Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

If you want to buy a durable, affordable smart phone with plenty of interesting features, the Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone is a great option. Features such as Wi-Fi connectivity and 3G let you connect to your world even if you are on the go. Capture memorable moments with this video-capable 3G smart phone that comes with a 2 megapixel camera. You can save up to 2000 entries in the phone book. The large 3.0" touch screen allows you to access menu and other features with ease. With nearly six hours of talk time and ten hours of standby, the Straight Talk GSM Phone is a great choice for people who are looking for a smart phone at an inexpensive price. This prepaid phone kit comes with a battery, charger, and a service guide.
Average Customer Rating:
2.744 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(754 Reviews) 598
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
157
4 stars
151
3 stars
79
2 stars
76
1 star
291
Customer Recommendation47%353 out of 753reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
157
4 stars
151
3 stars
79
2 stars
76
1 star
291
Customer Reviews
Review 361 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Good Phone, But

03/26/2013
By ,
Owensboro, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First, although a lot of the reviews says this phone is on the ATT network, be advised it is in reality a TracPhone. It is locked to TracPhone and cannot be unlocked to work with ATT. Your ATT sim card WILL NOT work in this phone, so if you are buying it for that purpose, look for something else. In the end, I got a 2MP camera for $30.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
OH
This review is confusing
Posted 03/29/2013
TracPhone does not have its own network, neither does Straight Talk. This particular phone does use the AT&T network, but it is locked to Straight Talk. I can't see why anyone would want to use essentially the same service directly from AT&T for much more....
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 362 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Not a phone for beginner

04/07/2013
By ,
St.Paul,Mn
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a beginner and the book that comes with is woefully inadequate at explaining how to
use this phone. The web site or customer assistance for Straight Talk know even less
about the technical aspects of the phone. One staff and only one in the electronics
dept. was knowledgeable and helpful (Dylan in Vadnais Hgths.,MN).
Even the staff could not get straight answers from Straight Talk!? The screen is either not responsive to touch or a hair trigger-I had others use it too.
The print on internet is teeny-tiny and phone /contacts/messaging is too convaluted to use
easily ie the keyboard disapears right away when you need to use it right away etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 363 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Good Smartphone for Price

12/21/2012
By ,
Ladson, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you're looking for a cheap smartphone this is it. It's not as great as the more expensive phones as it is sometimes hard to get buttons on screen to recognize touch. But, for the price, as a starter smartphone, I think it is worth it. If you're using your smartphone for business, etc.. I wouldn't recommend this one. For teens, kids, starters, it's the one to try.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 364 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

I hate this phone!!!

01/27/2012
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the most basic Straight Talk phone there is and the main reason I didn't like it was because there was no volume control. But I must add that that little phone always did what I wanted it too. So I bought the Samsung T528G about four days ago and regret the purchase. I can send texts and others receive them right away but when they send them to me, I don't. I will then get all my texts at one time, usually late at night. On the texts it'll show when they were originally sent and it could have been 14 hours prior. Yesterday I received all my texts from the day before at noon. Also, I'll pull it off the charger when it's fully charged and say five hours after taking it off the charger and with very little use, it'll show its still fully charged. But then comes hour six with no usage between hour 5 to 6 and the phone will not power up because it says the battery is to low. I called Straight Talk about the issue and wanted to take my number and put it back on my old reliable phone but was advised that couldn't be done without getting a new SIM card for my old phone. That nerved me but they are sending me a new SIM card at no cost. I may hold onto that and return this piece of junk and get a model that is in between the two I already have and see if I have better luck. I'm not saying that this model should be avoided because it does have some good features and I may have received a lemon. I'm a police officer and I need to have a phone I can rely on (not for the texting but for the battery life). This has been my issue with the phone but if you buy one, please keep the receipt.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 365 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Don't move to a different town

08/07/2012
By ,
Marion,IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great phone, love the battery life, doesn't over heat, internet speed is fantastic..LOVE IT. But the only down fall is when I decided to move to a different town...mind you that the town is 45 mins away.....it started turning itself off more than 10 times a day, dropping calls, not connecting to my email, and not connecting to any of the websites in my browser until refreshing so many times...I called Straight Talk and they told me I had to get a whole new number and phone because the phone doesn't work with my zip code, even though they told me before I got the phone that it worked with both zip codes...but I did love this phone until I moved now I need a new one
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 366 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone
04/13/2012
By ,
Coos Bay, Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It has a known problem with not accessing contacts/messages and if it happens the phone will need to be shipped back to straight talk and a new one ordered
They don't have youtube support anymore they just stopped working one day
they have issues with deleting contacts/blocking contacts even when the phone is in locked mode
It is NOT a smart phone go spend the little bit more cost for a prepaid smart phone
(Some are even the same price)
This makes my 2nd T528G and I already don't care for it that much
Sensitivity is a little better but that's about it.
(And its not my T528G with the youtube problem Straight Talk sent me out a replacement that has the same problem)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 367 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone
01/23/2012
By ,
elko
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
well i got mine in november and its now january and i cant open my contacts or get into the messaging center!!!! i ended up calling straight talk them selves and they sent me a box so they can replace my phone but i still have the problem of lossing all of my contacts and pictures. and i will be with out a phone for two weeks!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 368 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

So disappointed

01/04/2013
By ,
Hickory,NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got the phone for my husband for Christmas. It said it was a smartphone, however it was the worst than my dumb phone. I couldn't get it to connect to the internet and the keyboard was so hard to type. Needless to say we returned the phone and went with another phone and service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 369 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

very poor customer service when it goes down

05/31/2012
By ,
NW Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
straight talk makes you send them your phone before they will send you one when you have a problem. this is poor service! they will not send you a phone with an r.a. so you will not be without service. i have had straight talk for about a year and have not had good service, but this is it. good bye straight talk !!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 370 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone at a fantastic price.

12/11/2012
By ,
Keokuk,Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was glad to be able to purchase this phone because I had went to my local store here in town for "black Friday" sales...I was disappointed that the phone that was advertised in the circular was not in stock..and not only not in stock but it was never going to BE in stock according to the associate that helped me. He tried to sell me a different phone that he said they were selling as an "override" to still offer the public a good phone but it wasnt the model/type that I had hoped to purchase..(it was supposed to be a samsung "android" phone, dont remember the model/type)I simply wanted a small upgrade from the phone I was using.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 371 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone, Very Durable

08/22/2013
By ,
Alpena, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for over two years now, and it has been great up until now. The phone is very durable. The mp3 player works great, and the camera is okay. The signal has always been pretty decent. The only problem now that I am having with it, I'm guessing because it is getting older) is that its starting to receive my texts, etc., later than when they were sent.. This was the first phone I ever owned and I loved it. The keyboard may be too small for some, but I don't have many complaints for this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 372 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Great for teen!

12/25/2012
By ,
Dexter,Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i got this phone for my 12 year old daughters for Christmas and they loved it. It has an mp3 player,camera,video and its touch screen. It was the best present they could have gotten and very good value! Love this phone!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 373 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Wrong.

03/12/2012
By ,
221B Baker Street, London, England
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone less than one year ago, not surprisingly, it hasn't met my expectations. Although I've had my friend John fix it for me several times, to no avail unsurprisingly, it is still dysfunctional. Text messages won't open and the internet is obscenely slow. How dull. I need those things to keep in contact with my clients and dear brother, Mycroft.
I would never recommend this phone for a friend, seeing as I only have one.
-SH
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 374 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

WORST PHONE EVER!!!!!!!!

08/23/2011
By ,
Johnson City, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TERRIBLE. WASTE OF MONEY! NOTHING WORKS RIGHT! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 375 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone
11/09/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good phone for the basics. Talking and texting. It has been an adjustment for me though because my last couple phones have been android phones and I am unable to enjoy the apps for games and social networks like before.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 376 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Worst Phone I've EVER Owned!

02/02/2012
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is horrible. I received it as a birthday gift, and unfortunately I do not have any way to return it. The touch screen is tiny, and only works 50% of the time. If you are on the internet, the touch screen works about 5% of the time. It shuts off whenever it wants, and won't turn back on until you remove the battery. I've only had it for 2 months and I am ready to throw it out the window. Don't waste your money. I can't believe they charge anything for this phone, let alone $99. I will be buying a new phone this week and anything will be better than this.
I guess the camera is decent? Thats the only plus side.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 377 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Nice phone, but...

06/16/2012
By ,
Troy, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like the phone but must hold it away from my face or when I am using it, the other person keeps getting cutouts or beeps as the touch screen hits my face. The main problem for me is that to listen to voice mail, you must hold the lock button on the side to get the dial screen to enter your pin. I am sometimes disconnected or miss things and it's a waste of minutes. I bought the $30 card but it goes fast as I don't have a home phone so am going to exchange this phone and get unlimited card too. If you can work with my problems (I am disabled and sometimes this causes the problems) it's a great phone for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 378 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Worked ok at first

04/15/2012
By ,
Dodge City, KS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
At first I loved this phone it worked well even though it wasn't supposed to; better service actually than I had with contracts from the area. However, within a couple weeks it would freeze up, shut off, and, most annoyingly, "reset" to December of 2010 regularly. It is now refusing to accept or send texts and emails and will not allow me access to contacts. This is still going on after cleaning out the memory and doing everything but reseting to the factory settings; I'm hoping I can find a way to get my contacts out before doing that.
I have only had this phone for 5 months. Needless to say I'm very dissappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 379 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

NEGATIVE

03/29/2013
By ,
Fort Collins, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For some mysterious reason, the T528G phone locks when calling out. The red END button doesn't hang up, when the phone is locked. When locked, responses to phone menu prompts cannot be entered. More often than not, the unlock button, on the phone's upper right hand side, doesn't unlock the phone, and frequently, not before the phone menu times out the call. I have seen reviews with other T528G complaints but this is my primary beef. I am seriously considering returning the phone. The phone detracts from WALMART's customer relations. WALMART should discontinue selling the T528G.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 380 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM Prepaid Smartphone

Returned after 1 day

10/03/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you're going to make calls and only calls then this phone will do you fine, but if calling is all you do, get another one. I do a lot of texting and online work. The keyboard is horrible. If you want to press "space" you'll probably end up hitting 'v' or 'b' and if you want to hit 'a' you'll probably hit shift. Not worth the $106 I threw down. As for the $45 plan, don't bother. It's not refundable and you won't be able to get in touch with them for questions anyway. They are apparently having an "unusually high calling volume." Garbage. The game selection is bad too and who wants a phone with bad games? Not me.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
361-380 of 599 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  17 18 19 20 21  ...  30 Next