Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for As Seen On Tv As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

As Seen On Tv As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

The As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven revolutionizes tabletop cooking. Boasting powerful halogen, convection and infrared cooking elements, this versatile tabletop cooker roasts, bakes and broils your meals 3x faster than traditional methods. Use it to prepare everything from Thanksgiving turkey to steamed vegetables. There's no need to preheat or defrost, either — the As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven does it all. Plus, a glass dome allows you to keep an eye on the cooking process. Two cooking racks are included, so you can cook two meals at the same time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.138 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(167 Reviews) 156
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
95
4 stars
39
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation83%137 out of 166reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
46 Questions | 103 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
95
4 stars
39
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

was not expecting such a great product

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit that I purchased another competitive unit costing twice as much. It would only handle small pieces and made everything mixed and mushy. I took it back and ordered this. Much to my delight, this product will do an entire chicken, turkey, etc..everything I have made in this unit has come out perfect; great fried taste without any oil..get one!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

My Second Halogen Oven

03/06/2014
By ,
AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second halogen oven. My first was a Flavorwave which I loved and used for years. The Big Boss has some new features I enjoy. The safety button is nice and the temperature gauge is better. The light is very bright allowing for easy viewing of the cooking process. This is my favorite feature as it allows me to easily check on the food. The Big Boss cooks different. The top rack definitely cooks hotter than the bottom. Be careful when steaming veggies or cooking on both racks because the top will burn well before the bottom is done. I did not experience this problem with my last oven. Even so, learning what can cook together and what temperatures to use comes quickly. A standard heat guide would have been great. I received one with the Flavorwave but the Big Boss only provides a few pages of recipes I will never use. I have made some of the best meals with this. I love the no pre-heat and energy savings. I can pop in food even when frozen and get as crisp or juicy a meal as I want. This certainly makes dinner easier and healthier.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven
03/31/2013
By ,
Kingsport,TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this at my local Walmart and it worked better than expected for two or three uses. Then it began rattling the entire time it was in use. I think I had it for two weeks. I returned it to buy another to find that my store no longer had any in stock. I already feel that I cant live without it and I am a little more than annoyed that there have been NONE in stock for weeks and there is a two week wait on the one that I ordered online. Anyway, its basically a washable glass bowl with a little wire rack inside. The cooking element is built into the lid. The stand that it sits on is flimsy and does not fit properly. Its kinda cheap. What I like about this is that it works quickly, its easy to clean, and what should be crispy comes out good and crispy. I didnt get to play with it long enough to find out what all it can do. I do wish it were made better. But I think its going to be my new favorite toy if the next one lasts longer :D
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

Good convection oven for the price

02/11/2014
By ,
Madrid TWP, ME
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I actually expected more from this unit than its design. I wanted to replace an existing toaster oven. The 'toast' function was unsatisfactory, so I tried to use the roasting function using a 5 pound whole chicken. The chicken was crispy on top and well done most of the way through (including a stuffing mix inside). My only complaint was that the very bottom of the chicken seemed under cooked, even though a meat thermometer showed more than well done for poultry. I did call customer service and got the following responses: (1) as far as toasting bread was concerned the only option (after several minutes of representative looking for an answer) seemed to be to turn the bread over and (2) as far as the chicken being underdone on the bottom the suggestion was to turn it over. Neither answer was satisfactory. Overall, however the oven did fit the space in the kitchen, looked attractive, and would probably do very well as a secondary oven for someone not as particular as I.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

read reviews b4 buy, they must have something else

09/19/2013
By ,
USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been hungry for Fried Chicken. I have a Nu-Wave, but it doesn't give a fried taste. So I bought the Big Boss. Following their instructions in their cookbook, I made fried chicken.
First, while it looked like it was frying while cooking, it didn't come close even tasting fried.
Second, at the end of time in their cookbook, the skin was done, looked good, but the chicken was way under cooked. When I cooked it till the chicken was done, the skin was burnt.
Third, for as big as the product is, it doesn't cook much. Definitely not family sized. In order to cook enough for me and my two boys, I would have to have two Big Bosses to make enough chicken and another one or two to make a side like fries.
This product was a real disappointment. I have seen several people write good reviews for product. It's like they have a different product. Unfortunately, you will have to buy for yourself to see if they or I am right.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

AWESOME!

06/09/2013
By ,
CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I totally love this oven!! I've had it 3 days and cooked a 10 lb turkey to perfection in less than 2 hours! So moist, juicy, and the skin was the crispest i've ever baked!! and not just on top but all over and under! I just made some of my homemade bread, and except for getting a bit dark, it baked in half the time and no doughy center, no heating up the kitchen with the cranky oven, and also baked at a much lower temp than usually needed! I just can't praise this oven enough, am so glad i bought it. I was considering the NuWave for a long time, but just couldn't pass up the price on the Big Boss! I made from scratch, baked potatoes and french-fries.. perfect! i can't heat up the oil to fry the potatoes in the time it took the Big Boss to 'fry' them perfectly with no oil! crispy outside, soft and fluffy inside. i have to shutup now, i could praise this oven all day. I'm tossing out my toaster oven!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven
05/26/2012
By ,
Pinckney, Mi.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned three of the Thane flavorwave ovens in the past ten years. They have worked well but wear out after two or three years. The main problem was that the plastic cooking dome either broke or got so discolored that you couldn't see the food cooking. It was also unsightly to have in the kitchen. The Big Boss Rapid wave has corrected that problem with the large glass bowl that can be easily washed. The top of the cooker is also partially glass and can be easily cleaned. I bought the Walmart extended replacement warranty (1 year for $6 ) which seemed like a real deal.
I use it for cooking chicken parts, frozen entrees like eggrolls stuffed chicken breasts, just about anything you would cook in the regular oven except it cooks faster saves energy and doesn't heat up the kitchen. I would recommend it for anyone, especially if you live alone or with one other person and don't cook in larger quantities.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

Great Cooker!No fat!!

02/28/2012
By ,
Chicago Burbs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this cooker,they are for sale everywhere now but wal-mart has the best price.I only paid 69.00 plus the one year replacement for 6.00.I am on a low fat diet and this is perfect for that.I have missed fried chicken and french fries but had some today in my big boss and they were perfect.Could not believe the fat and stuff in bottom of the bowl.No wonder you can't have them on a diet.I wish I had bought this 7 weeks ago when I began the diet.The only gripe I have with the big boss is the small size of the recipe book.But when searching for more recipe's I learned that there is a bigger book of recipe's for this unit on amazon.com. I will have to check wal-mart for it first and if they don't have one I may order one from them.Now instead of cooking 2 different way's for me and the old man I can throw him a chop or steak in with my chicken or fish,a few veggies and we are good.I usually use the stovetop and oven and 45 pans to make dinner, now I can put it all in big boss.I think this is the best purchase I have made in a long time.If you don't believe me,just fry some chicken in your big boss and see what falls to the bottom and does not go into your body.It is worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven
10/08/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used this type oven for many years and have tried various brands. Most of them function the same and usually only last between 2 or 3 years; however, I use this oven daily. I cook french fries, biscuits, meat, fish, most anything you can put in an oven or under a broiler. Food is cooked in less time and you can cook without added oils. It's also great for reheating fried food like chicken and fish and most times the food will be as crispy reheated as it was when it was cooked.
I like this particular model because it has the glass bowl that the lid sits on instead of a plastic-like piece that you have to snap the cooking element into. This oven is very easy to clean - just take the glass bowl to the sink and wash it or it can go in the dishwasher but it takes up a lot space in the dishwasher. This oven so far is working great. The one thing I don't like about this particular model is that it doesn't have a bracket to hook onto one of the handles to hold the lid when your food is done or if you need to turn the food. All of the ovens I have used have had some type of bracket but this one doesn't. I have had to set the hot lid on my stove so if you purchase this unit, you'll need something heat-proof to set the lid on. Other than that, I like this oven - the price is great, and it looks good. If it had a bracket included, I'd have given it 5 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+225points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

Under performs

01/20/2012
By ,
Big Bear, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The box pictures a chicken cooking evenly. No details of how to cook the chicken in the very thin recipe book. Need to turn food halfway through, if you can figure out the halfway mark. I had a 5lb chicken took 2 hours at 350. It was hard to turn it over because of the design of the unit. This definitely did not cook 3x faster.
Tried roasted potatoes and they came out really good. Again, not 3x faster. 2" pieces took 25 minutes at 375, after pre boiling for 10 minutes. This company really needs to enhance their recipe book. Not much in it. So it is trial and error for me. Thank goodness I love to cook! Not adviseable to put any containers in the oven, so baking and casseroles are out. Would recommended only to experienced cooks. Great for preventing heat build up in the house on a hot day.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

What a waist of Money

12/26/2013
By ,
Pittsford
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What a great idea to get away from deep fried food we thought !!!, We opened the box on Christmas Morning and were eager too try our new Fryer, Followed the very simple instructions.
Bang Bang Shrimp was the simple test to see how good it was. Heat lamp came on, No Convection fan to move the air around. 10 mins later food still raw back to the good old Deep Fryer to do the job.
My Biggest Problem is not with the product, (sometime things do not work) its the Customer Service leaflet which in BOLD LETTERS say's DO NOT RETURN TO STORE, WE CAN HELP.
I phoned the number 1-800-423-4248 only to be given another number to call before speaking with someone who had NO IDEA about this product as they don't make it and I would have to send it back and pay all the postage (so what's the point of the card). This lady was a much HELP as a CHOCOLATE KETTLE.
My advise stay away and spend a little more
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven
01/27/2012
By ,
Williamsburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this oven to replace the first turbo oven which I literally wore out. Love everything about it! Since I do not use a microwave oven, I use this one quite a lot. The recipe booklet was very helpful. One of my favorite features is the cleaning cycle--it really works! The price was great--much cheaper than my first one although the same size. Love to cook broiled chicken, meat patties, fish & roasted potatoes in it--hardly any grease, and very delicious.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

bulbs dont last

04/19/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
had 2 already both lasted about a year then the bulb blows and you have to buy a new one not worth the money.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

Great Cooker:)

04/05/2012
By ,
white hall, md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big Boss Cooks really well. I had the Nuwave oven and sent it back. It smelled like plastic when it cooked foods. This cooker is all glass and cooks just as well as the Nuwave oven.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven
09/29/2011
By ,
NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got it a couple days ago...but I love it! Have cooked several different things in it. It does cook really well and fast! It even cleans itself :)
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+113points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Longview, Tx
Question
Posted 11/04/2012
Are you still happy with your purchase?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven
07/16/2012
By ,
Temple Hills, Md.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It works pretty good, this is about the 4th one I've had, and lasted less than all of them, not even a year! The handle stopped working properly first then a couple of months later, the whole machine stopped working, about 8 months after buying it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

First time user of convection oven

01/05/2014
By ,
Augusta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Never saw the TV infomercial for the Big Boss, however the reviews I read about the New Wave oven, made me chose this one. Larger capacity, extender ring included and glass bowl instead of plastic. I used it to cook a prime rib for Christmas dinner. The Prime rib turned out great. It seared on the outside without drying out the inside. I must caution, one should use the extender ring for most long cooking processes because the halogen bulb might burn, overcook or dry out your food. Again this was my first use of this oven and everything went well. I will write again after future uses.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

working great

11/01/2012
By ,
madison,wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This oven works great. It was fast. I could make a meal in 10 min. I previously owned a Nuwave oven which I ordered online for over $200 and it was hard to use it. The program is confusing but this new oven i ordered on Walmart.com cost $84 and the two buttons are easy to use. It worth my money!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven
10/03/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does well on chicken,although you must turn it . It browns too easily.but the extender ring helps with that.Veggies? Cake OK. Pie -not as yet,still trying. It does take some adjusting to time and temps. It does not heat up the kitchen. so good in hot weather.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Longview, Tx
Question
Posted 11/04/2012
I would be interested to know if this person is still happy with their purchase?
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

Great oven, especially for the price!

02/25/2013
By ,
Midcoast Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven was recommended to me by a friend a little over a year ago, and since she's pretty honest about the quality of the products she tries out, I decided to go ahead and purchase one. Here's my list of pros and cons experience during the past year:
PROS:
- There is no need to preheat this unit as opposed to a regular oven, therefore saving time and electricity.
- I've been able to cook frozen chicken breasts and have them turn out moist and delicious (and cooked the whole way through#.
- It's perfect for making a few frozen chicken patties, battered fish filets, fries, etc. in a hurry.
- Having two racks at different levels makes it possible to cook several different items at once.
- I can easily see the food as it's cooking, and can check the temperature often without worrying about letting all the heat out as with a regular oven.
- I find the glass bowl and racks easy to clean baked-on food off of.
- The lid has a nice safety feature that will not allow the heating element to come on unless the handle is clicked down into place.
- The extender ring gives you even more space for cooking, or just space between the heating element and the food if you don't want things to brown too quickly.
CONS:
- The unit is quite large, and since I have inadequate cabinet space for storing it, I find the best place to keep this oven is actually inside my regular oven #hah#.
- Cooking on a tray rather than the racks is practically only possible if you have a small square tray or an 8x8 round cake pan, etc. that will fit in the round glass bowl.
- Some foods require a bit of "experimenting" with until you figure out just the right temperature and time to make them come out ok.
- The glass bowl is a bit heavy and awkward for washing #though I do end up using it as a dish pan for washing all my other dishes in before I wash the bowl itself#.
- There is no way to make the timer stop if you're finished cooking and have extra time set, even if you unplug the unit, other than by forcing it back to the "OFF" position. This makes for surprise "DING!"s after I've sat down to eat my dinner.
Overall, I find the cons to be relatively minor in comparison to the pros of having this machine. It has consistently made delicious food and saved a lot of energy #as well as time# in my house. Yes, sometimes you need to do some testing to figure out how to cook certain foods in this oven, but if you have some patience and use some common sense, you will be well rewarded. I suggest keeping a journal of recipes you've tried that includes the time and temperature at which you cooked them, which rack#s# you used, and if you used the extender ring or not. It'll save you a lot of trouble the next time you make that meal. Have fun with it--it's a neat product, and you can do a lot with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 157 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next