Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG 420G Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG 420G Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Get a top-of-the-line phone without the hassle of a phone bill with the Straight Talk LG 420G Prepaid Phone. Includes a 30 day service plan card with 1000 minutes, 1000 text and MMS messages, 30 MB data and calls to 411 at no extra charge so you can get started right out of the box! The refurbished Straight Talk Phone included with this plan is a hot LG 420C that boasts mobile web, a stylish flip phone design, a digital camera and video camera and lots of other useful features. The $30 Prepaid Straight Talk plan will go a long way for a full month of texting, talking, and data.
Average Customer Rating:
3.783 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation83%19 out of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk LG 420G Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished
08/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No way was this phone a refurb. It was brand new. Plastic wrap still on the cover. Reception is as good as anything I have used.
Pros: Practically free w/$30 service card. If you don't like it, you're only out $10. Battery life seems fine ... not 23 days of idle-time charge like LG claims, but not bad.
Cons: Poor selection of ring tones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+39points
Review 2 for Straight Talk LG 420G Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Best Bang For the Buck

10/06/2011
By ,
Las Vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Switched from Metro PCS to Straight Talk and couldn't be happier. No more dropped calls, better customer service and Straight Talk ported my Metro PCS number quickly. The phone itself is lightweight, easy to use and stylish. Battery life is better than expected for a cheaper model phone.
If you don't need all the bells and whistles of a smart phone, this is the phone for you. I would and will recommend the LG 420G phone and Straight Talk service to family and friends. Tried the Motorola 418 GSM first, but it had a bad internal antenna, returned it for the refurbished LG 420G and could not happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 3 for Straight Talk LG 420G Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

good phone

10/01/2011
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great design to carry in your pocket, reception is good, and it does what it's supposed to. The $30 plan is more than enough talk and text for me. The only issue is it's difficult to tell when the battery is getting low, a better display for battery life would make it perfect for what I want. I don't use the browser or text function much ... I just wanted a compact, dependable phone to carry with me and this is adequate.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 4 for Straight Talk LG 420G Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished
10/08/2011
By ,
Topsham,Maine
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this phone and a $30 card for $40,its a refurbished phone.I thought that was a deal as this was the first try with Straight Talk service.The phone is a low end phone but works good.It does not have alot of bells and whistles but songs can be bought from the Straight Talk web site.I may upgrade to a different phone down the road but for now this one works good.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 5 for Straight Talk LG 420G Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

ehh, it's okay

12/14/2011
By ,
ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I only purchased this phone after reading like 25 decent reviews. I bought it for a gentleman friend for Christmas who has never had or wanted a cell phone, but with our long distance relationship, I decided I wanted him to have one. I am pleased with it to a point, it does take decent pictures, the signal seems to be strong, the only problem is the memory. It doesn't seem to have very much memory (unable to open a text with a ringtone, etc.) I would look into that before you purchase. Also, when activating the phone, we did it online, and expected it to work immediately, but it said "emergency calls only." I called the activation hotline and spoke to a robotic, foreigner who knew less about the plan than I did. She was no help whatsoever, and after about 15 minutes or so, the phone slowly began to work and the ability to make and receive calls enabled. My advice is be patient in that respect.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Straight Talk LG 420G Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Works fine for a plain phone.

11/03/2011
By ,
Near Austin, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my husband. He wanted a flip phone again,with a camera. Getting harder to find these, but this one seems sturdy and works fine. No complaints except now he wishes texting wasn't so tedious since it doesn't have a qwerty keyboard. This is his first Straight Talk phone. It was very easy to activate online at their website. It works on AT& T towers around here, so calls are clear and hardly ever dropped, even though we live in the "sticks", away from big cities.
I opted for the LG900G phone, but WalMart no longer carries it. I had to go to Straight Talk website to order it. It has more features, and I can access Facebook and the web(slow),but mostly love it that I have a qwerty keyboard for texting easily!!! Keyboard is not huge, but neither are my fingers. Love this phone! Wish WalMart would offer it!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Straight Talk LG 420G Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Excellent bundle for new cell phone users.

12/26/2011
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Straight Talk phone and 1 month card is an excellent way to get started with a cell phone. The price is cheaper than any other plans and Straight Talk has excellent coverage. The best part is, there is no contract to tie you down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Straight Talk LG 420G Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Nice flip phone for the price

11/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super deal with the card. This is one of the best straight talk flip phones I have had....Again super for the price with the card.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 9 for Straight Talk LG 420G Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Very Poor Service

01/23/2012
By ,
Denton, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't know if it was the phone (refurbished) or the service. Most of the time when placing a call there was no ringing sound - just silence on the line & if someone answered you couldn't hear them. On the other end, the person receiving the call would actually get the call but when they answered it there was only silence. Most of the time you could receive a call on the phone but, occasionally, when you answered there was only silence.
I'm glad it was only $30 dollars & included minutes. I switched to Virgin Mobile - it's only $10 more for unlimited everything.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Straight Talk LG 420G Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Great phone for free

01/30/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this phone to test the straight talk network as I have tried other networks in the past and was not satisfied after spending alot more cash for the initial start up.
The cost was $30.00 and came with a $30.oo phone card and a phone. The phone does what I need it to, makes phone calls and does text messages...The phone was free so it is a great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Straight Talk LG 420G Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished
12/24/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The reconditioned phones are absolutly usless. They DO NOT work and cost you many hours on the phone with people that you can't understand. Then all you do is regret your choice. and go back to where you were
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Review 12 for Straight Talk LG 420G Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Ok phone when it will charge.

10/23/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the phone is ok I guess but from the day I received this phone the battery WILL NOT HOLD A CHARGE ! I have to find somewhere to buy a new battery.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 13 for Straight Talk LG 420G Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

a waste of money

02/08/2012
By ,
Sparta, nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
took several calls to straight talk to to be told at last this phone will not work in my area sounds like it will only work off att towers
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 14 for Straight Talk LG 420G Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished
11/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phone and it came with the phone card all for 43 total cannot beat that deal!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Straight Talk LG 420G Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

Simple, cost effective.

02/09/2012
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is perfect for me. I make and receive calls. I don't do anything else with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Straight Talk LG 420G Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished
12/14/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beginner phone starting out on Straight Talk - works nicely
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Straight Talk LG 420G Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

very basic but works well

02/01/2012
By ,
Ewen, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
phone is very light. works well. great speaker
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Straight Talk LG 420G Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished

great phone

02/03/2012
By ,
oakland,park florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great phone and service
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Straight Talk LG 420G Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished
01/26/2012
By ,
New Bern, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love it....great phone
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Straight Talk LG 420G Phone with $30 Card, Refurbished
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5