Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Linksys Cisco Linksys AE2500 Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Adapter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Linksys Cisco Linksys AE2500 Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Adapter

Just plug in the Cisco Linksys AE2500 USB Adapter to your system and enjoy surfing the web, playing video games, or chatting with your friends over a wireless network. This dual-band wireless adapter can be used with your notebook or desktop PC. You can connect to Wi-Fi hotspots with this adapter. MIMO technology used in this Linksys USB adapter features multiple antennas that create a strong signal to provide an extended working range. With a transfer rate of 300 Mbps, you can upload and download data at super fast speeds. The dual band helps prevent interference and enhances throughput for smoother data streaming. This wireless N USB adapter features WPA2 security that protects your system from internet threats. It is compatible with Microsoft Windows Vista SP1/SP2, XP SP3, and Windows 7.
Average Customer Rating:
3.636 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation64%21 out of 33reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Cisco Linksys AE2500 Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Adapter

Works Great

09/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this at Walmart to hook my desktop computer up to my wireless router. I ran the CD first like it says to, plugged in the adapter, and within minutes I was hooked up to the internet. I use this to connect to my Cisco Linksys dual-band wireless router. It's fast enough for streaming Netflix and playing online games.
I've had it for about 2 months so far and have not had to reset it or anything like that. I will update if it ever dies.
If you're building or buying a desktop, you can get an internal wireless adapter for much cheaper ($10-$15) but if you already have a desktop that needs to be connected and you're not comfortable installing an internal wireless card, this works perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+40points
Review 2 for Cisco Linksys AE2500 Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Adapter

Stay Away from this thing!!!

02/24/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm not a professional IT person but I'm no stranger to technology and know my way around building a computer.
First, the CD that came with this adapter would not install the setup wizard, after a while it partially loaded then froze my computer. I finally gave up on the CD and installed the drivers directly from the Cisco website along with their "signed" setup wizard. Driver loaded fine, system recognized the adapter but setup wizard couldn't locate my wireless network... funny that both of my cell phones, and both laptops have no problem seeing it.
Uninstall, re-install, uninstall, re-install, etc.... no luck.
Finally call tech support. "ROSE" answers (after about 20 mins) and after an exchange of what product I'm calling about proceeds to tell me to uninstall the driver... I asked her if I could at least TELL her what my problem is first. She lets me tell her then proceeds to tell me to uninstall the driver.
Ultimately she thinks its my computer or a "COMPATIBILITY" issue with my wireless router. Apparently LINKSYS adapters ONLY work with LINKSYS routers. Rose tells me this is likely the issue.
Run, don't walk from this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+3points
Review 3 for Cisco Linksys AE2500 Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Adapter
01/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loaded the software for this and started using it right away. It was and it works great. Very fast connection to my cicso dual wireless router. I would recommend this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 4 for Cisco Linksys AE2500 Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Adapter

A GREAT PRODUCT!!!

08/25/2012
By ,
Massillon, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok, I had to set-up my nieces desktop computer, for her home schooling(over the net schooling), and I have dealt with many different brands of network products, and only one, has never failed, and has literally taken some serious abuse, like being bounced around, due to it falling, from it being run into, and etc, and it still out worked the other brands, which is the Linksys/Cisco companys products, and when I decided to help my niece get connected to my Linksys/Cisco brand dual band wireless router(model number WRT310N), and the adapter was hooked to an older "set" HP computer, that has a 2.9GHZ single core processor, with a windows 7 home premium edition OS, and literally, within 2minutes, it had it up and running, and finding other routers, that the laptops were not even able to find, and there were 5 or 6 total routers, that it was showing, and one of which was just over 100yrds away, so, I know I made a good choice, with using the brand equipment, that I have trusted, for years now, since, other brands have failed, where this brand has succeeded, and yes, I am waiting to find that "lemon", all mass produced equipment will have them, its fate, but, to have gone more then 8yrs, and not have one fail me, in the cyber world, thats more then a life time, and yes, I do build computers for not only myself, for others around me, as well, so, I have been around many different brands and seen how well they work, and I can only see, how some people may have gotten those lemons, instead of myself, of those, that I have read about.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
punta gorda florida
question about the cisco linksys wireless adapter
Posted 09/13/2012
i have a laptop acer from walmart. i go to clients homes for days and have no interenet service there. is this cisco linksys AE2500 dual-band wireless-N USB adapter a good thing to purchase so i can get interenet while at a clients home
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Cisco Linksys AE2500 Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Adapter

Slow connection speed after a couple months

07/31/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have tried 3 of these adapters now and everyone drops down to a wireless g speed after a couple months at the most. I am using it with a linksys E1200 wireless router so no compatibility issues. I can use my ZoneNet adapter at 150 Mbps just fine so it is not the router. I will not buy another one of these again and I am seriously rethinking CISCO quality. Stay far far away from this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for Cisco Linksys AE2500 Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Adapter

Don't bother, you can get cheaper and better.

01/22/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 3 of these on Black Friday. The 1st one wouldn't install from the disc on my Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit Dual Core PC. Tech support said I needed to uninstall my Norton Anti-Virus and Zone Alarm firewall to install (didn't have to do this with others). I disabled the Norton and uninstalled the Zone Alarm and was able to install the drivers even though the software didn't work. The #1 AE2500 kept crashing with error messages attributing it to the hardware or drivers. I tried the #2 AE2500, worked fine......except when doing file transfers. Every time it would cause the adapter to shut down. Did chat support which stopped accepting the messages I was sending towards the end when it was clear they had no solution. Called phone support and was told this was a software issue! The software in question which file sharing is done with is Windows 7, which this adapter is supposed to work with. I was then told there was a 3rd party support company that was expert at solving problems like this and I could be transferred to them. I asked would I or Linksys pay for this and was told I would. Unbelievable! What makes this so bad is I had a cheap (Air-Link N) adapter that was working fine. The PC I had it on was the farthest from my router (40 feet) and was speed testing with the slowest up and download speeds. So I thought the more expensive bigger name Linksys would improve things. It did seem to increase the up/down speed but I can't share files. I have videos, music and documents on all 3 of my Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit PC's that I share. According to Linksys, that's my and Microsoft's problem!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Glendale, AZ
I've been having the same problem!
Posted 08/11/2012
I have a computer that runs on Windows 7, and we use this adapter because we're not close enough to the router. Usually this adapter works just fine. Usually. But any time I try to upload files or photos, or anytime I use Skype, it kicks me off within a minute or two. I spent allllll day on the phone with Cisco's support and they offered me the same advice-- download the software and update the drivers for the adapter. When that didn't work, they suggested that I use the third party help and guaranteed that they would be able to solve the problem-- at my expense. No thanks.. I guess I'll just upload from a computer connected by an ethernet cord.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Cisco Linksys AE2500 Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Adapter

Fine but dies after a few months

01/19/2014
By ,
Webberville, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Device was fine great and worked wonderful for the first month or so. After awhile the quality just degrades and the signals dies as well as disruptions in signal that disconnects the device and internet is lost. Online intense games such as World of Warcraft kill the device and it can't stand to be used for more than at least five minutes if at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Cisco Linksys AE2500 Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Adapter

Doesn't work

09/20/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried for a couple of days to get it to work. I even turned off my Firewall.
It kept telling me that it did not recognize my network adapter, but did not give me any help.
I also checked the online help, but it didn't address my issue.
So I am returning it to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-11points
Review 9 for Cisco Linksys AE2500 Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Adapter

Handy Little Gadget To Have!!!!!

09/02/2012
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My internet has been low for quite a while.....at times it would take it forever to pull up. One day after work I tried to surf the net for something and the page wouldn't even pull up. I tried everything I could think of to get back on the net...disconnect the router, reboot the modem....nothing would work! The cable company sent a guy out here to suggest options and his suggestion was a simple one thank goodness. But to be honest I really didn't think that it was going to work. Boy was I glad I was wrong!! I went to a local Walmart store....bought this product....unpacked it....followed the directions....and I was instantly on the internet again. Who would have thought that this small piece of technology could get someone surfing on the net again?!?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Cisco Linksys AE2500 Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Adapter

Didn't work

09/27/2011
By ,
Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tried to install but wouldn't let me connect to my network. On-line support wasn't helpful AT ALL. Returning it after a weeks worth of lost effort.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
St. George
Very dissappointed
Posted 01/06/2012
Off and on service with this adaptor, hooked up to a Cisco Linksys Router and my PC, and I had to install and uninstall both router and adaptor several times to get it to work in the past 2 weeks. Taking it back today.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Cisco Linksys AE2500 Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Adapter

Downloads at 0.51mbps

11/02/2013
By ,
tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product has never been fast. The signal gets 1 bar on the wifi, when a laptop in the same room gets 5 bars.
The product says it gets up to 300 (I think?), depending on your connection.
I never have a problem loading videos and websites on the laptop, but on this cisco connection, it's almost as bad as 56k.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Cisco Linksys AE2500 Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Adapter

Did not work

07/25/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unable to detect USB adapter. I may have gotten a dud but am not gonna recommend this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 13 for Cisco Linksys AE2500 Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Adapter
06/26/2012
By ,
Orange Cove, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It did not work. It was suppose to let me connect to the internet, but you had to be connected already to even use the CD that came with it. It defeated the purpose of the product. I was quite disappointed. I returned it the same day and bought another product that works better and allowed me to connect my computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 14 for Cisco Linksys AE2500 Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Adapter
01/11/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It kept telling me that it did not recognize my network adapter,did work for a week or 2 and now just stop working.So frustrating,going to walmart to return asap
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 15 for Cisco Linksys AE2500 Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Adapter
09/21/2012
By ,
winston-salem n.c.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works perfectly
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Cisco Linksys AE2500 Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Adapter

Incredible!

01/18/2013
By ,
Peoria, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to upgrade from my "g" adapter to an "n" adapter because my wife and I were having problems watching online TV episodes (continual stopping and loading). My router is upstairs and my HTPC is downstairs. I bought this dual-band adapter to connect to my Linksys E3000 dual-band router. WOW!!!! I get 5 bars now and the speed is insane! It feels like I am connected directly to the Internet! I am very happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Cisco Linksys AE2500 Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Adapter

Works Great

02/25/2012
By ,
Waverly, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I upgraded my wireless networkwith this adapter and a Belkin N450 DB router and the results have been great. The set-up was smooth and easy. I get connected at 300mbps on 5ghz and my computer is definitely faster and smoother on the internet. This combo works well together even though they are different brands.
I was looking to go dual band without breaking the bank and this combo is working well for me.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
Review 18 for Cisco Linksys AE2500 Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Adapter
03/09/2013
By ,
Lancaster California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this adapter because I have a Cisco router connected to my desktop. This adapter was to be used for my laptop and it did not work. Tried for 3 days to get it to work but no luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Cisco Linksys AE2500 Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Adapter

Old one quit after 10 yrs

03/07/2013
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So i decided on this one to connect desktop to wireless...works great...geat connection.
Love Linksys .
thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Cisco Linksys AE2500 Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Adapter

Easy to use, would recomend for any user.

04/22/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little adapter, very easy to use. Would recommand it to any level user. I get a great connection to netgear wireless-N router but its very close maybe 100ft. I can not give openion on unit for long range.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next