Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sunbeam Sunbeam Fleece Heated Electric Blanket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sunbeam Sunbeam Fleece Heated Electric Blanket

Snuggle up and get cozy this winter with the added warmth of the Sunbeam Fleece Warming Blanket. Ten heat settings help you customize the warming function, so you're only as toasty as you want to be. This soft fleece blanket keeps you comfortable throughout the night and has an auto-off feature — it warms you only when you want it to. Plus, this warming blanket is very easy to care for, as it's machine washable and dryer safe. The Sunbeam Fleece Warming Blanket is available in a variety of sizes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.506 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(672 Reviews) 517
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
483
4 stars
119
3 stars
25
2 stars
17
1 star
28
Customer Recommendation92%617 out of 671reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
483
4 stars
119
3 stars
25
2 stars
17
1 star
28
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunbeam Fleece Heated Electric Blanket

Barely tepid.

12/04/2010
By ,
Redondo Beach, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was very excited about getting this blanket. Looks pretty nice and not bulky BUT it doesn't get warm enough. I bought two, so at first I thought one was defective, so I tried the second one - same story. Put it on H, which is the hottest setting out of 10 and I can barely feel the heat. Also, the connection cord/plug isn't designed well, IMHO. It says in the instructions that it needs to click to be properly connected. To do so, you need to push the very rigid plastic "prongs" on this connector, beyond two equally rigid plastic "bumps", located on the female side of the connector (the one built-in in the blanket). I was sure I was going to break it. I had to pry the prongs away from the main part, to be able to push them beyond those bumps. I think it might easily break if I were to undo it to wash the blanket. Will probably return. P.S. Just tried to unplug the connector. Practically impossible. Almost broke it and I DID break my nails, prying it apart.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Review 2 for Sunbeam Fleece Heated Electric Blanket

It serves it's purpose

10/22/2010
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Received the blanket in blue and plugged it in and it works just fine. I lived in Rhode Island for 15 years and was not exactly sure what "Newport Blue" was going to look like or even what "Newport Blue" actually was. The color in the picture of the description does Not look like the actual color of the blanket. It is a very Dead Blue / Flat blue.
I did not buy this blanket as an item that I was decorating a bedroom with so it was not a big concern however if the color is crucial to you then be prepared. As for the electric cord; if your electrical socket is more than 4 feet from the foot of your bed be prepared to attach an extension cord to plug it in with. I keep the power switch next to my pillow and it is perfect right there. As another reviewer mentioned: It does indeed take 2 hands to change the heating level which is Not a bad thing. My bed is a Queen size and I bought the Twin size blanket and it is perfect. I sleep alone so if you have a partner you do need the Queen size....
Buy it for sure, but do not expect the color to match the pic
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+58points
Review 3 for Sunbeam Fleece Heated Electric Blanket

Good Blanket but difficult cord

01/11/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I saw some negative reviews and I would be in the same boat if I hadn't figured out the cord.
At first I "thought" I plugged it in correctly but noticed that after a few uses my blanket wasn't "working" anymore.
I was frustrated because I didn't have my receipt to return it. Plus I really wanted an affordable heating blanket!
I noticed the cord would come out easy and thought, that can't be right. So I re-read the instructions specifically the cord part and their picture showed it should click, but no matter how hard I was pressing it wouldn't go further, so I was worried that if I pressed any harder I would break the cord.
So My mistake was leaving it pressed on HALF WAY because the cord is ridiculously hard to snap in to the point where it seems like you're not suppose to press it any further.
Once I managed that, my blanket works as it should! So to all the negative reviews, make sure your cord is properly plugged in by sternly pressing in the cord where the side bumps GO PAST the raised edges. Once you hear that CLICK, you got it!
One more thing... Mine takes a while to fully get warmed up to it's number (approximately 20-30 mins) but once it does, it's great!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Review 4 for Sunbeam Fleece Heated Electric Blanket

Best value for the best electric blanket

03/09/2011
By ,
Northern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prior to buying the Sunbeam blanket, we bought two different brands of electric blanket and both were unfit for use though for different reasons.
After returning those, we found the Sunbeam on sale for a great price and have been *extremely* happy with the blanket since day one.
The Sunbeam fits well even though it is a king size and our bed is a California king. That was an unexpected but pleasant surprise as the prior two blankets we bought, though they claimed to be for Cal King, were too narrow. Score a big one for Sunbeam.
The blanket itself looks and feels great. The feel of the blanket is wonderful - soft, supple and kinda rich feeling.
The blanket seems to warm up quickly (we've not timed it, but haven't had to as it's always been warm when we needed it to be) and we set it on low to 3 and are quite nice and even a bit toasty. We're in California where our nights have been in the 28 to 36 degree range, so those of you in Minnesota or thereabouts may need to turn it up higher, but when I set it on 5, I felt like a roasting turkey...
All in all, we are very pleased with the Sunbeam blanket and definitely would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 5 for Sunbeam Fleece Heated Electric Blanket

Fleece is SO much better!

10/04/2011
By ,
Thomasville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the fleece blanket, even when it isn't turned on! It's softer and more cuddly than the wool ones. And when it's heating, it's wonderful. Just one small thing...the website said it wasn't available in stores but I saw one in our local Walmart yesterday, $6 cheaper than what I paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+50points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Clarksville, AR
Why No Dual Controls?
Posted 12/05/2011
Why do the queen or king sizes not have dual controls? I'm needing one with 2 controls because my husband need more heat than I do.
0points
Customer Avatar
Bothell, WA
Go to store to get price difference
Posted 11/09/2011
If you frequent the store enough and the Customer Service line is long go get the price adjustment. You deserve it, maybe even discuss about the shipping charge being refunded because you would have rather got it at the store.
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Sunbeam Fleece Heated Electric Blanket

worse electric warmer

01/04/2011
By ,
syracuse, ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this blanket less than 30 days ago and it has stopped working already. Don't buy any of the sumbeam electric blankets. I have lupus and arthritis and these warming blanket help me in the winter time so I don't hurt so bad in the mornings. I have been very loyal to Sunbeam, I have had to purchase an electric blanket every winter season because I have not had any luck with their blankets and I am a loyal customer to products I like. This year, I changed to a different style than I usually buy thinking maybe it was just the style that was the problem, but no such luck, this blanket hasn't lasted 30 days. I am so disappointed and this is my last purchase of any sunbeam electric blanket. I actually just purchased another brand thru JCPennys and it a more expensive blanket but was on sale for just $5 more than this one, but all the reviews I have read were great. So don't waste your money. Sunbeam has lost me as a customer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Sunbeam Fleece Heated Electric Blanket

YOU MUST HEAR THE CLICK WHEN YOU PLUG IT IN!!

11/29/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this blanket last year and it worked great. I got it out of storage this Fall and had been unable to get it to work. I was pretty mad thinking even though it was relatively inexpensive compared to other electric blankets, it's not a good deal if it only lasts one year! I was on the verge of throwing it away and purchasing another (and different) one when I read that one reviewer said you have to hear the click when you plug it in. So I decided to try it one more time before spending money on another one. I am so glad I did! It appears to be working again!
So, before you throw it out, make sure you push the prongs all the way past the bumps on the sides AND hear the click. I had the prongs pushed past the bumps, but it still didn't work. I had to unplug it (which is not easy) and pushed kind of hard when I re-plugged it. I heard the click, and lo and behold the light came on!
Thank you reviewers, you just saved me from spending another $30-$40 on a more expensive blanket!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 8 for Sunbeam Fleece Heated Electric Blanket

Dies after a few months

12/01/2010
By ,
Livermore, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned 3 of these sunbeam electric blankets (bought all from Wal-Mart) I bought a twin size for my wife on her side of the bed and it died after 3-4 months of use. Next season I bought her another one thinking it was just a fluke, nope, same result. In Dec of 2009 I wanted a queen size for both of us so I went looking around at a bunch of diff stores and everyone carried Sunbeam! So I caved and bought a Queen Size Sunbeam at Walmart (best price) hoping for the best and guess what??? Yep, after a few months of use it died too! Now to be explicit, when I say died, I mean it no longer got really hot like it used to when it was new. The instructions say this is common and that all you have to do is unplug it and then plug it back in. I do this and it never gets as hot as when it was new. Piece of junk, DO NOT BUY, look for another non-sunbeam brand! Thats what I'll be doing this season.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 9 for Sunbeam Fleece Heated Electric Blanket

Best Electric Blanket

10/25/2010
By ,
Augusta, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best electric blanket I have ever purchased. It keeps me warm even on the lowest setting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+68points
Review 10 for Sunbeam Fleece Heated Electric Blanket

Toasty!

12/13/2010
By ,
Waukee, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 3 of these TWIN size electric blankets~1 for me & hubby, 1 for 18 yr old dtr and 1 for 15 yr old son...we ALL totally love them!!! You don't need to buy the "correct" sizes...our bed is a king and it is just perfect, you don't need to warm the sides of any bed! We live in Iowa and it's freezing now and none of us are cold anymore!! It shuts off automatically if someone forgets to shut it off~thank goodness~because teens forget alot!! You can't go wrong with this electric blanket!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 11 for Sunbeam Fleece Heated Electric Blanket

A great value

11/11/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched all around, and this was the best price I could find. I was afraid it wouldn't be very good quality, but upon arrival, I was delighted to find that it had a nice feel, and worked very well. I am quite pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+108points
Review 12 for Sunbeam Fleece Heated Electric Blanket

Not your grandmother's electric blanket!

02/01/2011
By ,
Hanover, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't say enough about this blanket. I bought 3 of these last year and just love them. We keep the thermostat for our heat down low at night and with the blankets we're warmer than ever and only heating the beds, not the whole house. The fleece is soft and the auto shut off is a great feature. I just bought another one a few weeks ago for the guest room or when the kids have sleepovers in the basement. Buy it, you won't be sorry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 13 for Sunbeam Fleece Heated Electric Blanket

Not washable

10/29/2010
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would not recommend this be washed. I purchased several for my house. They worked perfectly fine until I washed them. Once they were washed they stopped heating up. I washed and dried according to the directions. One no longer heats the other only heats in several spots and no longer gets as hot. Also once you connect the cord together it is hard to get loose.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jacksonville, FL
Bad Blankets
Posted 10/22/2011
I have to buy them every year. They work one year, then the next winter I have to buy another one because it does not get hot anymore. They are great for when they work, but they are not reliable.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Sunbeam Fleece Heated Electric Blanket

warm

11/29/2010
By ,
ware , ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this electric blanket is nice ,works as it should its also my 2nd Sunbeam in the past couple of years and they both did the job. I have a king size bed but I bought just a twin size and it lays across my bed just fine
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 15 for Sunbeam Fleece Heated Electric Blanket

Great Blanket

01/04/2011
By ,
Stratford, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this blanket only a few weeks, but I love it so far. The bedroom is not heated and we have had some very cold outdoor temperatures ( in the single digits) but the blanket has kept us warm.
We have a light decorative blanket over the electric blanket so that might make it a little warmer, but we don't have to turn it on very high. The dual controls on this queen size blanket make it possible for both of us to be comfortable and are easy to use and see in the dark.
I do not notice any pilling of the blanket, but I did not prewash it as our water was frozen the night we got it and I could not resist using it immediately. It was great to be warm!
I would like to have two more for the guest bedrooms but am hoping to find a better price. It is great to get into a warm bed every night but hard to leave it on cold mornings.
I really do not have any negative things to say about this blanket and am hoping it will last several years because I will hate to have spent that much money for just one year of use no matter how much I like it now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Sunbeam Fleece Heated Electric Blanket

pitiful

11/02/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've been using electric blankets most of my life, and sadly, my old one has died (only one side works). Unfortunately, prices have gone up considerably since I last purchased one, so when I found this one, I was quite pleased, knowing that Sunbeam was a good brand name. The fabric is fairly substantial, and very soft to the touch. The wires are not terribly noticable, and the cords are long enough to reach any outlet. I was surprised to find that there is only one plug into the blanket for a queen size (most queen blankets plug in at two different spots), however I thought that as long as it did the job I would not be concerned. BUT, it did not do the job. Even set on high, this blanket never got more than slightly warm. Perhaps electric blankets have changed since I last bought one (three years ago??) but I'm used to them getting quite warm, so that the bed gets REALLY toasty - enough so that I need to turn it off before I go to sleep. Not so with this blanket; it never got past the "hardly notice that it's on" stage before you're ready to get up in the morning. In short - DON'T BUY IT - unless you have nothing better to do with your money, or really don't want to get warm at night! This one's going back to the store!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+8points
Review 17 for Sunbeam Fleece Heated Electric Blanket

doesn't last

10/19/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2nd fall/winter in a row that the blanket failed to work after storing for the summer. I've been careful about storage to keep from damaging wires but once again the blanket does not work after several months of no use. Be prepared to replace it every year!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+14points
Review 18 for Sunbeam Fleece Heated Electric Blanket

Great value for good product

10/30/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased Sunbeam electric blanket for twin bed.
Fully featured. Description fits ad to a T.
Works great.
Cost 29.99 at Walmart and 49.99 - 69.00 (after comaprison shopping) everywhere else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
daniellestew
Nice!!
Posted 10/13/2011
I have a queen bed but purchased the full size as the store was out of stock in the queen. It fits just fine. Glad I didn't spend the extra money to get the queen size. Bring on winter. I am ready.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Sunbeam Fleece Heated Electric Blanket

You wont be sorry!

11/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If I didn't have to eat or, you know, have a life....I would never leave my bed again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 20 for Sunbeam Fleece Heated Electric Blanket

Get the right size!

02/05/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The performance is great. The lowest setting is really all you need to maintain perfect body temp. The highest setting is good for baking bread...
Everyone will find a number that's good for them. The warm-up time is FAST. Only about 10 minutes.
As far as size, I listened to other reviewers when they said the full or queen-sized fit on a king bed. Big mistake! The full did indeed fit on our Cal-king, with the sides of the blanket reaching to the sides of the mattress....until you put someone UNDER the blanket. That's when simple geometry takes over. The middle of the blanket raises up, and the sides pull in. This leaves you with 8 or so inches of un-heated perimeter around the edge. So, get the size that matches your bed, and let it hang over a bit. You'll be glad you did.
Something else I forgot to consider: There's only one controller for the full-sized. If you like different temps like my wife and I, and you have a queen or king, get a blanket to match.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 518 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  26 Next