Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for The Fault in Our Stars

The Fault in Our Stars

Average Customer Rating:
4.907 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation98%42 out of 43reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The Fault in Our Stars

A beautiful story about young love.

04/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has made me fall in love with love. I really recommend this book for anyone, really. It shows you the real life of being terminally ill, but giving hope that there is love out there for anyone, whether you are healthy or sick. Love is stronger than anything. It really thrills you with its ups and downs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Fault in Our Stars

brilliant, raw, and emotional---loved it!

04/11/2014
By ,
Salem, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book and I was completely engrossed by the characters. I hope it becomes a modern day classic, because I could not put it down. It gives you insight into the mind of teenagers faced with their own mortality, as if teenage angst wasn't enough to deal with already. It puts things in perspective as to what is really important. This was an emotional thrill ride and I enjoyed every high and low. Would recommend this book to anyone who welcomes such a ride!!!! Kudos to John Green.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Fault in Our Stars

I bought this book for my Grandaughter.

02/13/2014
By ,
Schuylkill Haven, Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Grandaughter wanted this book for a Book report for School. She said it was an excellant book.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Fault in Our Stars

Great book at a grea price for a hardback cover.

06/03/2014
By ,
Frankfort, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a very good book and for a hard cover book it is a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Fault in Our Stars

TFiOS

05/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was touching, emotional, and tearful, with subtle hints of humor to add in the mix. 100% A+
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Fault in Our Stars

THE FAULT IN OUR STARTS FEEDBACK

06/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY DAUGHTER LOVES THE BOOK AND RECOMMENDS IT TO YOU ALL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Fault in Our Stars

Great read! Highly recommend this book.

03/17/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was recommended to me and after a quick internet search,Walmart had the best price. I received it within timeframe noted on site with no charge. I read it in 5 days but, I'm sure I could have read it in 2. The characters draw you in. Also, if you have been affected, in life at all, by cancer (yourself or you know someone), this book is gives you a glimpse into day to day reality with fun and strength.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Fault in Our Stars

Great book

01/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally purchased this book in a box set on Amazon after hearing several people suggest it, because Walmart hadn't started carrying it yet. It is a wonderful book that will make you happy and sad at the same time. You can really relate to the characters, which is something I always look for in a good book.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Fault in Our Stars

Daughter loved it!

02/02/2014
By ,
Berks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The price was reasonable on the Walmart website. I bought this book at my 10 year old's request. While it may be too inappropriate for most children her age, my daughter is mature enough to read and understand the book. She loved it so much, she is halfway through it a second time. She has also asked me to order two other books by John Green!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Fault in Our Stars

My daughter loves this book!

06/28/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this book for my 12yr old daughter who has been driving me crazy to get it for her since everyone in her school keeps raving about it and about the movie. I wanted her to read the book first before seeing the movie. It's cheaper than Barnes and Noble Bookstore especially for being a hardback book. I paid about $12 for the book through walmart which goes for about $18 at other book stores. Using the site to store was great. I had no problems. Tracking the order was easy. I would definitely use site to store and order through walmart again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Fault in Our Stars

Good book

05/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my daughter, who usually has a hard time getting into books and hates to read. She can't put it down! I definitely recommend this book.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Fault in Our Stars

BEST BOOK EVER

07/11/2014
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OMG I most definitely love this book. It is so sad but i have also seen the movie which is even better so i recommend everyone reading and seeing the movie but u might not want to watch the movie before you ready the book because the movie is based on the book so it was an awesome movie and book.The story takes place in Indianapolis, Indiana, where sixteen-year-old Hazel Grace Lancaster reluctantly attends a cancer patients' support group at her mother's behest. Because of her cancer, she uses a portable oxygen tank to breathe adequately. In one of the meetings she catches the eye of a teenage boy, and through the course of the meeting she learns the boy's name is Augustus Waters. He's there to support their mutual friend, Isaac. Isaac had a tumor in one eye that he had removed, and now he has to have his other eye taken out as well. After the meeting ends, Augustus approaches Hazel and tells her she looks like Natalie Portman in V for Vendetta. He invites Hazel to his house to watch the movie, and while hanging out, the two discuss their experiences with cancer. Hazel reveals she has thyroid cancer that has spread to her lungs. Augustus had osteosarcoma, but he is now cancer-free after having his leg amputated. Before Augustus takes Hazel home, they agree to read each other's favorite novels. Augustus gives Hazel The Price of Dawn, and Hazel recommends An Imperial Affliction.
Hazel explains the magnificence of An Imperial Affliction: it is a novel about a girl named Anna who has cancer, and it's the only account she's read of living with cancer that matches her experience. She describes how the novel maddeningly ends mid-sentence, denying the reader closure about the fate of the novel's characters. She speculates about the novel's mysterious author, Peter van Houten, who fled to Amsterdam after the novel was published and hasn't been heard from since.
A week after Hazel and Augustus discuss the literary meaning of An Imperial Affliction, Augustus miraculously reveals he tracked down Van Houten's assistant, Lidewij, and through her he's managed to start an email correspondence with the reclusive author. He shares Van Houten's letter with Hazel, and she devises a list of questions to send Van Houten, hoping to clear up the novel's ambiguous conclusion. Hazel is most concerned with the fate of Anna's mother. She figures that if Anna's mother survives her daughter's death, then her own parents will be all right after Hazel dies. Van Houten eventually replies, saying he could only answer Hazel's questions in person. He invites her to stop by if she is ever in Amsterdam.
Shortly after, Augustus invites Hazel on a picnic. It turns out he's planned an elaborate Dutch-themed picnic where he reveals that a charitable foundation that grants the wishes of kids with cancer has agreed to grant his: he's taking the two of them to Amsterdam to meet Van Houten. She is thrilled, but when he touches her face she feels hesitant for some reason. Over time she realizes that she likes him a lot, but she knows she'll hurt him when she dies. She compares herself to a grenade.
In the midst of her struggle over what to do about Augustus, Hazel suffers a serious episode in which her lungs fill with fluid and she goes to the ICU. When she is released after a period of days, she learns that Augustus never left the hospital's waiting room. He delivers Hazel another letter from Van Houten, this one more personal and more cryptic than the last. After reading the letter, Hazel is more determined than ever to go to Amsterdam. There is a problem though: her parents and her team of doctors don't think Hazel is strong enough to travel. The situation seems hopeless until one of the physicians most familiar with her case, Dr. Maria, convinces Hazel's parents that Hazel must travel because she needs to live her life.
The plans are made for Augustus, Hazel and Hazel's mother to go to Amsterdam, but when Hazel and Augustus meet Van Houten they find that, instead of a prolific genius, he is a mean-spirited drunk who claims he cannot answer any of Hazel's questions. The two leave Van Houten's in utter disappointment, and, accompanied by Lidewij, who feels horrified by Van Houten's behavior, they tour Anne Frank's house. At the end of the tour, Augustus and Hazel share a romantic kiss, to the applause of spectators. They then head back to the hotel, where they make love for the first time.
The following day, Augustus confesses that while Hazel was in the ICU he had a body scan which revealed his cancer has returned and spread everywhere. They return to Indianapolis, and Hazel realizes Augustus is now the grenade. As his condition worsens he is less prone to his typical charm and confidence. He becomes vulnerable and scared, but is still a beautiful boy in Hazel's mind. As this change occurs, she ceases calling him Augustus and starts referring to him as just Gus, as his parents do. Hazel recognizes that she loves him now as much as ever. Augustus' condition deteriorates quickly. In his final days Augustus arranges a pre-funeral for himself, and Isaac and Hazel give eulogies. Hazel steals a line from Van Houten about larger and smaller infinities. She says how much she loves Augustus, and that she would not trade their short time together for anything in the world.
Augustus dies eight days later. Hazel is astonished to find Van Houten at the funeral. Van Houten explains that he and Gus maintained correspondence and that Augustus demanded Van Houten make up for ruining the trip to Amsterdam by coming to his funeral to see Hazel. Van Houten abstractly reveals the fate of Anna's mother, but Hazel is not interested.
A few days later, Isaac informs Hazel that Augustus was writing something for her. He had hinted about writing a sequel to An Imperial Affliction for her, and as Hazel scrambles to locate the pages she encounters Van Houten once more. He drunkenly reveals that Anna was the name of his daughter. She died of cancer when she was eight, and An Imperial Affliction was his literary attempt at reconciling himself with her death. Hazel tells Van Houten to sober up and write another book.
Eventually Hazel learns that Augustus sent the pages to Van Houten because he wanted Van Houten to use the pages to compose a well-written eulogy about Hazel. Lidewij forces Van Houten to read the pages and sends them straight off to Hazel. The novel concludes with Hazel reading Augustus' words. He says getting hurt in this world is inevitable, but we do get to choose who we allow to hurt us, and that he is happy with his choice. He hopes she likes her choice too. The final words of the novel come from Hazel, who says she does.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Fault in Our Stars

Best book EVER!

07/14/2013
By ,
Fairyland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Though I did not buy this book from Wal-Mart, I borrowed it from a friend who bought it here. We both thoroughly enjoyed the book, I LOVE JOHN GREEN! It had me laughing all over at the witty jokes and crying like a baby for hours. I recommend this book for anybody wishing to be addicted to a book, you really cant put it down without feeling guilty. I have now lent this book to three more friends, who all love it and John Green. I first was introduced to John Green through this book, though have taken to reading two more, The Abundance of Katherines (my favorite) and Paper Towns (also amazing). Soon I hope to read Looking For Alaska. Everybody must read this book and fall in love with John Green like I did!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The Fault in Our Stars

Enjoyable

06/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book is good. It's an honest view of the harsh reality that happens every day to someone you may or may not know.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The Fault in Our Stars

Great book for anyone!

06/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this book was one of several birthday gifts for my daughter. she so loved it -- finished the book in a day. however she had to take several breaks to cry--good tears!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The Fault in Our Stars

Great book! Quick shipping!

06/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The Fault in Our Stars

good

04/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this book
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The Fault in Our Stars

Great Book for the price.

04/05/2014
By ,
Defiance,OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price for hardback, cheapest I have found online.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The Fault in Our Stars

One of my favorite books.

01/13/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I borrowed this from the library and after reading it, I knew I had to own it. Extremely well written. Had me laughing out loud at Starbucks. People probably thought I was crazy. Walmart.com had the best deal on this book so I snagged it up. You should, too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The Fault in Our Stars

Disappointed

02/13/2014
By ,
KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I went into this thinking it was going to be clean, written by a Christian and all. I was mistaken and that's all good, we all have different views about what a sin is and all of that. So, that was surprising to me, but the way the book was written...It was horrible. The characters weren't very believable, their conversations didn't make sense a lot of the time. I have a good friend who had Cystic Fibrosis and at this moment is dying. In ICU, barely hanging on. So that the girl complained about not remembering what it felt like to have working lungs really upset me. She did at one point have healthy lungs. I suppose if you don't know someone who has been worse off than the characters or you like books simply because the majority of people are amazed by them (50 Shades, Twilight...) then you might like this one too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next