Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Get a top-of-the-line phone without the hassle of a phone bill with the Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone. Get going wireless with this Straight Talk phone that includes a 30 day service plan card with 1000 minutes, 1000 text and MMS messages, 30 MB data and calls to 411 at no extra charge so you can get started right out of the box!
Average Customer Rating:
3.339 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(118 Reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
28
Customer Recommendation63%74 out of 117reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
28
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Great deal for cell phone service.

03/10/2013
By ,
Midland, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone and service offers a lot of the features I was looking for. I have no complaints and I was happy that I could port my old cell number to this phone and service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 22 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Great Phone & Great Deal!!

08/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone and am very happy at the deal I got
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Review 23 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

SLIDER

11/01/2011
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SO FAR SO GOOD. I USE IT EVERYDAY AND OVERALL HAPPY WITH IT. TAKES GOOD PICS AND THE BROWSER SEEMS TO BE OK.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 24 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished
02/23/2012
By ,
Keshena, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered the phone with card, it actually came in earlier than expected and i had no trouble picking it up at my local wal-mart even thoe I forgot the confirmation paper all i needed was an id, great!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 25 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Great inexpensive phone for a great price

08/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my daughter. Phone was a good price, and a great deal when you bundle the phone card with it. Great for kids or just a good cheap phone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 26 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished
10/01/2011
By ,
Tampa, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter lost my wife phone and so I needed to replace it reasonably and this phone was the way to go. It was refurbished but in like new condition and works great. It came with a 30 dollar Straight talk card which is all we need. My wife only went over one time on minutes and that was because of a family emergency that lasted weeks and involved calling all the relatives and them calling us. So it really is all we need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished
11/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first attempt at online ordering. My wife had recently purchased the same phone and I was impressed with it. I was able to purchase mine at a very substantial savings by ordering online.
I have found that this particular phone had added possibilities that my wife's didn't come with. We also had made a trip down in the contry. What was really nice, I was able to to pick up a signal and make calls and hers wasn't.
I am a previous Straight Talk customer and have never had any complaints with the phone or service I formerly had. If I have to make another purchase later online, I will know that I will be pleased.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 28 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Great Samsung/Straight Talk Product/Service Bundle

10/04/2011
By ,
New England
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thus far, this has been a great value and we expected it to perform much in the way that it has. Where else can you get a Samsung T401G GSM cell phone with these features for $20(Walmart), plus its warranty by Samsung for a year, and with my Credit Card the warranty was doubled. It leases VZW's towers(so I hear) for service, thus you'll seldom not have coverage. With $50 month unlimited talk, text & internet, plus free 411 makes a person wonder if they need a house phone. When you go to the StraightTalk website, you can purchase a 3, 6, and I believe a 12 month unltd service card ,plus they're discounted. We need to get Walmart.com to offer these discounted prices as they will match the competitions price for the same item. Plus when purchasing via Walmart.com, you can get your Straight Talk service pin number sent directly to your email, thus saving a trip to Walmart as we all know that is seldom a quick in and out experience, but with their prices, and quality merchandise, this is why they are so busy.
So, as with most Samsung products, add this to the list of quality cell phone manufacturers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 29 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished
01/04/2012
By ,
Amity, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great deal ! I can't believe how much I cut my phone bill down to. I even bought a plan and phone for my daughter. We are well pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 30 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Great phone for what I needed

10/12/2011
By ,
Lubbock, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone provides everything that is needed for my husband. It has phone, camera, full keyboard, and internet access. Since he does access the internet too much from the phone its just right. This is a great deal too with the $30 card that comes with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 31 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Great phone for a beginner or someone older.

12/18/2011
By ,
Buford Area of Lancaster, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this phone about 6 months ago because my original straight talk phone did not pick up well at home. My original straight talk phone was one that ran off of Verizon towers and due to that out in the area where I live it wouldn't work. My biggest piece of advice for anyone wanting to get a straight talk phone is check which towers are working best in your area. Straight Talk typically runs off of 2 either Verizon or AT&T so make sure you know what kind of signal you will get from either services towers.
On a side note my mom had AllTel for years and never had any trouble with her phones reception until Verizon bought them out. She spent months trying to get the problem corrected including making several trips 20 miles into town to the verizon store so they could do a manual "push" on her phone in order to try to make it pick up the signal better. When that didn't work they told her if she would just buy her a new verizon wireless phone it would fix the issue, it didn't she still had issues with dropped calls, not getting the calls when someone would try to call her and not being able to call out. She is a 78 year old who is still trying to live independently who needs a phone that won't do that. I finally talked her into swapping to straight talk her first phone(she loved it btw) somehow got soaked and I got her another phone just like this one....she is now really loving it as she has finally learned how to text!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 32 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

great starting phone

08/02/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good for texting and pictures and many other stuff but isnt like an amazingly cool top rate phone with all the bells and wistles but yet is a vey good phone for a first phone!!! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+117points
Review 33 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

For the money ths cell phone is very good!

11/15/2011
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This cell phone was a good buy as it came with the $30. card included in the price for the phone. It works well, the back of the phone fits well and it has a slider with keyboard so I can text. Cell phones are getting very expensive and I searched several online before deciding on this one and I'm not sorry I chose this one. I also bought the 18 month accidental protection plan since it is a refurbished phone. It's not fancy or colorful, but it's a good cell phone and I can text and take pictures and videos and that's all I really need.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 34 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Ya know as a refurbished phone- i am shocked

12/23/2011
By ,
Longmont, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first refurbished phone that i have ever bought- it was on sale yet to boot so that was even awesome for the gamble of this phone----
The SamSung T401 for Straight talk phone that I received does works great- The phone is nothing really special but ya know, it is a simple phone with a slider qwarty pad. I will admit I don't care that greatly for the qwarty part- the keys do seem a bit close, but after all it may be just me "needing to get used to it"... I am not sure what else to say about the phone- it is a good little simple phone and works for me - the camera is not the greatest but I have had worse, and after all I did not get the phone for a camera use. I like it and am happy with it
As far as service of calls it works like the little phone I had with Straightalk which was off of the back bone of the Tmobile towers- Now I did read on this phone and it has quad band- so to be honest I am not sure what back bone service towers it does work off of (either Tmobil or AT&T from what I hear with the G at the end).
For straight talk transferring my number was easy- I have had them for a bout year- I love the fact they have a website to which you can submit this request for porting numbers to one phone to another with existing straight talk phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 35 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Great durable cell phone

12/25/2011
By ,
TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have dropped this phone several times and it still works Very Well
reception is good most of the time, very few drops; drops usually happen after 10PM with
1 or 2 at the most but it's only a split second.
...good texting, pictures and many other things but is only half/smart phone and yet is a very good for the price of a non-smart phone...
It does get a lot of Internet: Facebook, games, and sites that recognize it's as a simply phone.
Fair speed and fair reception.
However, if you are a gamer you can beat ppl with smart phones because they have to scroll and punch and this type you just punch numbers...
BATTERY life is good- it last me a good 10 hrs on Internet before recharge.
Cons: non really.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

great phone

02/18/2012
By ,
corbin, ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this phone for my Granddaughter. she is not getting very good service inside our houses but for the money I guess we did ok. I had bought a phone from straight talk paid $50.00 and $30.00 for the mins. and it broke within days of buying it. Took a couple of weeks just to get a refund from straight talk. At least if this one breaks that fast I can take it back to Walmart. She likes the phone and it does work good as long as we are outside or in town. I thought I was doing something ordering from the company but Walmart is always the place to shop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Right price!

12/26/2011
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son got this for Christmas and he loves it! Has a good signal and reception. Able to do some things online he loves the keyboard for txting. The only thing is the keys on the QWERTY are slick but that's the only prob. we've noticed. Well worth the value!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

GSM phone uses AT&T, not as good as Verizpn CDMA

10/22/2011
By ,
Tampa Bay, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yes, Great Deal. Phone & $30 Calling Card for $50. This is a GSM Phone.
Here in Tampa, Fl., Straight Talk (Wally World, aka: Wal Mart) uses the ATT, AT&T network for their GSM phones.
If you get a CDMA Wally World phone, it uses the Verizon network which has much better reception, coverage etc
FYI: The CDMA Signal is the most popular signal & best coverage in US (only), but the GSM network is the common World signal outside of the continental U.S., meaning the rest of the planet.
All Smart phones are GSM, so you better check & see if you have GSM coverage in your area before buying one.
P.S. On a surprise trip to San Juan, PR, our Wally World CDMA phones had No Service. Only a GSM phone worked in PR. Also, when you're activating your new phone online, turn the new phone off & on a few times, That seems to kick in the new activation. It's also good to do that once a day (or every few days) with your phone, it updates the software, works better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 39 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Good Purchase

09/24/2011
By ,
Long Island,NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone seems to be sturdy enough for my tween. Service is good and she has no complaints. It was a good economical choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 40 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Awesome phone for the price

01/15/2012
By ,
Blue Ridge, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had my phone for 1 month now and must say I am very pleased. Easy texting, nice size, very clear and have not been disconnected once.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 100 total reviews