I do find the raised keys on the keypad to be better for texting. It seems like texting goes smoother with less typos. The battery life is excellent and I can search the web and receive emails directly to my phone. If you used the E71 then the E5 is works the same way - just a better version. I like the cover since I tend to drop my phones and this will help protect it. You cannot use the charger for an E71 on this phone because the port is different, but it wasn't a hassel to purchase a different car charger. This is a really great smart phone for $45 a month and I love all of the features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 9 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

terrible phone

03/05/2012
By ,
rock hill, sc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone because I wanted an upgrade my old phone and I liked that this one had a 5.0 mp camera and a lot of apps. The first week I loved this phone everything worked great then all of a sudden none of my applications worked and I could not connect to the internet. I called straight talk and after 2 hours of being on the phone with them they told me that it was because my email was using too much memory. I deleted my email account and it did not solve a thing. Then the phone started dropping calls, would not allow me to answer all of my calls or dial out some of the time (now my husband has the LG Android and he has no problems with it, so it is not the service area). Straight talk could not figure out what the problem was with my phone. I wish I never waisted my $198 on this phone (now $149). The only thing i like about this phone is the camera. I disconnected this one and I am now ordering the LG Android the apps and GPS are much better on the android. This phone is definately not worth buying and I would not recommend it. I was very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Norwich, CT
Posted 06/13/2013
I know this is old, but I want to say this for anyone checking out your review. I recently began having the "Memory low" problems after owning the phone for about 2 years. I deleted my e-mail accounts, which did nothing. When I re-added the accounts, I realized that all of the e-mails were still stored on the phone (I haven't the foggiest idea why they would design it this way). I then manually deleted hundreds upon hundreds of e-mails, clearing out both accounts, and lo and behold, my phone memory went from 12% available to more than half.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Worth the money!!!

09/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone about two weeks ago, thought it was a little expensive for my budget but it was totally worth every cent! I owned a blackberry curve before this phone and it just doesn't compare to this phone. So far I haven't had a dropped call and everywhere I have traveled throughout my hometown has had all it's bars which is quite a big deal since AT&T claims to have "more bars in more places". I have 3G internet speed everywhere I go even in my home that's located out in the country. Now all of my family is going to switch from Sprint to Straighttalk. I recommend it to any smartphone fans out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+59points
Review 11 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Excellent Phone

01/20/2012
By ,
Waxhaw, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in the Charlotte area and Sprint coverage is sparse. I needed a phone that worked in rural areas as well as inside of large buildings. Not only was I looking for a phone that would not disconnect during calls, but a device that would also keep me connected with business and personal email. The Nokia has done all of that, excellent service in areas I didn't expect, lotus and yahoo email delivery on time, very good internet surfing. Have had a blackberry and this is very similar in size and function, but at a fraction of the price. Although the initial cost of the phone may seem high, its worth the money for all of the features considering the low monthly cost of the service!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Durham, NC
Posted 02/21/2012
Can you access wifi at anytime with this phone, or do you need a wifi hotspot? I purchased a phone that said wifi connectivity and it has to have a wifi hotspot and I cannot use it while traveling. Thanks in advance for the info because I have purchased and returned 3 phones in the last 2 weeks because of this reason alone with straight talk.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

My Mom's 1st Smart Phone (57yrs. old)

08/07/2012
By ,
Pittsburgh,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Nokia E-5, has met and surpassed my expectations ! My 57 year old Mom was in search of a "Smart Phone" to sync. with her new Honda Civic ! She also had been paying per minute, and needed a good unlimited, no contract phone ! I myself a "Straight Talk" User of almost 3 years, knew this was the plan for her! My Mom although a very "Smart" woman, thought her flip phone provided by work was "Smart" because it had a camera ! How cute is that? I found the E-5 down from $200-$149, and with a 5 mega pixel camera, 3g connectivity, capable of holding something like 10,000 songs, comes with micro SD card , ear-buds, even a nice rubber case that was included! Full keyboard set up like a Blackberry ! Easy to use ...many many options for camera, has a pretty decent battery life before needing charged! She has never had a problem with! I have searched many phones through various providers, hands down best value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 13 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Was skeptical

11/01/2011
By ,
South Sioux City, Ne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't know whether or not I could find a phone of value at a Walmart. Though already being a straighttalk customer I figured what the heck. Besides if I didn't like the phone I could have returned it no problem. I've had the phone a week now and I have honestly been blown away. I had a problem with the internet the day I got it, but after calling the customer service line, it was fixed and have since had no problem. A couple downers though are that if you want to watch youtube videos, you have to be connected to a wifi signal. At least for me, the phone just wont support it without one. Also if you want to send a video clip via text message, you really have to lower the quality. And in some cases the quality of the video sent by my phone is so poor it's nearly unwatchable by the reciever. Other than those two things I am overall very impressed. The speed of the internet is great, the multitasking feature is great, and the value of the service is great. I am very impressed with straight talk and love the unlimited plan, it's a amazing bargan. Now if you have little patience then I wouldn't recommend using straight talk as your cell provider. When something does go wrong you do spend a considerable amount of time on hold, and it's extremely difficult to understand the service reps. But fortunatly I am a patient, and am willing do undergo a little inconvience in order to save big bucks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Review 14 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Overall a great phone

10/07/2011
By ,
Chattanooga, TN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Switched from Sprint to Straight talk and so far it's been great. Great coverage and signal strength. With Sprint I couldn't get a signal in my home. The Nokia store has a lot of free apps to download. The phone itself has plenty of features. The only drawback is RealPlayer will not magnify videos, but that to me is a minor issue. Someone earier wrote that they couldn't keep the key pad unlocked- yes you can. Go to settings- general- secrity- phone and SIM card-keypad autolock period and phone autolock period and change settings.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Review 15 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Good if you dont like to facebook

12/05/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its a great phone for phone calls and whatnot, but it stinks when using it for facebook. I mainly purchased this for surfing the web on my lunch breaks, mainly facebook, but its worthless- at least mine is. It will work on facebook for about 30 seconds, then its like it locks up... just keeps saying loading... loading... loading.... it did this for 3 hours today when I hit change my status, it was showing that, I put in in the car on that screen, came out 3 hours later, it was still doing it and it does this daily. Maybe a setting is off or something? Also I thought it had the scanner where you could scan barcodes for information, but you cant. Also cant figure out to to do the navigation and never have heard a voice on it. The directions in the manual are cheap and vague. I expected more, especially for a $200 phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 16 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)
09/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone three days ago and it's all I expected and more. It is very user friendly. It has a lot of features and I loved that I can talk and text at the same time. It also has a lot of free app from ovi store. At $45 a month + tax you are getting a great deal. I paid twice that amount from my former carrier + they charged extra for pic text and I was on a two contract so you do the math:). Think blackberry!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+169points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Tallahassee
Carrier Service
Posted 02/24/2012
Which wireless provider does it use?
-2points
Customer Avatar
St. Louis, MO
Posted 09/21/2011
Does it run windows mobile and have microsoft office apps?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 17 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

Amazing phone for the price

08/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone has amazing features and is far superior to the Nokia E71. I recently switched, the only down side is the plastic instead of metal casing, but the operating system, camera, text, features, etc. are all an improvement. Thank you straight talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+222points
Review 18 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

lower price means a GREAT VALUE

05/09/2012
By ,
Paducah, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Nokia as soon as it was available it seems I paid a higher price ... now it really is a bargain! It is a great phone if you need all the smartphone capabilities. I use joikuspot to tether E5 to my laptop however it does seem slow and phone gets very warm but it works in a pinch. The phone beeps when I receive an email. The web browser is good only hindered by a small screen. It takes great photos and I am sure I haven't used half of the options on the phone but I do like the calendaring, to do list, and fm radio. I enjoy straight talks' phone service plan. I am sure this phone is going to last me a very long time. I also want to say if this is out of your price range I would like also recommend all Samsung brands . . . my last samsung phone $80 was excellent and the only reason I switch was to be able to tether my laptop on occasion.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 19 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)

I LOVE THIS PHONE

02/17/2013
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great phone with wonderful service from StraightTalk. This phone hardly uses any battery. I have it set up with a slideshow background that changes the picture every minute, and the battery still stays full all day. There is a huge variety of skins and covers for this phone on Amazon. I have it customized with a polka-dot decal skin! The keyboard is easy to type on one-handed. You could hold a baby on your hip and text at the same time if you need to, for example. The internet is good quality on it, and you can install a different browser for free if you want from the Nokia Ovi application store. If you don't want Google or Apple tracking your every move, go for this Nokia phone instead! Also if you don't like touchscreen typing, try this with its easy-to-use keyboard. Do it! It also has a great 5-megapixel camera with a bright flash. I love it. I will be keeping this phone a long while!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 20 for Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)
10/04/2011
By ,
Clinton, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband yelled at me about spending the $200 for this phone, but since I have had it, now he wants one! This phone is everything I expected and more! I'm not one who likes to buy phones everytime a new one comes out so when I destroyed my other phone when I went to the beach by wading in the water with the phone in my pocket (I know, I forgot it was there) I dreaded having to get another one. I didn't want the same phone that I had, I wanted an upgrade because I like having as much modern technology and features on my phone that I can get. So I was pleasantly surprised when straighttalk came out with this phone. I have never been more happy with a phone than I am now with this Nokia smartphone! I read previous reviews about this phone before purchasing it and saw a lot positive feedback about it so I said why not? I'm gonna buy this phone. It comes with the memory card and a protective case and earbuds which makes this phone worth it on that alone! This phone does so much more than advertised, you just have to take the time and really go through the phone. It does auto key lock after every use, but for me, that's great because I have a tendency to pocket dial. All in all, I am very pleased with my choice of buying this phone and I sure that other owners will agree. As I stated before, my husband is now willing to purchase this phone because he is so impressed with everything it does. My 19yr old daughter now wants this phone also. The only thing they both complain about is the small keys which I initially had the same complaint, but since I have had it I don't mind that the keys are small because I navigate a lot better with it than I have with previous phones that had bigger keys. If your in the market for a new phone at a great price and no contract and only have to pay $45 a month for service, I think this phone beats out all the contract service providers and the phone pays for itself in just a few months. Take it from me, you want a phone like this, it's awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+217points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Safford, AZ
Dont Do It!
Posted 04/17/2012
I bought two E5 phones online and have had nothing but trouble with BOTH phones. Keys freeze up and won't work, camera freezes and all you can do is take out the battery to get it working again. Clicks off ond on in your ear while you are trying to talk. One phone not working I would think it was just coincidence. With both phones having the same problem, I would never try another one. Vendor did eventually offer to fix the phones but I can't do without a phone for WEEKS while they try to fix it. I paid $200 for each phone. I expected better quality! A total waste of money.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Covington, GA
Nokia N5
Posted 11/25/2011
I have been using this phone for the last few days and I really love it. I can stream youtube videos from anywhere without network connection unlike some other reviews. About the only downside of this phone is small screen. I have perfect vision so I can see everything just fine. Having a actual keyboard is great. I'm starting to get faster at typing already. I don't like the finicky touch screen phones keyboard, I like having the actual keyboard. I love the unlimited data and that i don't have to worry about some crazy bill and that the phone has no limits. websurf all day long if you want and NEVER have to say " I cant" again. :) camera is great. You want this phone.
+7points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
1-20 of 155 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next