Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Monster High Monster High Digital Video Recorder

Monster High Monster High Digital Video Recorder

The Monster High Digital Video Recorder lets your child capture memorable moments on video. Easy to use and recommended for ages 7 and older, it helps develop and encourage your little one's creativity. This digital video recorder with camera features a screen that can tilt up to 180 degrees for convenient viewing of recorded images and to help kids frame their shots. With a 5.1MP sensor, the recorder captures images in sharp detail and clarity. Besides video, it can also capture still images, recording memorable moments and pictures of family and friends. With a built-in microphone, the Monster High video recorder also captures sound and speech clearly. The unit integrates a 1.8" screen for video and photo playback. You can watch the videos caught on TV directly with the included TV in/out AV cable, making it easier for everyone to share and see both movies and pictures.
Average Customer Rating:
2.812 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation44%7 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 33 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Monster High Digital Video Recorder

Very Disappointing

08/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this camera for my 5 year old daughter. Although she loves the camera, it is not worth the money. I paid 30 dollars for this product in the store.
The screen is small and provides poor quality videos and pictures. The screen pops out so you can take, "selfies" but the screen is so small, its hard to get a good picture.
The picture editor disk that comes w/ the product is it's best feature, although it can provide more stickers and designs to edit pic. Attached is a picture that we created w/ the disc. I think it was cute!
I would not recommend this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Monster High Digital Video Recorder

best money spent overall for Christmas!!!

01/02/2012
By ,
Toledo, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it feels flimsy and light, but it sustains drops pretty well. I wouldnt reccommend throwing it down the stairs or anything lol. Very good picture and recording is crystal clear... I was really suprised at how good the actual functions were. I figured the product would have a blurry picture or something along those lines but it didnt. I just love it. The kids do too!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+89points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Monster High Digital Video Recorder

Excellent for kids

01/02/2012
By ,
Puerto Rico
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was a Christmas gift for my niece, and she's in love with her camera + camcorder. It takes pictures in color and is children friendly. For the price, you can't ask for more. Love it !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Monster High Digital Video Recorder

Fun for kids, especially monster high fans!

02/10/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a fun basic camera, but my daughter (10 years) was very disappointed to receive it and learn that it has no internal memory and so she had to wait to purchase a SD card in order to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
cool we like it alot
Posted 05/18/2013
Its a good gift for you kid or something it comes out really clear i though 34$ was down the drain but its not its cool i like it
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Monster High Digital Video Recorder
12/29/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my 6 yr old daughter & she loves it! It was a great price for a starter camera & she is having fun with it. Its not the best quality pics, but like I said- perfect for a starter!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Monster High Digital Video Recorder

great video recorder for a child

11/24/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my daughter is going to love this recorder, it shows wonderful, I'm going to have to watch what I do around her, so I don't end up on youtube, she's going to think she's a producer now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Monster High Digital Video Recorder

Fun Lil Camera

01/01/2012
By ,
Austin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our 9 yr old was thrilled when she opened this on Christmas day. It's cute, takes ok photos and video and has software so they can create fun stuff with their photos on the computer. Would not say the picture/video quality is great but it's an overall good camera for a kid to start out with.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Monster High Digital Video Recorder

Piece of Junk.

06/03/2013
By ,
Rogers, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm so sad money was wasted on this. Almost instantly after opening it, it started having problems. No matter which memory card (even brand new) we put in it, it only lets my daughter take 2 pictures! We've reset and reformatted the card multiple times. Plus the software worked one time, before crashing, and won't open now either. Total waste of money. Don't buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Monster High Digital Video Recorder

I would recommend this!

11/25/2011
By ,
Mcminnville Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my Sister in-law for Christmas! fast shipping! great price, better then any other I have found on the internet. Can't wait to see her face when she opens it on Christmas! Thank you Walmart for this awesome deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Monster High Digital Video Recorder
01/25/2012
By ,
Long Island, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this camara for my 7 year old daughter for Christmas and it is truly a disappointment. I was able to find this at a local walmart after searching for it at other stores. When she opened it for Chrismas she was not immidiately able to use it because you do need a memory card. Not sure if packaging stated need memory card. Then the video image was really bad. And when she turned on what I thought to be a bright light , which I thought would help with the image. But it did not. Your better off buying the $20 video camara if you want bad video recording. Totally not worth the $40 plus tax that was spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Monster High Digital Video Recorder
11/26/2012
By ,
WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
On the recorder, it says Mattel. Just to share some info, it is not by Mattel. Sakar is the company that makes this recorder and they are using Mattel on the product. Sakar also makes Vivitar products, so if you have had problems with their products, this won't be much better.
I bought this yesterday, put the SD card in (less than 16GB like the manual says) and it gave a "Card Protect" reading. I was not able to format the card or anything, so it will not take pictures. The product is a cute idea, but it needs some work. I was very disappointed with this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Monster High Digital Video Recorder

Christmas gift for my granddaughter

12/07/2013
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not quite sue how it works yet but as far as service it was fantastic product came faster than they said love shopping online with Walmart and pay later is great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Monster High Digital Video Recorder

Not the picture quality I expected.

01/18/2012
By ,
Parker, CO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My 6 year old daughter was so excited to get this camera/camcorder that was Monster High. She loves everything Monster High. Well the picture quality is not what we expected at all. I know this is not a Cannon or Nikon 8 BILLION MEGA PIXEL but the playback mode for the view window is very grainy and the picture shots come out very dark "lighting-wise". I was not very impressed and for $43.00 with tax, not worth the money. My daughter enjoys it but she has even commented that the quality on the display window from the pictures and videos she has taken are not that great. Maybe she got used to playing with mommy's camera a little to much so has higher expectations but her mom had higher expectations as well and didn't think this camera was just a toy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Monster High Digital Video Recorder

Waste of money !!

12/24/2013
By ,
sonora,ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor quality pictures , Don't waste your money ! Maybe worth $5.00
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Monster High Digital Video Recorder

no sd card?

03/11/2012
By ,
WEST VIRGINIA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought a sd card to put in it because it didnt come with one and once the sd card was put in it still would not work. U hit the ok button to take picture with out, it says no sd card so you put on in and it and try to take picture and it wont do anything and no buttons work at all untill to take the card out. Ihad to send back while the company sent me another one because they was sold out at the store i bought it and it was my daughters 10 birthday gift
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Monster High Digital Video Recorder

Hoped for a little better

01/08/2012
By ,
Buffalo, MN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We gave this to our 6-yr-old daughter for Christmas. She was completely thrilled with it, but we all quickly learned how poor the videos were on it. I kind of wish I'd just bought a used flip cam instead. I doubt she'll play with this one much even thought she loves the idea of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.