Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lasko Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Lasko Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

The Lasko 6405 Designer Series Heater, featuring a decorative scrollwork base, is a stylish yet functional addition to your home. This heater features an elongated ceramic heating element to offer 1500 W of comforting, warm air. Built-in safety features make this oscillating ceramic heater safe and easy to use. The adjustable thermostat of this 1500 watt heater allows you to set the desired temperature. To ensure mobility from one room to another, this Lasko Ceramic Heater is designed with a carry handle.
Average Customer Rating:
4.619 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(407 Reviews) 371
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
316
4 stars
60
3 stars
12
2 stars
5
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation94%382 out of 407reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 284 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
316
4 stars
60
3 stars
12
2 stars
5
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405
01/25/2012
By ,
Oregon House CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have looked at a number of heaters, and read the reviews. This heater had the highest number of 5 Star reviews. Of all the heaters I looked at. Reasons for purchase. Design, Value. Efficient, 3 year warranty, and in reading the people that bought this heater over 95% rated it a 5 star. now that says something. I got 3 other space heaters in the last 8 weeks that I took back, and they were all more expensive than this heater, and didn't do as good a job heating. I agree with all the people that rated this Lasko mod 6405 heater. I bought 1 and liked it so good I went back and bought another one.. Good purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

LOVE IT LOVE IT

10/27/2013
By ,
Royersford, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have doing my research for the past 2 weeks on portable heaters etc... We just bought a house and have central heat/forced air. I wanted a backup plan incase something went wrong in the dead of winter and broke. I wanted heat. I got 3 kids and needed a backup heat source. I bought this today at our local Wal-Mart for $47. Our home is shy of 1300 square feet. I found a central location in the home. I had it set at 75 degrees, in about 2 hours our home was toasty on the main floor as well as upstairs. Its very quiet and the amount of heat it throws off is amazing. My kids had rosy red checks with it at 75. You can set it up to 85 if you really want to. We left ours at 75. Its so easy to operate and run. I thought maybe I might need 2 of them. But 1 will do it just fine. The box says warms up to 400 square feet. Well we are over that by a lot and I think its just fine. My husband now thinks we need a 2nd one for the garage in the winter. I might just agree with him on that one :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Great Product

11/13/2013
By ,
Brandon, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this heater for starting my third winter. It is a great product. I've actually dropped it from shoulder height onto a tile floor and it still works perfectly. It has a timer feature which I love. Also it has high and low heat settings and I have not found a room it will not heat. It cuts itself off when the chosen temp is reached and comes back on when it drops. The only negative thing I could say about it is if you don't have it on max heat, the temp choices are limited. The heat temps are in 5 degree increments. Either 65,70,75,80 and such. My baby's nursery is comfortable at 73. 70 is to cool and 75 is to warm so this is not conducive for her room. I didn't deduct any stars for this because I still enjoy it in all other rooms of my home. Especially in my bathroom on those extremely cold nights when I shower or cold early morning showers. But if you're trying to maintain a certain temp outside of the 5 degree increments, I would pass on this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

This little guy is great, best heater I've owned

11/04/2011
By ,
Metro Atlanta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Honeywell electric radiator heater for over $70.00, and I purchased this little Lasko heater for under $40.00, well to my surprise this Lasko heater which is about thirty dollars cheaper, out performs the higher price heater 2 to 1. I like the Honeywell and I did end up keeping it, but one should do their research on fan forced ceramic heaters vs. oil filled radiator heaters. The Honeywell is an oil filled radiator heater, it takes much longer to warm up so the heat is not immediate, it is great for a room where you can close the door, but not so much for a large family room or living area. This little designer series Lasko heating system is fan forced which means immediate heat. This baby gets hot, but shuts off when the room reaches the temp. Don't sit on the fence with this one, it deserves a 10 star rating. When the winter season is over, if this heater goes on sale I will be buying 2 more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Cheap yet quiet.

11/04/2011
By ,
Huntsville, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very pleasantly surprised at how quiet this unit is. Yes, I can hear it come on or operating if I'm awake, but it's not disturbing at all and if I'm asleep it doesn't wake me up. Oh, and that's in its HIGH setting.
It hasn't gotten that cold down here in the south yet, but so far it's done a great job of maintaining about 75 degrees in my 15' x 20' bedroom (with raised ceiling). When it has come on while I'm awake, it has only run about 5-10 minutes each time so far.
The one expectation of mine it didn't really meet is the oscillation. Yes, it oscillates, but just barely -- only about 1/2 the width of the screen you see on the picture. I was hoping for at least 45 degrees so it could keep both the bedroom and the bathroom heated.
One other thing -- the ability to select a temperature to maintain is ONLY available in its HIGH setting; the low setting runs continuously, but with the HIGH setting so quiet it really hasn't mattered.
Overall I would recommend this. It's cheap, light in weight, works well, quiet and it looks good, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Huntsville, AL
Still going strong
Posted 11/12/2013
UPDATE: Starting my 3rd year with this heater and still not a single problem with it. I am SO GLAD this is the space heater I bought.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Wow! Cute AND Efficient!

10/25/2013
By ,
Blairsville, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading the great reviews, and also after reading that my local Walmart store was out of stock, I went to three other stores looking for this heater, and all of them were out of stock! Decided to drive over to Walmart and check the shelves anyway, and I am so glad I did. There were about 5 people on the aisle looking at heaters, and lo and behold, there was one Lasko 6405 on the shelf. I GRABBED IT AND RAN, LOL! Brought it home to my little cottage, plugged it in (it's very attractive!) and within a half hour, it had taken the chill off my 750 square feet interior. Since I'll just be using it in whatever room I'm in, I know it's going to be as perfect as all the other reviews claim. Wanted the 6435 with remote, but I may still order one of those as well. Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Awesome little heater for the price.

11/10/2013
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've purchased a few different types of heaters in the past but this ceramic heater is the most efficient and best I've ever bought. It has the same power and works much better than 4 times larger quartz radiant heaters due to its almost instant heat, forced air to circulate it, and an oscillating feature.
The multiple auto timed shutoff and max temp setting features are also a plus. It's small size makes it easy to put aside when not in use.
I use it while getting ready for work in the cold early morning hours and also during the wintertime.
It will heat a small, medium, or even large room such as a 2 car garage very quickly.
It's been almost a year since I bought it and haven't had any problems with it.
Overall this heater outperforms many larger heaters in the same price range. Definitely recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Great Product, Great Price

09/13/2011
By ,
Southeast Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this heater last year to compliment my heating system in my home. I bought it because even tho my heat was set to 75, i was still cold. To my surprise i found that this little heater, not only warmed my room up to make it comfy, but allowed me to lower my thermostat setting, to the point i cut my propane use from the previous year at least in half. And my electric bill did not go thru the roof. I also used this to heat an unheated bedroom, and found it was more then up to the job, I even had to get up and turn it down on several occasions. I usually set its temp control to 65, and was perfectly comfortable. In my bedroom, it would run about 15 minutes, on the 65 degree setting for about 15 minutes about every hour or so, during the coldest part of the winter. The exterior stays cool to the touch, except for the screened area where the heat is blown out, and it cools within seconds when turned off. I used it everyday from the first day i bought it during the winter months, and most times, my home heating system was not needed, but i live alone, so only needed to heat the room i was in. very sturdy little unit.
I plan to buy one for my Girlfriend this year, that is if she is good :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+137points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Nice Good Quality Heater

09/15/2011
By ,
Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this "Designer Series Heater." last year (2010). With the Temperatures expected to get a bit below 40 tonight.. I pulled it out after it being stored since last winter. It works like a Charm, ..still. It's looks so pretty with its designer look. I really like this one by Lasko. I have another traditional heater upstairs, Lasko also, the gray/silver straight standing style. That one works well also. Good Heaters. They really warm things up, and keep it comfy. I'll likely purchase another "Designer" Series one, for this season, as I love the look of them so much.
The actual color of the Designer Series-- is a speckled Oatmeal/Tan color. In the Walmart picture it shows it a bit different. It goes well with any decor. I've placed mine in different rooms, and it looks nice in all decors.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Durable Heater

12/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received this heater today. It is bigger than I expected; it's big enough where it can be placed on the floor instead of a table. Besides it's unique appearance, one characteristic that stands out is it's durability. It looks and feels like a very sturdy unit. It puts out good heat, but you will have to let it run quite awhile to heat a larger area. It performs better in a small, enclosed space, or a small to medium room. I tried using it in an open-layout kitchen/dining/living room area, and it didn't do much...it just succeeded in heating the immediate area around us. Bottom line, it does not perform well in an expansive area, or in areas with high or vaulted ceilings. It has a detailed thermostat on top where you can set it at a certain temp, choose oscillation, or high/low. I've decided to use this heater as a bedroom heater in the master bedroom, as it is very QUIET, and complements bedroom decor well. I notice that this heater has been flying out of stock on Walmart.com for shipping, so if you see it back in stock, grab one before they go out-of-stock again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Attractive and useful small heater

12/26/2013
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This heater is both attractive and relatively small.
Very good value for the price and well constructed.
It also proved to be very useful in an emergency when my furnace failed.
The furnace is now fixed.
I would like to see a heavier plug and cord on this unit though.
It should have a three prong plug instead of the polarized two prong plug it has.
It should also have a heavy duty three wire cord.
The cord supplied is also too short (5 feet), so the heater must be close to the outlet.
I also had to use four felt coaster to ensure the rubber feet don't mark the table and cabinet I put it on. It would be better to have felt padded metal feet built in.
The prongs on the plug do get very hot when the unit is used on high.
The cord was warm but not hot.
1500W is close to the 15A rating of a standard outlet.
I suggest using it in a 20A outlet where possible or use the low setting ... especially if you have an older home.
The above would apply to ALL 1500W heater.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

chill chaser

11/26/2013
By ,
Clearfield, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this little heater because of the other good reviews and I would like to add my own praise for this product. For the money, it does a good job of taking the chill off any room that you set it in. It has high, low settings and you can set the temp you want it to turn off. It also has a feature where you can set it to turn off after 3 or 4 hours. It oscillates or not, whatever you choose. It is attractive and doesn't feel hot to the touch. Haven't gotten an electric bill yet, so can't say how much it costs to run...but we only use it when we're watching TV in the living room. Family members have paid good money for those infrared heaters, and I'd say this does just as good a job. Also, ordering from Walmart.com was easy and the home delivery was free and quick!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

outstanding

11/25/2013
By ,
Smyrna, Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best heater I have ever bought. My central heat unit died and I bought this to heat my 1250 sq. ft. house. It has been outstanding. I would recommend it to anyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Great little space heater

10/07/2011
By ,
Lee's Summit, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the money this unit is wonderful. It's very quiet, and more powerful than you would expect for the money. When not in use it is not obtrusive and does not look like a heater. The options are more like a unit twice the price. To have a thermostat, a timer, and oscillation on this heater is more than I could ask for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Style & function!

10/06/2011
By ,
Durango, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this thing. I love that it cuts off by itself according to your preferences. I love that it reads the room temp and cuts off when it reaches it's setting. I love that you have the option to ocillate or not. I LOVE its size and style.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Best little heater

09/13/2011
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 1300 sq ft apartment and I bought 2 of these heaters and I put one at each end of the apartment for wide coverage. I kept the thermostat between 75-80 degrees. I shut off my base board heating. I did this for 1 month and my energy bill dropped from $170 to $87! These heaters were on almost around the clock! I love them!! I would recommend to anyone who wants to stay nice and warm and save money on enegery bills!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+232points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tacoma, WA
I have a simple yet silly question
Posted 09/24/2013
How long is the electrical cord on this? Thank you
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Best Space Heater Ever

11/05/2011
By ,
Central Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 2 years of almost continuous use during the winter months, BOTH of my Lasko Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500-Watt Heaters are still functional. One even hit my hardwood floor last year with such force that the cover pulled apart slightly at the seams- just realigned the two pieces and NO DAMAGE TO THE HEATER. It shut off immediately using its "auto-off when tipped" safety/sensor feature which is an obviously important function for a space heater while you sleep or when you leave the house.
No filaments burnt out. No decreased output. Heats a 16 x 12 room above an uninsulated garage in less than 10 minutes. No matter what environmental nonsense you hear- if you use this space heater to heat 1-2 "small" spaces and turn your furnace down to 64F to keep the water pipes from bursting, you will realize HUGE savings in the gas bill, minimal increase in electric and help save Mother Earth in the process. [However, the rest of your house WILL be cold.] I just heat my home when I have company.....the extra savings went into a modest, energy efficient flat screen and tablet computer. No need to leave my favorite winter den!!!
There is one minor drawback, but it is of no consequence to me. If you want to put the heater on a timer device (ie: I want it to turn on 20 minutes before I wake in the morning so that my bedroom is warm when I get up), you can NOT. Once the power is disconnected, it automatically turns off and you MUST press the buttons on the top to start it again. I just place it within arms reach of my bed and start it while I hit the snooze twice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

I woke up sweating.

11/15/2013
By ,
El Paso, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My furnace gave out and I needed a quick heat source. I had been reviewing heaters for days. The first heater I returned because it did not do anything other than just look good. Honestly I was hesitant in purchasing a Lasko product until I realized I had a Lasko fan that I have had for years. After reading all reviews and this product having the most favorable review, I purchased one. I was wary at first because of it's small size. I read the instructions and set the timer for the maximum time. I set the temp on the highest setting and the speed on high. I placed the heater on my night stand and went to bed. Thinking that since the larger heater did not do anything, I should set it on the max.
My home has high vaulted ceilings and is hard to heat up quickly. I woke up and hour later burning up. My bedding smelled and felt warm like they just came out of the dryer. I lowered the temp and went back to sleep. I woke up again burning up. I had to set the heater farther away from me to finally get some sleep.
Do not let it's small size fool you. it only takes a few moments for it to start putting out heat. The little fan is powerful for it's size, and puts out a nice little gust of heat compared to other heaters I have had. I found the best spot to place it is on the dresser across the room at the foot of the bed. I put a fan it front of it like one reviewer said and it helps to spread the heat throughout the room. Some reviewers complained about the smell. The smell to me is like when you take clothes out of a hot dryer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Very Nice Heater!

10/29/2011
By ,
Goodspring, Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter has a large bedroom on the North corner of our house. She prefers to be very warm where as I keep the main thermostat a little low. We bought her this heater because we liked the design and the safety features. This little heater heats her room up quickly and I love the fact that it has a built in thermostat that seems to work very well. I like the electronic pushbutton controls. The oscillating feature is a plus!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Colorado
Nice... but returning it
Posted 10/28/2013
I really wanted to keep this. It performs well and looks great. But there is one annoying thing that forces me to return it. It emits a high pitched beep for every button you push. You plug it in, it beeps. You push any buttons it beeps. It reaches temperature it beeps. It upsets my pets and is not conducive to quiet operation in a bed room. It is a shame you can't turn the beeps off.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Lasko Electric Designer Series Oscillating Ceramic 1500W Heater, 6405

Great little heater!

10/13/2013
By ,
Lexington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried this out yesterday and for as small as it is, it certainly puts out a lot of heat. It stayed cool to the touch and is very easy to operate. I am sure this heater will take the chill out of the air in no time as I have my heat set on 68. I like that you can select temperatures instead of the usual low, medium or high settings that are on most heaters. I would recommend this heater to anyone that likes a direct heat source to warm up colder rooms.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 372 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next