Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Rubbermaid Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Rubbermaid Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

The Rubbermaid Garment Closet is great for seasonal storage, allowing you to stow away winter items such as ski jackets, scarves, heavy sweaters and more. It's also perfect for storing your summer wardrobe — use this garment closet to store your summer dresses, shorts and swimsuits. The Rubbermaid Garment Closet works well for both long and short term storage, especially if you're travelling for an extended period, or need additional closet space to supplement your wardrobe. This versatile garment closet has a breathable fabric cover that helps prevent mildewing and keeps moisture from accumulating. A clear window allows you to easily see the contents.
Average Customer Rating:
3.806 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(139 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
46
3 stars
5
2 stars
10
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation77%105 out of 137reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 84 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
46
3 stars
5
2 stars
10
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Good value

11/30/2012
By ,
Crestwood IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the garment closet in store from Walmart and I recently purchased a second one for my Mom i used mine to store my fur coats at a storage facility and it has been pretty sturdy it did take me some time to put together but is a good value for the money
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Excellent Storage Option

02/07/2014
By ,
Fort Worth TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really love the features on the Rubbermaid 36" Closet. This was really easy to put together. All of the pieces are marked with a corresponding letter that matched the instructions. Zippers appear to be sturdy enough, the mesh fabric cover breathes. I placed my winter garments in this for storage in my outdoor shed. Works great! The crossbar is sturdy enough to hold my jackets as well. There is a clear upper part that allows me to view the garments inside, so I don't have to open that to see if what I want is actually in there. Nicely designed, great value for the cost. The only thing I did not like about the materials used, is the "cardboard" bottom inside. Which actually is fine, the rack is not designed for bottom storage. But the bottom is actually part of the box it comes in, so don't throw that away. BTW my cat LOVEs this. Could barely get it put together without him once the outter shell was installed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Works for "me"

10/20/2013
By ,
Near the Blue Ridge NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Turned a room without a closet into a bedroom. This fits about perfect into a side part of the room and not distracting from looks. outside material seems to be sturdy "enough". Plastic and metal rod combo on inside will hold a dozen pants and dozen shirts easily with room for a suit and/or coat. The floor is enclosed and lacks something hard for shoe storage. You get a piece of cardboard to unfold down there. Being Rubbermaid , I wish that was a piece of plastic for a bit more stability. The top can also be used for some light items folded and a bit of thought on their part could have easily had a folded piece of plastic there to. I am not pushing this thing around once filled so I believe it will stand for a long time. For the price and quality, it works for "me".
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Broke on day 1

08/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The rack will not support clothing without falling apart\breaking. I would not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Didn't get hung up hanging up.

11/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Directions were OK and we got two of them together. Seemed a bit sturdier than ones I have had in the past. You could put something very light weight on top. Happy to have them
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

A Good Value

05/19/2010
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For cheap, extra closet space, this item is well worth the price. Do not get too excited about the picture. It does not look quite as nice close up as it does in the picture.
I, however, order somewhat frequently from Walmart and have learned the hard way that you can rarely judge items from the pictures so that was no biggie.
We use it to hang various types of shirts, a few jeans and some lighter weight pants. We placed some folded items on top and try to keep the clothing that we hang inside equally weighted and spaced (as suggested in earlier reviews) and so far we have not had any problems.
Over all a good value for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Good product at a great value.

11/27/2011
By ,
Batesville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these wardrobes several years ago to put in my storage building. We are now preparing to move and the seasonal garments that I have stored in them are just as they were the day I put them in it. My clothes (mainly coats, jackets, and long sleeve shirts) were well protected from moisture, insects, and dust. These wardrobes held up very well. The only improvement I would suggest would be a little bit sturdier piece of cardboard for the floor to store shoes and such on. I would recommend this product to anybody looking to expand their clothing storage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Perfect

11/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think I picked the perfect garment closet for my needs and the price was great too!!! I was easy to assemble and does not take up much space.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

set up next to impossible without ripping zipers

08/31/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I understand the value of this product but the design to set up is extremely poor. it is impossible NOT to rip the zippers & parts of the shell. I expected more from a brand name such as "Rubbermaid". I had to use Velcro Tape in order to close the flaps. JUST A VERY , VERY POOR DESIGN ,VERY DISAPOINTED.I would Not recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Great for small bedrooms

10/30/2014
By ,
Charleston SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rubbermaid is well known for its product's durability and that's what motivated me to purchase this Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet. The set up is fast and easy. I'm very impressed I had to buy another one in a bigger size. It is sturdy I had to use the top part to store my designer handbags.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

good clothes storage

10/21/2014
By ,
Bald Knob, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these to hang clothes in while my bedroom was being remodeled. The diagram and written directions are easy to follow and I used my rubber mallet to tap the well-identified tubes firmly together. The finished product is very nice-looking and my clothes are inside, free of wrinkles and dust. Also, these will be great for storing clothes for changes of the season or sorting out for donations. I'm very pleased with these Rubbermaid 36" closets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

A nice decent size portable closet

10/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love it honestly, its the perfect size for the spot I needed and is pretty durable. Just make sure you follow the directions to a T because you might rip the top layer ar break one of the pieces. This product could actually be top best if the parts were made of steel or harder metal
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

A very nice and helpful product

04/26/2010
By ,
San Juan, PR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very strong good for extra closet
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Great storage for the price

10/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to put together. Looks neat and organized.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Cheap

04/29/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Zipper broke as soon as I set it up.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

It collapsed

07/22/2009
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After having stored my offseason clothes in 3 of these that I bought, starting about a year ago, I went down the basement this week, and 2 of them had just collapsed. I presume the frames inside could not bear the weight of the winter clothes that were put in it. They should come with some sort of instructions on how many clothes they will hold. Don't buy this except for a few light weight clothes. I have two now that will go on the garbage pile.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Was Surprised at the quality of this item

10/16/2014
By ,
Lewiston, Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was surprised at the quality but shouldn't have been since it is a Rubbermaid product. We are so please with it and it keeps out the dust, etc but still gets air so as not to get stagnet. Thank you Rubbermaid for making a superior product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Inexpensive, but does the job

01/14/2013
By ,
Orland, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this online, and had it shipped to my local store.
I picked it up and was surprised at how small the box was. Looking at the photo online, I expected a larger box.
I unpacked the contents, which consisted of several thin metal poles, a few plastic pieces, and the outer fabric cover.
The directions were clear, and I started assembling the garment closet. I has my doubts...the poles seems pretty flimsy, but once I got it all together (no tools needed), it seemed functional. The only complaint I had was I thought I was missing the "floor" in the package, but it turns out the "floor" is just a piece of cardboard...pretty flimsy and cheesy.
It's very lightweight. I picked it up one-handed and carried it to the bedroom. I went though my closet and took my 4 full suits, several pairs of pants, some shirts, shoes, and all my ties and hung then up in the garment closet. It held surprisingly steady.
While I cannot review the long-term durability of this closet, it seems to be a good item for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

wardrobe closet

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The wardrobe closet was necessary because of a very bedroom small closet (house was built in the 50"s). This size was a better fit than the 60' (bigger than I thought it would be) I bought before this one. Assembling it wasn't that bad, but it did get frustrating at times. Parts are clearly labeled and that was helpful. Overall, it's a good product. The box was in poor shape and torn in places so the handling of it was not great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

flimsy

12/21/2013
By ,
Lacey, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this because the reviews were good and it is made by Rubbermaid.
Wow---it does not own up to it's name. It is cheap flimsy poles that pop into
a hole. Nothing to screw in. I can tell it will not stand up--only fall down--the
material ripped three times as I was putting together. I am taking it back to store.
What do I expect for $20. I think I'll just buy a simple clothes rack.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 118 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next