Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

If you want to buy a durable, affordable smart phone with plenty of interesting features, the Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone is a great option. Features such as Wi-Fi connectivity and 3G let you connect to your world even if you are on the go. Capture memorable moments with this video-capable 3G smart phone that comes with a 2 megapixel camera. You can save up to 2000 entries in the phone book. The large 3.0" touch screen allows you to access menu and other features with ease. With nearly six hours of talk time and ten hours of standby, the Straight Talk GSM Phone is a great choice for people who are looking for a smart phone at an inexpensive price. This prepaid phone kit comes with a battery, charger, and a service guide.
Average Customer Rating:
2.744 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(754 Reviews) 598
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
157
4 stars
151
3 stars
79
2 stars
76
1 star
291
Customer Recommendation47%353 out of 753reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
157
4 stars
151
3 stars
79
2 stars
76
1 star
291
Customer Reviews
Review 361 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

terrible phone, terrible service

01/11/2012
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is by-far the worst phone I have ever owned. As well as the worst customer service.. let me explain. I bought a strait talk phone probably for the same reasons as everyone else. Its a cheap smart phone with no contract, and an affordable monthly rate. I bought the samsung t528g, thinking being the second to most expensive I was getting what I was looking for.. boy was I wrong!! Here is a small list of problems I have had with this phone.
*shuts off at own covienence. Especially. When sending a text. (Yes, still charges you)
*deleted my entire contact list.
*also deletes random contacts due to phone unlocking itself easily.
*sometimes I cannot access my contacts, messages, web or voicemail. (Comes back at random)
*phone presses buttons while you talk often turning on speaker phone.
*terrible for texting for multiple reasons.
a)keys are too small
b)delete button in terrible place. Constantly deleting what your trying to write.
*bad all around coverage. Too many dead zones.
*sometimes touchscreen will go hay wire. Say I press the letter (t) to try to reach "Tiffany", the contact list will fly to (m) and I wont be able to find names.
That's just what's wrong with the phone, here is customer service.
*no one speaks English well enough to understand and fix a problem.
*they will not replace time that they or their phone wasted.
*in order to receive a replacement, you must first send your phone to them in a special box that took a week to ship to your house. A week for the broke one to reach them and another week till you receive a new phone that has all the same problems. Yes. That's 3 wis without a phone.
*every time you call c.s, prepare to be on hold for at least an hour (of your own minutes)
*rude or rushed employee's.
*don't EVER sign up for auto enrollment. Keeps charging after phone is disconnected.
All around bad if you ask me and apparently anyone else who has tried to use this service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 362 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

It's Alright

01/24/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Well I've had this phone for about 2 months now and when i get on the internet it will sometimes say the browser has timed out and to try again later so i have to refresh the page about 5 or 6 times in order for the internet page to load. Also when i sometimes take a picture the phone will shut off and ill have to turn it back on and it wont save the picture i just took. Overall I get really great signal and texting and calling is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 363 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone, Very Durable

08/22/2013
By ,
Alpena, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for over two years now, and it has been great up until now. The phone is very durable. The mp3 player works great, and the camera is okay. The signal has always been pretty decent. The only problem now that I am having with it, I'm guessing because it is getting older) is that its starting to receive my texts, etc., later than when they were sent.. This was the first phone I ever owned and I loved it. The keyboard may be too small for some, but I don't have many complaints for this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 364 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Good Smartphone for Price

12/21/2012
By ,
Ladson, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you're looking for a cheap smartphone this is it. It's not as great as the more expensive phones as it is sometimes hard to get buttons on screen to recognize touch. But, for the price, as a starter smartphone, I think it is worth it. If you're using your smartphone for business, etc.. I wouldn't recommend this one. For teens, kids, starters, it's the one to try.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 365 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Don't move to a different town

08/07/2012
By ,
Marion,IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great phone, love the battery life, doesn't over heat, internet speed is fantastic..LOVE IT. But the only down fall is when I decided to move to a different town...mind you that the town is 45 mins away.....it started turning itself off more than 10 times a day, dropping calls, not connecting to my email, and not connecting to any of the websites in my browser until refreshing so many times...I called Straight Talk and they told me I had to get a whole new number and phone because the phone doesn't work with my zip code, even though they told me before I got the phone that it worked with both zip codes...but I did love this phone until I moved now I need a new one
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 366 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

I hate this phone!!!

01/27/2012
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the most basic Straight Talk phone there is and the main reason I didn't like it was because there was no volume control. But I must add that that little phone always did what I wanted it too. So I bought the Samsung T528G about four days ago and regret the purchase. I can send texts and others receive them right away but when they send them to me, I don't. I will then get all my texts at one time, usually late at night. On the texts it'll show when they were originally sent and it could have been 14 hours prior. Yesterday I received all my texts from the day before at noon. Also, I'll pull it off the charger when it's fully charged and say five hours after taking it off the charger and with very little use, it'll show its still fully charged. But then comes hour six with no usage between hour 5 to 6 and the phone will not power up because it says the battery is to low. I called Straight Talk about the issue and wanted to take my number and put it back on my old reliable phone but was advised that couldn't be done without getting a new SIM card for my old phone. That nerved me but they are sending me a new SIM card at no cost. I may hold onto that and return this piece of junk and get a model that is in between the two I already have and see if I have better luck. I'm not saying that this model should be avoided because it does have some good features and I may have received a lemon. I'm a police officer and I need to have a phone I can rely on (not for the texting but for the battery life). This has been my issue with the phone but if you buy one, please keep the receipt.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 367 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone
04/13/2012
By ,
Coos Bay, Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It has a known problem with not accessing contacts/messages and if it happens the phone will need to be shipped back to straight talk and a new one ordered
They don't have youtube support anymore they just stopped working one day
they have issues with deleting contacts/blocking contacts even when the phone is in locked mode
It is NOT a smart phone go spend the little bit more cost for a prepaid smart phone
(Some are even the same price)
This makes my 2nd T528G and I already don't care for it that much
Sensitivity is a little better but that's about it.
(And its not my T528G with the youtube problem Straight Talk sent me out a replacement that has the same problem)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 368 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

So disappointed

01/04/2013
By ,
Hickory,NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got the phone for my husband for Christmas. It said it was a smartphone, however it was the worst than my dumb phone. I couldn't get it to connect to the internet and the keyboard was so hard to type. Needless to say we returned the phone and went with another phone and service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 369 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone at a fantastic price.

12/11/2012
By ,
Keokuk,Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was glad to be able to purchase this phone because I had went to my local store here in town for "black Friday" sales...I was disappointed that the phone that was advertised in the circular was not in stock..and not only not in stock but it was never going to BE in stock according to the associate that helped me. He tried to sell me a different phone that he said they were selling as an "override" to still offer the public a good phone but it wasnt the model/type that I had hoped to purchase..(it was supposed to be a samsung "android" phone, dont remember the model/type)I simply wanted a small upgrade from the phone I was using.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 370 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone
01/23/2012
By ,
elko
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
well i got mine in november and its now january and i cant open my contacts or get into the messaging center!!!! i ended up calling straight talk them selves and they sent me a box so they can replace my phone but i still have the problem of lossing all of my contacts and pictures. and i will be with out a phone for two weeks!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 371 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

very poor customer service when it goes down

05/31/2012
By ,
NW Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
straight talk makes you send them your phone before they will send you one when you have a problem. this is poor service! they will not send you a phone with an r.a. so you will not be without service. i have had straight talk for about a year and have not had good service, but this is it. good bye straight talk !!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 372 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Great for teen!

12/25/2012
By ,
Dexter,Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i got this phone for my 12 year old daughters for Christmas and they loved it. It has an mp3 player,camera,video and its touch screen. It was the best present they could have gotten and very good value! Love this phone!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 373 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

NEGATIVE

03/29/2013
By ,
Fort Collins, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For some mysterious reason, the T528G phone locks when calling out. The red END button doesn't hang up, when the phone is locked. When locked, responses to phone menu prompts cannot be entered. More often than not, the unlock button, on the phone's upper right hand side, doesn't unlock the phone, and frequently, not before the phone menu times out the call. I have seen reviews with other T528G complaints but this is my primary beef. I am seriously considering returning the phone. The phone detracts from WALMART's customer relations. WALMART should discontinue selling the T528G.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 374 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone
11/09/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good phone for the basics. Talking and texting. It has been an adjustment for me though because my last couple phones have been android phones and I am unable to enjoy the apps for games and social networks like before.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 375 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Not a good phone at all

04/17/2013
By ,
North Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I pretty much bought the phone for the price, so I bought one for myself and one for my husband. The low price reflects in the quality. The phone has a lock feature so that it won't dial in your pocket, but it unlocks frequently in my purse and pocket, and deletes my numbers. My husband had the phone delete all of his contacts while in his pocket. I have had the phone for 5 months, and now my "END" button won't work, so I really can't hang up the phone or turn the phone on or off without holding down the button for 5 minutes and praying that it decides to work.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 376 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Wrong.

03/12/2012
By ,
221B Baker Street, London, England
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone less than one year ago, not surprisingly, it hasn't met my expectations. Although I've had my friend John fix it for me several times, to no avail unsurprisingly, it is still dysfunctional. Text messages won't open and the internet is obscenely slow. How dull. I need those things to keep in contact with my clients and dear brother, Mycroft.
I would never recommend this phone for a friend, seeing as I only have one.
-SH
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 377 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

WORST PHONE EVER!!!!!!!!

08/23/2011
By ,
Johnson City, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TERRIBLE. WASTE OF MONEY! NOTHING WORKS RIGHT! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 378 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Dysfunctional phone; makes a great child play toy

03/13/2013
By ,
boise, id
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Big mistake buying this piece of garbage. This phone is so glitchy. I'll set an alarm and in the middle of the night it will randomly reset itself to factory date and time settings from 2010. Or I'll try to end a call and the screen will freeze so I have to constantly power it off and on. Samsung "Dolphin" browser is so slow it can barely load a google search. Camera has terrible specs unless you have perfect lighting & want to take macro shots. Can't believe I actually paid $100 for this and now it's $28?! What a joke. I guess I can say one good thing: great battery life!
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 379 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Not the phone for me.

03/07/2013
By ,
Idaho
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is not a true Smart phone. It does use AT & T towers (not a problem in my area).
The Pros: is that you can use the $45.00 card or the $30.00 card-I didn't know that until I picked it up. The Cons: I hate this phone-it is very hard to navigate (my old phone was a Android based smart phone-I never had a problem# you can't tell if you have v-mail or a text, the icons are somewhat touchy #at times#. My 16 yo who has it,seems to like it fine #he has never had a data plan on a phone thou and doesn't know the differences), I have had it a week and am looking for another phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 380 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Worst Phone I've EVER Owned!

02/02/2012
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is horrible. I received it as a birthday gift, and unfortunately I do not have any way to return it. The touch screen is tiny, and only works 50% of the time. If you are on the internet, the touch screen works about 5% of the time. It shuts off whenever it wants, and won't turn back on until you remove the battery. I've only had it for 2 months and I am ready to throw it out the window. Don't waste your money. I can't believe they charge anything for this phone, let alone $99. I will be buying a new phone this week and anything will be better than this.
I guess the camera is decent? Thats the only plus side.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
361-380 of 599 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  17 18 19 20 21  ...  30 Next