Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

If you want to buy a durable, affordable smart phone with plenty of interesting features, the Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone is a great option. Features such as Wi-Fi connectivity and 3G let you connect to your world even if you are on the go. Capture memorable moments with this video-capable 3G smart phone that comes with a 2 megapixel camera. You can save up to 2000 entries in the phone book. The large 3.0" touch screen allows you to access menu and other features with ease. With nearly six hours of talk time and ten hours of standby, the Straight Talk GSM Phone is a great choice for people who are looking for a smart phone at an inexpensive price. This prepaid phone kit comes with a battery, charger, and a service guide.
Average Customer Rating:
2.744 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(754 Reviews) 598
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
157
4 stars
151
3 stars
79
2 stars
76
1 star
291
Customer Recommendation47%353 out of 753reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
157
4 stars
151
3 stars
79
2 stars
76
1 star
291
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Best Phone I've Ever Owned

07/31/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I've been very pleased with this phone.
Disclaimer: Up front you should know that runs on the AT&T network so if AT&T doesn't have good coverage in your area I'd look for a different phone. I also wouldn't recommend this phone for those who aren't at least a little tech savy because there is a slight learning curve to use it. Those with large, wide fingers may find this phone frustrating because of the touch screen features with small buttons. In addition, for anyone who needs to buy the $45 phone plan for the unlimited internet access, there are other Straight Talk phones out there (Nokia E71 GSM) that navigate the web better than this one.
Ok, had to get that out of the way. If you're still reading here is my review:
Pros:
- Good voice clarity/volume during calls, touch Screen, Full QWERTY keyboard (turn phone horizontal to access), good reception (for me anyway in Georgia), several useful basic features (calculator, alarm, speaker phone, camera), 3G Internet, reasonable price, facebook works fine for me
Cons:
- Touch screen keyboard is a bit too small for my tastes but I make it work (I'm 6 feet tall with slender fingers), some features aren't intuitive, touch screen takes some getting used to, navigating websites can be cumbersome
Overall, I'm loving this phone and the Straight Talk plan. I was locked into a 2 year contract with AT&T before this using an inferior phone and paying like $75 a month (after extra charges and taxes) for less minutes, texting, and no data usage. $30 a month brings a smile to my face when I think about how much I'm saving!
If you're a heavy internet user on your phone and plan on getting the $45 a month data plan for unlimited web access, I would consider the Nokia E71 GSM. Great reviews and plenty of features. I went with this phone because I'm just a casual internet phone user at this point so the $30 plan makes sense for me.
If you do buy this phone here are some basic tips to help you get started that may save you a little frustration:
-Once service is turned on for the phone, you can call your voice mail and set it up by dialing 1 and calling. Important: While listening to voice mails, you can press the dial button in the bottom left hand corner of the touch screen to access the number keys you'll need to skip/delete voice mail messages etc.
- When someone calls you, there will be a button on the touch screen that you can hold for like 2 seconds to answer the call (takes far too long to do this). It's much easier to answer if you just hit the green "send" button that's actually physically part of the phone in the bottom left hand corner.
-If the touch screen isn't locked while you're on the phone with someone, it's likely that you'll inadvertently put the call on hold or put it on speaker because your ear will be touching buttons on the screen. Just remember that you can lock and unlock the screen with the top right button that's physically on the side of the phone.
-You'll notice that a "widget" menu is accessible on the left hand side of the screen if you hold the arrow button on the far left side of the screen. Widgets are basically shortcuts to features and they can be useful if you don't mind the icons cluttering up your screen. If you accidentally drag a widget onto your screen you don't want, you can get rid of it by opening the widget menu and then dragging the unwanted widget back on the opened widget menu on the left hand side of the screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2,051points
Read Comments (9)
Read Comments (9)
Customer Avatar
New Philadelphia, OH
SIM?
Posted 04/02/2013
Does this phone have a SIM card in it?
0points
Customer Avatar
Mercerburg PA
Posted 03/05/2013
i love this phone it is awesome and i can browse the web and it was very cheap and no contract it is my first touch screen phone i mainly love the keyborad it is so awesome when i text and get6 on the web and download music the phone is great its the best cheap phone i have bought yet andilm only 18 so that a great
0points
Customer Avatar
Manchester, KY
Liking this phone very much!
Posted 05/25/2012
I bought this phone at Walmart as an upgrade to my older Samsung Slider phone that I've had for a while now and I must say it has been a good phone even if it does take some gettin used to. In my area, our primary towers are either AT&T or Verizon so this phone works very well here. So far, I've had this phone for probably about 3 weeks and I like how clear it is when u're talking to someone and how easy it is to access u're apps. I have the WiFi connectivity option with my home network but I don't really use it that often although it does work well. The smaller space between buttons on the virtual keyboard and dialing pad do take some time to get used to but overall this is really a good phone for those that want to go look at their Facebook or Myspace occasionally and enjoy the clear sound quality when talking to friends/family on the phone. My old AT&T contract phone was okay but I had less signal where I live even though they were our primary cell phone provider and Straight Talk's Unlimited plan is really the best hassle-free mobile service u can buy. I'm glad that Walmart is able to provide a good selection of these phones without the hassle of lengthy contracts.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Yeah, except for text entry
Posted 08/29/2011
I mostly agree with the review, except text entry on this phone is really awful. It makes an otherwise phone unusable to me. Very frustrating to actually type out a text message on this phone.
+1point
Customer Avatar
homr
Posted 08/18/2011
I was so excited to see this phone and it said it would work inmy 88130 area . I purchased the phone and took it home to activate it and was told by straight talk customer service that it would not work in our area because it has a sim card. we tried a different zip code for a nearby town and it still wouldny work. so very sad cause i really wanted the touch phone
+1point
Customer Avatar
AT&T
Posted 08/17/2011
The comment from kendmeonpa is wrong. This is a GSM phone that runs on AT&T. Straight Talk's CDMA phones run on Verizon, but this is not one of them. The G in "T528G" identifies this as an AT&T network GSM phone.
+5points
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/14/2011
this phone does not run on att is runs on tracfone and verison not att
-7points
Customer Avatar
Caller ID Feature A Problem
Posted 08/06/2011
Would like for someone to tell me how long it takes for them to change caller ID to my name. It still shows previous person's name who had this phone number before me. I have called Straight Talk and they say they can't fix anything with caller ID, that it is up to AT& T to update it, and it takes 72 hours to do it. I am 1 week owning this phone and it still comes up on caller Id in someone else's name, so of course many people don't answer when i call.I paid $99.00 dollars for this phone and took out the auto 45.00 a month plan. I am thinking of canceling this plan if they don't fix the caller ID soon. Otherwise i do like the phone itself.
-2points
Customer Avatar
Brandon, MS
Pleased!
Posted 08/04/2011
Great phone and service. With Wi-fi you do not use up your data allotment on the $30 plan if are @a hot spot. Old phone number ported within 2 hours. Tech support not great but had no trouble reaching them. Tech support said you had to enter all numbers manually and that they could not be transferred via blue-tooth. After new phone activated I TRANSFERRED ENTIRE CONTACTS LIST VIA BLUETOOTH Would like to rearrange my apps but so far have not found out how to do this. Would like to have my most used apps on the first page of apps. Good voice quality unlike my previous StraightTalk Lg900. Also on the full querty keyboard the key pad is small and easy to make typos.
+3points
Read Comments (9)
Read Comments (9)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

So glad I didn't see the bad reviews...

08/09/2011
By ,
Clearwater FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was excited to see a touch screen phone on Straight Talk and it being a Samsung phone I didn't look at any reviews I just ordered it online. The next day I got online again and looked at the horrible reviews people had on it, made me regret my decision. I got my phone yesterday, and besides the fact that it runs through AT&T and my old phone was on Verizon its been a great phone. I sent my contacts over via bluetooth, and set up wifi no problems. Downloaded real ringtones just to put to rest the review that said it couldn't. The touch screen is fine, typing on it takes a little time to get used to but overall its easy to operate. I don't get as good a signal in the house with this phone because its different towers than before but so far its been great. Internet isn't great but it's not bad. Nice screen quality and sound is great. My signal strength has only been an issue inside my home, and nobody gets service at my house with any network, verizon sometimes would hold a bar or 2. battery life is good. Overall I am satisfied with it's ease of use, quality of product, and functions of phone. I would buy it again and after reading some of the reviews all I could do was wait and see. Get your own opinion and decide for yourself!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+685points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Riverview,Florida
I would like to offer you a little advice.
Posted 03/09/2013
Hey my friend, I have a different straight talk phone and my signal was weak also. I called support and they ran some test for my phone and it fixed my problem.
I am so glad I did , From no bars to three and four bars.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone

08/24/2011
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok, first off, All the reviews made me not want to get this phone, then I decided to give it a try. I'm happy I have now cuz it's nothing what they say really. YES it does have it's occasional times when it will restart itself, but that's only since it needs to reset it's memory to where it can run everything you have it doing. I haven't tried the Wi-Fi on this phone yet considering I don't have access to wireless, but it does pick em up and tells you if they are locked or not. YOUTUBE can not be watched unless you have it on a Wi-Fi connection. Calling is great, it's clear. Picks up service better than my former LG 620G did. 3G connectivity makes web browsing a breeze. The pictures it takes is pretty good and clear. It does run on AT&T so check to see how well they cover your area before picking up one of these phones.
Ok so the complaints on the phone I've seen is buttons on the screen being too small. I have pretty good sized fingers and till I used to it, I had a hard time. Over time you learn how to hit the buttons right (in my case just two days). Currently can not find apps that work good on it, yet it does come with Facebook, Twitter, and Myspace preloaded on it. I use the facebook app and it's pretty nice. Has a standard headphone jack like what you would find on an MP3 player so you can hook up and listen to your music. IT WILL BROWSE THE WEB AND TEXT AND EVERYTHING WHILE PLAYING YOUR MUSIC UNLIKE SOME PHONES. The screen has a lock on it, on the side is a lock button, you push that it locks it up. On the screen you can hold a button and it unlocks, or on the side you can hold the lock button and that will unlock it. It is a little slow at booting up, but look at everything it has to load on a small device. I would say no more than 1 minute, if that, it will be ready to go. You can link your email with this phone and when you get an email it will notify you (it's not instant, but it lets you know when you get an email). It has three homepages (all with custom different backgrounds if you want) that hold your widgets.
Summary: Video Recording, Video Playback, Pictures, Browser, Games, MP3 player, full qwerty keyboard (when turned sideways), Bluetooth, Wi-Fi Connectivity, Voice recognition, and Much More.
Widgets: Facebook, Browser, Date, Google Search, Video, Pictures, Music Player, "sticky notes", Bluetooth, Weather, and more.
Note--The Widgets are shortcuts on the home pages that make accesing stuff faster. The Facebook widget shows the status updates right on your homepage of the phone.
Apps: Facebook, Twitter, Myspace
Overall a Great phone so don't hesitate to get it (if AT&T covers your area). Some of these people with reviews are comparing it to a much more expensive phone more than likely and that's why they rated it badly.
AND please get screen protectors to keep it working great. Just find some for around 5 dollars that are universal and cut them to size. This will ensure that your screen does work properly for the years to come.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+495points
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Good upgrade from basic cell phone, affordable

08/13/2011
By ,
north Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I bought two of these phones this week, and so far, we have been very pleased. We had been using AT&T's Go Phone service, but the phones we had were very basic: no texting, no web access. We had researched getting a normal phone plan and our other prepaid options and decided to go with this phone and the unlimited talk, text, and web option.
This runs on the AT&T network (which we knew covered all the areas we live, work, and travel), so we have not had any difficulties with dropped calls or connecting to the 3G network so far. We bought the phones at a Wal-mart store and took them home to activate them ourselves. My husband had both phones activated and was already surfing the Internet and making calls on his in less than half and hour.
Our main goal with these phones was to be able to text, do a little surfing on the web, and check personal email from our phones. It's met our expectations in these areas.
However, it is not perfect. The widgets are sometimes difficult to put back on the widget menu. The user guide that comes with the phone only discusses the most basic features. You have to do the online tutorials or view the more extensive user guide that is available on the Straight Talk website to really figure out how to do more than just the most basic things (and to troubleshoot problems). It's app enabled, but the Samsung app store has very little to offer behond calculators and calendars.
Also, I used the email configuration wizard to try and connect to my personal email, and it didn't work. I had to look at the online user guide to figure out how to access the email account settings and then compare them to the instructions for POP3 access provided by my email provider (It turns out that much of the server and port information that the email configuration wizard had automatically entered was incorrect.). Once I corrected the settings, my email started downloading to the phone.
If you are moving away from a basic cell phone and want something with more features, but don't want to pay for the services you have to have for the iPhones and Android phones, then this is a good option for you (as long as AT&T provides good coverage in your area). If you want a top-of-the-line smartphone and access to large numbers of apps, this would not be the one for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+226points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
h.i.
straighttalk phones
Posted 03/15/2013
we have had your service and the whole time its has always been some problem. we live on hatteras inland n.c. ande really need phones!!!! just need someone to speak english, would help!!! as of today just almost got one working and the other went down . all new phones. even our customer service person that was very helpful did not like the service. i know something is not right when 2 phones or more come back with some kind of problem!!!!! OH WELL, now we know. dont buy one1
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

OK...

07/18/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great price, good that it can use a $30 card and when you can get online it is really clear. I have had lots of problems with the browser and the FB app not connecting or timing out. I do not get good reception either. It has really good features and I wish I had better reception and I would probably keep it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+211points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
MS
Please Read ----- Do Not Buy This Phone
Posted 05/11/2012
I purchased this phone in Nov, and by Feb my screen would lock-up and I could not send or receive text messages. So, I called customer service they asked what the problems were I stated my issue. I had to send them my phone before they would send me a new one and I finally get the phone a fews days later and wouldn't you know it I am still having some of the same issued but new ones too. It locks-up, shut-down on it's on, drop calls and I hardly get any one my text messages. And when I call about it, all they can say is they can send me a new one, of the same kind of phone. I'm on phone number 2 and my issues with it keep growing. Now they can only give me a 5 day credit for my issue. So, please Do Not Purchase, you will be disappointed. Highly...
+4points
Customer Avatar
Thank you
Posted 03/27/2012
Your answer to my question is very helpful. It does state that this type of phone is a smartphone.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Indiana
Do NOT buy this phone!
Posted 03/04/2012
This is the worst phone I have ever had. The company has had to replace it twice already and I've only had it for 2 months. I asked for a different kind and they can't do that. I asked if they have to replace this model a lot and they said yes! You are supposed to be able to reload it online, but that doesn't work. When you call customer service, expect to be on the phone for at least 30-40 minutes and get no help. The texting is always going out. Just completely awful.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Colorado
Posted 01/19/2012
I am very dissapointed with this phone. Although i like some of the features, this phone has some major issues. The date, time and service days frequently change snd it goes into emergency calls only when i have plenty of minutes and should get service. The touch screen is difficult to use, the browser usually doesnt respond. I have had it for about 4 months and i am looking to replace it. It was a waste of money.
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Worst Phone Ever

07/20/2011
By ,
central PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've only had my phone not even 3 days and from the very beginning it's been one headache after another. I've experienced volume loss during EVERY call in which the person on the other end can hear me but I cannot hear them, there is nothing but DEAD SILENCE on my end. This results in me having to hang up and call the person back only to have it continue happening! And when that's not occuring then I get a loud consistant buzzing sound over the phone which causes both parties not to hear the other person. Again have to hang up and dial the person back up. This is extremely annoying after having to do it 3 times in a 15 minute period and if you are a heavy call user like I am you will want to rip your hair out in frustration! So this has been happening since day 1. Now today I am no longer able to make or accept calls. And SOMETIMES my texting will work but most of the time it won't. My screen keeps freezing up and won't unlock. Oh and did I mention my browser won't download pages such as Facebook. I keep getting an error message. I'm just frustrated all around and I'd really love more than anything to get my money refunded on my calling card that I haven't been able to use. This is rediculous. The phone is only 3 days old and I've been having problems from day 1.
I've called ST customer service - no answer, I've emailed them - again no answer, and I've tried contacting them online via their FB support page. . .NOTHING! I've notice numerous complaints regarding their customer service and their unwillingness to help!
What's even more frustrating is that I had Net10 service, which I loved and have had NO problems with, to straight talk specifically for THIS phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+226points
Read Comments (7)
Read Comments (7)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Phone Has Some Problems, But All Can Be Fixed
Posted 02/27/2012
Had the same problem with it constantly rebooting. Called Customer Service and they gave me a code to enter the cut the rebooting down by 90%.
The Dauphin browser that comes with it is bad. Just download Opera Mini. It's like lightening when you're hooked to WiFi. The Opera site has more compatible apps (most are free) for this phone than anybody else. Download the app "Memory Up" and use it about mid-day. The phone reboots because the memory needs to be reset. This app does it in about 5 seconds. Hardly any more reboots.
Lot of people whine about this phone, but all the problems I've seen in the reviews can be fixed. Takes a little time and effort, but for a $99 phone and only $45 bucks a month for unlimited EVERYTHING, it's well worth it. At least with Straight Talk, unlimited means UNLIMITED, unlike most of the "major" carriers, who say unlimited, but then throttle back your data usuage when they think you used too much.
Get my email, text, talk and surf as much as I want, without going broke. Takes a little getting used to, but wouldn't go back to my Blackberry or iPhone for anything. Had far more problems with iPhone.
-1point
Customer Avatar
needs some getting used to.
Posted 09/25/2011
I just got this phone 3 days ago and it took some getting use to...the touch screen while typing is very sensitive and it seems you have to retry getting the right letter several times...and the widgets that pop out of the widget bar can be difficult to get back into...but all in all it is a great phone...the more I use it the easier it does get.
I found on myxer.com that you can find ringtones, you can create your own wallpaper and free apps for this model...I've not downloaded any apps, but I have downloaded ringtones & wallpaper with ease.
+4points
Customer Avatar
Florida
:/
Posted 09/20/2011
When I bought mine on yhe first of september it took me a little bit to get used to it. I didnt have problems with the calling like you did at first. I use the phone all night and the next morning however by noon I couldnt open up messaging, I could finally open the browser but none of the websites would respond, and my address book wouldnt open. It took all day long of waiting to get in touch with the Straight Talk people and they tried every possible thing they could to reset my phone and finally she told me it had to be a problrem with the actual phone. So I took it back and got a replacement which works alot better. I have lost several phone calls only to find out my ear was hitting the mute button or cancel button cause the screen was unlocked.l my phone randomly shuts off and wont open internet or messaging for about 3 minutes after restarting itself but other than that I love my phone and its really not a problem. You could just have a bad phone and need to replace it?
+2points
Customer Avatar
DON'T BE FOOLED!!
Posted 09/16/2011
If you are an iphone user, thinking you are going to save money by purchasing this phone, and a straight talk plan, STOP NOW!! You WILL be greatly disappointed. This phone doesn't even come close. Specifically, the web browser works maybe 25% of the time. Be prepared to see "this page is too large to display" etc... Touch screen is a frustrating joke, as is the sound quality on this phone. When I brought the phone home, and tried to activate it online, I was told I would need to speak with customer service. Multiple transfers and literally HOURS on the phone, I was told I would have to have a new SIM card mailed to me to activate my phone. The phone was brand new with a SIM card in it!! Literally, it took days to get phone service. 3 frustrating weeks later, I am returning to my previous cell phone carrier. Again, don't be fooled, this is essentially a Tracfone. Straight talk is just a different name they use. While customer service reps. were pleasant, and tried to help, the language barrier is a huge problem. Believe me, I spoke with several of them.
,
+3points
Customer Avatar
Carolina
Take it back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 09/07/2011
I recently purchased a straight talk phone and the associate told me I had 15 days to "get to know" the phone and if I was not satisfied I could return it or exchange. I could upgrade or get a cheaper phone. I like my phone, although the qwerty slide feature isn't as easy to use as I thought i wold be and the browser is totally not what I wanted, but I like the phone and will keep it until I can afford an iPhone which will probably ne never because I think anyone who would pay 400 or 500 for a phone is a little too tech addicted. Nothing is THAT important. Just take the phone back, The associates wont grow fangs and eat you, they are really pretty nice at Wally world, well, most of them are.
+3points
Customer Avatar
smyrna, tn
do yu have to connect to wi-fi to get on the web
Posted 09/05/2011
such as facebook, email, etc
-2points
Customer Avatar
MN
Just a thought
Posted 09/02/2011
You may want to go back to the store you bought it at....at the very least the connection center associate should be able to get through to a live person on the phone. Good Luck :)
+1point
Read Comments (7)
Read Comments (7)
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone For the Money

08/08/2011
By ,
Daytona Beach Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for about three months and love it! For a $99.00 phone this has allot of nice features like WiFi connect which allows you to use WiFi hot spots to check the web, email, you tube, etc. (and not count against your mobile web time) it does have more internet features when connected to WiFi than mobile web but still very functional. If you think that this phone will do everything that a three hundred dollar phone from one of the major carriers will do, you better go to them and spend $100.00 a month for their service(and don't forget the two year contract) But if you want a nice full feature phone for under $100.00 this is a great phone. I agree with one of the other post that the phone is small, and if you have big finger's it may not be for you, but for me it has been something I can live with given there is no contract and the ability to have all this for $30.00 a month is a huge plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+52points
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Terrible in almost every way...

07/31/2011
By ,
Washington, D.C.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sorry about the long review, but this phone deserves it!
We had existing Straight Talk service, and wanted to upgrade to a phone that was better for going on the internet then our existing Samsung slider phone. We were going to go with the Nokia E71 smartphone, but the day after we ordered, they came out with this Samsung T528. While not a smartphone, it had a large touchscreen, and was "app capable". Well, we decided to give it a try. Big, big mistake.
Everything about this phone is complicated, obtuse or just doesn't work. The touchscreen is somewhat responsive...but even when it works, the icon will change color to show it is selected, but it never opens or does whatever it is supposed to do. This is especially true of the screen lock - you are supposed to touch and hold an icon to unlock the phone, but it takes two or three tries before it works. That gets me to the next point...the interface is horrible. Beyond the initial simplicity of it being a touchscreen, there is nothing intuitive, there is nothing easy, and it is generally ridiculously difficult to do anything with the phone. The shortcut icons on the front page (messages, voice mail, etc.) are unnecessarily tiny. There is no way to change the automatic voicemail number in the phone, so the voicemail icon is useless anyway. It takes an obscene number of taps to do anything, especially messaging. The accelerometer that is supposed to display the querty keyboard when you turn the phone sideways doesn't work unless you shake it a few times. As for the keyboard itself, the letters are so small you almost need a stylus to select them, and so close together you never get the letter you want. You are constantly hitting incorrect letters and having to hit the backspace key...which is another fatal flaw in this phone. The backspace key is right above the send key!! I cannot tell you how many times my wife has tried to delete a letter in a half-written text, and sent the darned thing instead...and every one counts against your monthly allotment. When you are in a call, the number pad disappears...and you have to click and hold small button on the side in order to get the number keys back. We have randomly lost part or all of the contacts in the phone multiple times now, with no idea how or why...they have just disappeared. As for the apps, well, there aren't any. There is a Facebook and Twitter one, but that is about it. The "apps" are Samsung specific, and their website is still under construction. It does run a crippled version of Java, but this model is not listed on the Java app websites I have been to. One big reason we got it was for the Wi-Fi...which, of course, doesn't work. When I try connecting to our home network, it says "No Wi Fi App Found"...and I just got done telling you there are no other apps available! It's crazy!
The phone itself is very small and light, but subsequently feels very cheap. The voice quality is so-so, and the signal strength is poorer than our last phone.
It is unfortunate, I have absolutely nothing good to say about this phone. We've been giving it a try for two weeks, and we just hope Walmart will take it back without the box!!!! We're going back to the old phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+85points
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

EXCELLENT SAMSUNG T528G BEST PHONE STRAIGHT TALK !

07/31/2011
By ,
BENNETTSVILLE SOUTH CAROLINA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw this in walmart and bought one and it is the best phone by straight talk, i love all the features and it is awsome, had no problems what so every and it is at a good price to compared to their other touch screen phone. :) A+++ I love it, it is similiar to the smasung solotice and i got got a rubber silicone case and i recommend this phone to all
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+50points
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Shop, then buy this phone and plan !

08/30/2011
By ,
New Hartford, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After Verizon shut us down for not using our phone often enough, we went cell-free for a few years. But needing to order pizza from a distance brought us back.
Fortunately, I searched for the perfect PDA for such a long time that they went extinct before I could decide which to pick. It was not nearly so difficult choosing this phone instead.
Figure out what you want and need from a cell-phone then buy something better than this if you are willing to pay outrageous monthly fees on top of a high phone price. Set aside a couple of thousand dollars in case you like it or don't.
Better yet, buy this Samsung for $100.00, pay $45.00 for an unlimited month of trying it out and go from there. We did that and are very pleased. Next month we'll switch to the limited $30.00 plan so we can find out how much "stuff" we're using (the unlimited plan can't tell you that). Then we'll go with one or the other of these plans and probably sign up for auto renewal.
If you buy it at Walmart, it's my understanding that you can return it within 30 days. So! Any questions?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone
07/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is the best phone iv ever had if u ever get a chance to bye it u better take it i took my htc and traded it in just so i could get this awsome phone for this cheap price like i said i would bye it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+56points
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
Rock Hill SC
THIS IS A GREAT PHONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 08/30/2011
8/29/11 This is a really good phone for the price. The wifi works great, and the touch screen is great, if you like wathing you tube it works great to with your wifi. It is easy to text on, and you you text also back tilting the screen. I also love the $45 unlimited everything. So if you are thinking about getting this phone if think just do it, you can also have your email sync to this phone too.
-1point
Customer Avatar
knoxville, TN
3 way calling
Posted 08/20/2011
there is no three way calling with this phone
-1point
Customer Avatar
knoxville, TN
wifi capability
Posted 08/20/2011
does the wifi option allow you to connect to your own wifi router. For example, I have a mifi cordless router from verizon and I was wondering if the phone will hook up to my router.
-1point
Customer Avatar
Louisiana
Not Good For Texting!!!
Posted 08/07/2011
Overall I like the phone, I've had it for only two days and it has turned off once by itself, the texting keypad is extremely small and unresponsive, and some features do not live up to expectations such as the Samsung app store. If you can see past all that like I have, then this phone is overall a nice little touchscreen device that will allow you to do day-to-day things that most people use a phone for.
+3points
Customer Avatar
Jacksonville, FL
Sent it back.
Posted 08/05/2011
I ordered one of these and had to send it back after two days. The GSM reception was awful. The on screen keyboard was awful. I would be interested to know if there were a keyboard app (swype maybe?) that would help improve the keyboard performance. Good luck with this one. I will stay with my Samsung R451C.
+5points
Customer Avatar
71238
Posted 08/02/2011
If you want e-mail & texting with wi-fi capability this is a great deal. After you get used to the touch screen, it is easy to write messages. The wi-fi works great. Samsung makes a great cellphone I own 3 and like all of them. This phone is excellent but I wish Straightalk was as good as Trac-fone. I say buy it!
+8points
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

i hate this phone

07/29/2011
By ,
oak hill,ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this is the worst phone i have ever owned half the time i cant hear the person talknin on the other end of the phone and they cant hear me either. i cant get it to unlock half the time it is driving me nuts. cant wait till i can get a phone that works. if u are thinking about buying this phone dont waste your money on it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Don't waste your time.

08/01/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Spend an extra hundred and buy the E5 this phone is horrible.
"App capable" is a joke, there really are no apps worth your time.
Facebook app doesn't update.
Texting stops working and only says "initializing" unless you do a hard reset and lose everything (which i had to do twice in the week and a half i had this phone)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+29points
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

A good phone for a good price.

08/02/2011
By ,
Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its a good phone for a good price. Its not the best but it isn't the worse either. It works really good and does everything I need it to do. It does really good to not be a smart phone. I love that its a touch screen. Its got wi-fi and 3g which is a plus. The battery life is really good. The only down fall is it dont play real ring tones and the app's isnt that great. But other then that its a real good phone. Me and my husband both have it and we both really enjoy it. Straight talk is really cheap $90 a month vs $190 a month is really good, plus no contract, so you cant beat that now a days.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Maine
Waitress
Posted 01/05/2012
This phone stinks! If you are looking for an app. friendly phone do not buy!!!! It works well for email, browsing, and facbook, but can't download apps. I recomend the android phones for app access, and more. I don't like the lock feture either. Hard to catch on for basic use as well.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone
08/04/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I must admit that the touch screen is somewhat unresponsive and a little difficult to get used to. Love that it takes the "all you need plan". Definitely a good buy for the money as long as AT&T has good service in your area. For only having the phone for less than 4 hours and being my first touch screen, was able to connect to wifi with little difficulty, still getting used to the qwerty touch screen keyboard, disappointed that it doesn't come with any games.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Michigan City
Games
Posted 08/09/2011
Hi I have had the same problem about the games, I go to www.Zedge.net and get a bunch a free games it doesn't take long what you'd want to do is go to this site look for what game you want, click on it. Open your mobile browser got to www.m.zedge.net I believe there will be a code on your computer type that into your cell phones internet and wham you have games. There's more specific instructions on their computer site. Hope you enjoy.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Great for the service you get.

08/09/2011
By ,
Springfield ,MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First off I want to say that this is still a prepaid phone and it is not perfect. But it really is a great phone for the price and the price of the service. I have had Straight talk for two years and I haven't had hardly any trouble. The touchscreen is a little more annoying that expected but then I am getting used to it since I've had it for a couple of weeks now. Keep in mind that the touchscreen keys are small. I also work at walmart and I can say that this phone seems to sell pretty well since they sell fast one day there will be some on the shelf the next day when I go through electronics they are gone. I personally love it and it is affordable. I can get on facebook fine and I get my yahoo email on it as well. Overall it is a great buy for your money you cant beat unlimited data, text and calls for $45 a month. And they also have a blackberry-type phone now if you really need to browse the web and have more than one email synced.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Run away from this phone!

02/16/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It looks like it will be a great, fun, cheaper than a smart phone device. It is really just an expensive headache! I returned it after just one day!
The guy at Walmart told me that this phone has a VERY high return rate. My problem was it wouldn't connect to the internet, and because of that I couldn't send or receive pictures.
Recommends this product? No
+15points
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone
09/22/2012
By ,
Robbins NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This phone is a good phone if you want a touch screen but don't mind not having all the perks. I wanted a true smartphone. The website says that this is app capable. It has pre-loaded apps but none that are useful. They are stupid really like love calculator and stuff like that. You don't have an app store and can't get them from the google play store either. The web is very hard to navigate. The full keyboard is so small it isn't really even useful. I had a phone before with the keyboard but with this phone i have to use the letters that are on the numbers b/c i can't hit one key at a time. I have problems with my internet timing out. Facebook on here does not let you do very much. When making phone calls the phone will connect but sometimes you can't hear the person on the other end but they can hear you. I have had this phone for 3 months and i am selling it to my sister ( she doesn't mind not having the web and facebook. she has internet at home) to get a true android smartphone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Good Phone for being a non-contract carrier

09/06/2011
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a pretty good phone considering theres no contract and it can be used with the $30 or $45 card!! The keyboard does take time to get use to since it has pretty small buttons but within 2-3 days I had it down! It's easy to use and I have had no problems with mine! The only thing is, is that it says it is app capable but there's not too many apps for it or that actually work with it even tho it says certain apps are for this phone! But I do know of 2 places for apps for this phone that most of the apps actually work on it...they are www.myxer.com which has FREE apps, ringtones and wallpapers and the other is www.mobilerated.com....ENJOY!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Do not buy this phone

05/22/2012
By ,
North Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After 3 months of use, the phone started initializing every time I tried to open messages (voice, text & email) or contacts so that I lost access to both. Called Straight Talk customer service who was aware of the problem, but the only thing they'll do is replace it through the mail so that I'd be without a phone for approximately 10 days which I can't do.
I did some research, and this is a well-known defect with this model. It seems that Straight Talk, Wal Mart or Samsung would recall the phone or find a better way of resolving the issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
1-20 of 599 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  30 Next