Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Rubbermaid Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Rubbermaid Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

The Rubbermaid Garment Closet is great for seasonal storage, allowing you to stow away winter items such as ski jackets, scarves, heavy sweaters and more. It's also perfect for storing your summer wardrobe — use this garment closet to store your summer dresses, shorts and swimsuits. The Rubbermaid Garment Closet works well for both long and short term storage, especially if you're travelling for an extended period, or need additional closet space to supplement your wardrobe. This versatile garment closet has a breathable fabric cover that helps prevent mildewing and keeps moisture from accumulating. A clear window allows you to easily see the contents.
Average Customer Rating:
3.76 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(129 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
44
3 stars
5
2 stars
10
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation76%96 out of 127reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 76 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
44
3 stars
5
2 stars
10
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Good value

11/30/2012
By ,
Crestwood IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the garment closet in store from Walmart and I recently purchased a second one for my Mom i used mine to store my fur coats at a storage facility and it has been pretty sturdy it did take me some time to put together but is a good value for the money
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Excellent Storage Option

02/07/2014
By ,
Fort Worth TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really love the features on the Rubbermaid 36" Closet. This was really easy to put together. All of the pieces are marked with a corresponding letter that matched the instructions. Zippers appear to be sturdy enough, the mesh fabric cover breathes. I placed my winter garments in this for storage in my outdoor shed. Works great! The crossbar is sturdy enough to hold my jackets as well. There is a clear upper part that allows me to view the garments inside, so I don't have to open that to see if what I want is actually in there. Nicely designed, great value for the cost. The only thing I did not like about the materials used, is the "cardboard" bottom inside. Which actually is fine, the rack is not designed for bottom storage. But the bottom is actually part of the box it comes in, so don't throw that away. BTW my cat LOVEs this. Could barely get it put together without him once the outter shell was installed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

great closet

07/26/2014
By ,
Rochester NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product regardless of the bad reviews. The only recommendation i have: when you put the top part of the frame together do not connect it to the bottom part, then pulling the fabric over tge assembled frame. The fabric will rip for sure. Insteadput the top frame together and put it inside the fabric and once you fit all the corners in then connect it to the botton frame. I did it that way and it was great. I have lots of clothes ib 3 of them and everything is holding up great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Works for "me"

10/20/2013
By ,
Near the Blue Ridge NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Turned a room without a closet into a bedroom. This fits about perfect into a side part of the room and not distracting from looks. outside material seems to be sturdy "enough". Plastic and metal rod combo on inside will hold a dozen pants and dozen shirts easily with room for a suit and/or coat. The floor is enclosed and lacks something hard for shoe storage. You get a piece of cardboard to unfold down there. Being Rubbermaid , I wish that was a piece of plastic for a bit more stability. The top can also be used for some light items folded and a bit of thought on their part could have easily had a folded piece of plastic there to. I am not pushing this thing around once filled so I believe it will stand for a long time. For the price and quality, it works for "me".
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Good product at a great value.

11/27/2011
By ,
Batesville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these wardrobes several years ago to put in my storage building. We are now preparing to move and the seasonal garments that I have stored in them are just as they were the day I put them in it. My clothes (mainly coats, jackets, and long sleeve shirts) were well protected from moisture, insects, and dust. These wardrobes held up very well. The only improvement I would suggest would be a little bit sturdier piece of cardboard for the floor to store shoes and such on. I would recommend this product to anybody looking to expand their clothing storage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

A very strong product

07/27/2014
By ,
maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love that it comes in a navy blue
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

A Good Value

05/19/2010
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For cheap, extra closet space, this item is well worth the price. Do not get too excited about the picture. It does not look quite as nice close up as it does in the picture.
I, however, order somewhat frequently from Walmart and have learned the hard way that you can rarely judge items from the pictures so that was no biggie.
We use it to hang various types of shirts, a few jeans and some lighter weight pants. We placed some folded items on top and try to keep the clothing that we hang inside equally weighted and spaced (as suggested in earlier reviews) and so far we have not had any problems.
Over all a good value for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Cheap

04/29/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Zipper broke as soon as I set it up.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

It's pretty good

07/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty good product
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

flimsy

12/21/2013
By ,
Lacey, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this because the reviews were good and it is made by Rubbermaid.
Wow---it does not own up to it's name. It is cheap flimsy poles that pop into
a hole. Nothing to screw in. I can tell it will not stand up--only fall down--the
material ripped three times as I was putting together. I am taking it back to store.
What do I expect for $20. I think I'll just buy a simple clothes rack.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Different than Expected

05/19/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have more clothes than closet space and thought this would be a good solution. I trust the Rubbermaid name, that's why I chose this. The appearance was an eye sore, and it wasn't as sturdy or "sealed tight" as I thought it would be. If it is used to store off-season clothes and you have somewhere people aren't going to see this, it would serve its purpose. If you could hide it in a closet, it would be okay, but the whole reason I bought it was I didn't have enough closet space. If moisture, mold, insects is a concern, like from a garage, basement, or shed, this is not your product. The zipped cover only goes to the bottom and the bottom is a piece of cardboard.
Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

A very nice and helpful product

04/26/2010
By ,
San Juan, PR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very strong good for extra closet
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

It collapsed

07/22/2009
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After having stored my offseason clothes in 3 of these that I bought, starting about a year ago, I went down the basement this week, and 2 of them had just collapsed. I presume the frames inside could not bear the weight of the winter clothes that were put in it. They should come with some sort of instructions on how many clothes they will hold. Don't buy this except for a few light weight clothes. I have two now that will go on the garbage pile.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Inexpensive, but does the job

01/14/2013
By ,
Orland, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this online, and had it shipped to my local store.
I picked it up and was surprised at how small the box was. Looking at the photo online, I expected a larger box.
I unpacked the contents, which consisted of several thin metal poles, a few plastic pieces, and the outer fabric cover.
The directions were clear, and I started assembling the garment closet. I has my doubts...the poles seems pretty flimsy, but once I got it all together (no tools needed), it seemed functional. The only complaint I had was I thought I was missing the "floor" in the package, but it turns out the "floor" is just a piece of cardboard...pretty flimsy and cheesy.
It's very lightweight. I picked it up one-handed and carried it to the bedroom. I went though my closet and took my 4 full suits, several pairs of pants, some shirts, shoes, and all my ties and hung then up in the garment closet. It held surprisingly steady.
While I cannot review the long-term durability of this closet, it seems to be a good item for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

great price fast shipping

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great deal and shipped real fast. Most stores did not carry this item in stock so I had to order online. Half the price of one they had at target
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Unable to review. Item had been sold and returned

06/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unable to review. Item was missing several pieces and setup instructions. Returning back to store for full refund ugh!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

good buy

06/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
love this product... bought the "honey" one and returned them.. these closest holds up better
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Amazingly easy set up

05/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I checked the box for a Made in the USA label because the set up was so easy. When setting it up pay attention to the shape of the poles - one set has an indent. The fabric looks to be lighter weight than the more expensive wardrobe closets but for our need, it is GREAT! We won't be hanging all heavy garments in it. This item is discontinued though - so if you are in need of a lightweight closet - buy it now - once gone - gone forever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Maybe I just got a lemon, but...

05/29/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I can't speak for the ease of setup; my closet was put together for me by a neighbor. But after less than two months, it popped several of its rods and fell over on its face. Since fixing it would have meant taking the whole thing apart and putting it back together--which was impractical without the instruction sheet--I simply emptied it out (not without a lot of tussling and bad language), tore it down, and will be returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rubbermaid 36" Garment Closet

Great Value

10/07/2009
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased two of these items and found them to be perfect for my situation. Assembly was a little tricky, especially getting the cover around the frame.
Trick is to assemble the bottom half first, then insert into cover. Slide top half in unassembled, then cover and connect top and bottom inside the cover. A little tricky, but once together works very well.
No problems with capacity inside. Very portable, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 108 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next