Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Griffin Griffin PowerJolt Dual Micro Universal Charger

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Griffin Griffin PowerJolt Dual Micro Universal Charger

Keep your electronic devices fully charged in your vehicle with the Griffin Power Jolt Dual Universal Micro Charger. This handy Griffin PowerJolt Charger is designed for travel and plugs into any 12V accessory plug. Its patented SmartFuse protects against voltage spikes from your vehicle’s electrical system. To use the Griffin PowerJolt Dual USB Car Charger, slip it into your vehicle's accessory port and plug your device’s USB cable into the charging unit. The Griffin Power Jolt Charger has a low-profile design and is compatible with almost any device that uses a USB cable.
Average Customer Rating:
3.968 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation77%24 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Griffin PowerJolt Dual Micro Universal Charger

Electronics Must

12/18/2012
By ,
Kalkaska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With all todays eletronic going to USB connection this is a must.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Griffin PowerJolt Dual Micro Universal Charger

Not Strong enough and a bit small

10/10/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this charger a while back to charge my HTC Droid Thunderbolt and it did work for that phone but, only slowly. I have since then upgraded to a HTC Droid DNA and it hardly can charge it. When i plug my phone in, my phone says slow charging, please use original charger. When using the GPS feature sometimes it puts out enough to keep it at the current charge or sometimes even lets the phone discharge slowly. But when the phone isnt doing anything it can slowly charge the phone. Another problem is its just a bit to small and is hard to get out of the outlet in my truck. The best feature it has is the duel usb ports. I recommend checking the chargers output level to make sure it will work with a newer phone because my guess is this charger is only a 5v 1 amp charger and most newer phones need a 5 volt 2 or 2.1 amp charger to be able to keep up. I know its a hard price to stay away from but for those with a newer phone, buyer beware and buy at your own risk.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
OH
Check your cable
Posted 10/20/2013
What is your ampere requirement? My Samsung S4's wall charger charges my phone at 1.9A. This charger in my car charges at 1.2A. Not a lot less and quite acceptable. I found that the cable I use has more to do with it than anything. If I use a long charge cable, I get the same message you do about charging faster with an OEM charger. If I use a short cable, I get the quoted 1.2A charge rate. I always get the 1.2A charge rate if I use the OEM charging cable.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Griffin PowerJolt Dual Micro Universal Charger

Did the Job

05/27/2012
By ,
Arlington,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brought the car charger last night, it did what I needed it to do, CHARGE MY PHONE. I know now as a woman, do not leave home without your phone being charge, if you do make sure you have this handy, inexpensive charger Didn't take long for my phone to be charged.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 4 for Griffin PowerJolt Dual Micro Universal Charger

BEST CAR CHARGER!! 9 out of 10.

09/23/2013
By ,
Alamo, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This car charger is great for charging high powered smart phones (note 2, tablets, etc...) that charge needs to be at 2 amps or higher.
I've done tests to see if theres a change in charge time compared to wall charger and its exactly the same ( 3 MINUTES=1% OF BATTERY CHARGE...PERFECT#
I also charged 2 devices at the same time to see if there is a difference in charge time and there is a difference, it DOES take longer to charge but by like 2 minutes on 2 AMP devices #Note 2, tablets#. But on smaller phones or earlier models #battery charge is at 1 AMP# it still keeps the same charge speed when charging 2 devices at a time, whether its a combination of 2amp device and 1amp device.
Other than that its PERFECT.
Pros: 9 out of 10
- Charges Tablets and high powered smart phones and devices.
- Small.
- Great Price for what it can do for you.
- Charge 2 devices at one time.
- Both USB ports charge at 2 amps when charging 1 DEVICE ONLY.
Cons:
- Can be a little hard to remove due to small size and snug fit.
- No lights illuminate to show where to connect usb in the dark. #can also be a good thing for some#
- When charging a 2 amp and 1 amp devices at same time, charge speed changes #5 & 1/2 minutes=1% battery charge)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 5 for Griffin PowerJolt Dual Micro Universal Charger

AMAZING!!!

06/20/2012
By ,
Warren, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this product for almost a year. It is amazing. This thing always gets me to 100% and it charges faster than I had ever anticipated. I really bought it for the almost flush to the car look and the inexpensive price. I would most definitely have paid double the price! The person that gave this a 1 star rating probably has a faulty cord and/or a bad phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 6 for Griffin PowerJolt Dual Micro Universal Charger

Works just fine. Very small.

06/30/2013
By ,
Charleston, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works fine. Really like the size. My truck has a cover for the 12V outlet and this device is so small and fits in the plug to snug, you can close the cover to the outlet. Charging a phone and a bluetooth USB adapter with it as the same time. Seems to work great. Little price for a USB adapter, but not that bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Griffin PowerJolt Dual Micro Universal Charger

Excellent!

10/24/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product because my wife and I love listening to music on road trips through our iPods (mine: Green iPod Nano 6th Gen. hers: Blue iPod Nano 5th Gen.). I use mine through my stereo system and she uses head phones and vis versa depending on who is driving at the time. Many people complain that these products over charge their iPods, especially the 6th generation, however, I have yet to have this problem. This device works perfectly and is worth the prices, especially since it has 2 USB ports. I would recommend these to anyone that is an avid iPod listener on the go. If you aren't one that has a significant other, or just have no use for 2 USB ports for charging, this manufacturer makes the same product with just 1 USB port. Very worth it in my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 8 for Griffin PowerJolt Dual Micro Universal Charger

good product but limited

08/23/2012
By ,
Sevierville,TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought two of these and they cost more than the same item with different names... I liked the slim profile but your charger opening is going to still stay open... this charger works fine in my Nissan Titan, but does not function at all in my Mazda 7. I don't think it makes contact with the bottom
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 9 for Griffin PowerJolt Dual Micro Universal Charger

Great Product!

11/13/2012
By ,
Gainesville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product! I received it the very next day and it works great for charging my iphone5. I definitely recommend this.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 10 for Griffin PowerJolt Dual Micro Universal Charger

Well worth the online cheaper price, loal price is

09/04/2013
By ,
OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this to charge my Samsung S4 in the car at the full charge rate as opposed to a trickle charge. (The phone will tell you it can charge faster if on a trickle charger) The OEM wall charger can charge at a rate of 1900mA. This charger in my car will charge my S4 at a rate of 1200mA. Not quite as fast, but for the online price of nine dollars and eighty eight cents, I'm not complaining. The local price was about thirteen dollars. Buy it with site to store and go pick it up.
I have not plugged in two devices yet, but I would imaging this would drop the charge rate approximately in half. In a pinch this is acceptable for me. Your mileage may vary. :)
The slim extremely low, round profile looks very sharp in the power outlet of my illuminated 03' Celica GTS. Almost like OEM. This is a plus, as it does not interfere or protude into the shifter at all in my small car.
The one thing I don't like is the lack of any illumination. It would be nice if there was a small LED to indicate power. If I could figure out how to open the housing without breaking it, I would add a small LED circuit to accomplish this. But it's not a deal breaker, given the price and performance.
This review is based on owning this device for 3-6 weeks with usage every few days. Not sure if walmart will allow me to update this, so bear this in mind.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 11 for Griffin PowerJolt Dual Micro Universal Charger

Good for phones, not tablets

12/03/2013
By ,
Tucson, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried to plug in two tablets and neither one stayed charged, although the light was on. It just could not keep up. I tried one, and had the same problem. It worked fine on two smartphones.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 12 for Griffin PowerJolt Dual Micro Universal Charger

Griffin Power Jold Dual

03/18/2013
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its small, it has dual usb ports, works well. Cost a little more than I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 13 for Griffin PowerJolt Dual Micro Universal Charger

Nice low profile charger

07/26/2012
By ,
Brownsville, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's been almost a month and it has been working properly. You can hardly notice the device once plugged, good dual USB connector feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 14 for Griffin PowerJolt Dual Micro Universal Charger
09/23/2013
By ,
94564
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Inexpensive and works fine. I wouldnt remove it too may times though. More or less flush mount.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Griffin PowerJolt Dual Micro Universal Charger
05/23/2013
By ,
mass.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
this micro charger was so short I could not remove it from the lighter inside the console. it went in so far I could not grip the top edge so I returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Griffin PowerJolt Dual Micro Universal Charger

shorty

04/14/2013
By ,
the Minnesnowta
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Build quality was good but it was too short. If the pin had been a little longer it would have been perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 17 for Griffin PowerJolt Dual Micro Universal Charger

I would not settle for anything else.

12/10/2012
By ,
Visalia, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I prefer this model over all others I've viewed for three reasons:
1. It allows you to charge two devices at once. Most only allow one at a time.
2. It sits flush in the power outlet which allows you to close the cover on the outlet when not in use.
3. It was the less expensive than others with similar feactures.
I left my first Griffin Power Jolt Dual in a rental car. I searched a few stores to find another with no luck. I bought my first one from Walmart, but they were out of them both times I visited the store so I purchased my new one at Walmart.com. The fact that I did not settle for another micro universal charger should say a lot about this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Griffin PowerJolt Dual Micro Universal Charger
03/14/2013
By ,
Pullman, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tested this device when it arrive; it worked.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 19 for Griffin PowerJolt Dual Micro Universal Charger

Tiny and useful

05/02/2013
By ,
Honolulu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is exactly what was needed. Want to be able to charge 2 items off my 12 volt jack.
This is very small, and mounts flush with the 12 volt jack.
Have not had any problems with it yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Griffin PowerJolt Dual Micro Universal Charger

Don't buy!!!

12/15/2012
By ,
Oak Harbor, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this as a phone charger for my son, also for his ipod, it doesn't have the strength to charge either. Waste of money. Will be returning.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Warren, MI
check your car
Posted 04/03/2013
I have charged my iPhone 5 and son's iPhone 4S at the same time, check your car. so, it does have the power to charge an iPod.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next