Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Rust-Oleum Rust-Oleum Universal Metallic Spray Paint, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

Rust-Oleum Rust-Oleum Universal Metallic Spray Paint, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation86%6 out of 7reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 16 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rust-Oleum Universal Metallic Spray Paint, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

Easy to use - modern look

11/30/2012
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did not need to sand my metal magazine stand/end table before spraying and it looks great. Exactly as expected and easy to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rust-Oleum Universal Metallic Spray Paint, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

LOVE this stuff!!

05/23/2013
By ,
Penfield (Rochester), New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this to repurpose an old fake brass headboard from the '90's. I lightly sanded with 000 steel wool then washed, rinsed and wiped it before spraying. It came out perfect! Looks like it came out of the store that way. It is a queen sized headboard and I used four cans. I think because there was a slight breeze that day, I had some waste/overspray. Very happy with the results and so far, holding up very, no sign of chipping, etc. Wish I could have posted a third photo of a close-up shot; hope you can zoom in.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Moss Point
WOW
Posted 08/18/2013
That looks amazing, you did an excellent job. I'm gonna try it now!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Rust-Oleum Universal Metallic Spray Paint, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

Beautiful sheen, color for refinishing old stuff!!

07/23/2013
By ,
ATL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was about to order new knobs for the kitchen and a couple of new ceiling fixtures. The old ones were tacky builder package shiny brass. My neighbor had sprayed her knobs and they looked pretty good, but the color wasn't really oil rubbed bronze. More of a greyish brown. So I hesitated to try and do the same thing. But I got to looking at the different paints in W-mart yesterday, the Krylon, the regular Rustoleum and this, the more premium Rustoleum. I decided to try this one. It was two dollars more so I hoped it would give a realistic looking oiled bronze finish. Took off the knobs, washed and hand dried them, sat them on a huge piece of cardboard, then gave them a medium coat on the bottom. An hour later flipped them and sprayed the tops. Let them sit overnight. Wow, they totally exceed my expectations! They have a slightly matte, yet sparkly sheen to them. Just right. A perfect finish and shade. When I saw the knobs, I got up on a ladder and took down a shiny brass hanging light fixture in the hallway, removed the glass, and got busy spraying it. I now have 28 beautiful knobs and a gorgeous new light. I still have enough in the can to do a couple more light fixtures. This stuff is wonderful!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rust-Oleum Universal Metallic Spray Paint, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

Worst paint ever

08/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am apparently the odd man out in all these reviews, but this was, without a doubt, by far, the worst paint I ever encountered.
The actual paint itself is fine, but the can was horrible. It sprayed out in all directions and sprayed large drops instead of a fine mist. An absolute disaster. Need to sand everything down and start over.
I wouldn't be surprised if this was a lesser brand, but expect better quality from Rustoleum. I never even write reviews, good or bad, but this just was so horrible I couldn't resist.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rust-Oleum Universal Metallic Spray Paint, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

Great Dark Bronze Finish

10/13/2012
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this to paint a metal bench for my porch, two resin outdoor planters, a metal vase and a indoor chandelier and I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rust-Oleum Universal Metallic Spray Paint, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

Excellent coverage gives factory-like finish

05/22/2013
By ,
Bend, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used this to paint an old brass lamp. Lightly sanded with fine steel wool, and finish looks like it came straight from the factory! Gorgeous, rich color makes that ugly shiny gold lamp look modern. Bought 5 more cans of this to reprint my aluminum patio table and chairs so that they match my new oil-rubbed bronze chaise lounges. Expect it to completely give new life to my tired old patio set!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bend, OR
Oil-Rubbed Bronze Spray Paint
Posted 05/24/2013
Update for my last "comment" post. I repainted my patio set (square table, 2 arm chairs and 2 swivel chairs) used 7 cans Rust-Oleum Universal Metallic Oil-Rubbed Bronze spray paint. Seven cans gave full coverage, and I probably wasted a good deal due to light winds outside when I was painting. My patio set looks brand-new (but now I also need new chair cushions!). Well worth the cost of 7 cans of this amazing product. Would highly recommend. Not sure how it will hold up to the outdoors (sun exposure and rain) but I expect it to last a few years. Also repainted the finial for my patio umbrella and my cast-iron umbrella stand (included in the 7 cans). Looks like a complete matching set!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Rust-Oleum Universal Metallic Spray Paint, Oil-Rubbed Bronze
10/07/2013
By ,
illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using this product to change our shiny brass fixtures to oil rubbed bronze. so far so good. definitely beats buying new fixtures!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.