Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for DK BICYCLES 20" DK General Lee BMX Bike, Orange/Black

DK BICYCLES 20" DK General Lee BMX Bike, Orange/Black

From jumping over creeks in the backwoods to cruising down the street, the DK General Lee Bike will take you anywhere you want to go. This kid's BMX bike has a steel frame that makes it lightweight and sturdy. Steel handle bars add to the strength of the bike. To ensure safety of the rider, this steel frame kid's bike comes with a rear U-brake made from alloy. The padded seat takes care of the comfort factor. The other features of this General Lee BMX bike include low profile alloy rims and black wheels. Stylishly designed, this black and yellow DK 20-inch bike is sure to attract attention of passersby. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.474 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation89%17 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 20" DK General Lee BMX Bike, Orange/Black

Came in bright orange versus yellow and black

12/09/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Delivered as bright orange versus yellow and black as described. Notifed Walmart to investigate if it is supposed to be yellow and black as described and I expected or if it is indeed yellow.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? No
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Antonio
It's the General Lee
Posted 05/17/2013
This bike is modeled after the General Lee from TV's Duke's of Hazard.
The car was ORANGE with the rebel flag on the roof.
Why would one expect the bike to be yellow and black?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for 20" DK General Lee BMX Bike, Orange/Black

Also for Adult 46yr old.

04/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Iam 5'2. I put long Aluminum new seatpost to extend seat UP so my that my legs gets its full extention when pedaling. Iam using bike to go to my local Starbucks(~ 3 miles) and for transpotation. I have other bikes of bigger sizes but this one reminds me of when I was a young turk roaming looking for trouble. One person commented its too sml for my size. But Iam riding it for comfort, cool and compactness. Rides smooth when tire pressure up to max 50psi. Seem to grip and does not slide. I got shiped to my local WM. I regreased the front hub with Mobile Syntethic grease cause of preference. You have to be experience and have tools to do this. Or check YOUTUBE for instructio. Otherwise, the grease that comes with should be fine. I will regrease the back tire hub when tire get a flat; I have to disassemble anyway. I put ALuminum stand(REI $7) cause did not come with one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 20" DK General Lee BMX Bike, Orange/Black

Scratched birthday present for godson

04/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was a birthday present to be shipped for my godson to pick up on his birthday. I live in Pittsburgh andwhen he went to pick it up the item in NC it was scratched and the pedals did not attach correctly. he did not receive the bike he originally wanted instead took a replacement black colored bike instead of the orange one that he had originally picked out , I'm very disappointed with the way this turned out. I am glad the store was able to give them a replacement to use immediately but I am still disappointed because that is not the bike that we picked out and eventually he's going to realize that it's not as good as the one he wanted. I am not sure I will be able to use the site to store pick up again as a reliable method for providing birthday present for my godson.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 20" DK General Lee BMX Bike, Orange/Black

good

04/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was expecting a smaller sprocket for that type of bike, but that was an easy fix. The seat is comfortable and durable. Got new grips because the ones on there were okay, not great. Other than that, great bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 20" DK General Lee BMX Bike, Orange/Black
01/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent bike at a notch above all the others in its price category. After much research I was pleased and surprised that Walmart had DK bikes. The bike is everything I wanted...almost. Sturdy construction, ease of riding...my son, who had problems with his 16in bike due to rideability loves this bike. It only needs one thing...."real" pedals...the plastic pedals are not good and they should be upgraded and dk charge whatever the extra....remember, this is a bmx bike and is laid down a lot.
Also, I removed the made in china sticker because I'm not sure Santa makes things there.. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 20" DK General Lee BMX Bike, Orange/Black

Great Deal, Awesome bike.

08/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome bike, seat is very soft, chain guard and reflectors easily come off. Bike comes in 3 pieces, takes about 30-40 minutes to assemble. Not very hard at all. You'll have to inflate the tires, have some allen keys, and a 15 wrench for the pedals and front wheel. Back is a 17, but it should be already tight. Id check everything just to be safe. Overall, a great bike, was going to buy it on Albes but it was way cheaper here. By far the best Walmart bike ever. Not kidding.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tulsa ok
Whats the weight limit?
Posted 09/26/2012
does anyone have any idea what the weight limit is?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for 20" DK General Lee BMX Bike, Orange/Black

GREAT BIKE!

12/07/2012
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this bike about 5 months ago. Since the first day I got it I've been riding it at least 5 to 6 days a week, with a total of 8-14 miles a day, now this is no rode bike but it's just a great bike overall easy to put together very nice paint well built! I ride the heck out this bike and still managed to be in great working condition I definitely recommend this bike to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 20" DK General Lee BMX Bike, Orange/Black

8 year old loves it!!

07/13/2012
By ,
Ceres, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it for my son's 8th bday. My husband used to ride BMX so he thought it was cool that Wal-Mart was selling a General Lee. He said it was easy to put together. My son loves it and it seems well made and durable!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 20" DK General Lee BMX Bike, Orange/Black

Good mid grade BMX Freestyle bike

07/30/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a gift for a nine year old. He outgrew his previous bike but this being 20" was just a tad big for him although his feet were flat on the ground while sitting.
The assembly was simple but I had to re-seat the neck as it had some play after I attached the handle bars. The brakes needed adjustment as well to actually get it to stop.
The pedals are plastic but OK to start with. It comes with two pegs but they are meant for one side of the bike only due to the large and small openings in them. The insert explained that you only need one side to do pro tricks, etc...
The color is bright orange just as it should be for the General Lee. It is sturdy with decent rims and tires. The cranks appear good as well as the frame itself. It came with the black seat too.
It is not a pro bike but a very good mid grade especially for price. The other more expensive DK's have better equipment but you pay more also. Unless the person is capable of actual tricks and what not, this is good enough. If the person is advanced in skills then maybe the higher end DK's are better suited.
Great value for sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 20" DK General Lee BMX Bike, Orange/Black
02/26/2012
By ,
bellevegas, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this bike is great. i ride freestyle, and this bike rides so well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 20" DK General Lee BMX Bike, Orange/Black

This is a LOT of bike for the money.

04/11/2012
By ,
Clinton, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Other than replacing the pedals with some good ones, this is a premium bike out of the box. Up until recently, you could only get this bike at top bike shops. DK has been there with GT and Haro and the other names. Get this bike over the other 20" if you want the bang for the buck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 20" DK General Lee BMX Bike, Orange/Black

Great BMX for the price

04/10/2013
By ,
miami
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price this thing is loaded. A chromoly 3 piece crank arms and threadless stem. It weighs a 28 lbs but that is lighter than I had expected it to weigh.
It's very upgradable. I put a gyro, new stem and brakes on mine and it's even better now.
The only problem I had is it doenst come yellow like the picture portrays. It's more orange but I still like the look of it.
Also as the description implies that this is only a kids bike that is false. Actually I wouldnt put a 5,6,7 year old on this. It's too big.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 20" DK General Lee BMX Bike, Orange/Black

DK bikes at Walmart?

05/06/2012
By ,
new england
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a low end Dk bike...But for $150.00 it's ok...Its heavy..but I like it...Its a good starter bike..If you can afford (THE EXTRA $50.00), Get a DK over the Hyper bikes that Walmart sells..Get the 2 year warranty for $10.00..(alot can happen in two years). you can take the stickers off and it looks pretty sharp...But the bright orange and goopy seat and will tell everyone that its from walmart...but thats kind of why I like it...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 20" DK General Lee BMX Bike, Orange/Black

Good value

04/25/2013
By ,
Newark,NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is very good value for the price. The frame is quite strong. My child will outgrow this bike before it ever could be broken.
I originally bought it for the "cool factor" since my child likes watching the Dukes of Hazzard re-runs on TV.
We replaced the seat with something bigger because the seat was uncomfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 20" DK General Lee BMX Bike, Orange/Black
12/23/2012
By ,
INLAND EMPIRE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ABSOLUTE BEST BARGAIN FOR THE PRICE. COMPARABLE TO A BIKE THAT YOU WOULD SPEND $400 ON AT A TRADITIONAL BIKE SHOP. DK HAS BEEN AROUND SINCE 1979 AND IS A QUALITY BIKE WITH A LIFETIME WARRANTY TO BACK IT UP.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for 20" DK General Lee BMX Bike, Orange/Black
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5