Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pinnacle Pinnacle Ultra Balance Baitcast Combo

Pinnacle Pinnacle Ultra Balance Baitcast Combo

The Pinnacle Ultra Balance Baitcast Combo features a two bearing reel with a graphite composite blank. Precision cut gears and a comfortable cork handle make this a great combo for any fisherman.
Average Customer Rating:
2.875 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation50%4 out of 8reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pinnacle Ultra Balance Baitcast Combo

great baitcaster for a beginner

08/01/2014
By ,
Lake of the Ozarks, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this rod for a three day camping trip it worked fine I caught a five and a half pounder and a couple smaller largemouths on it and it worked ok.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pinnacle Ultra Balance Baitcast Combo

Horrible Baitcaster to Learn With!

05/29/2014
By ,
New Smyrna Beach, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought I'd get away from spincasters and get into baitcasters and I knew it would be a big change. The rod is decent and presented no problems but the reel itself was of low quality. Since the spool itself is soft plastic and can be scratched with a strong fingernail, it isn't the most precise spinning spool. Everytime I got a backlash and try to repair it, the fitting was so loose that the line got caught up within the housing between the spool making the problem worse. Then as the spool spins around, it wears at the line until friction cuts the line. As a result, I lost two good lures and all it did was entangle itself even worse. I eventually had to cut all the line it came with and will have to repeat this process. Why did I decide to get into a good baitcaster when spincasters worked? I don't know why either.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pinnacle Ultra Balance Baitcast Combo

Great baitcaster

01/07/2012
By ,
Swainsboro, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great purchase for only 40 dollars. I had a abu garcia silver max and this is just as smooth as the other. You just can't beat it for 40 dollars for a combo. Absolutely great for beginners. Definitely change the line though. Its good line, just put on there real loose. You can just tie it to a tree or something walk all the line off the reel then keep tension on it'll get back on there nice and tight
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mudbogs, VA
Really bad pole
Posted 03/27/2012
I'm in a wheelchair, and this just isn't the pole for me. It just doesnt feel right. Instead of spending 40$ on this, just go buy a push button!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Pinnacle Ultra Balance Baitcast Combo

Decent Combo for the money.

06/18/2012
By ,
Clermont, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am new to baitcasters and only just purchased my first 3 months ago. I bought a Shakespeare $36 combo and learned the basics and caught a couple 5+ pounders on it. This past week a accidently slammed the back glass window on the rod and broke 3 ft of it off and started looking for a replacement. I have been eyeing the Abu Black Max since i bought the Shakespeare then saw the Pinnacle Ultra Balance. It was marked for $41.36 at my local walmart but then when scanned came up as $60.99 so i put it back. I went to a Walmart 1.5 hrs away while at the beach and the same rod/reel combo rang up $41.36 so I bought it. I First thing i noticed was how smooth it was. WOW!!!. It only has 1 more bearing than the Shakespeare but is 10x more smooth. However, Like a previous review it seemed like every single cast required you to thumb the spool no matter how you adjusted the spool tension and magnetic brake. If your thumb wasnt on it, it backlashed. I was getting pretty aggravated and over the last three days have completely adjusted my casting style to compensate for the backlash but was disappointed because i couldnt cast as far due to the thumb pressure problem. Well I found the issue. The screw that holds the magnetic side cover on was slightly loose. After tightening the screw all the way down, (and cleaning and regreasing with a good Abu Reel Grease). The problem has completely dissappeared and I can now cast a country mile without ever putting my thumb on the spool. It is a Excellent combo for the price and I am currently thinking about buying a second Ultra Balance after i get the Black Max. If you have the issue with constant backlashes no matter what the brake and spool tension setting, double check the side cover bolt. you will immediately feel the difference and the backlashes will be gone. when the screw was loose i would tighten the spool tension and get it right then cast and it would seem as tho the spool tension had come loose again but when reeled in after getting the birdnest out it would still be tight. the screw being loose was allowing the reel to flex and loosen the spool which was canceling out the spool tension knob. Trust me. If you have that problem it is most likely the side cover screw being loose. Check it as soon as you get home. I now love this rod and reel combo!!!!. Definitely recommend it to anyone beginner or advanced.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pinnacle Ultra Balance Baitcast Combo

bad baitcaster decent rod

04/12/2014
By ,
andalusia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought the ultra balance in march returned it a few days later it cut my line and could not stop it from backlashing even made sure everything was correct on it tightened all the screws nothing helped kinda liked the rod but the reel is not worth the money
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pinnacle Ultra Balance Baitcast Combo
07/02/2012
By ,
coloradosprings co
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
brought this baitcaster about 3 months its well built. first time using a baitcaster and had no problems with it. since then brought a blackmax and they work about the same. so this is well worth the money if u want to learn buy this one learn on it and move up good reel the rod is not that good or just buy the reel and buy a different rod. thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pinnacle Ultra Balance Baitcast Combo

No instructions

10/16/2012
By ,
Naples, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Novice fisherman. I bought this because it seemed compact. The layout of the reel allows for the first guide hole to be small, instead of the huge one required for typical reels. It should have come with instructions. 1) labeling of the parts (I can't write this reveiw with correct terminology) 2) rigging instructions. Does the line go over or under the pin?
A marker for the beginning of the line would have been nice. Took forever to find the beginning of the line.
From other reviews, I now see that I will have to unwind the whole reel and re-wind tighter. I also feel it is too loose.
I also am terribly frustrated with the backlash. I could get 1 out of every 4 cast to work without backlash. I'm hoping the other reviewer's advice to tighten the pin will work. I had it hand tightened, but I guess I need to use a screw driver. Shouldn't have to hold the line with your thumb.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pinnacle Ultra Balance Baitcast Combo

This is the worst baitcaster i've ever purchased.

04/06/2012
By ,
Dewitt, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This reel and rod combo is the most unreliable piece of fishing equipment i have ever laid my eyes on. I bought it hoping it was going to atleast be decent, but i was very, very, very wrong. The reel gives you really bad line burn. I've never experienced that problem with any other reel i've purchased or used. I do not recommend this combo to anyone. Buy a shimano if you want a good deal on a great reel.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Clermont, FL
Re: Worst Baitcaster.
Posted 06/18/2012
I had the same issue. I just bought mine 6-16-12 and the past three days ive been using it it would constatly backlash no matter what i set the tension and brake at. Turns out the bolt that holds the magnetic brake side cover was on and allowing the spool to loosen up while spinning and backlashing everytime. Check the screw. once i tightened it the issue went away immediately. you can feel it even without line on the spool. once the bolt was tight the spool wouldnt shift over and loosen up.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)