Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Westinghouse 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" Ultra-slim, LD-4070Z

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Generic Westinghouse 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" Ultra-slim, LD-4070Z

The Westinghouse 40" 1080p TV provides you with a brilliant full-HD picture. You can mount this Westinghouse 40" LED-LCD HDTV to the wall with an optional mount or leave it on its stand to save space. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Westinghouse 40" LED-LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade. ENERGY STAR ® Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.021 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation77%36 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Westinghouse 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" Ultra-slim, LD-4070Z

Well worth it!

08/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a techie and usually only buy the best. I didn't have a lot of money and hesitated to buy the Westinghouse, but it fit the budget and had everything I was looking for...120hz, 40 inches, 6ms or better response time. THE PICTURE QUALITY IS EXCELLENT! Over the air HD is phenomenal. Watching DVD's through the HDMI is amazing. The sound is passable, but not great which is to be expected on a flat screen. I hooked my tv to my stereo and the sound is now excellent. Do not hesitate because of the low price or because it is a Westinghouse. I'm glad I did not shell out on a more expensive set. If for some reason the screen is completely black, like for credits, you may notice that some areas are brighter than others...BUT this is only noticeable when the screen is completely black, like when the credits are rolling...when a show is on, this is not noticeable (this is also something to be expected with edge lit LED's...more expensive full array LED's with local dimming don't have this phenomenon.) One last concern is the stand (base) allows the tv to wobble a bit. It's noticeable only when you plug in cables, but I don't think this is ever going to be a problem, there is no risk of the tv stand breaking. BOTTOM LINE: GO GRAB A WESTINGHOUSE LD4070Z BEFORE THE PRICE GOES UP, IT IS AN AWESOME TELEVISION. WELL WORTH IT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+173points
Review 2 for Westinghouse 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" Ultra-slim, LD-4070Z

Great 120Hz LCD TV with basic features

10/27/2011
By ,
WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is everything I expected after reading other reviews. Great picture, OK sound. I bought this as a bedroom TV and it fits the bill perfectly. If you want a plug and play, LCD, 120Hz TV this is it. If you want total function control or theater quality sound you should probably look elsewhere.
A word about Westinghouse support. I picked this up from Walmart on a Friday night after work. After I hooked it up I tried to program my DirecTV remote to control the TV. None of the Westinghouse codes suggested by DirecTV worked, so I fired off an e-mail to Westinghouse support requesting the codes. Since it was after midnight Pacific time on a Friday I fully expected to wait until at least Monday for a reply. Imagine my surprise when the reply was waiting in my in-box Saturday morning when I got up! (It uses Samsung/Sony codes BTW).
So far I am completely satisfied with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 3 for Westinghouse 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" Ultra-slim, LD-4070Z

Good Price, Returned 1st, 2nd still has bad pixel

08/31/2011
By ,
CT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Was happy with everything except the 1st one had 2 bad pixels, 2nd one had 1 bad pixel. So I am not sure if all Westinghouse's have bad pixels or if Walmart gets the models with bad pixels. Or I have bad luck.
Audio isn't that great but have yet to see a flat screen with good audio. I thought the menus seemed decent, not top end but I didn't think they look bad.
I bought this for use at a cabin I use 5 times a year, so it won't get much use. If it was getting a lot of use I would probably have purchased a higher end model.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+24points
Review 4 for Westinghouse 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" Ultra-slim, LD-4070Z

Great picture but what's wrong with the pixels?

09/02/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So, I don't know if it is a manufacturing issue or shipping issue. I ordered two and had them shipped site to store (ship to home is not free or 99 cents, but around $25). They represented a brand that I have good exepriences with and the TV was a phenomenal value for all the connections and the technology that is available in it. Well, after waiting 2 weeks for it to arrive at my local Walmart, I brought them home and hooked the first one up. There was a big bright spot with in a dead pixel right in the middle of the screen!! It was not good. The TV itself had no blemishes and no indication on the box that it had been mishandled or damaged during shipment. I got the second TV out and it had a dead pixel in almost the exact same spot as the first. I did hook up my satellite to see if the blemishes would go away, which they did not. The picture was amazing, with the exception of the missing pixels and bright spot. Another major draw back is the sound. I suppose it would be alright if you were putting it somewhere that had the wall behind to reflect the sound back to you. For me, however, this is not the case due to the fact that I was placing it in a built in entertainment center (hence the reason for buying a 40" TV instead of a larger one). It sounds like the speakers were in a tin can. They are both going back to the store tomorrow for full refunds (I am so glad I didn't pay for shipping to my home).
Due to the price, I am still debating if I want to wait another two weeks before finding out whether or not the next one has a dead pixel. I am leaning towards not, but if I do, I will definitely need to get an auxiliary sound system for it. I don't undersand why these brand new TVs would have problems as I have owned multiple Westinghouse LCD TVs for a few years now and have never had an issue with a pixel going out. Also they all sound a lot better than this one, but again, external speakers are an easy remedy. I suppose if you can verify that there are no dead pixels before you bring it home from the store, that would be beneficial if you are ordering this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+63points
Review 5 for Westinghouse 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" Ultra-slim, LD-4070Z

A lot of features for a very competitive price

08/31/2011
By ,
Fayetteville, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very pleased with this television so far. The picture is very clean and clear. Contrast (brights vs. darks) seems very high. Connection options are very adequate for our needs. Features are basic (in terms of customizing/tweaking the picture & sound to your liking) but work for most situations. I'm least pleased with the aspect ratio display options available. This doesn't detract from its use at all, it just seems to lack flexibility. The audio works very well for our application (the room its in isn't very large) so we have no complaints in that area.
We're only a couple of weeks into owning this TV, so cannot comment on its long term reliability or performance. Price/feature ratio was the main factor in deciding to go with this "low end" brand. We got the warranty extension to help cover this, so we'll see. The unit's physical quality feel seems mid-range. The remote isn't fancy and not of the highest quality, but its layout is acceptable with no major pet peeves so far.
This unit is essentially what I expected it to be (trying to keep my expectations reasonable), so no big surprises or disappointments yet. It is my first LCD HDTV purchase (replaces our old CRT-based unit) so my basis for comparison is pretty thin (other than loving LCD PC monitors.) I'm pleased with what we've got and would recommend it to others at this point.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Review 6 for Westinghouse 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" Ultra-slim, LD-4070Z

Great Picture,

09/13/2011
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Has a great picture, crisp, sharp. Sound is ok, nothing to get excited about. I have it hooked up to 5.1 surround. Has one dead pixel right at the top middle. it's blue didn't noticed it for the first day but You can't see it unless you're really looking for it and you have to be close. No reason to take it back or write a bad review over. if you are wanting one that doesn't have one then spend 100 or more in a bigger name brand. I'm happy with my purchase. As for people having problems with light spots around the edge that is expected for edge lit LED-LCD's. can't really notice unless it's a completely black screen then you can see it but doesn't bother me not for the price. My old 32" LCD did the same thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for Westinghouse 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" Ultra-slim, LD-4070Z
09/28/2011
By ,
KC, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great price for a 40". The picture quality is very good. A full black screen does have inconsitent brighter sections rather than a smooth black image which I don't think is really important. The sound quality is not very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 8 for Westinghouse 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" Ultra-slim, LD-4070Z
10/16/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good TV for the price. It is actually made by Toshiba so I dont expect to have any issues with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 9 for Westinghouse 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" Ultra-slim, LD-4070Z

Don't buy this horrible TV

11/15/2011
By ,
Dupo, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This TV has one of the worst pictures I have ever seen. The sound quality is as bad if not worse than the picture. I took it back to Walmart and bought a 42" Sanyo for for about $20 more than the Westinghouse and the picture and sound on the Sanyo are GREAT! Unless you want to make a 2nd trip to Walmart stay away from the Westinghouse.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Review 10 for Westinghouse 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" Ultra-slim, LD-4070Z

Bad pixels

11/25/2011
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I researched 40inch LED TV's for 2 months before purchasing this TV. It looked like a good value and I figured I could always return it if there was a problem with it. I opened it up and turned it on and there were about 5 or 6 dead pixels in a 3 inch area. Rather than try my luck with another of the same brand TV and possibly have the same issue, I decided to spend an extra $70 to to get a proven brand name. The sound was equal to other similar LED TV's. The TV and base were also a little crooked also.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 11 for Westinghouse 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" Ultra-slim, LD-4070Z

How did this unit get past quality control?

10/17/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Out of the box easy to set up and find channels off my antenna. But there is a pixel that stays on all the time. It is only a matter of time before it looks like the milky way.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Review 12 for Westinghouse 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" Ultra-slim, LD-4070Z

Great TV

09/07/2011
By ,
Altamonte Springs, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought it, loved it. Slight issues getting the sound to cooperate with my surround sound, but other than that, it's a great purchase. Clear, crisp picture, great reception and cable hookup and gaming. Love the TV!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Westinghouse 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" Ultra-slim, LD-4070Z

Good Value

09/08/2011
By ,
home
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The value is great and so is the picture quality. The sound however could have been better. This is a great buy and I would recommend it to anyone interested in this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Westinghouse 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" Ultra-slim, LD-4070Z

Great buy for the money!

10/08/2011
By ,
Millville,NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love,love,love this tv excellent for the price .Sound quality is not that great but that's par for the course with these type of tv's
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Westinghouse 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" Ultra-slim, LD-4070Z

Fits in a small space

09/29/2011
By ,
Walled Lake, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound is tinny but that was expected from other reviews.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for Westinghouse 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" Ultra-slim, LD-4070Z
09/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very nice tv with beautiful images and sharp colors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 17 for Westinghouse 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" Ultra-slim, LD-4070Z

Really a GREAT TV for the money

10/12/2011
By ,
Buffalo, NY & FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was concerned after ordering this TV as I saw a different Westinghouse model on another vendor site with some negative reviews on setup and sound. After a quick delivery time (site-to-store with no problems) I was pleasantly surprised to find NO PROBLEMS with this set; in fact the picture and sound were both GREAT. We may consider purchasing another for our snowbird home if they are still available at this GREAT price.
{I took another ad to the store hoping to get the price reduced to match it BUT had also ordered the extended warranty and when I looked at the TV price alone found the competitor's ad was actually $40 more - oops.}
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Westinghouse 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" Ultra-slim, LD-4070Z

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY

07/18/2013
By ,
New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When TV breaks within a year, and need to call Westinghouse about the warranty, you will go through nothing but red tape and aggravation with the customer service. I.E. They don't return calls, they promise you things they never deliver and then deny ever saying it. You will have to pay shipping costs to CA to send TV back. Then they don't even return your TV.
Westinghouse will not stand by their product. Keep your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Westinghouse 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" Ultra-slim, LD-4070Z

I sent the T.V. back 1 hour after I got it!

11/27/2011
By ,
Washington, D.C.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I finally received this T.V. (the first was broken by the fedex carrier) I hooked it up and turned it on and found a broken pixel near the center of the screen. I tried really hard to ignore it but it's really hard to ignore something that's right there in your face!! I also had problems with changing the settings for this T.V. When changing the screen size I went to settings and screen size selection and it did work for that particular channel but as soon as I changed to a new a channel the screen would reset to its default settings. I never had this kind of hassle from a T.V. before (I normally buy LG) so I called walmart.com and sent it back immediately. Great price but sorry to say that I will never buy this brand again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 20 for Westinghouse 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" Ultra-slim, LD-4070Z

Can't beat the price

10/31/2011
By ,
Washington, DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The price is stellar, nothing I have seen even comes close for 1080P and 120 Hz. Definitely brighter than my LCD, picture quality is awesome, sound is good, definitely changed my opinion of the lower end brands
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next