Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG 220C Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG 220C Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Get a top-of-the-line wireless device without the hassle of a phone bill with the STRAIGHT TALK LG 220C phone. This Refurbished STRAIGHT TALK phone with $30 card includes a 30-day service plan card with 1000 minutes, 1000 text and MMS messages, 30 MB data and calls to 411 at no extra charge so you can get started right out of the box! This Straight Talk flip phone also features mobile web services, Bluetooth, and downloadable ring-tones and graphics. Your STRAIGHT TALK LG 220C phone also includes such features as hands-free speaker, external caller ID, color screen, text messaging, and voice commands. This Refurbished STRAIGHT TALK phone with $30 card comes with a charger and services guide.
Average Customer Rating:
3.879 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(190 Reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
88
4 stars
54
3 stars
13
2 stars
7
1 star
28
Customer Recommendation81%153 out of 190reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
88
4 stars
54
3 stars
13
2 stars
7
1 star
28
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk LG 220C Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Disappointed!!!

11/29/2011
By ,
North Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchaced this phone for my husband. It was not ment to be a fancy phone for he is not all technical. But 1 wk after he recieved it, it will not ring. We have tried everything and it will only viberate now. And trust me, we have everything set correctly. It will not work. Also, the phone is just CHEAP, I did not expect it to be so cheaply made. You are getting what you paid for I guess. This is the first time we have ever used an prepaid plan/phone or buying a refurbished phone. We have always been a contract or month/month payer to Verizon and upgraded w/ contract. I am beginining to think I should just continue paying the higher rate to keep from having to buy phones all the time. I am not usually a complainer, but this was a real shocker to me. He has only had the phone now 3 wks and it will not ring, the screen is cracked on the inside and it will not hold a charge. And he is not ruff on his stuff, so I dont understand. Again, I guess we have recieved what we have paid for. LESSON IS LEARNED.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 2 for Straight Talk LG 220C Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Just the basics

09/30/2011
By ,
Clovis, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had phones from major carriers and felt it was time to save money and down size. I pick this phone up to see if it would help. I was looking for just the basics. No hype or frills. This fit the bill. I get good reception and easy menu to get around. I wasn't looking for web surfing or texting at blinding speed ( Can barely talk that fast, lol). If you are looking for plain and simple affordability, this is it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+115points
Review 3 for Straight Talk LG 220C Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

A Simple cell phone with little extras

09/08/2011
By ,
midwest kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
for $30.00 I thought I would buy this so I could, see how the service is
This phone is EZ to use and in less than 2 minutes the phone was up and running
if the service is good I will switch over to the unlimited plan, but for $30.00 buck
I was willing to take a chance You cant go wrong with LG products
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+94points
Review 4 for Straight Talk LG 220C Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Best phone ever!

09/26/2011
By ,
Fort White, FL 32038
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I moved to North Central Florida 5 years ago and only Alltel worked here. They were bought by Verizon. Straighttalk LG phones ending in letter C (as in LG 220C) work on the Verizon network. Ones ending in G work on the AT&T network. They work well, but Verizon network has even better coverage. The LG220C hasn't lost service ever! I love my phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+34points
Review 5 for Straight Talk LG 220C Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

JUST WHAT YOU NEED IN A BASIC CELL PHONE!!!

11/27/2011
By ,
Bronx, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this LG 220C cell phone along with a $30 Service Card from Walmart.com almost a month ago and I really have nothing bad to say. The phone, even though it's a refurbished phone works and looks like new. It came complete as advertised and so far I have never experienced a dropped call. I called the people at Straight talk to help me activate it and they were very pleasant and very helpful. The entire process took less than 10 minutes and I am very satisfied with my purchase. I recommend this phone to anyone who (like me) just needs a basic phone to make calls. The 1,000 talk minutes, 1,000 text messages and the 30MB mobile web access is all I need. The Auto Refill Service is very convenient also. Thanks Walmart and Straight Talk!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 6 for Straight Talk LG 220C Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished
08/24/2011
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone was shipped and delivered in a timely manner and I was pleased with the effort made to make the re-furbished phone look new and it came with a manual and charger. And it was "Free" with the purchase of the $30 service plan. I am very pleased with the phone service and it works well in my remote area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+163points
Review 7 for Straight Talk LG 220C Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished
09/30/2011
By ,
Neveda, Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got the phone and card in a timley manner, and the phone is like new. It came with the wall charger and the 30 dollar phone card easy to set up. Ported my old cell number to the new phone easily as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+101points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Belmont, NH
Speed Dial?
Posted 05/06/2013
Does the ST LG 220C come with speed dial?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Straight Talk LG 220C Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

straight talk lg 220C phone

04/19/2013
By ,
johnson city, tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ordered phone on line. liked e-mail updates of status and shipping. free in store pickup saved a few bucks. activation went fairly smoothly no real hassle. switched from verizon. getting a lot more minutes and texts, data, etc for less. verizon won't consider matching this offer. wanted to use my verizon phone(which i own) but both verizon and straight talk won't consider it. wanted verizon to put my contacts on new phone but said they couldn't do that so i had to do it manually. my old phone was also a lg phone so many of the features are the same. my old phone had a camera and video but this model doesn't which i can live without. only had the phone for a week now and it seems to be fine and meeting my needs. must remember when i call my old verizon contacts to tell them that they are using their verizon minutes. this was a refurmished phone so with a $30 plan the phone is actually free. phone looks new. battery and charger a-ok.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Straight Talk LG 220C Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

A Basic Good Phone and Plan

01/19/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this phone a month ago as I was tired of the Sprint contracts and over charges. The $30 all you need plan fits me just fine. I am saving at least $13.50 a month now over what I paid Sprint for almost 12 years. Also the added tax is only $3 making it a total of $33 a month. Sprint was charging me a lot more.
The phone cost me only $5 refurbished and you can't tell it was used. It works fine. The customer service was good also for activating it. I had my number ported in less than 1 hour even though it was Christmas Holidays time!!
The web is useless because you get at best 2G speed and also you really need a smart phone for the Web. It is not Straight Talk's fault or this phone's fault. I need only talk and text.
One thing I was disappointed with was that you can not do a 5 Digit Short Codes Texting which is what I needed. This is the technology that Banks and Financial Institutions use for sending Account Alerts to their account holders if they have signed for alerts. However I do not hold Straight Talk responsible for not providing this service as all no contract or prepaid cell phones and plans do not allow this. I hope ST will look into this as this can give them an edge.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Missouri
Not true about texting SHORT CODES!
Posted 08/30/2012
Three years ago I bought a Motorola Razr from the Straight Talk website. Been using short codes on it for a long time now. It just deducts one text from my balance. That Razr was an awesome phone for 3 years, and just died, I wish I could replace it with the same phone. But it is not available anymore.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Straight Talk LG 220C Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Cheap and Easy BuT reliability goes down with age

10/11/2011
By ,
dover, de
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I owned this phone for 2 years...ALL PREPAID! PROS-->For the price you really can't ask for more. The phone stays charged for days, makes calls and texts with ease. You will not be surfin' the net on this phone and you'll be lucky to access your gmail. In fact, my mobile web option disabled after about a month. CONS-->if you're friends are tech savvy, then you'll miss out on taking and receiving photos as there is no camera. The tech support and customer service for Straight-Talk are next to Non-Existant...I'm talking 15 minute wait times where they tell you what to do and it doesn't work. And The BIGGIE--> my phone, when fully charged at night, would have a 'fully charged' menu pop up. The alarm would not go off when this menu was present. Be careful. I called customer service about the Mobile Web option disabling and they kept telling me to re-program my phone. But this never worked and I had automatic payments. Now I use AT&T with more options at the same price. Would I recommend it? YES! I would certify that this phone will do its job. Would I buy again? NO! I need a phone that does its job well.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 11 for Straight Talk LG 220C Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

outstanding value

10/17/2011
By ,
Turlock, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Straighttalk phones were delivered on time and were easy to register and activate. Even though they were refurbished, they looked brand new. The clarity is fantastic and have not dropped a call yet. The price could not be beat, especially with the talk/message and web package. These phones do not have cameras but I nor my husband miss that feature. I highly recommend this product to any one who wants an excellent working phone at such a great price! Thank you!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 12 for Straight Talk LG 220C Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Straighttalk phone and non-contract service

10/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The order arrived at site-to-store earlier than indicated, and I've been using it for less than a month. The phone was refurbished, but looked new. It's working great, and you can't beat the $30 plan, 1000 min per month. I was happy to transfer after being with another carrier for a year, not renewing the contract at $80 per month 900 min. And the coverage this far is excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Review 13 for Straight Talk LG 220C Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

For the no-frills type of person.

11/22/2012
By ,
Williamsport, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently decided to drop my contract phone after the initial two years passed. I searched around for the best prepaid company (I didn't want a contract that would force me to buy a $250 smart phone and then cost me $120 a month for service) until I came across StraightTalk. It seemed to be just what I needed. I ordered this phone because of the value (phone is $5 witha regular priced month of service), and it arrived at my local store on time as expected.
It is indeed factory refurbished, with a NIB battery included, as well as charger (micro USB if anyone is interested) and the phone itself. My device looked brand new out of the box. I was curious if a waranty was offered, and was pleased to see a sticker on the device's box indicating that there was in fact a one-year limited waranty on manufacturer's defects. It was very easy to activate and very generic in design. If you had a flip-style cell phone at some point in the past ten years, this is pretty much on the same difficulty level to comprehend. If you would like an example, I'm struggling to remember whether or not I even got an owner's manual with my device, it was so simple to figure out.
As I said, this is a very "no-frills" device. No camera at all, though it seems you can download them offline or have them sent to you from someone else's phone, though I haven't tried either yet. It is possible to make voice recordings, but I don't know how well they transfer when you send them to someone else. I hate paying for features that I'm not going to use or don't need, so this is just the ticket for me. All I need to do is call and text, and that's just about all this device does. I'm unsure if you can switch to the $45/month unlimited card, but I don't know why you wouldn't be able to. All you would be doing is making the company more money. Another nice feature is that if you like using automatic bill payent systems, you can have StraightTalk auto-pay out of your bank account/charge your credit card every month, so no more worrying about missing your service end date and getting your phone shut off.
Although it may be simple in design, one thing it does not lack is structural integrity. The hinge is tight, none of the buttons are loose out of the box, and there is no plastic "flashing" along the mold seams. The buttons are large enough for my bear-sized hands to easily navigate them, except possibly the volume control on the side. That one's a bit tricky. One thing I was slightly disappointed about was that it does not display your airtime/service end date on the main screen. In order to check those, you must go to www.straighttalk.com and input your phone number along with the last four of the device's serial number. Not a huge deal if you aren't getting low, but if you like to check things like that frequently, it can be a pain.
Overall, I'm very satisfied with my purchase. It's a soundly-built flip phone that should live up to the tales of durability of yore. As a disclaimer, I cannot guarantee other units are exactly like mine because they are "factory refurbished". Though I have a good feeling they would not send out an obviously used unit and expect the customer to be satisfied with it. I'm sure they have very strict standards of what they can and cannot re-sell when taking returns.
If you've made it to the end of this review, contratulations! I hope some of this information has helped someone make an informed decision, because if you're like me, you hate wasting money. Questions? Feel free to ask and I'll get back to you ASAP.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 14 for Straight Talk LG 220C Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Basic phone

10/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The phone works great, no frills but a decent working cell phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 15 for Straight Talk LG 220C Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

1000 minutes voice, 1000 texts, plus the internet.

09/30/2011
By ,
Cape Cod, Mass.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding value. Generous amount of minutes and texts as well as internet. Service as good as any of the 'big' phone companies - Verizon etc - and a tiny price tag of $30, including the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 16 for Straight Talk LG 220C Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished
10/07/2011
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent condition, excellent service, very well equipped. We found remarkable savings going from contract service to Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 17 for Straight Talk LG 220C Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Functional, simple to use phone - no frills

01/12/2012
By ,
Fort Lauderdale, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Phone lives up to review on cnet.com and is simple to use, no hassle, and easy to set up the call plan. We are very happy and received exactly what we were looking for, at a great price!
With all this going for it, there are just two small drawbacks:
1. Impossible to locate a "user manual" with more specific info on all it's functionality - not at LG mfg site either. Quick start manual is too brief.
2. Voice quality of microphone talking to destination is not great - seems distant, tinny. When wife calls me on this phone, I'm surprised that I can't recognize her voice right away - but I'm beginning to associate the tinny sound with her. I receive no other calls from other cell phone users that have this quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 18 for Straight Talk LG 220C Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Excellent, simple basic phone. Highly recommend!!

10/27/2011
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good solid phone. Durable too - I drop it all the time! If you are looking for a basic phone (no camera), you cannot go wrong with this phone. I have owed three of this particular phone and have been extremely satisfied. It is very easy to use. The ringer is loud. I have a "C" phone so mine works on Verizon signal and I always have excellent reception - I live in Rochester, NY. Also, because it is a "C" phone, I don't have to deal with the Sim card baloney. With Straighttalk you cannot transfer Sim cards anyhow. This phone is high quality, not flimsy one bit. It's a 10 in my book. Don't think because this is an inexpensive phone that it is not a good choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 19 for Straight Talk LG 220C Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Not a smart phone, but everything Good in between!

01/19/2013
By ,
Green Bay, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the Only cell phone I ever had that Fully works in all the ways you want a phone to work! Nothing fancy at all about the features like a smart phone. But I don't like smart phones. I always kept hanging up on people with my cheek when I had those touch screen phones, or would get muted while talking. I don't go on the internet with a phone, I do that at home with the 2 computers I have. I can wait to go on the internet when I get home, not important for me to have on a phone. But you still can get internet access with this phone, I just don't need it. Volumes on this phone, earpiece, speakerphone, nice and loud! Many ringtones to choose from. never had a dropped call yet since I had this phone about a year ago. In fact I am buying another here in case the one I have breaks. Can't go wrong for $5-$10 refurbished. Not a bummer as well with no camera on the phone. I have a camera for quality pictures when I want them, and a pocket size video camera. Most pictures on these phones are grainy anyways. Oh ringtones are Loud too when someone calls. Battery life is Loooooooooooooooong!! That's another Plus! Another bummer but not really needed is there is No memory card you can use with this phone. But you don't need that anyway cause there is no camera. But if you are looking for a Quality sounding solid little phone, you will love this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 20 for Straight Talk LG 220C Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

No value in refurbished phone

02/18/2012
By ,
Colorado
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I don't recommend this phone. As for the value, sure you get a 30 dollar phone card along with the phone, but the phone quit working within 3 weeks of the purchase so what good is it to put minutes on a phone that doesn't work. Used only 32 minutes of the 1000 available and when I returned the phone I lost the minutes. It's a lot of time wasted and alot of hassle. Buy a new phone and don't waste your time with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
1-20 of 142 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next