Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqua Culture Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit

Aqua Culture Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit

The Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit includes: three gallon half moon tank, clear lid with feeding tube, six LED air stones, Tetra Internal Filter, Tetra Small Filter Cartridge, Tetra air pump, airline tubing and airline connector valve.
Average Customer Rating:
2.935 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation52%16 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 13 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit

beautiful light display

09/23/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i was weary at first to buy this since i saw so many negative reviews but decided to go ahead and buy it anyway.....i can always take it back right? anyway, i love it. i DIDN'T have the problem with the lid not fitting like so many other's have had and i fill it to the top and still fits perfectly. i love that the colors change automatically. i had the other cylinder shaped one with the tube up the middle but you have to change the colors manually which is why i bought this one. of course it's for small fish...it's only 3 gallons and the shape makes it thin but other than that i really like the design and if i wanted bigger or more fish, i'd buy a bigger tank right? i would give it a 5 star except for that my betta hated it. i think he didn't like that the bubbles are so strong so i'll be putting in some small neons and maybe a couple frogs into this one and put my betta in something else. maybe with different fish it'll be a 5 star then. but i really like this tank so i don't mind getting something else for the betta, i've been wanting another tank for small neons anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit

Great for beginner tank and for small fish

02/23/2014
By ,
Scranton, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This aquarium is good for small fish or someone just starting out. I keep a few glofish and fancy guppies in it. The bubbler with LED lighting will not stay in place but it doesn't float up or anything so it really doesn't bother me. The LED lighting is very pretty, especially with glofish. However the LED lighting provides very little light. My fish were acting sluggish and I never got to see their pretty colors very much. I bought a small under the counter light and use that over the aquarium during the day, my fish have been much more active with bright lights on during the day and only the LED lights on during the night. The filter works great so far. I put a piece of black posterboard on the back for a background. It made the LED stand out and also made the glofish stand out more. It also made the cords not so noticeable. It clearly states in the instructions not to fill the aquarium all the way and to only fill it below the scoop in the filter. That's about 2-3 inches from the top. I never had any problems with it bowing out with it only being filled that far. It comes with everything you need except gravel, plants/decor and fish.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit

Pretty, but badly designed

03/07/2012
By ,
Pilot Mountain, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have to say, once I had the tank set up it is really pretty. Now for the problems:
♦To many wires and tubes. Having all these wires and tubes in the tank hanging all over takes away from the look a bit. Maybe if it was a bigger tank it wouldn't be as noticeable, but with this small tank it can be an eyesore.
♦The bubble stone around the light is to strong to be right in the center of the tank. I put a beta in the tank and it is to strong for him to swim through the center, which takes away from the usable space. I ended up taking the air tube out of it and keeping it just for the light.
♦As mentioned in another review, there is no shut off button for the light or the filter. I like to turn the filter off at feeding time, so this makes it a bit of an annoyance since the cord is in a hard to get to area in back of the desk.
♦Also mentioned was the tank lid not fitting properly. I actually only put 2.5 gallons of water in the tank so the water comes up to about 2 inches below the lid. Doing this made it not buckle, but you are losing space. If you look at the box front they fill it to the top of the tank, but in the directions the diagram shows it not filled completely, sort of contradicting itself.
So overall I have to say it is a nice tank when you make some alterations to how it is shown on the box.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Mountain Home
Bubbles too strong
Posted 01/28/2014
There is a solution to that. There are little air valves that you can buy to regulate the amount of bubbles that are allowed through the bubbler. (I wont's call it an airstone). The are great! I do not know how much they cost, but I am sure they are not much. I own one and use it on my half moon. It works perfectly to decrease the amount of bubbles produced, My beta does fine.
Hope this helps.
0points
Customer Avatar
texas
AGREE! Pretty, but not without problems
Posted 06/11/2012
We just bought this tank because our guppy gave birth. Those of you that have guppies know they have tons of babes. Got this home, set it up, and the air didn't work correctly. The LED light bubbles nor the filtration set up worked. I figured out it was the connector tube that allows the two lines to be hooked up together. It allows air to flow out of the connector tube screw area no matter what you do. This could be a flaw in my tank only, but it is a flaw. I decided, based on Tavi6233's posting to disconnect the LED air and just use the lights. It works.
I directly plugged each line individually into the pump and they each work on their own. The air does shoot up with a lot of power like Tavi says. Since these are baby guppies I thought it best not to use that tube anyway.
Looks awesome when you finally decide you can't use part of the pumped air! Should be able to get some money back because of the flaw.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit

A good starting tank

09/06/2013
By ,
santa rosa, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So, to start this Ill say no this is not the most perfect tank in the world but you're also paying a low amount of money for a starter tank, you shouldnt be expecting some 900% high quality tank thats flawless given to you be zeus himself. Realistically this is a good starting tank, my only issues were with the bubbler and lid. The lid after a while had a hard time fitting, it still fits it just takes a extra moment to wiggle it in place, its not a big deal its thin plastic what do you expect? As for the bubbler it looks pretty but it doesnt stay in place very well-at all. Id throw some gravel on it and itd stay pretty okay but as soon as the tube moves its off on its own journey again. What Ive come to learn is some bubblers have that problem because they're bubbling underwater. Luckily you can go to petsmart buy some new tubing for 2 dollars max and a air stone for a dollar and fix your problem if it bothers you that much. I loved this as a starting tank for my little fish. I had 2 small fancy goldfish a black moor and a ryukin calico, they shared it peacefully, and had a okay amount of room. I wish the shape had been a little different as fitting items in there is hard, I could put a little house and 2-3 smaller plants in mine but it was crowded. I recently redecorated the tank with a tall house and 2 smaller silky plants for my the fish. Im writing this review after almost 1 year of having the tank. For a cheap starting tank it is good, you may need a extra few bucks for a airstone which i do recommend buying a different one unless you really want the flashing lights more than the easy comfort but I see that as the only real annoyance, the lid fitting is whatever. Any pet you have youll need to make sure you have the time and money for so people whining about having to put a little extra time into fitting the lid or buying a new bubbler probably shouldnt be owning pets. Like I said for what you pay it is a good item, and I do recommend it for a beginner who has 2 small fish (each fish being about a inch long to 1.5 inches long.)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit
12/22/2011
By ,
Upstate, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this today with some fish. I had gotten a different one that was cracked when I got it home and picked this one out as a replacement instead seeing it didnt have a huge tube up the center of the tank to stop any ornaments from fitting. I love it. I have a Betta and 2 other fish in it with plenty of room for more when I get ready to add to it. We put the skull ornament over the LED light stone and it looks awesome and so far Oscar,Pinky and Miny seem to love their new home
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit

Such a fabulous Aquarium!

10/04/2013
By ,
Portland Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Aquarium for my fancy guppies and ghost shrimp to have a dicso party! I love the light show every night the tank illuminates around my livingroom.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit

Great Beginner or Child tank

05/08/2014
By ,
MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved this tank. It was a great starter tank for me and my 1 gold fish, 1 mystery snail, and 1 algae eater. Please note you will not need to over feed or feed more than once a day in this small tank, I found when I did the tank got icky and I was constantly cleaning it. I fed my fish once a day, I know that left over food particles were in the gravel for all to enjoy. Over feeding in this tank will be a great no no as you will find it very cloudy and dirty. The filters are easy to find and replace. The LED lights were awesome. This is not a tank where you would want a lot of decor due to the size of the tank. I just sat it upon my dresser, added a few plants, gravel,sm coral and enjoyed my pets. The filter is pretty powerful to be so small and absolutely NO NOISE from the filter..it is very quiet. I passed my tank on to my niece who will enjoy it as much as I had. I actually upgraded to a larger tank as I am wanting more fish and more decor as I embrace the hobby.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit

God Awful Filter

10/17/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(I've had the tank for six months, and I'm getting rid of it ASAP)
The tank is pretty, I love the LED that it comes with. But the filter doesn't clean the tank like.. at all. I have to hand clean the tank and everything in it at least once a month, and even then the tank gets real gross real fast.
Like one of the other reviews said, there are tubes everywhere, it's like the tubes take up half the tank. And the second you try to move anything in the tank, it pulls up the bubble thingy, or pulls off the filter. Also, after about a month of use, I couldn't get the air release and the filter to flow correct. It was like I could either have the bubbles on FULL BLAST or the water running through the filter on slow motion.
Anyway. I wouldn't get this tank, and I would highly suggest you don't.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit

A cool idea, but bad design

09/13/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this tank at my local walmart store, and I am sad to say that it did not meet expectations. The only really cool thing about this kit, is the bubbler. But be warned, it is very difficult to keep in place as the wire gets caught in the lid....it kept coming up out of the gravel. Also there is no on/off switch for the bubbler, so you have to keep plugging and unplugging it. The tank is more tall than it is wide, so it does not provide a whole lot of swimming space. You may want to consider replacing the filter that comes with this tank, as it does not provide biological filtration...ammonia can become a real problem, really quickly if you are not doing daily water changes in this very small tank. As far as the tank itself goes, it does tend to bow out when filled with water, making the lid a very tight, and sometimes difficult fit. Over all, I really wish I had purchased a different tank.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit

Just go for the 5 gal. kit.

07/15/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had this tank for 6 months now. During that period I kept four Cherry barbs which later gave offspring. This tank initially caught my eye because of the rounded front "half moon." The kit I bought had a Tetra Whisper Pump 10, now I think they sell them smaller, a Tetra 3i filter, and an LED Airstone along with the usual dechlorinator and fish food trail bags they put in any kit.
The Good: It looks nice, is compact, and the pump/filter is relatively quite. Since the tank is made of acrylic, it is super light and easy to carry when empty, plus if it falls it won't crack. I have this tank in my room and I sleep fine. If you buy small fish they will have plenty of space to swim around. The lid also keeps water from splashing out or the fish from committing suicide.
The Bad: 3 Things.
1: This is a matter of opinion but I hate the LED rainbow airstone. It changes color on its own and you can't control it. I could never sleep with this thing on at night. I ended up taking it off and installing a normal airstone.
2: Problem 1 leads to 2 which is the kit does not have its own normal LED hood or method to install one. I had a lamp on it at first before I bought a Marineland LED hood which cost me $30. It looked quite nice.
3: The tank is about $30. Walmart sells some nice rectangular glass tank kits, I know I bought one. The 5 gallon kit cost $3 cheaper. What I'm saying is that you will save yourself more money by buying the next step up, a five gallon tank. I wasted so much money with this and in the end I ended up with the bigger tank. Plus bigger tanks are easier to maintain too so think about that.
The Ugly:
The evaporation is crazy on this tank. The small lightweight filter doesn't help the issue. That filter needs a specific water level otherwise it won't create the pressure it needs to function. Since tank is acrylic, the back side of tank bends easily back when filled with water. This leaves a gaping hole the lid can't cover which leads to increase evaporation. I had to constantly put water in the tank every 4 days to keep the filter running smoothly. Like I said, bigger tanks require less maintenance.
Hope this helps everyone good night!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit

Great fish tank to own.

08/03/2014
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this fish tank! It is really great for a small space or a beginner. The reason this did not get the full five stars is because my the little tube on my filter was not sealed tightly. However, I just pulled it apart, whipped it out, and put it back together. It was an easy fix and now my air tank is quieter. Another thing, the box didn't recommend if you're going to have the air tank on the ground below the tank, you should have a one way valve. So no water gets to the air tank. I would purchase that too! Another reason this didn't get five stars is because the bubbler on the lights system didn't work fully right away. It took a few days, but it is working again. Other than that my fish absolutely love it! I have two small goldfish in it and two plants and a decoration!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit

This is a super-duper tank!

10/27/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The half moon shape makes a nice display to showcase your fish. The changing light colors and extra bubbling feature make the tank special and fun. I like the height so that it takes up less surface space, yet the fish has lots of room to swim and play. We had no trouble setting it up. The tank has a plug for the regular filter and another plug for the light-up bubble maker. I do wish that it had a light switch, but we use an extenstion cord to make it easy to unplug the light so our betta can sleep. All-in-all, my whole family really likes this tank!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit

You think that you're getting a bargain

03/03/2014
By ,
lawrenceville, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BUT YOU'RE NOT!!! By the time you spend money on chemicals, gravel, some decorations and fish, you're close to $100. Nobody in Walmart knew anything about fish tanks so when I spent $18 on three medium sized fish, I was already exceeding the maximum capacity for fish in the tank. Also this is a cold water tank, so you won't do well with the tropical fresh water fish. If you purchase a tank this size, you can have a maximum of 2 small (1 inch) goldfish. We already lost six fish in three weeks.
If you're interested in aquariums, do yourself a favor and buy a bigger tank from the get go!! It turns out the smaller the tank, the harder it is to maintain.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit

Great fish tank!

09/03/2012
By ,
kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this fish tank for over a month and I have no complaints about it. I bought it for my 7 year old daughter who loves it! She wanted a betta fish, and this tank had lots of room for one fish. You could add more if you wanted, but I would not recommend any more than 4 small fish. The filter works pretty good and the replacement cartridges are cheap to buy. This tank is perfect for someone who does not have a lot of room for a tank and the lights are really cool especially at night!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit

Terrible Aquarium

09/19/2012
By ,
TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: Space saver
Cons: The cords hooked up to the bubbler and lights take away from the look of the tank.The bubbler moves easily, so you definitely have to cover it with enough rocks to stay in place. The clear lid looks pretty bad after a while. The filter doesn't seem to be that great. I've seen fish food sucked up through the filter and back out! Not to mention, there's no switch for the bubbler or lights.
Summary: Not worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit
01/07/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was the worst $30.00 I ever spent. Not only does the light/bubble stand not stay in place, but the lid doesn't fit once you place water in the tank. I packed it right back up and returned it. Extremely frustrating!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit

Junk

09/19/2012
By ,
Rhinelander, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tank has a very poor design. The bubbler with the lights on it is supposed to be on the bottom, but it always floats to the top. Even with a ton of gravel on it, it doesn't stay in place. The filter doesn't want to stay on the suction cups either. The little knob on the air hose popped off and water leaked all over my desk. Also, the lid doesn't fit right. I spent a long time trying to set this up and make it work, but to no avail. I never even got to put my fish in it. I took it straight back to the store to get my money back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit

not worth it

11/23/2013
By ,
Vancouver, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
purchased this tank for my 2 goldfish Mango and Citrus. after having 5 goldfish deaths in a 1/2 gallon fish bowl we decided to buy this tank. Sadly Mango and Citrus both passed away. now we have 3 neon tetras , 3 silvertip tetras, 3 Rasboras and 1 Kuhhli Loach. the filter needs to be changed every other week and the bubbler does not stay under the gravel. The back bows out about 1/4 of an inch. overall i would not buy this again. will have to buy a larger tank for our finned friends. wish that I had done more research on tanks before running to Wal-Mart to buy a cheap tank. if you are looking for a cheap tank to replace soon this is your tank.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit

Not a great tank...

12/31/2012
By ,
van
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a novice when it comes to fish but the lighting for tank is terrible you can't even see your fish, if they changed that and gave you above lighting as well it would be a much better tank. I will be returning this tank for a refund.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit

Junk, junk,junk

01/21/2013
By ,
pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My son got this for Christmas 3wks later filter broken...weak motor..led light don't stay in place..don't waste your money..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1 2 Next