Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Emson As Seen on TV Bell + Howell Solar Animal Repeller

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Emson As Seen on TV Bell + Howell Solar Animal Repeller

Keep annoying, dangerous and garden destroying pests out of your yard for good with the As Seen on TV Bell + Howell Solar Animal Repeller. Its infrared motion detector covers up to 30'.
Average Customer Rating:
2.5 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation39%9 out of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for As Seen on TV Bell + Howell Solar Animal Repeller

It worked for me!

05/22/2012
By ,
Lincoln Park, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Except for some initial "getting to know the product" issues, I placed 5 of these in my yard and they worked like little miracles! For the first time in years, cats weren't "going" in my garden, and racoons, rabbits and opossums weren't eating my veggies! The only animals I had a problem with were squirrels walking along our fence above the repellers and eating our corn. I just didn't plant corn close to the fence this year!
Just be very careful with the little wires and make sure you select the correct "on" switch (mine uses solar rechargeable OR regular batteries) and you should be in business too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 2 for As Seen on TV Bell + Howell Solar Animal Repeller

Works for me

06/18/2012
By ,
Midland, Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Has worked exceptionally well for me, and I have read the negative reviews in the past and had to get something to keep the deer and groundhog out of my beans; last year they ate all the tender sprouts and left me with stubs, no activity after installing two, one on each end , sensors, and it is a plus to have them solar powered, the animals usually only bother early tender leaves of my plants, after the plants mature no animals bother them, this device has been a savewr of my beans this year, I live in the northeast and think the area effects how the light and sound pitch on animals here, do not know for sure except that I have not one track in my garden this year, my cat does not even follow me as I take care of the crops!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 3 for As Seen on TV Bell + Howell Solar Animal Repeller

Reviews on Amazon are unanimously horrible

09/18/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Go read the reviews of this item at A m a z o n . c o m and you'll see that this item is total garbage. No need for me to reinvent the wheel with this review when the work's already been done over at Amazon.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+30points
Review 4 for As Seen on TV Bell + Howell Solar Animal Repeller

Does not work

04/29/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 6 of these to ensure ample coverage. To my surprise, I saw deer, squirrels, and skunks walk no more than 2 feet in front of these devices and carry on as usual.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Review 5 for As Seen on TV Bell + Howell Solar Animal Repeller

Don't waste your money. This product is a big joke

07/08/2012
By ,
New Virginia, Ia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased two of these in hopes to keep the critters out of our garden. We also set out a live trap to see if they were working. In the week and a half since we put them out we have caught four racoons, a opossum, a fox and a cat! The racoons made a mess out of our sweetcorn last night. These will be going back to the store this week.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 6 for As Seen on TV Bell + Howell Solar Animal Repeller

It works as advertised, but coverage is limited.

08/03/2012
By ,
Upstate New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to keep a deer new to our yard out of the garden and to deter squirrels from the garden and bird feeder. I mounted the stake to one of my garden posts so it was up off the ground and had a clear view. I let it charge for two full days before I started looking for results. I understand that they tell you this even though the red indicator lights showed movement detected as soon as you turn it on. It needs the two full days of charging to provide enough power to activate the noise device that drives the animals away. I pointed it toward one bird feeder that typically had two squirrels on it at once most of the day and was usually empty within 2 or 3 days. We noticed right away that the squirrels were not hanging around that feeder although they are on the feeders on the other side of the garden. That feeder has stayed full for almost 2 weeks.
Although the device is heard from all directions, the motion detector works just like on a motion activated security light and you have to be within the sensing cone of the detector which senses movement up to 30 feet away but with a coverage of only about 15 degrees so if the animal approaches from the right direction and gets under and behind it they will never trigger it. Because of this I will need at least 3 more to adequately protect my garden.
The unit is a good value and works as advertised, just think about how many you will need before you order.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for As Seen on TV Bell + Howell Solar Animal Repeller

Absolutely WORTHLESS !

07/03/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I watched deed and rabits stand 5 feet away and not be bothered at all. The light came on indicating that the motion sensor detected animals but they just stood there eating my flowers and bird seed. It was a complete waste of time trying this unit. Even though I got my money back I wasted lots of time. Other reviews told me so but I had to try because there is one or two that liked it. I can't imagine why.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for As Seen on TV Bell + Howell Solar Animal Repeller

Works Great for the price

06/06/2012
By ,
Barton, Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 35'x20' Veg. Garden. Before I purchaced the Howell Solar Animal Repeller, I had ground-hogs, deer, squairl's taring my garden up all the time. I purchaced a Howll Solar Animal Repeller last year. It did wonderful. No animals in almost the hole garden. So this year I purchaced another one. For the other end of the garden. I had zero animals in it this year. Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!
RWMS
Barton, Maryland
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Review 9 for As Seen on TV Bell + Howell Solar Animal Repeller

I wish it worked!

07/04/2012
By ,
kansas city area
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased 2 Bell and Howell Solar Animal Repellers to control rabbits eating my newly planted hostas. The animal Repellers are not working for me. The rabbits do not seem to be affected at all,
and my hostas are eaten all the way to the ground ):
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for As Seen on TV Bell + Howell Solar Animal Repeller

I'm so mad

07/22/2012
By ,
Pgh pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have a mouse/rat problem inside our house, so we purchased this product. I can hear the mice or whatever they are running around while I'm waving my hand right in front of the stupid thing making it go off. They weren't affected at all by the sound, and I guess I did not read it throughly enough because I didn't even know it was sup posted to be used for dogs, and I have a dog, she is not affected by the sound either. As a matter of fact the only thing that seems to be affected by it is ME the stupid thing is annoying!! Did I mention a huge waste of time and money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for As Seen on TV Bell + Howell Solar Animal Repeller

Either stopped working or did not work

09/10/2012
By ,
Orange Park, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Out of the box in my air conditioned office, the infrared sensor would 'see' me, a red light would appear and a faint very high pitched sound would be emitted. Humans really don't hear well at that high a frequency. Great! But after a trial period in the yard in full sunshine for the solar charging of the batteries, I noted two squirrels hopping within three feet of it. Totally unbothered. I picked up the unit, stared at it and the sensor did not see my heat in a background of 80 degree weather. No sound. Returned to Walmart and got refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for As Seen on TV Bell + Howell Solar Animal Repeller
07/14/2012
By ,
Garland Tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have mixed reviews for this product. I have nothing against cats as long as they do their business in their own back yard. Purchased 1 repeller and set it up in front flower bed, first couple of weeks the cats stayed away. I decided to buy 2 more and surround the perimiter, what a disappointment!! Once they mark their territory no sprays, moth balls or etc can keep them away. NOT GOOD FOR MY GARDEN!! You're taking a 50/50 chance on this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for As Seen on TV Bell + Howell Solar Animal Repeller
08/20/2012
By ,
Conway, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It does not work and it will be going back to the store. We caught a raccoon in a trap right near the repeller.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for As Seen on TV Bell + Howell Solar Animal Repeller
08/29/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The dogs I wanted to scare away would sniff it trying to figure what it was .Doesant work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for As Seen on TV Bell + Howell Solar Animal Repeller

testing

06/04/2012
By ,
New Castle,PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am trying to keep rabits out of my garden. It seem to be working. I live in the city so these animal are hard to keep out, they are use to people and noise. still testing.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for As Seen on TV Bell + Howell Solar Animal Repeller

Time will tell

05/14/2012
By ,
Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Don't knoe for sure that this product works . I have had it out for a few weeks and nothing has bothered my garden yet. This could be because what I have in it hasn"t grow enough or this product is doing it's job . I'll ckeck back later to give the real truith about this product
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Review 17 for As Seen on TV Bell + Howell Solar Animal Repeller

So far, so good!

08/26/2012
By ,
Nampa, ID
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far, we haven't been visited by any cats spraying our front entry area since we installed this device! Cats have RUINED our front storm door/entry area. This is much more humane than when we trapped one and took it in to be euthanized ... and that was expensive, too. Haven't had it long, but so far so good!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for As Seen on TV Bell + Howell Solar Animal Repeller
07/16/2012
By ,
Burke, Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not working well as it said on TV.
I like solar power divide, but I don't like it performace. Because it show to scare the animals aways, but it noise frequency is not make the animals (cat, Dog, Deer, Bird, and more ...) running aways from it from 3" to 80".
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for As Seen on TV Bell + Howell Solar Animal Repeller

had to return it

05/21/2012
By ,
Rogers / Maple Grave MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It did not work - my dog made no response to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 20 for As Seen on TV Bell + Howell Solar Animal Repeller
07/25/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these. One works fine. The other one came with incorrect stake parts that don't go together. That same one also does not charge the batteries and works sporadically.
I am happy with the other one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next