Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for As Seen On Tv As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

As Seen On Tv As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

The As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven revolutionizes tabletop cooking. Boasting powerful halogen, convection and infrared cooking elements, this versatile tabletop cooker roasts, bakes and broils your meals 3x faster than traditional methods. Use it to prepare everything from Thanksgiving turkey to steamed vegetables. There's no need to preheat or defrost, either — the As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven does it all. Plus, a glass dome allows you to keep an eye on the cooking process. Two cooking racks are included, so you can cook two meals at the same time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.212 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(132 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
77
4 stars
32
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation84%110 out of 131reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 96 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
77
4 stars
32
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

was not expecting such a great product

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit that I purchased another competitive unit costing twice as much. It would only handle small pieces and made everything mixed and mushy. I took it back and ordered this. Much to my delight, this product will do an entire chicken, turkey, etc..everything I have made in this unit has come out perfect; great fried taste without any oil..get one!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

My Second Halogen Oven

03/06/2014
By ,
AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second halogen oven. My first was a Flavorwave which I loved and used for years. The Big Boss has some new features I enjoy. The safety button is nice and the temperature gauge is better. The light is very bright allowing for easy viewing of the cooking process. This is my favorite feature as it allows me to easily check on the food. The Big Boss cooks different. The top rack definitely cooks hotter than the bottom. Be careful when steaming veggies or cooking on both racks because the top will burn well before the bottom is done. I did not experience this problem with my last oven. Even so, learning what can cook together and what temperatures to use comes quickly. A standard heat guide would have been great. I received one with the Flavorwave but the Big Boss only provides a few pages of recipes I will never use. I have made some of the best meals with this. I love the no pre-heat and energy savings. I can pop in food even when frozen and get as crisp or juicy a meal as I want. This certainly makes dinner easier and healthier.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

Good convection oven for the price

02/11/2014
By ,
Madrid TWP, ME
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I actually expected more from this unit than its design. I wanted to replace an existing toaster oven. The 'toast' function was unsatisfactory, so I tried to use the roasting function using a 5 pound whole chicken. The chicken was crispy on top and well done most of the way through (including a stuffing mix inside). My only complaint was that the very bottom of the chicken seemed under cooked, even though a meat thermometer showed more than well done for poultry. I did call customer service and got the following responses: (1) as far as toasting bread was concerned the only option (after several minutes of representative looking for an answer) seemed to be to turn the bread over and (2) as far as the chicken being underdone on the bottom the suggestion was to turn it over. Neither answer was satisfactory. Overall, however the oven did fit the space in the kitchen, looked attractive, and would probably do very well as a secondary oven for someone not as particular as I.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

AWESOME!

06/09/2013
By ,
CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I totally love this oven!! I've had it 3 days and cooked a 10 lb turkey to perfection in less than 2 hours! So moist, juicy, and the skin was the crispest i've ever baked!! and not just on top but all over and under! I just made some of my homemade bread, and except for getting a bit dark, it baked in half the time and no doughy center, no heating up the kitchen with the cranky oven, and also baked at a much lower temp than usually needed! I just can't praise this oven enough, am so glad i bought it. I was considering the NuWave for a long time, but just couldn't pass up the price on the Big Boss! I made from scratch, baked potatoes and french-fries.. perfect! i can't heat up the oil to fry the potatoes in the time it took the Big Boss to 'fry' them perfectly with no oil! crispy outside, soft and fluffy inside. i have to shutup now, i could praise this oven all day. I'm tossing out my toaster oven!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

read reviews b4 buy, they must have something else

09/19/2013
By ,
USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been hungry for Fried Chicken. I have a Nu-Wave, but it doesn't give a fried taste. So I bought the Big Boss. Following their instructions in their cookbook, I made fried chicken.
First, while it looked like it was frying while cooking, it didn't come close even tasting fried.
Second, at the end of time in their cookbook, the skin was done, looked good, but the chicken was way under cooked. When I cooked it till the chicken was done, the skin was burnt.
Third, for as big as the product is, it doesn't cook much. Definitely not family sized. In order to cook enough for me and my two boys, I would have to have two Big Bosses to make enough chicken and another one or two to make a side like fries.
This product was a real disappointment. I have seen several people write good reviews for product. It's like they have a different product. Unfortunately, you will have to buy for yourself to see if they or I am right.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven
03/31/2013
By ,
Kingsport,TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this at my local Walmart and it worked better than expected for two or three uses. Then it began rattling the entire time it was in use. I think I had it for two weeks. I returned it to buy another to find that my store no longer had any in stock. I already feel that I cant live without it and I am a little more than annoyed that there have been NONE in stock for weeks and there is a two week wait on the one that I ordered online. Anyway, its basically a washable glass bowl with a little wire rack inside. The cooking element is built into the lid. The stand that it sits on is flimsy and does not fit properly. Its kinda cheap. What I like about this is that it works quickly, its easy to clean, and what should be crispy comes out good and crispy. I didnt get to play with it long enough to find out what all it can do. I do wish it were made better. But I think its going to be my new favorite toy if the next one lasts longer :D
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven
05/26/2012
By ,
Pinckney, Mi.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned three of the Thane flavorwave ovens in the past ten years. They have worked well but wear out after two or three years. The main problem was that the plastic cooking dome either broke or got so discolored that you couldn't see the food cooking. It was also unsightly to have in the kitchen. The Big Boss Rapid wave has corrected that problem with the large glass bowl that can be easily washed. The top of the cooker is also partially glass and can be easily cleaned. I bought the Walmart extended replacement warranty (1 year for $6 ) which seemed like a real deal.
I use it for cooking chicken parts, frozen entrees like eggrolls stuffed chicken breasts, just about anything you would cook in the regular oven except it cooks faster saves energy and doesn't heat up the kitchen. I would recommend it for anyone, especially if you live alone or with one other person and don't cook in larger quantities.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

Great product

07/26/2014
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very affordable price and included expander, etc. So far tried chicken legs, chuck steak and French fries and all turned out great. This is easy to use and easy to clean. I use it almost every day and find the food is delicious prepared on this. Can't afford steak any more, so tried a chuck roast (on sale), cut it into 1" thick steaks and used a Deni tenderizer, and it was sooooo good!! I will plan to try a marinade, but my chuck steak turned out so good no hurry with a marinade, just curiosity. Love this machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

Great Cooker!No fat!!

02/28/2012
By ,
Chicago Burbs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this cooker,they are for sale everywhere now but wal-mart has the best price.I only paid 69.00 plus the one year replacement for 6.00.I am on a low fat diet and this is perfect for that.I have missed fried chicken and french fries but had some today in my big boss and they were perfect.Could not believe the fat and stuff in bottom of the bowl.No wonder you can't have them on a diet.I wish I had bought this 7 weeks ago when I began the diet.The only gripe I have with the big boss is the small size of the recipe book.But when searching for more recipe's I learned that there is a bigger book of recipe's for this unit on amazon.com. I will have to check wal-mart for it first and if they don't have one I may order one from them.Now instead of cooking 2 different way's for me and the old man I can throw him a chop or steak in with my chicken or fish,a few veggies and we are good.I usually use the stovetop and oven and 45 pans to make dinner, now I can put it all in big boss.I think this is the best purchase I have made in a long time.If you don't believe me,just fry some chicken in your big boss and see what falls to the bottom and does not go into your body.It is worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

What a waist of Money

12/26/2013
By ,
Pittsford
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What a great idea to get away from deep fried food we thought !!!, We opened the box on Christmas Morning and were eager too try our new Fryer, Followed the very simple instructions.
Bang Bang Shrimp was the simple test to see how good it was. Heat lamp came on, No Convection fan to move the air around. 10 mins later food still raw back to the good old Deep Fryer to do the job.
My Biggest Problem is not with the product, (sometime things do not work) its the Customer Service leaflet which in BOLD LETTERS say's DO NOT RETURN TO STORE, WE CAN HELP.
I phoned the number 1-800-423-4248 only to be given another number to call before speaking with someone who had NO IDEA about this product as they don't make it and I would have to send it back and pay all the postage (so what's the point of the card). This lady was a much HELP as a CHOCOLATE KETTLE.
My advise stay away and spend a little more
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

I do not want to use my oven anymore.

07/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this cooker, fast, clean and a pleasure to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

cheap cheap

07/13/2014
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bough this to replace the convection oven i use to have...it was a c-10. Have had for a month and it works very well but only one problem...the paint they used to print onto the dials settings comes off..so now there is no way to set the timer or temperature....it is a guessing game....my advise don't buy
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven
10/08/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used this type oven for many years and have tried various brands. Most of them function the same and usually only last between 2 or 3 years; however, I use this oven daily. I cook french fries, biscuits, meat, fish, most anything you can put in an oven or under a broiler. Food is cooked in less time and you can cook without added oils. It's also great for reheating fried food like chicken and fish and most times the food will be as crispy reheated as it was when it was cooked.
I like this particular model because it has the glass bowl that the lid sits on instead of a plastic-like piece that you have to snap the cooking element into. This oven is very easy to clean - just take the glass bowl to the sink and wash it or it can go in the dishwasher but it takes up a lot space in the dishwasher. This oven so far is working great. The one thing I don't like about this particular model is that it doesn't have a bracket to hook onto one of the handles to hold the lid when your food is done or if you need to turn the food. All of the ovens I have used have had some type of bracket but this one doesn't. I have had to set the hot lid on my stove so if you purchase this unit, you'll need something heat-proof to set the lid on. Other than that, I like this oven - the price is great, and it looks good. If it had a bracket included, I'd have given it 5 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+204points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

07/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my personal review of the Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven. I was originally going to purchase the Nuwave oven but found it to be way over my budget. I was hesitant in purchasing the Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven because I thought it wouldn't be the same since it was so much cheaper. It turns out that this oven works exactly the same as the Nuwave and I'm very glad I purchased this product. I saved alot of money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

Under performs

01/20/2012
By ,
Big Bear, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The box pictures a chicken cooking evenly. No details of how to cook the chicken in the very thin recipe book. Need to turn food halfway through, if you can figure out the halfway mark. I had a 5lb chicken took 2 hours at 350. It was hard to turn it over because of the design of the unit. This definitely did not cook 3x faster.
Tried roasted potatoes and they came out really good. Again, not 3x faster. 2" pieces took 25 minutes at 375, after pre boiling for 10 minutes. This company really needs to enhance their recipe book. Not much in it. So it is trial and error for me. Thank goodness I love to cook! Not adviseable to put any containers in the oven, so baking and casseroles are out. Would recommended only to experienced cooks. Great for preventing heat build up in the house on a hot day.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

06/28/2014
By ,
Cambridge, MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love the easy clean up after roasting a turkey breast yet, I will need to adjust to this type of heat. I broiled a steak, followed the directions for temperature and time, it was too well done, good, but too well done for my taste. So, I may come back with an updated review after I have tried out more variations on time and temperature.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

Great product

02/25/2014
By ,
Holland, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this oven for my dad to replace a nuwave. The ring on the nuwave oven, which he really loved, cracks after about a year of use. This oven has a glass bowl which is sturdier and can be removed and cleaned. He has used the Big Boss a few times already and really thinks it is comparable to the nuwave. He likes that it has an analog timer instead of digital.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven

Must Have Appliance!

06/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the Big Boss!! I use it for sooo many things. It cooks the perfect meat, chicken, fish and many other items from frozen. Clean up is a cinch! You wont regret buying this. The only downfall is the size and where to store it. But with that said, I love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven
01/27/2012
By ,
Williamsburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this oven to replace the first turbo oven which I literally wore out. Love everything about it! Since I do not use a microwave oven, I use this one quite a lot. The recipe booklet was very helpful. One of my favorite features is the cleaning cycle--it really works! The price was great--much cheaper than my first one although the same size. Love to cook broiled chicken, meat patties, fish & roasted potatoes in it--hardly any grease, and very delicious.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for As Seen on TV Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven
09/29/2011
By ,
NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got it a couple days ago...but I love it! Have cooked several different things in it. It does cook really well and fast! It even cleans itself :)
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+96points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Longview, Tx
Question
Posted 11/04/2012
Are you still happy with your purchase?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 122 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next