Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone with $45 Card, Refurbished

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone with $45 Card, Refurbished

Get a top-of-the-line phone without the hassle of a phone bill with the Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone. This Straight Talk phone includes a 30 day service plan card with unlimited talk, unlimited text and MMS messaging, unlimited data and unlimited calls to 411 so you can get started right out of the box!
Average Customer Rating:
3.353 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(102 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
23
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation62%63 out of 101reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
23
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone with $45 Card, Refurbished

phone not bad for the money the service.....no way

02/21/2012
By ,
conroe tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
with the economy the way it is and needing three lines. Straight talk seemed the way to go....boy was i wrong.....i purchased the phones online line with site to store..no prob with that process. Bought three phones and unlimited monthly calling cards...long story short...after talking w 4 reps for straight talk as well as a manager , IT and wasting two days and several hours...still unable to answer phone calls on either of the three phones..Could only make calls to certain numbers but could send and receive texts on all phones...first i was told that yes they offer nation wide service , but not that you will get service nation wide.....that it was only guaranteed to work in my zip code...yep my zip...whats the use of a cell phone if u can only use at home...what a joke...well again they were wrong even at home still had the same prob. took all phones and air cards back for refund which was difficult....STRAIGHT TALK IS A JOKE walmart u should not carry or offer they're service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone with $45 Card, Refurbished

Great refurbished phone

08/29/2011
By ,
St. Petersburg fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Bought 2 refurbished phone. Been with At&t for 10 years and switched to Straight talk. Great service got both phones and went online and ported #'s over within an hour and both phone were working with our old #'s. Had 750 anytime minutes for 115.00 a month and now I'am saving about 60.00 a month and just had 200 text on both phones. Now we both have 1000 min. and 1000 text. The phone are not that great for the internet but if you are just texting and talk it is a great phone. You can't bet the 20.00 for the refurbished phones and the full slide out keyboard. I have better coverage with this phone than I did with my at&t phone.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone with $45 Card, Refurbished

Great phone for the money :)

08/24/2011
By ,
Summerville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first phone with the little keyboard. I love it. I had read mixed reviews about this phone but I haven't had any problems at all with it. It was pretty easy to figure everything out on it. I would definitely recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+89points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
leland
smart phone
Posted 03/07/2013
Would this phone be considered a smart phone. If not what is one and what would be the cheapest and most reliable.Thanks for any responses.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone with $45 Card, Refurbished

good value outdated phone...

08/26/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the phone is very heavy and bulky about double the size of our old samsung gravity but well that's straight talk. The plan works great out here in Mo works out in the country it's my 12yo's phone so the unlimited everything is def a big plus and you won't find a better deal on price unless you sign up for a contract. Took about a week to recieve in mail from walmart so not too bad faster then ordering straight from the company
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone with $45 Card, Refurbished

Would not buy again

08/23/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You could text and use data but could not make or accept calls. Talked with tech support for a very long time. They didn't think the phone excisted!
Finally returned it....frustrating.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone with $45 Card, Refurbished

phone does not work

08/24/2011
By ,
maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 2 of these phones I typed in my zip code and was told that they would work in my area.
They don't . I went on line to set up the phones, and found out they will not work in the area I live. I called straight talk and was given the run around and put on hold 6 times and put thru to 3 people. I was on the phone for 45 minutes. They were very rude told me I could ship the phones back but I would have to eat the cost of shipping and conformation of shipping of sending them back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Conway, NH
Return
Posted 09/17/2011
You should be able to return it to Walmart within 90 days of purchase
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone with $45 Card, Refurbished

As long as it keeps working it should okay

08/26/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'd give this phone 5 stars, except the camera function is a bit obtuse. In any case, why spend $80 or so on this year's model, when for $20 + $45 Straight Talk card, you're able to use a one year old model. After ~3 weeks it is working just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+24points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Bernardino CA
does this really come with a FREE $45 card?
Posted 12/05/2011
"Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone with $45 Card, Refurbished" actually comes with a FREE $45 CARD when you purchase this at Walmart.com for $65?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone with $45 Card, Refurbished

too many problems

08/06/2011
By ,
Tyler tx
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this phone about 6 months ago and I have had nothing but trouble from it. The trouble comes from not being able to make calls after buying the prepaid cards. Too many issues with codes and errors, have had to sit on the phone for almost an hour each time it messed up typing in code after code. It was a good buy, but the issues with it are not worth the value.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+36points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Problems
Posted 10/13/2011
I've used the Net10 version of this phone for over a year without issue. Well, without PHONE issues. The biggest problem with these phones is the service from the provider.
Once you have an active phone and as long as your careful to keep it active or are very careful to choose the right option to REactivate it so you don't lose your number and need help getting it back you'll have no problems. The providers are quite inept and obtuse when you are trying to get a question answered. Net20, Tracfone, and Straight Talk are all the same company which is why I posted this. I will say though that I have 2 of their phones and intend to stay with them because it is so cheap.
0points
Customer Avatar
NC
Card
Posted 09/02/2011
You might try going to the Straight Talk website and adding time that way. I couldn't tell from your comment if you know you have that option or not.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Bonham, Texas
Love this phone.
Posted 08/16/2011
I had used Metro for many years and had problems with reception. I got this phone and LOVE it. It works great. So glad that I got it.
+3points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone with $45 Card, Refurbished

Greal phone

11/15/2011
By ,
Lake Sinclair Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone is excellent BUT the molel ending in "G" (T401G) uses AT&T tower which I do not receive where I live. Had to buy Model ending in "C" which uses Verizon towers and works great. Model ending in "C" not available refurbished.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone with $45 Card, Refurbished

Does not work in my area

08/18/2011
By ,
Callaway, NE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this so that i could upgrade my straight talk phone and when it got here i went strait for the computer to transfer my number. and then I was told that this phone isnt excepted in my area even though i typed my zipcode in to make sure it would work. although the phone itself wont work in my area i can still put music on it and stuff like that.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone with $45 Card, Refurbished

Good phone. Don't get it for the video camera.

09/30/2011
By ,
Roanoke, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone is great! Easy to text on, and the operating system is not sluggish so switching in between task doesn't slow the phone down at all.
If I had a con it would be the Video camera.. The camera takes good pictures but the video camera is close to terrible. Very pixilated and NO sound.
If your going to purchase this phone, know that it runs on either the Att or the t-mobile network. When you get your phone, look at the SIM card. There are some numbers on it, and if yours says something like TF64SIMC4 (ending in C4) it runs off of the att network. So where att works, your phone will work.
Hope this helps!
Not a bad phone though.
Thanks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone with $45 Card, Refurbished

Carries through At&t

08/24/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got this phone from another site, although I thought I would warn all those looking at this package. The phone works with AT&T and does not get coverage in my zip code even though i put in my zip and said it was for that area. Well, just received the phone and card about 2 hours ago, and am still on hold trying to get the phone and phone card refunded due to no bars inside or outside of my home. Absolutely no service in my zip code!! (rural Ohio) Also was told that phones models from straigth talk that end with "G" have a SIM card which runs off of AT&T, so beware!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone with $45 Card, Refurbished

so far so good!

09/02/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this phone about a week ago so far so good! for the monety you could not beat it.. does everything including videos..not great memory but for phone it is good!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone with $45 Card, Refurbished

good phone

09/28/2011
By ,
hurlock md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i purchase this pnone off wal mart.com i activated at straight talk.com had my number from another carrier and had no problems with it it is one of the best phone i ever had i think it run on the at&t network i have no drop calls i like it very much
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone with $45 Card, Refurbished
08/08/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have lost call after call with this phone. Don't seem to matter what area I'm in, the phone constantly drop's calls.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rock Hill SC
This is a great PHONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 08/30/2011
This phone works great, i never have had drop calls , texting on this phone is great cause of the slideing keyboard, i had this phone for a year bofore i got the t528 touch screen another phone. People post all kind of bad reports on theese phones, and they are wrong, straight talks servie is great, i live where it is very hard to get a signal i get a great signal with straight talk. this is great for people who love to text cause it is easy and you can text fast on the keyboard.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone with $45 Card, Refurbished

GREAT PHONE!

12/29/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't speak to this phone as "refurbished" though the free $45 card makes this appear to be a great value. I will say it IS the best phone I have had. I purchased it over a year ago and have never had any problems at all. It works great as does the carrier for my zip code which is either T-Mobile or AT&T. The carrier depends on your zip code area and not the phone itself. Trac phone and Straight Talk use whatever is available in your area. That's why they always ask for a zip code to determine if you can use their phone.
Last month I bought TWO separate LG Optima smart phones from Walmart #using the Straight Talk Co.#, one to replace the first. BOTH disconnected in mid-call and once was I was driving and using the GPS #what a mess!#. In every instance #at least 8 times in a month# the battery was hot and the phone went completely black even though the battery was fully charged. Using the "on/off" switch did not work...had to remove the battery each time and re-insert it. Battery still showed as fully charged.
I returned both phones and am back to using my reliable Samsung SCH-R451C.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone with $45 Card, Refurbished
09/08/2011
By ,
Dennison,OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Bought This Phone As A Replacement And A Upgrade From A LG 220 Flip Phone That Was Junk I Read The Reviews On The LG 220 I Had That Phone Less Then A Month And Pulled It From My Pocket One Day And The Screen Was Cracked In Like 5 Places Will So Much For The Flip Phone I Have Had This Samsung For A Little Over A Month Now And Love It
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone
3.7 out of 5(143)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone with $45 Card, Refurbished
09/25/2011
By ,
Steubenville, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
camera is good when i email the pics they come out nice and clear but the video isn't that great. other wise great phone no problems i replaced by landline with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone with $45 Card, Refurbished

great phone for the money!!!

10/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Connects to facebook, and mobile internet. has great service, and slide out keyboard is very user friendly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung T401G Phone with $45 Card, Refurbished
09/08/2011
By ,
st.petersburg, fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phone does not work. I cannot make a phone call without putting it on speaker mode.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next