Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lasko Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Lasko Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

The Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater 6405 features a decorative scrollwork base and will make a stylish yet functional addition to your home. It has an elongated ceramic heating element to offer 1500 W of comforting warm air that you will enjoy on those chilly days. Built-in safety features make this Lasko Designer Series oscillating ceramic heater safe and easy to use, ensuring that you can be confident in its quality performance. The adjustable thermostat allows you to set the most precise option for your comfort. To ensure mobility from one room to another, this electric oscillating heater is designed with a convenient carry handle. The compact size will let you store it most anywhere in your home with ease. It has tip-over safety protection so you can rely on its sturdy design to withstand an occasional bump or two. It comes fully assembled so you can enjoy it right away.
Average Customer Rating:
4.595 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(518 Reviews) 482
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
403
4 stars
71
3 stars
14
2 stars
9
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation94%488 out of 518reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 320 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
403
4 stars
71
3 stars
14
2 stars
9
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405
01/25/2012
By ,
Oregon House CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have looked at a number of heaters, and read the reviews. This heater had the highest number of 5 Star reviews. Of all the heaters I looked at. Reasons for purchase. Design, Value. Efficient, 3 year warranty, and in reading the people that bought this heater over 95% rated it a 5 star. now that says something. I got 3 other space heaters in the last 8 weeks that I took back, and they were all more expensive than this heater, and didn't do as good a job heating. I agree with all the people that rated this Lasko mod 6405 heater. I bought 1 and liked it so good I went back and bought another one.. Good purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

LOVE IT LOVE IT

10/27/2013
By ,
Royersford, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have doing my research for the past 2 weeks on portable heaters etc... We just bought a house and have central heat/forced air. I wanted a backup plan incase something went wrong in the dead of winter and broke. I wanted heat. I got 3 kids and needed a backup heat source. I bought this today at our local Wal-Mart for $47. Our home is shy of 1300 square feet. I found a central location in the home. I had it set at 75 degrees, in about 2 hours our home was toasty on the main floor as well as upstairs. Its very quiet and the amount of heat it throws off is amazing. My kids had rosy red checks with it at 75. You can set it up to 85 if you really want to. We left ours at 75. Its so easy to operate and run. I thought maybe I might need 2 of them. But 1 will do it just fine. The box says warms up to 400 square feet. Well we are over that by a lot and I think its just fine. My husband now thinks we need a 2nd one for the garage in the winter. I might just agree with him on that one :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Great Product

11/13/2013
By ,
Brandon, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this heater for starting my third winter. It is a great product. I've actually dropped it from shoulder height onto a tile floor and it still works perfectly. It has a timer feature which I love. Also it has high and low heat settings and I have not found a room it will not heat. It cuts itself off when the chosen temp is reached and comes back on when it drops. The only negative thing I could say about it is if you don't have it on max heat, the temp choices are limited. The heat temps are in 5 degree increments. Either 65,70,75,80 and such. My baby's nursery is comfortable at 73. 70 is to cool and 75 is to warm so this is not conducive for her room. I didn't deduct any stars for this because I still enjoy it in all other rooms of my home. Especially in my bathroom on those extremely cold nights when I shower or cold early morning showers. But if you're trying to maintain a certain temp outside of the 5 degree increments, I would pass on this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

This little guy is great, best heater I've owned

11/04/2011
By ,
Metro Atlanta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Honeywell electric radiator heater for over $70.00, and I purchased this little Lasko heater for under $40.00, well to my surprise this Lasko heater which is about thirty dollars cheaper, out performs the higher price heater 2 to 1. I like the Honeywell and I did end up keeping it, but one should do their research on fan forced ceramic heaters vs. oil filled radiator heaters. The Honeywell is an oil filled radiator heater, it takes much longer to warm up so the heat is not immediate, it is great for a room where you can close the door, but not so much for a large family room or living area. This little designer series Lasko heating system is fan forced which means immediate heat. This baby gets hot, but shuts off when the room reaches the temp. Don't sit on the fence with this one, it deserves a 10 star rating. When the winter season is over, if this heater goes on sale I will be buying 2 more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Cheap yet quiet.

11/04/2011
By ,
Huntsville, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very pleasantly surprised at how quiet this unit is. Yes, I can hear it come on or operating if I'm awake, but it's not disturbing at all and if I'm asleep it doesn't wake me up. Oh, and that's in its HIGH setting.
It hasn't gotten that cold down here in the south yet, but so far it's done a great job of maintaining about 75 degrees in my 15' x 20' bedroom (with raised ceiling). When it has come on while I'm awake, it has only run about 5-10 minutes each time so far.
The one expectation of mine it didn't really meet is the oscillation. Yes, it oscillates, but just barely -- only about 1/2 the width of the screen you see on the picture. I was hoping for at least 45 degrees so it could keep both the bedroom and the bathroom heated.
One other thing -- the ability to select a temperature to maintain is ONLY available in its HIGH setting; the low setting runs continuously, but with the HIGH setting so quiet it really hasn't mattered.
Overall I would recommend this. It's cheap, light in weight, works well, quiet and it looks good, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Huntsville, AL
Still going strong
Posted 11/12/2013
UPDATE: Starting my 3rd year with this heater and still not a single problem with it. I am SO GLAD this is the space heater I bought.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Attractive and useful small heater

12/26/2013
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This heater is both attractive and relatively small.
Very good value for the price and well constructed.
It also proved to be very useful in an emergency when my furnace failed.
The furnace is now fixed.
I would like to see a heavier plug and cord on this unit though.
It should have a three prong plug instead of the polarized two prong plug it has.
It should also have a heavy duty three wire cord.
The cord supplied is also too short (5 feet), so the heater must be close to the outlet.
I also had to use four felt coaster to ensure the rubber feet don't mark the table and cabinet I put it on. It would be better to have felt padded metal feet built in.
The prongs on the plug do get very hot when the unit is used on high.
The cord was warm but not hot.
1500W is close to the 15A rating of a standard outlet.
I suggest using it in a 20A outlet where possible or use the low setting ... especially if you have an older home.
The above would apply to ALL 1500W heater.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Wow! Cute AND Efficient!

10/25/2013
By ,
Blairsville, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading the great reviews, and also after reading that my local Walmart store was out of stock, I went to three other stores looking for this heater, and all of them were out of stock! Decided to drive over to Walmart and check the shelves anyway, and I am so glad I did. There were about 5 people on the aisle looking at heaters, and lo and behold, there was one Lasko 6405 on the shelf. I GRABBED IT AND RAN, LOL! Brought it home to my little cottage, plugged it in (it's very attractive!) and within a half hour, it had taken the chill off my 750 square feet interior. Since I'll just be using it in whatever room I'm in, I know it's going to be as perfect as all the other reviews claim. Wanted the 6435 with remote, but I may still order one of those as well. Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Durable Heater

12/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received this heater today. It is bigger than I expected; it's big enough where it can be placed on the floor instead of a table. Besides it's unique appearance, one characteristic that stands out is it's durability. It looks and feels like a very sturdy unit. It puts out good heat, but you will have to let it run quite awhile to heat a larger area. It performs better in a small, enclosed space, or a small to medium room. I tried using it in an open-layout kitchen/dining/living room area, and it didn't do much...it just succeeded in heating the immediate area around us. Bottom line, it does not perform well in an expansive area, or in areas with high or vaulted ceilings. It has a detailed thermostat on top where you can set it at a certain temp, choose oscillation, or high/low. I've decided to use this heater as a bedroom heater in the master bedroom, as it is very QUIET, and complements bedroom decor well. I notice that this heater has been flying out of stock on Walmart.com for shipping, so if you see it back in stock, grab one before they go out-of-stock again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Great Product, Great Price

09/13/2011
By ,
Southeast Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this heater last year to compliment my heating system in my home. I bought it because even tho my heat was set to 75, i was still cold. To my surprise i found that this little heater, not only warmed my room up to make it comfy, but allowed me to lower my thermostat setting, to the point i cut my propane use from the previous year at least in half. And my electric bill did not go thru the roof. I also used this to heat an unheated bedroom, and found it was more then up to the job, I even had to get up and turn it down on several occasions. I usually set its temp control to 65, and was perfectly comfortable. In my bedroom, it would run about 15 minutes, on the 65 degree setting for about 15 minutes about every hour or so, during the coldest part of the winter. The exterior stays cool to the touch, except for the screened area where the heat is blown out, and it cools within seconds when turned off. I used it everyday from the first day i bought it during the winter months, and most times, my home heating system was not needed, but i live alone, so only needed to heat the room i was in. very sturdy little unit.
I plan to buy one for my Girlfriend this year, that is if she is good :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+175points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Nice Good Quality Heater

09/15/2011
By ,
Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this "Designer Series Heater." last year (2010). With the Temperatures expected to get a bit below 40 tonight.. I pulled it out after it being stored since last winter. It works like a Charm, ..still. It's looks so pretty with its designer look. I really like this one by Lasko. I have another traditional heater upstairs, Lasko also, the gray/silver straight standing style. That one works well also. Good Heaters. They really warm things up, and keep it comfy. I'll likely purchase another "Designer" Series one, for this season, as I love the look of them so much.
The actual color of the Designer Series-- is a speckled Oatmeal/Tan color. In the Walmart picture it shows it a bit different. It goes well with any decor. I've placed mine in different rooms, and it looks nice in all decors.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Great size and Great Looking

12/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great size and it's good looking too. We use this in our master bedroom which is 12 x 14 in size. Heat the room so well we don't have to use central heat which is very expensive here in this part of Florida due highest power rates in state.( thanks Duke Power) . So we have to save power were we can, heats up the room real well and turns off when it reaches certain temp and will turn back on when the temp drops to low or you can just set the timer and the whole heater will shut off.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

I simply love it.

01/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this as a gift for my son. It sits on his living room as an adorn, but a very useful one! He does have a central heat system, but when he wants some extra heat this beautiful adorn becomes a powerful source of warmth so much needed in the Winter of Denver, CO. This device is aesthetically pleasant to the eye and will help you keep your place cozy. He loves it and I believe there's no better compliment.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Awesome little heater for the price.

11/10/2013
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've purchased a few different types of heaters in the past but this ceramic heater is the most efficient and best I've ever bought. It has the same power and works much better than 4 times larger quartz radiant heaters due to its almost instant heat, forced air to circulate it, and an oscillating feature.
The multiple auto timed shutoff and max temp setting features are also a plus. It's small size makes it easy to put aside when not in use.
I use it while getting ready for work in the cold early morning hours and also during the wintertime.
It will heat a small, medium, or even large room such as a 2 car garage very quickly.
It's been almost a year since I bought it and haven't had any problems with it.
Overall this heater outperforms many larger heaters in the same price range. Definitely recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Decorative and Dependable....

11/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have had our heater for a few weeks now. So far so good. It's user friendly, has enough settings to make me happy, including a timer so I can set it when I leave in the mornings and know my pets won't be overheated by afternoon. It is all digital, no programming, no guessing. My husband's first comment...after we returned one in a wood cabinet....was 'pretty!'. The front does get warm at the grate but the back seems to stay cool. no red/orange glow. there is a constant red led light on the front, to let you know it has power. The sound level could be compared to the sound of a laptop fan...very quiet compared to other units we have tried and returned. Beyond all other concerns; our house is warmer. It's in a room with 14ft ceilings and a couple of doorways. The room is about 16x12. We have not needed any other heat source in there since buying this unit. It has raised the ambient temperature by probably 5-7 degrees, working on the 70'f setting. I rarely notice it operating. Yes, as an adjunct or primary heat source I would wholeheartedly recommend this appliance!!! (We opted not to get the remote...I think the whole point is to set-it and forget about it, so why would you need a remote???)
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Great little area heater.

12/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased 3 of these for my own use around our home over the last three years.
They are quiet, efficient, loaded with useful features, nice to look at, and one of the safest heaters on the market.
I've had many others since the 60's but none of them come close to being as good as these Laskos.
Recently, a co-worker of my wife asked her if she knew of a good, safe heater she could get for her bathroom. Sue showed her these on the internet and she liked their
looks so she ordered one. After using it for a few days she told Sue that it was the best one she'd ever had.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

chill chaser

11/26/2013
By ,
Clearfield, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this little heater because of the other good reviews and I would like to add my own praise for this product. For the money, it does a good job of taking the chill off any room that you set it in. It has high, low settings and you can set the temp you want it to turn off. It also has a feature where you can set it to turn off after 3 or 4 hours. It oscillates or not, whatever you choose. It is attractive and doesn't feel hot to the touch. Haven't gotten an electric bill yet, so can't say how much it costs to run...but we only use it when we're watching TV in the living room. Family members have paid good money for those infrared heaters, and I'd say this does just as good a job. Also, ordering from Walmart.com was easy and the home delivery was free and quick!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Best Space Heater Ever

11/05/2011
By ,
Central Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 2 years of almost continuous use during the winter months, BOTH of my Lasko Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500-Watt Heaters are still functional. One even hit my hardwood floor last year with such force that the cover pulled apart slightly at the seams- just realigned the two pieces and NO DAMAGE TO THE HEATER. It shut off immediately using its "auto-off when tipped" safety/sensor feature which is an obviously important function for a space heater while you sleep or when you leave the house.
No filaments burnt out. No decreased output. Heats a 16 x 12 room above an uninsulated garage in less than 10 minutes. No matter what environmental nonsense you hear- if you use this space heater to heat 1-2 "small" spaces and turn your furnace down to 64F to keep the water pipes from bursting, you will realize HUGE savings in the gas bill, minimal increase in electric and help save Mother Earth in the process. [However, the rest of your house WILL be cold.] I just heat my home when I have company.....the extra savings went into a modest, energy efficient flat screen and tablet computer. No need to leave my favorite winter den!!!
There is one minor drawback, but it is of no consequence to me. If you want to put the heater on a timer device (ie: I want it to turn on 20 minutes before I wake in the morning so that my bedroom is warm when I get up), you can NOT. Once the power is disconnected, it automatically turns off and you MUST press the buttons on the top to start it again. I just place it within arms reach of my bed and start it while I hit the snooze twice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Best little heater

09/13/2011
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 1300 sq ft apartment and I bought 2 of these heaters and I put one at each end of the apartment for wide coverage. I kept the thermostat between 75-80 degrees. I shut off my base board heating. I did this for 1 month and my energy bill dropped from $170 to $87! These heaters were on almost around the clock! I love them!! I would recommend to anyone who wants to stay nice and warm and save money on enegery bills!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+289points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tacoma, WA
I have a simple yet silly question
Posted 09/24/2013
How long is the electrical cord on this? Thank you
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Finally warm and saving some money....

12/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had 2 of these heaters for 3 years and love them... during the real cold weeks it allowed us to turn our temp down 5 degrees and still keep warm... we tracked our weather and bills and realized that we saved more than the 2 heaters cost, and even enough to purchase 2 more. It allows for someone to stay warm if they are up late in their room without heating the whole house. They are super quite and are child friendly. We have several very young grand kids (2-4 years of age) they we feel real safe with them.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Great little space heater

10/07/2011
By ,
Lee's Summit, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the money this unit is wonderful. It's very quiet, and more powerful than you would expect for the money. When not in use it is not obtrusive and does not look like a heater. The options are more like a unit twice the price. To have a thermostat, a timer, and oscillation on this heater is more than I could ask for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+102points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 483 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next