Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Get a top-of-the-line phone without the hassle of a phone bill with the Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone. Get going wireless with this Straight Talk phone that includes a 30 day service plan card with 1000 minutes, 1000 text and MMS messages, 30 MB data and calls to 411 at no extra charge so you can get started right out of the box!
Average Customer Rating:
3.339 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(118 Reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
28
Customer Recommendation63%74 out of 117reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
28
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished
09/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is in great shape. There was no way to tell that it was refurbished! Great price Great deal
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 22 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

good buy

10/09/2011
By ,
texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for about a month and i haven't had any problems with it what so ever. It says refurbished but it looks new!!! Has good reception. I would recommend this to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 23 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Great phone, especially for the price.

10/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased the package deal for $50, which included the refurbished version of this phone with the $30 talk card all and couldn't be happier. The phone was in top condition, couldn't tell the difference between the one I received and a brand new phone, and for only costing me $20 it's more then I could have asked for. I admit I was a bit skeptical because of some of the reviews people had written, but I haven't encountered any problems so far. The sound quality is great, unlike one of the boost mobile phones I have purchased in the past, and in my opinion it can hold way more texts than I need. Although I am only 21, contrary to popular belief not every young kid is tech obsessed. I was only looking for a prepaid phone that I didn't have to spend a lot on, and seeing as how I really don't like phones (haven't had one in about a year) the $30 a month plan turns out to be more minutes then I need. The applications are great, and the phones call tunes aren't as bad as they're made out to be. I haven't experienced any dropped calls, and all of my texts go through. The camera is wonderful as well. The QWERTY keyboard is great, although the keys might be a bit close together, but a sacrifice one must make in order to keep the phone at a reasonable size. Or it could just be that I'm not used to using one for a while now. Overall this girl is very pleased with this phone, and am recommending it to everyone I come across that is looking to switch to a cheaper plan.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 24 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished
10/14/2011
By ,
Columbia, TN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great phone. Only problem is the signal is a little limited.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 25 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished
11/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first attempt at online ordering. My wife had recently purchased the same phone and I was impressed with it. I was able to purchase mine at a very substantial savings by ordering online.
I have found that this particular phone had added possibilities that my wife's didn't come with. We also had made a trip down in the contry. What was really nice, I was able to to pick up a signal and make calls and hers wasn't.
I am a previous Straight Talk customer and have never had any complaints with the phone or service I formerly had. If I have to make another purchase later online, I will know that I will be pleased.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 26 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

excellent value

01/26/2012
By ,
st clair mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
took 3 days to arrive, when i opened it i swore it was brand new, no scratched works great. only problem i had it took 24 hr for it activate, but that was straightalk fault
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished
02/02/2012
By ,
california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this phone works really well. the service is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 28 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished
02/19/2012
By ,
Redding, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we love this phone! it is just what we needed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 29 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished
02/23/2012
By ,
Keshena, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered the phone with card, it actually came in earlier than expected and i had no trouble picking it up at my local wal-mart even thoe I forgot the confirmation paper all i needed was an id, great!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 30 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

great starting phone

08/02/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good for texting and pictures and many other stuff but isnt like an amazingly cool top rate phone with all the bells and wistles but yet is a vey good phone for a first phone!!! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+117points
Review 31 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Good Purchase

09/24/2011
By ,
Long Island,NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone seems to be sturdy enough for my tween. Service is good and she has no complaints. It was a good economical choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 32 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

For the money ths cell phone is very good!

11/15/2011
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This cell phone was a good buy as it came with the $30. card included in the price for the phone. It works well, the back of the phone fits well and it has a slider with keyboard so I can text. Cell phones are getting very expensive and I searched several online before deciding on this one and I'm not sorry I chose this one. I also bought the 18 month accidental protection plan since it is a refurbished phone. It's not fancy or colorful, but it's a good cell phone and I can text and take pictures and videos and that's all I really need.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 33 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Great phone for a beginner or someone older.

12/18/2011
By ,
Buford Area of Lancaster, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this phone about 6 months ago because my original straight talk phone did not pick up well at home. My original straight talk phone was one that ran off of Verizon towers and due to that out in the area where I live it wouldn't work. My biggest piece of advice for anyone wanting to get a straight talk phone is check which towers are working best in your area. Straight Talk typically runs off of 2 either Verizon or AT&T so make sure you know what kind of signal you will get from either services towers.
On a side note my mom had AllTel for years and never had any trouble with her phones reception until Verizon bought them out. She spent months trying to get the problem corrected including making several trips 20 miles into town to the verizon store so they could do a manual "push" on her phone in order to try to make it pick up the signal better. When that didn't work they told her if she would just buy her a new verizon wireless phone it would fix the issue, it didn't she still had issues with dropped calls, not getting the calls when someone would try to call her and not being able to call out. She is a 78 year old who is still trying to live independently who needs a phone that won't do that. I finally talked her into swapping to straight talk her first phone(she loved it btw) somehow got soaked and I got her another phone just like this one....she is now really loving it as she has finally learned how to text!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 34 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Very basic otherwise good phone

02/04/2012
By ,
hagerstown, md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We decided to down grade our phones to save money on our phone bill. We don't need anything fancey so these phones are great for us. They are very basic and nothing special about them. I would only recomend if you don't need any extras on your phone. Otherwise it's a great phone. I get service in areas that are normally hard to find service. Only $35 a month is the best deal for phone service. 1,000 minutes and 1,000 texts are more then enough for either of us. I have been telling all my friends about Straight Talk and telling them should make the switch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 35 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished
04/23/2012
By ,
Auburn, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great phone but you need the USB cable (not included) to utilize all its functions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Great phone for prepaid!

10/02/2011
By ,
Uniontown, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this for my 16 year old daughter to teach her responsibility for her own phone bill. It has been great for her because it is teaching her limits on the usage ($30 phone card so 1000 min, 1000 texts) and not to take for granted the value of her money she has to earn to put time on it. It is a great little phone and she has had no issues with no services or time limits. Love the fact she can look up her minute usage so she keeps track of it herself. Only wish it would show her her text usage because she doesnt know where she is with that and it seems to be her only complaint.
Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

GSM phone uses AT&T, not as good as Verizpn CDMA

10/22/2011
By ,
Tampa Bay, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yes, Great Deal. Phone & $30 Calling Card for $50. This is a GSM Phone.
Here in Tampa, Fl., Straight Talk (Wally World, aka: Wal Mart) uses the ATT, AT&T network for their GSM phones.
If you get a CDMA Wally World phone, it uses the Verizon network which has much better reception, coverage etc
FYI: The CDMA Signal is the most popular signal & best coverage in US (only), but the GSM network is the common World signal outside of the continental U.S., meaning the rest of the planet.
All Smart phones are GSM, so you better check & see if you have GSM coverage in your area before buying one.
P.S. On a surprise trip to San Juan, PR, our Wally World CDMA phones had No Service. Only a GSM phone worked in PR. Also, when you're activating your new phone online, turn the new phone off & on a few times, That seems to kick in the new activation. It's also good to do that once a day (or every few days) with your phone, it updates the software, works better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 38 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Like it!

10/30/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this phone because of a recommendation from a friend, and I have really liked it. I thought I'd chance it since it was just $20, and I haven't had any problems with it. I love the full keyboard and the screen is very clear to read. Service is excellent for where I am in Alabama. The only negatives are that I have to have the phone set just right to my ear to hear the conversation clearly because the speaker is tiny. However, I am figuring that out. The one frustrating thing is the auto lock. I wish I could set it on a longer timer, but you only have an option for on or off. So all in all, it's a great phone for what you pay for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

serves its purpose

11/02/2011
By ,
Whites Creek, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was fed up with paying Verizon and cannot get any discounts or etc... without having to sign a two year contract. I've had this phone for about a month and it serves its purpose. I make and recieve calls and text, surf the web (bonus for me) without the fear of being charged extra. So far I'm good with the phone and service. My wife is about to change too. Customer service is not like some people reviews say, they helped me with my setup without problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G GSM Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Good Messaging Phone

11/04/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great basic slider messaging phone with an INCREDIBLE prepaid no contract plan. Recommended to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 100 total reviews