Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with Alphabet Font-SQ9050

Brother Brother 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with Alphabet Font-SQ9050

Have you ever dreamed of owning a sewing and quilting machine that contains all of the best features of high-end models without the expensive price tag? Consider the Brother 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with Alphabet Font. Loaded with features, this powerhouse computerized sewing machine includes 100 unique built-in sewing stitches including utility, decorative, heirloom, and quilting stitches. Also included with this sewing machine are 55 alphanumeric stitches for basic monogramming and 8 styles of one-step, auto-size buttonholes for perfect buttonholes every time. With an extensive array of included accessories and a wide quilting table, this computerized sewing machine will accommodate the simplest and most complex projects. Add in a convenient stop / start button, an easy-to-use speed control, a backlit LCD display, and a handy flip stitch guide, and you are ready to go.
Average Customer Rating:
4.284 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(141 Reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
95
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation88%123 out of 140reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
116 Questions | 247 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
95
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with Alphabet Font-SQ9050

Worst buy ever!

12/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I sew almost 30 years. I used lots of different machines and brands. This one was my worst buy ever! It was sewing for 6 month without any problem and one day it stopped. I brought it to the shop, they said gears are plastic and very cheap. I was thinking OK, machine still has a warranty. I sent this machine to the shop 3 times - 45 miles one way. They fixed gears, it started missing stitches...and etc and etc and etc. I spent another half year fixing it and now it sits in the closet. After one year I need to spend my money to fix it and I do not want to waste my money. You would say, I am not lucky and have got a lemon. Nope, they all a lemon.
Recommends this product? No
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brother 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with Alphabet Font-SQ9050

This machine is a TOY.

06/26/2012
By ,
Hays, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First of all, I know to not expect too much out of a lower end machine from a box store. My machine only stitched patchwork together for a quilt, so nothing more than 4 layers of fabric went under the presser foot at one time.
I had originally purchased this machine to learn how to sew and learn how to quilt. I had the machine for approximately 3 months and noticed very odd behavior/attributes of the machine that really disturbed me.
One day, I was sewing through four layers of cotton (very thin) fabric. Using a size 80 needle and noticed the machine was actually FLEXING when the needle would penetrate the fabric. I ended up taking the machine to a local sewing repair shop (they do not sell machines). They opened the machine up to find that the machine lacks a frame to hold all of the various parts of the machine. All of the parts lay in "troughs" inside the machine. What does this mean? If you ever sewed a hem on a pair of jeans, the needle assembly and camshaft assembly would shatter the plastic casing causing the machine to literally self destruct.
Before buying this machine, grasp the free arm and the top of the machine and push them in opposite directions - you can actually move the needle to where it will go more than 1/4" in front or in back of the throat plate stitch hole. What does this mean? If the machine flexes, the needle will hit the plate and send a needle fragment toward you - potentially causing injury!
I would suggest purchasing a Brother machine from a dealer - not a retail store. You will spend slightly more but get a machine that will last a lifetime! The features of this machine are very good, but I simply cannot recommend a machine that is made so cheaply and so incredibly poor. Lightweight equals no metal parts to hold the machine together when sewing through medium to heavyweight fabrics. Don't say I didn't warn you!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with Alphabet Font-SQ9050

Lemon

03/12/2013
By ,
Melbourne, ark
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In less than 1 1/2 years have had it serviced 3 times. Now brother wants me to pay the shipping to repair it again. Tension is always messing up, thread wads up. Cannot do denim or heavy material. Very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AZ
use a metal bobbin and thread the bobbin properly
Posted 06/11/2013
You have the same problem i used to have. Part of it is that there is a little slot in the bobbin casing that the thread needs to go through to sew properly. i have solved that by always using a metal bobbin and instead of just dropping the bobbin in, pull it SNUGGLY through the grooves following the arrows and cut the thread using the thread cutter at the end there. I don't have trouble wlith that tangling on the bottom anymore.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Brother 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with Alphabet Font-SQ9050

not a good sewing machine

10/17/2012
By ,
sumter, sc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am so disappointed in this machine. Machine isn't six months old and is locking up once I have used it for a little while. Had it checked out by a friend. Said it had something to do with tension. Friend made tension adjustments. Once I tried it again; it locks up again. Company told me to mail it to Charlotte, NC or Spartanburg, SC for there service center. Too expensive to send to either place. Don't waste your time or money on this machine!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with Alphabet Font-SQ9050
02/10/2012
By ,
WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just love my new Brother sewing machine. It is easy to use and it was delivered on time. I would recommend this to first time users of a sewing machine. Brothers stands behind their products. Thanks for such a wonderful sewing machine!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with Alphabet Font-SQ9050

the bottom thread bunches up and catches

06/10/2013
By ,
Mexican via Washington state
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this machine almost a year ago but finally had time to use it. It is a PAIN in the butt. Every time I want to sew it will work fine for a little while then the bottom thread catches on the little diamond shape metal under the needle plate to the left front of the feeddogs. I have to very carefully cut the thread, disassemble the boobin and use tweezer to get the caught thread out. Then I have to reassemble and rethread the top and bottom and start sewing again. It might do it again right away or it might be an hour later but the lower thread catching again and I have to tear it all apart again. I have been in tears a couple times. The online chat at brothers is NO HELP. I am trying to email them now. I wish I would have researched this before I purchased it. I am VERY UNHAPPY. By my experience and the other poor review I would NOT purchase it again
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with Alphabet Font-SQ9050

Accessories were missing from box

05/22/2012
By ,
Valley Bend WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this sewing machine and did not open the box for a few weeks. I am a very busy Mother and like most people, do not need a sewing machine every day. Once I did open the box I noticed the only instruction manual that came with it was in spanish. I generally don't like to complain so I found that I could print the English version from Brother's website and did so. I did realize a few accessories were missing but I did not realize how many were missing until I started to work on a project about 45 days after the date of purchase. I needed a special needle and after consulting the owner's manual that I printed myself, I found out that hundreds of dollars of acccessories were never packed with my sewing machine. I contacted Brother customer service and they would not ship me the accessories because I did not make my claim within 30 days. They said they might work with me if I had the receipt. I told customer service that I had bought the sewing machine with my credit card and that I would have to get the orginal receipt from the credit card company. It took 30 days to get the receipt from the credit card company. By now, 90 days has evolved and I called Brother customer service back to tell them I now have the receipt. They still will not ship the missing accessories to me because it has been over 90 days since the purchase. Brother should stand by their products. It is not my fault that the accessories were not in the box. What is a box of accessories to a huge corporation like Brother? They have lost my business.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
VA
Posted 06/14/2013
a bunch of accessories are in the removable container! they are inside the machine. I realized it when I went to attach the extended flat table to it. everything is in there...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Brother 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with Alphabet Font-SQ9050

3rd brother machine in 1 year-- Stay away!!!!!

02/13/2012
By ,
florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This machine has given me nothing but trouble since day 1, I have been sewing for over 43 years and had a singer for 27 of those years. I had 3 brother sewing machines in the last year and a half and had NOTHING but trouble from all 3 of them. I am not rich and don't know what to do. I guess like the other ones it will be numerous trips to their authorized repair centers and will have to wait for 6 weeks then I will get it back and a week later it will be something else!!! Please stay away from brother!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with Alphabet Font-SQ9050

Horrible!

04/01/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I only had this machine for a couple of months and it started acting up. I don't do any heavy sewing just simple things and it couldn't even handle that. Total waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with Alphabet Font-SQ9050

WORST machine EVER

10/25/2013
By ,
salisbury nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This machine jams up ALL the time, I cant even finish sewing a very light weight fabric shirt with out have to un jam it and re thread it. I have broken a good 15 needles and have maybe only used the thing 5 times. Im was in the process of make my daughter a dress and cant even finish one sleeve I have broke 2 needles since I started the dress and have sewn one side and the top and now its not even sewing. I don't not like this machine if I still had the box id return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with Alphabet Font-SQ9050

Terrible quality stiching.

09/09/2012
By ,
Cordele, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this machine today, and taking it back tomorrow. Strait stitches were not consistent in length or width, and more complex stitches were not even recognize able compared to the picture they are supposed to looks like. Bobbin thread gets tangled in the machine, and will eat fabric if that happens. The machine fails to even produce a simple pair of pajama pants. Do not invest.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with Alphabet Font-SQ9050

What a let down

07/09/2013
By ,
SE Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i purchased this machine after using an ancient Necchi workhorse of my mother's from 1945 for 25 years followed by a Brother machine for 10 years when the bobbin winder finally gave out. I decided to purchase a new one because I wanted to start quilting, but i cannot even use this machine to sew a pillowcase made from thin cotton! As another reviewer said, the thread bunches up inside the bobbin case and the big E6 starts blinking. I have to rip the baggy stiching out of the fabric, then disassemble the entire plate and pull the shredded thread out with tweezers. What a piece of junk this machine has turned out to be! All I want is to make these freaking pillow cases for the new daybed in my guest bedroom! Guess I'll waste the gas to take this back to Walmart tomorrow and order a different one from Costco, where I got the last one that sewed hundreds of pillows from thick fabric, costumes, felt, draperies, etc... and didn't give me any trouble at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with Alphabet Font-SQ9050

Horrible Product!!

04/05/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my second one of the same machine. I exchanged my first one because it wasnt working correctly. My second one just completely quit working. I have only had it for 6 months. It is under warrany, but I will have to pay to ship it two states away because Brother doesnt have an authorized repair place around here. I live next to two big cities and they wont authorize any one around. They expect the customer to pay for something that is their fault. I have had all sorts of problems with their machines, with sewing buttons, needle threader, foot not working, skipping stitches, getting tangled... I would not recommend any brother machine! It will be a total waste of your time and money!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with Alphabet Font-SQ9050

LOVE this machine!

12/02/2012
By ,
KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Easy to use, love the stitches and the monogramming features are great and easy to use too.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with Alphabet Font-SQ9050

So disappointed with this horrible machine.

12/21/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am an avid sewer and was looking for something with a little bit of everything. Thought this machine sounded great, I was sooo wrong. First of all if you use it for an extended period of time (hour or more) the machine starts acting up EVERY TIME (starts skipping stitches, not catching bottom bobbin). Then you have to wait for it to cool back down before continuing your project. Thought it was a tension problem at first, should have returned the machine then and there. It also has NO power behind it! It advertises as a quilting machine but cant even sew thru more than 2 layers of cotton fabric. Its louder than I expected and the final kicker....the lettering is complete garbage. I wasnt looking for anything fantastic but the lettering is barely even legible. Im soooo disappointed in this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
salisbury nc
Posted 10/25/2013
mine jams up ALL the time I cant stand using it.
0points
Customer Avatar
AZ
Posted 06/11/2013
I have had this machine or one like it for 6 years. I sew on it every day sometimes for hours. It does not overheat. From your description, it sounds like you needed to thread the bobbin more correctly / use a metal bobbin or maybe put in a different needle. Your problem was pilot error.
0points
Customer Avatar
i want to learn sewing
Posted 08/24/2012
i m so confused about buying sewing machine, could u advice me because i was deciding on buying this one. i was doing research on sewing machine and found most of the new sewing machines lack metal frame and i want to work with denim and thick fabrics so i was looking for durable machine, could u help me please..thank u
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 16 for Brother 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with Alphabet Font-SQ9050

Not worth the money!

04/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this machine for about a year and a half now and it has already stopped working. The motor is locked up and will not allow me to sew. I realize that it was a relative inexpensive machine , but it should last more than a year and a half.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with Alphabet Font-SQ9050

Couldn't do a straight stitch correctly

08/29/2012
By ,
Greeley CO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Now I have sewn for a few years now and know my way around a machine as well as how to fix minor problems. It did well with decorative stitches and I was super excited for the walking foot.
However the most BASIC straight stitch is just this long unprofessional looking line instead of what it should look like ------ with spaces at least on the top. Also even with the straight line as it was the stitches would RANDOMLY pucker out like it didn't complete the stitch correctly before starting another one. They said it was the needle (nope I knew what needle worked for my project and even so I changed it just to double check same problem.) Or the problem was the tension (of which I changed and did many various tests.) I even re threaded the machine over and over again just in case. I also CHANGED the type of thread I was using.
If you are needing a machine for fun and nothing super professional looking this is a GREAT machine. It just didn't work for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with Alphabet Font-SQ9050

This product purchased as a gift.

12/29/2012
By ,
Lexington, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My son had me to purchase this as a gift for his wife. She seemed to be well pleased.
I can tell you that the store to store transfer was exceptionally fast and pickup was a breeze.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with Alphabet Font-SQ9050

great for a beginner or if you wont sew alot.

09/21/2012
By ,
stafford, tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this is a good beginners machine only if you do not plan to sew alot. it has a lot of neat functions, once it breaks on you, just get another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with Alphabet Font-SQ9050

Good performing sewing machine.

12/20/2012
By ,
Lafayette, LA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This seems to be a really good sewing machine of average value. I bought it for my wife for Christmas because her Singer of 31 years has died. She likes this Brother for the most part. But I had to return it because the clearance from the needle to the machine (the throat) is half the distance and height of her old Singer. This seems to be a trend with sewing machines now. My wife loves creating and sewing baby blankets and quilts. The clearance makes it really tough for her to maneuver her blankets and quilts. It looks like we'll have to step up $$$$ to a quilting machine and she feels she doesn't need all those features. She liked the way this Brother 9050 sewed and it was really quiet compared to her old Singer. The automatic threader was more trouble than threading the machine manually, but she admits she might need more time learning how to do it. I was disappointed in the font. It's so small (about 3/8") it's virtually useless and it's just a plain block style font. Although this seems to be a good machine, we were very disappointed in the lack of clearance in the throat and find the uses of the machine not very versatile for many different types of sewing projects!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 125 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next