Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bissell Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Bissell Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

Keep your hard floor squeaky clean with the Bissell 46B4W Steam and Sweep. This floor cleaner picks up dry debris and steam cleans hard floor in one step. Using ordinary tap water for steaming, this hard floor cleaner makes an efficient and safe alternative for floor cleaning chemicals. The Bissell steam and sweep hard floor cleaner combines Bissell's powerful and trusted sweeping technology with the natural power of steam for a one-step, time saving, thorough clean. With a large removable tank, efficient cleaning pads, swivel head, and an in-built water heater, this Bissell floor cleaner is convenient to use and delivers great results every time.
Average Customer Rating:
3.668 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(295 Reviews) 277
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
116
4 stars
76
3 stars
32
2 stars
31
1 star
40
Customer Recommendation73%89 out of 122reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
116
4 stars
76
3 stars
32
2 stars
31
1 star
40
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

Love it! Love it! Love it!

03/07/2012
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so excited when it arrived! The first time I used it, it was just like the commercials where you see the clean path after using the product and the dirty side where you haven't used it yet! Even my sons were amazed! I love the fact that you only need water! It's great for spot cleaning spills because you don't have to fill a bucket and use a cumbersome mop. The only thing I would improve is the sweeping capability. It doesn't pick up the bigger pieces of stuff on the floor, so I have to use the broom to get around the wall edges and for the larger pieces. I wouldn't recommend using the sweeper and steamer at the same time because it seems like it makes more of a mess. I bought it because I have a big kitchen and it was such a pain to mop. This is great because it tucks away nicely, and I can just pull it out when I need to use it. I'm definitely smitten with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 22 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W
03/05/2011
By ,
Kaufman,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressed, vacuumed before to get anything big. Have 5 dogs and it picked up any hair that was missed and left the floors looking great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 23 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W
02/04/2011
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was disappointed when I recieved the steamer as it said it would sweep and steam in one pass. The first thing the manual said was they recommend that you sweep first with the steamer, then steam. This is really the same two step process that you have to do with other steamers, so it doesn't save much time. The steam and sweep work well and they clean very nicely just using water. The steamer/sweeper doesn't get the edges as well as I would like, but it doesn't do too bad. If you have a lot of pet hair, you really need to sweep first since the pad just kind of pushes it around once it gets wet. Overall, it cleans well, but does not save a lot of time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 24 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

A Great Helper with the Kids

04/28/2012
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two young children and one more on the way and when they eat at the table I always find crumbs, juice splatters and who knows what left. This is a quick easy way to keep the kitchen area clean without filling the space with chemicals. It takes less than ten minutes in my small area and saves me time by picking up the debris, getting rid of the sticky surface and sanitizing the hard floor in one step. It is so easy my two-year-old enjoys using it to clean her space. I always take the pad off and clean the trash holder after each use and then it is all ready for the next use. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 25 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

Maybe it was unfair to expect more

06/22/2011
By ,
denver, co
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this based on the rave reviews, but was disappointed enough that after a week I took it back. Someone said it picked up pet hair well, which is what we needed. Unfortnuately, I didn't find that it worked all that well. It vaccuumed up some of it but because its a steamer, even when you weren't pushing the steam button, it would moistened stuff on the floor resulting in wet pet hair and dirt that wouldn't vaccuum up, and got pushed around on the floor. Don't get me wrong, it did a fair job for what it is, but I found that we couldn't mop without sweeping first which defeats the whole purpose of this product. We returned it and bought a stick vac and seperate steam mop and are going to try that instead. So sad, because this would have been pefect for us :-(
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 26 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

Makes my Life Easier

11/17/2010
By ,
Timonium, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the steam & sweep. I can keep it in my pantry and therefore don't have to lug a mop and pail up from the basement. I usually use it first to sweep and then to steam & sweep. It is quick to use and I am done (including drying time) in less time than it used to take to vac and mop. I read on other reviews, before I bought the product, that it is a little hard to push. I found this to be true but it's not a significant problem. I appreciate having 2 washable pads. I get a sense of satisfaction seeing how much dirt they've gotten up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 27 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

AWESOME

03/27/2012
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never review products, but this thing is awesome. I bought this for my wife but i use it just as much. It cut cleaning time in half and i have 2 children who always get stuff all over the floor or spill stuff everywhere and when you use it you can see the stuck on dirt wipe right away. I like that you can sweep and mop at the same time. The floor looks wet but you can walk on it without socks getting wet. I agree that the trigger is a pain to hold the whole time but other than that it is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 28 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

very pleased!

03/28/2011
By ,
texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this thing! I've used it twice and it works great. It does everything it is advertised to do. I've not had any problems with puddles of water or it not picking up dirt. After reading some reviews, i was worried that the sweeper wasn't going to work well,but it really does. It even picked up the turkey from a lunchable. I have a lot of tile and it makes cleaning so much faster and it is so easy to use. I've been telling everyone how great this thing works.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 29 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

Bissell Steam & Sweep Hard Floor Cleaner

01/17/2011
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the fact that I don't have to get on my hands and knees anymore to clean wooden floor. It does leave streaks ocassionally, but I put a paper towel on my swifter sweeper and use that to get rid of streaks. I know, I shouldn't have to do that, but it still keeps me off of my knees. Overall I am happy with the product. Right now there is also a $20 rebate so I got the product for $80.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 30 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

the plain steam mop is also very good (and cheaper

01/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After trying my neighbor's Bissell steam mop on our hard wood floors, we were totally sold on how easy it was to steam mop our floors. The plain Bissell Steam Mop is great and cheap. After mopping, there would be these little wet dust balls that would need to be vacuumed or picked up by hand. Because of this, we went for the Steam Mop with vacuum. It does a pretty good job of picking up those wet dust balls. Sometimes you have to roll the mop over debris many times to pick it up -- the vacuum is not that strong, so we still need to use our main vacuum for bigger jobs.
Note: the mop cloth is velcro based but seems very sturdy. it is not compatible with the mop cloth for the plain steam mop.
Note: the vacuum part of the mop takes up the first 2-3 inches of the head of the mop. The steam mop cloth follows it, so in theory you vacuum debris up before you steam the floor. But when you come to a wall, you can't steam clean the 2-3 inches at the wall, because the vacuum section is in front. I still end up cleaning most of the floor fine, so I've come to grips with this.
The biggest downside is the price. The plain steam mop so much cheaper. Especially if you have your own vacuum already
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 31 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

Great Product

01/17/2011
By ,
Mid Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble and to use. Gets floors much cleaner than a mop. Sweeper function works well but wouldn't recommend using that if floors are super dirty with animal hair. I'd sweep first and then use the steam cleaner to finish up. Love how clean my floors are after I'm done.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 32 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

Excellent especially for people with back problems

04/17/2012
By ,
Waco Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had two major back surgeries and needed something that would make getting my floors clean easier than a broom and mop; and this is it. I love it, I suggest anyone with back problems get one and for everyone else that wants to get the job done quicker and easier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 33 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W
03/29/2011
By ,
California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I no longer have to vacuum and mop floors on wkly basis, I use this instead. But, the vacuum is not very strong, so it is a pretty light clean, will have to do a deeper clean on occassion. Not great w/ pet hair, more pushes my cats hair around vs. picking it up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 34 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

Great Product

12/16/2010
By ,
Gonzales, Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my steamer and sweep,cut mopping time in half. I cleaned three floor and on use half a tank of water with almost constant hand on steam trigger. Great product, wish had purchase it sooner
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 35 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

As good as the commercial advertises

03/22/2011
By ,
Baltomore,MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think that this sweep and steam works preety well,my only disappointment is that the steam portion doesn't get a hot as I wou;d like.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 36 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

Disappointed

04/02/2012
By ,
Bayonne, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ok so here I am super excited to receive my Bissel. I pick it up, get it home, put it together and get ready to use it. I choose to use it in the room where my cats litter box is first to see how well it sucks up any of the residual litter left behind from their feet. Let me tell you it didn't work well. What kills me is that the commercial says it can suck up candy and yet it has trouble sucking up cat litter? So either way after using a broom in the end I figured I could use it for mopping the floor with its steamer. I throw on the steamer and after a min its hard to maneuver. The ad says its meant for any hard wood floor. I have a wooden one so whats the issue? I check to see if the problem is that I put the mat on wrong, and its not. Its covering the rear wheel so I have to cut into the mat to free the area. I try it again and its still difficult to move with ease. Unlike the commercial. So I now I'm stuck with a steam and sweep that I saved up to get for that doesn't work any better then a broom and regular mop. I have to say I was very disappointed because I have always loved other Bissel products and cant understand why this one has so many issues. Maybe its just me, but I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 37 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

Quick and easy way to clean hard floors.

03/08/2011
By ,
Plainwell, Mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So excited when I ordered, but it took 2 weeks to come in. Very easy to put to gather, 2 screws,that's all. It's light weight,easy to maneuver. The vac is in the front so you can literally vac and steam at the same time. Works great in my kitchen. A large open room. But not so well in my bathroom. The steam vac head is kinda large,too big for my bath. But its well worth having. I would definitely buy this product again. I am very pleased and would recommend it to any family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 38 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

Bissell Steam & Sweep

01/10/2011
By ,
Dayton, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have only used the item few times and it does a good job cleaning the floors. The first time you use it it takes a while before the water gets through the filter and creating steam. It is nice that it also pick-up crumbs and dirt before it steam cleans the floors, so you are not creating mud. It does not work well on spills that have dried on the floor so you may have scrub those areas by hand. If you like to regularly clean your floors this is a great tool. If you have very dirty tile, I would recommend you wash it first by hand then use the Bissell to sweep and maintain the floors clean appearance.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 39 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

Finally! Does What It Says...

02/08/2011
By ,
Hamburg, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking into various steaming products, but hesitant to buy. I saw an ad, found a rebate coupon, had a gift card, did some research, so decided to take the chance.
This machine does exactly as stated and was easy to assemble. Took me longer to open the carton! I immediately vacuumed & scrubbed my four ceramic floors. I like the cord length, too.
My neighbor, who cleans houses for a living, tried it out on her laminate floors & now is going out to buy her own (I cut her off from borrowing mine!).
Just got it so can't speak for durability, but it's sure getting a workout now...Love it so far
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 40 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

Bissell Steam & Sweep

01/16/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have two dogs and a cat and recently had my wood floor refinished. I had been looking for a sweeper / mop that I could use to clean my hardwood floor and pick up the pet hair. I wanted something where I didn't have to use two pieces of equipment; one to sweep and one to mop. I saw this and read reviews thinking it would be perfect. I have other Bissell products and thought this would be a good purchase.
However, I found that the suction is terrible and some of the debris that doesn't get picked up is instead pushed around by the cloth thereby scratching the floor. The cup doesn't even get half full because it isn't getting everything. Also, the pet hair that didn't get picked up instead gets stuck to the wet cloth when steaming and builds up resulting me to stop and pick it out by hand. This is not what I had in mind. Another problem I found, right when I first tried to use it and still have a problem with is that the water in the cup is not getting where it needs to be converted to steam. The tube is not flexible and reaches the bottom, which is the top when inserted, while the water flows down. The water doesn't even get into the tube. I was debating on cutting the tube down to about an inch but I was afraid it might cancel out any warranty on it. I am considering taking this back. Unfortunately, I bought it online ship to store around the holidays and don't know what happened to the receipt.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
21-40 of 105 total reviews