Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bissell Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Bissell Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

Keep your hard floor squeaky clean with the Bissell 46B4W Steam and Sweep. This floor cleaner picks up dry debris and steam cleans hard floor in one step. Using ordinary tap water for steaming, this hard floor cleaner makes an efficient and safe alternative for floor cleaning chemicals. The Bissell steam and sweep hard floor cleaner combines Bissell's powerful and trusted sweeping technology with the natural power of steam for a one-step, time saving, thorough clean. With a large removable tank, efficient cleaning pads, swivel head, and an in-built water heater, this Bissell floor cleaner is convenient to use and delivers great results every time.
Average Customer Rating:
3.668 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(295 Reviews) 277
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
116
4 stars
76
3 stars
32
2 stars
31
1 star
40
Customer Recommendation73%89 out of 122reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
116
4 stars
76
3 stars
32
2 stars
31
1 star
40
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

Like it but.....

12/18/2010
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found that this product works well. Unlike others, I found that the vacuum picked up great. I have 5 dogs and 4 cats with hardwood and tile floors. This is the but... part - with so many inside animals I found that I really needed to pre-vacuum before steam mopping. I just have to many animals for the built in vacuum. Someone with few or no animals would probably find that the vacuum-mop combo would be great for them. I have a Hoover Quick Broom (I love it, best vacuum for hardwood and tile floors, but idiot Hoover stopped making). If I am going to pre-vacuum with the Quick Broom then I think I would prefer to have a Steam Mop only model. Others complaining about streaking on the hardwood - they need to change to a clean mop head cloth. These are easy to change. Also the dirt cup was easy to empty but small for the number of my animals. First time use did take quite a while for the water to work it's way through the filter, just wait the steam will come.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 2 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

Could have been designed better

01/19/2011
By ,
Sparks, Nevada
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Purchased this product based on the average 4 star rating it received both here and other sites. I would not rate this a 4 star product. I agree that it does the job, but would think that after all the trouble they went through designing a product that sweeps and mops at the same time that they could have at least put some kind of edge attachment or removable hose for getting the dirt from corners and edges. Also, the device needs a slightly bigger dirt cup. Once the small dirt cup is full (I have pet hair, so it fills fast) the device drops debris everywhere. I have a large area I am using the sweep/mop in (about 600 square feet) and it takes quite a bit of time to sweep then mop which is recommended. Have found myself using the broom again quite frequently.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+84points
Review 3 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

My floors have never been this clean!

11/22/2010
By ,
Terrebonne, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very impressed with this steam cleaner. If you take your time just like using a steam cleaner on your carpets with slow back and forth motions your floors will sparkle. No kidding, it's terrific. What's not too impressive is the sweeper vacuum. I sweep my floors first with a broom and don't bother trying to use that option on it because it just doesn't get everything up around the edges and in tight places. But besides that this was a great buy. I will never mop again. It's also is a great money saver, no chemicals to add and pads come off and can be thrown in the wash.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+63points
Review 4 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

Give it a chance

12/29/2010
By ,
Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just got it today. I did have to call Bissell customer service because there was no steam & the steam lever made a funny noise. Apparently, you must hold it in order for the pump to prime. Then the steam will come out. The sweeper part works as expected. If you have problems with hand strength or coordination, this may not be the product for you. It requires you to use some considerable strength to steer it as the head is not very flexible. Overall, I think it did a good job. And do not mistake the dustbin release for a place to put your foot to deploy the unit. The dustbin will come off, then you have to clean it up again. Also, the unit should be used only with distilled water. This helps to prolong the filter.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+49points
Review 5 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

GREAT PRODUCT!

01/07/2011
By ,
NW Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love this!! it vacuums and steams just as it says!!
pros: you can flip a switch to turn on and off the vacuum, and a trigger to steam, so you can choose vac & steam, just vac or just steam...NICE!
removable water tank...much easier than like the shark steam mop where you funnel it in.
pads remove easily, wash easily, and go back on easily. it comes with 2.
cons: the only thing i was a bit disappointed in was the swivel head sticks in one position rather than swivels easily.
the first time you use it, it takes A LONG time to get the steam to prime up. It says it in the manual, but they extremely understated it. not a big deal, but I did think it was broke at first.
the cord is SO LONG it's almost annoying, but it does wrap up on the handle, so it's not really a con, just unhandy some times...
overall, I am a mother with 3 kids under 4 and two inside dogs. LOTS of messes and I LOVE being able to vac & clean our hardwood and tile at the same time. It really does cut the cleaning time in half.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

great sweeper if you like breaking yr back

12/16/2011
By ,
Indianapolis,In
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so dissapointed,this does not pick up any dirt at all, not even the smallest of things. You have to sweep every inch of the floor first before using this steam and sweep. If you have that fake hardwood please dont consider this product, its leaves them dull and looks as if theres a very dull film on them. Gawd 4 bid if you have a dog or cat it will not pick up any hair at all, why they call it a sweep and clean is really a joke. If theres anything on the floor before using it makes little piles all over then you have to re-sweep with another sweeper. I picked this steam and sweep up 3 hours ago at walmart, and its took me 2 hours just doing my kitchen floor. IT IS USELESS, and as im sitting here writing this im waiting on it to cool down so I can repack it in the box to return! PLEASE DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 7 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

This will make a big difference!

11/17/2010
By ,
Manassas, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just unpacked and assembled this product. I have about 1000 sq. feet of hard flooring on my ground floor and a dog and I'm in the woods - the floor gets sooo nasty! You use the sweeper feature dry first - do the whole floor. Also if the floor has alot of debris you really should use a broom then the sweeper feature then the steam and wow!! my floors are spotless! I have on white socks to prove it too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Review 8 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

not too pleased

01/07/2011
By ,
pike county, il
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
vacuum works okay. mop pads do not hug the floor very well. doesn't clean as well as my h20 mop.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Review 9 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

Labor-saving tool!

11/07/2010
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Vac-Stream Cleaner eliminates the need to remove loose dirt from floor prior to steam-cleaning it. It is now a one-step operation to very clean tile.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+30points
Review 10 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

Great for tile and hard wood floors

03/29/2012
By ,
Charleston, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product. I normally swept my floors, then swiffered, then mopped my tile and hard wood floors. This product actually eliminates two out of the three steps. It truly sweeps and steam mops at the same time. You do have to go at a reasonable pace, I know I normally vacuum quickly but with this you want to slow it down just a bit. It is so convenient and easy to use and clean up after use. You fill it up with water and then off you go. That easy!! I feel like those commercials on tv when the mothers are cleaning the house and get finished earlier than usual with a new product. I am so those mom's. I go over my floors once and off I go. I would totally recommend this product. The one change I would make is the corners and sides of walls. You have to go sideways to hit the wall sides, straight on wont pick up all the little things. Other than that, its wonderful. My favorite new cleaning item!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 11 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

love it

07/08/2011
By ,
Garden Grove, Calif
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a steam mop but I had to sweep the floor first & it had to be pumped for the steam to come out. It was a pain. The new one is great. It sweep the floor at the same time it is steaming & it does not have to be pumped. It does a beautiful job cleaning the floor. It makes it fun to clean the floor. It even use it on the hard wood floors. I am so glat I bought it. Thank you Walmart for having it at such a great price. And Walmart's price is very good. I did check other stores and Walmart had the best price. Again thank you Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 12 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W
10/14/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. There should be an on/off switch for the steam function.
I wish I had purchased a Hoover Floormate instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Review 13 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W
11/08/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not work well at all. Hard to push. Streaked my floor and the wipes on the bottom didn't clean well in the wash. I am sending this back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 14 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

The only true all in one all at once

07/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it! It sweeps into it's own dust pan and steam wipes the floor behind it without having to switch parts. Great for under the highchair -all you moms out there know what I'm talkin about!! my tile grout stays cleaner.... It cleans a wide variety (cat hair bread crumbs spilled milk carrot mush jam) all at the same time! and you can rinse and ring out the pad in the sink by hand super easy, The only thing is I wish it was cordless :) overall very impressed
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 15 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

It doesn't clean it smears, falls over

07/27/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst thing I have ever purchased by Bissell. The delivery and ordering from Walmart was great. I love Walmart. But this Bissell is pure nothing. It falls over, the clearning it does is not cleaning, it just does not clean it smears. It vaccums very well, that is all that it does. Bad decision to buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 16 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

Does not live up to expectations

06/05/2011
By ,
Boca Raton, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item has a very poorly designed dirt tray that holds vey little dirt and is not truly self contained. As a result when trying to remove the dirt tray to empty it it does not drop out and thus the dirt dumps on the floor requiring manual pick up with a rag or dust brush and dust pan. This is a major design flaw that limits the usefulness of the product. The steam portion of the unit works well but because of the sweeper function in front of the steam pad, the steam pad makes poor contact witht he ground and is very difficult to manuver into corners (actully impossible to get into cornoers or close to walls).
The bottom line is you are best off with 2 seperate tools one for sweeping up debris and one for steam cleaning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

over rated

04/11/2011
By ,
Marco Island florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
this product was bought for marble floors,.. the steam works good and it cleans OK, but leaves streaks... the combination seems like it would be great, but in fact the sweeper leaves all the dust and so you get steam mixing with that, just creates muck... I was pretty disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Review 18 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

Bissell dissappoints this time

04/26/2012
By ,
Lawrenceburg, TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My husband and I had been comparing sweep and steam products, I already have a shark steam mop and LOVE it...LOVELOVELOVE...IT! Did I mention I LOVE my shark steam mop? At any rate, he said he would rather have the bissell since we had tried the shark. So we ordered it from Walmart.com and was very pleased with the quick delivery and value compared to other vendors. Coming out of the box it was easy to put together. It does hold quite a bit more water than my Shark but my biggest complaint is that the design of the actually head of the steam and sweep. I realize it MUST be made this way for the sweep to be in front and the steam to be in the back but the head is so bulky that you can reach tight places, edges or corners well at all. Overall, we use this product for quick clean ups in the less traveled areas of the house and it does ok. But the living area where our pugs spend the most time I ended up using my older sweeper and Shark to go back over it because it did such a poor job. GREAT idea, but I don't see how the design will ever be any better.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

So far...so good

07/28/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only had this item for a week, so it's hard to give it an accurate durability review. However, I absolutely love this so far. It sweeps my floor better than a broom and swiffer combined. Also, having a crawler at home, I am happy to feel my floor is clean enough finally.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 20 for Bissell Steam and Sweep, 46B4W

Great purchase!!!

02/25/2011
By ,
Harned, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this item. It is one of the best things I have purchased online to date. I have five kids and laminate flooring so this gets used alot!! It is simple to use and does a great job! Would recommend this to anyone. Have bragged to everyone I know about it already!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 105 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next