Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqua Culture Tetra Bubbling LED Hexagon Aquarium Kit, 1ct

Aqua Culture Tetra Bubbling LED Hexagon Aquarium Kit, 1ct

The Tetra Bubbling LED Hexagon Aquarium Kit includes: one gallon hexagon-shaped tank, clear lid with feeding hole, three LED air stones, Tetra Internal Filter, Tetra Small Filter Cartridge, Tetra air pump, airline tubing and an airline connector valve.
Average Customer Rating:
3.129 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
8
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation52%16 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 13 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
8
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Tetra Bubbling LED Hexagon Aquarium Kit, 1ct

Tank too small

03/21/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It was a great idea but tank needs to be bigger, by the time you put everything in it there is very little room for the fish. I didn't even use it for my beta. It was a nice idea though.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tetra Bubbling LED Hexagon Aquarium Kit, 1ct

Avoid this Tank

04/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this tank along with two other 1-gallon aquariums, all different brands, same price,and compared. Although this tank looks pretty cool on the box, it has 2 major flaws you should really consider reading before purchasing.
1. Tetra's bubbling filtration system is very poor.
It comprises of an external air pump (which vibrates like crazy and was annoying) which blows air from the bottom of the intake tube up through the top and through the filter. The little flap on top of the filer assembly is very cheap and would constantly flip off from the pressure of the bubbles, which created a splashing mess even if I turned the air pressure way down. Look for aquariums with an actual pump motor that draws water by a propeller not by air pressure. This tank would go through filters like crazy and it still wouldn't keep the tank clean in comparison with the other different tanks I bought.The water in this tank would already have debris floating around while the other tanks were crystal clear. This tank required 3x as many cleanings and filter changes as the other tanks I purchased because of the bad filtration system design.Note: I maintained all 3 aquariums the same, with the same maintenance schedule (water changes,etc.)
2. The betta I placed in this tank was not a fan of the bubbling air stone and led light .
The bubbles are harsh and creates too much splashing(messy-messy), even with the air pressure turned way down. The led light was very harsh and the betta was avoiding it at all costs. I unplugged it after a while . Don't forget, fish need to rest like you, and this bright light running 24/7 won't allow that...especially since they don't have eyelids to close and block that bright light.
All in all, after a couple months I had enough, and put this aquarium back in it's box.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tetra Bubbling LED Hexagon Aquarium Kit, 1ct

Nice idea but tank needs to be bigger

09/19/2011
By ,
Near Pittsburgh, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for a Beta for my son's room. I thought the idea of having a filtration system sounded great. I'd always used those cheaper triangle shaped ones that come with an under gravel plate and an air stone. This set up offers some great components. A full size air pump and the multi-color led lights with air stone were awesome. As the other reviewer said, they make very pretty patterns on the ceiling. But unless you have fake fish that's where the fun ends.
First the little filter takes up a lot of room in this tiny 1 gallon tank. Second you can't fill the water anywhere close to the top because it has to be below the filter discharge. Third the current caused by the filter and the air stone in less than a gallon of water will make a Beta VERY unhappy. Beta's like relatively calm water and other than a Beta, there's not much else you could put in this tiny tank. I ended up buying another one of the cheap triangle tanks for my son's Beta and have scavenged the cool led/air stone for my 75 gallon tank. I keep this bowl around just to put the Beta in during his tank cleaning. Honestly they should sell the LED lights/airstone separately for larger tanks - they would make a killing!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sioux Falls, SD
THIS TANK IS GREAT FOR YOUR FIRST AQURARIUM!
Posted 11/06/2011
I thought of getting some fish for a pet, so i disided i would get this tank. first it comes with a filter and i lights up. second it is a great starting aqurarium. third it id perfect for less than three fish. four, it is a great price! (under 25 dollars) so i bought this tank and i bought three neon tetra fish and a crab, eventually, the crab caught one of my fish and all of them started dieing. so do not buy a crab with fish! (don't put them in the same tank) this tank can not fit a whole lot of decor in it. i put a little plant in it, colorful rocks and a statue octipus. (tiny). this tank is not the easiest tank to clean, but after you clean it, it looks really nice. the fish love the bubbles and it helps the water have more air in it, it also helps the tank stay clean. so on my birthday my friend got me three new fish. i am not sure what kind they are but they are doing great! i hope you get this tank, because it is a great tank for your first aquarium!
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Tetra Bubbling LED Hexagon Aquarium Kit, 1ct

Perfect for my Betta

03/07/2013
By ,
Punta Gorda, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this tank for about 2 months and I enjoy it daily...the lights look great at night reflecting on the ceiling! My betta fish is clean and happy. The filter works very nicely. I have rinsed it out but haven't even had to change it yet and the water is crystal clear. I had to adjust the bubbler so the current wasn't too strong for "BF" (Blue/Betta Fish), which is accomplished easily by turning the adapter screw on the tubing coming out of the bubbler...just play around until your fish seems comfortable. The lights continually change color and light up the bubbles coming from the bottom of the tank...I used glass beads instead of gravel to anchor the light fixture to the bottom. Also it is very quiet...just move the bubbler around if it vibrates until it gets into the "right" spot. Very happy to get a tank with a filter for $20. Great tank for one betta fish.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tetra Bubbling LED Hexagon Aquarium Kit, 1ct

Great for 1 beta; do NOT get for goldfish!

08/14/2011
By ,
Southern Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this on the way home from carnival after kid won a goldfish, so I hadn't done any research first. The tank is really cool looking after being set up and makes a beautiful light pattern on the ceiling!!! The box shows 5 goldfish swimming in the aquarium. No way this could ever happen!!! Tank is way too small for even one goldfish. Perfect for one beta fish though. If this carnival fish survives, I'll buy it a bigger tank and get a beta for this tank.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
staten island
Picture shows guppies NOT GOLDFISH.
Posted 09/28/2013
Hun, they are not gold fish those are guppies.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Tetra Bubbling LED Hexagon Aquarium Kit, 1ct

Great Little Betta Tank

08/27/2012
By ,
Tampa, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While at Walmart shopping with a friend, we passed the sad wall of betta bowls and as usual, most of the fish looked half dead, all but one female that was MUCH smaller than the others, only about an inch from the tip of her nose to the end of her tail fin, she was swimming around in quick circles and looked extremely healthy after a quick examination. I couldn't let her stay there when she obviously wanted to live, so I purchased her and this little tank since it was the cheapest one with a filter, most betta tanks don't have one, but I prefer them.
The filter is really small and quiet, if you place the suction cups all the way up the tank as far as they can go, then you can fill the tank up within half an inch of the top easily and the filter doesn't take up a lot of room in the tank either.
The lighted bubbler is a little annoying since it wants to float, but I piled on the gravel and placed a few small river rocks on the lip to keep it down. If you don't have these, then Walmart sells an entire pack for a little over $1.
The entire set up comes with an air pump that is extremely quiet as well as valves that allow you to customize how powerful the filter and airstone become, with my betta I put it on the lowest setting and the current doesn't effect her at all.
Overall, it's a great little tank for a betta, but I am planning to upgrade since at the time I only had thirty bucks on my person and couldn't splurge on a bigger tank.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iowa City, Iowa
Amazing Review!!!!
Posted 09/06/2012
I have read sooooo many reviews in preparation for buying my betta the perfect home. This tank is wonderful, but the current was way to strong for my baby betta and little Mushu was very unhappy. But after reading your review I played with the controls and now have a very happy little fish. Thank you so much!!
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Tetra Bubbling LED Hexagon Aquarium Kit, 1ct

Great Idea but LED Lights Didn't Last; Good Pump

01/12/2014
By ,
South Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
1) The LED lights on my system quit working today after using the bubbler for less than 1 week. I plugged-in the lights every morning and unplugged them every evening before bed. The lights were on, on average, 10 hours a day. I bought the aquarium kit because I liked the idea of the changing LED lights. The changing lights were pretty when they worked. I used it initially in the original tank then I used it in a 3 gallon tank. The lights looked nice in both tanks.
2) The aquarium is too narrow even for a betta. Two days after setting up the system my fish didn't look very happy. I moved my fish to a 3-gallon rectangular aquarium using the same filter and bubbler system. It seemed much happier with the extra swimming space.
3) The pump and filter is sufficient even for a 3-gallon tank. The ability to alternate the airflow to the filter and bubbler is a plus. Not all fish like a lot of bubbles. I was able to increase airflow to the filter when I moved it to the 3-gallon tank. The water surface still gets decent movement and aeration.
I will use the 1 gallon tank as a planter. It will look nice next to the 3-gallon aquarium.
I will continue to use the bubbler (sans working LED lights) until my replacement arrives. I like the lights. The fish couldn't care less.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tetra Bubbling LED Hexagon Aquarium Kit, 1ct

Spend the money on a different tank....

05/09/2014
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It holds water and the filter works... that's about all I can say positive about the tank. The air bubble system which "should be held down by gravel" does not stay down no matter how much gravel is on it. Also it is bulky and takes up a lot of space and is not all that nice to look at once put in the tank. Seeing that the bubble and the LED lights are together the only way I can get the "tank" to have light is to place the light upside down over the feeding hole so that there is light in the tank. I had to disconnect the air pump to the light obviously then. It works i guess, and my 3 year old doesn't mind, either does our Betta but, if I were to do this over... I would not buy this tank... go with a different one!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tetra Bubbling LED Hexagon Aquarium Kit, 1ct

Cute home for my happy Betta!

09/22/2013
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, this tank is small and only appropriate for one Betta fish. You cannot put several Goldfish in it like the box shows. You could put guppies in it, I suppose. However, this is my experience. First of all, it comes with a nice air pump and filter set-up. I put the top of the filter up through the opening toward the rear of the lid, This way, I can fill the water up to about 1/2" from the top of the aquarium. I put a small heater (bought separately) that attaches to the wall with suctions cups also against the back wall right next to the filter. I put a glow-in-the dark- grass right in front of the filter (bought separately at Wal-mart) and the Air Stone with the colored lights on the bottom right beneath that. I put clear glass marbles in the bottom, just enough to hold down the stone and the base of the grass plant. I also bought separately at Wal-Mart a thermometer that sticks (like a sticker) to the outside of the aquarium and the heater keeps the water at about 74 degrees. Now, there are two adjustment valves for the air. I set the filter on the lowest setting so that it barely trickles and I turned the airflow for the airstone off all together because Betta don't like that. Guess what? It's perfect! My Betta is very happy, swims around, in a week he'd already learned to come to the feeding hole in the lid for lunch and after only 10 days in his new home he built a very nice bubble nest! He likes to 'sit' on top of the heater. He's happy and healthy and all is well. It was $20 well spent! :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tetra Bubbling LED Hexagon Aquarium Kit, 1ct

too small, cheap material

06/25/2012
By ,
Appleton, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I also bought this after my son won a fish at a carnival. Im very good at assembling things but because the tank is so small is was hard to get the led light/bubbler to stay under the rocks while arranging the tank. Once the filter was in place along with a small plant there was really no room for the fish but we tried it anyways. I noticed no bubbles were coming up so I moved the hoses around to make sure things were flowing properly & noticed air was escaping from the valves which are supposedly adjustable but they are very cheap & would not allow for proper filtration, water leaked from them as well. I returned it the next day & went with a traditional tank (5gal starter for about $7 more)
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tetra Bubbling LED Hexagon Aquarium Kit, 1ct
04/17/2012
By ,
Walland, Tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I like the idea, but it does not work the way it is supposed to. Everything is too cramped in this little tank. The filter does a horrible job. I have to clean the tank multiple times in the span of a week. It only has a goldfish in it. I should have done some research first, but this was a spur of the moment purchase. My daughter was looking at the fish at the store and I saw how excited she was so I just bought her a small tank to see how she would do with it. I may try like another reviewer said and salvage the led lights for a bigger tank, but this tank is going in the trash as soon as we pick up the next tank.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tetra Bubbling LED Hexagon Aquarium Kit, 1ct
06/29/2012
By ,
Ontario, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tetra Bubbling is so perfect, it has a tiny filter and pump just right for this size tank, super deal for the price. Don't use lite, I wouldn't want lite flashing in my eyes. It keeps betta really clean, and healthy. I have a pineapple sponge bob house in each of my 5 of my betta Bubbles, they live side by side in ther own space, perfect company. I have to clean them every 8-10weeks, as I feed them a pintch a day of Betta food as well as dried worms in afternoon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tetra Bubbling LED Hexagon Aquarium Kit, 1ct

Nice for the price!!!

08/21/2012
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for a fish I inherited from my daughter. It works as advertised and easy to assemble. Pump is very quiet. I added aluminum foil to the outside of the lid (shiny side down) to reflect the light back into the aquarium and that helps light things up better. Fish seems to like it too!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tetra Bubbling LED Hexagon Aquarium Kit, 1ct

Cute but no thank you

09/22/2012
By ,
Kansas city Mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because I live in an apartment and wanted something small and simple. I got home and put it all together all to notice that you needed a check valve to go from the air tubes to the pump. After getting a check valve now the pump doesnt work. I really do not think the pump is any good.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tetra Bubbling LED Hexagon Aquarium Kit, 1ct

Great for 1 gallon tank

01/21/2013
By ,
St. Thomas, Virgin Islands
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Small Tank but sits right next to my bed on the night stand and gives me much joy to watch the 3 African Chichlids swim around. Filter works great water is clear after 2 weeks. I do need to find replacement filter cartridges on line any suggestions?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tetra Bubbling LED Hexagon Aquarium Kit, 1ct
10/03/2012
By ,
NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i was excited about this tank. i have a year old betta fish. the bubble part sent him through a whirlpool and he had to put his little fins in over drive in order to stay a float. looks really cool, but the bubbling part should not be put on unless you hate your fish.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tetra Bubbling LED Hexagon Aquarium Kit, 1ct

Flimsy and disappointing

07/06/2013
By ,
Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Like many others that purchased this, I too won a carnival fish and needed a quick, temporary place to house the little guy while I set up my real aquarium. I've purchased about 5 or 6 of the triangle tanks (with airstones and gravel filters) over the years to keep betas in and hoped to get another one of those, but since they're the cheapest ones Walmart carries and the carnival was next to Walmart's parking lot, this was the only aquarium kit left in stock (and I snagged the last one at that). Since it was a little more expensive than the triangle tanks and came with fancy LED lights, I thought it would be nicer than the "cheap" ones. I was quite wrong.
First off, I've set these kind of kits up several times, so it should have taken me about 5 minutes to get this up and running. But it took much, much longer than that because the pieces did not link up very well. For instance, the lid to the filter kept falling off. The suction cups on the filter would come unhinged and need to be re-assembled. I couldn't get the tubing on the valves because there was excess plastic around the valve edges (probably remnants from the factory mold it was cut from) that I had to file down. It was way more work than it should have been and quite frustrating. The lid was very disappointing as well: a thin piece of plastic that does not seal or snap in place and --at least in my case--was not even cut to fit. The lid does not sit flush with the top of the aquarium. I might as well not even have one.
And as others have also mentioned, once I finally did "fill" it, I was disappointed to see that due to the size of the filter, I had to leave about an inch of space at the top and couldn't put a full gallon of water in this. Living in a 1-gallon tank is stressful enough on a fish, having to cut that down to less than a gallon is just cruel. This tank was poorly designed and poorly made, and I hope my little fish can survive in it long enough for me to get my old 20 gallon aquarium set-up for him. But if he doesn't, his blood will be on Tetra's hands.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tetra Bubbling LED Hexagon Aquarium Kit, 1ct

has to be full

07/11/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my mom got me this cause i already had one that leaked so she returned that and got me this one and its good but if u dont keep it full with water the filter makes a lould unplesent weird bubbling nosie but the fillter provids a hideing spot and the tank itself is to small to have any thing else in it but i like to look at the ceiling at night with all the light changing and its really pretty when the fish swims over the light and about the light it is super hard to keep it on the bottom of the tank and if u r wondering i have a beta fish and a sucker fish over all it is a nice tank
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tetra Bubbling LED Hexagon Aquarium Kit, 1ct

Looked cute!

03/14/2013
By ,
Bronson, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I boughted this aquarium about 2 months ago for my 4 year old daughter Lydia,and she has a pokadotted molly named Dottie. Well NO MATTER what we do, we CAN'T keep the darn thing CLEAN!!!!! I will change the water then the next day the water is so Cloudy that you can barely see Dottie! I've changed the filters, added crystal clear and changed the water, cleaned the plants and gravel. Still nothing will HELP it. So now we are off to buy A NEWER Bigger Tank for Dottie so she can also have some friends with the move. So if anyone recommends any specific tank plz let me know. Thank You
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tetra Bubbling LED Hexagon Aquarium Kit, 1ct

Good starter setup for a Beta keeper.

09/03/2012
By ,
Cuyahoga Falls, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall this is a cheap and easy to maintain setup for a first time Beta keeper. Just be advised not to use the included filter and air stone as it creates too much of a water current for a Beta. This is easily dealt with as Betas can use atomspheric oxygen to survive. As always, consult your research materials before starting a new tank.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next