Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Special Kitty Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food, 16 lb

Special Kitty Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food, 16 lb

Treat your cat to balanced nutrition with the Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food. This cat nutrition food includes fun shapes and the irresistible flavors of tuna, crab, lobster and shrimp that your cat will love. It contains high-quality, wholesome ingredients that promote a healthy heart and immune system for your furry friend. This dry cat food comes in a 16-pound bag.
Average Customer Rating:
4.21 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation87%33 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food, 16 lb

Amazing!

07/16/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 8 cats and they've been eating this product for over a month. At the same time, I've been giving them small amounts of the Special Kitty Premium Classic Pate every day. (Some of the females are so old they have no teeth and can't eat hard food, and the males need a little soft food now and again to keep them from getting crystals in their urinary tracts.) In the last week I've noticed that their coats are shinier than I've ever seen them and the few who'd stop cleaning themselves regularly have started again. Also, their stool is perfectly fine and not a single one of them has brought up a hairball in all that time! I'm amazed and delighted.
I was very suspicious of the product because of the price, but I'm truly happy with it now that I've used it. I'd definitely recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food, 16 lb

Good food at a great price

02/09/2012
By ,
Dutton, Mt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My cats like this food and I will buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food, 16 lb

Caused soft stool, LBM

04/24/2012
By ,
Long Beach, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This cat food caused my kittens to have soft stool, and even 2 of them suffered loose bowel movement after 2 days. Returned the bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
that's what happens...
Posted 10/25/2012
You returned it after 2 days? If you transition a cat to a new food in a matter of 2 days then they generally get soft stool. You're supposed to gradually, over several days, mix increasing amounts of the new food into the old brand so it doesn't have the exact effect you're complaining about.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food, 16 lb

MY CAT LOVES IT

09/19/2013
By ,
DENHAM SPRINGS,LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY RESCUE CAT AND FORMER CAT ,AND NEIGHBORS CAT LOVE IT. ONLY USE A SMALL QTY. EACH FEEDING. NEVER MORE THAN CAT CAN EAT. FRESH FOOD EACH FEEDING. THE FOOD LOOSES ITS MOISTURE/ SMELL QUICKLY. THE BAG IS WAX LINED, SO STAYS FRESH. PRICE IS GREAT. TRIED OTHER BRANDS, SPECIAL KITTY,GOURMET IS THE CHOICE OF ANY CAT I HAVE EVER FED IT TO., THE CATS COAT IS HEALTHY, CAT IS HEALTHY, HAPPY. THATS WHAT WE BOTH WANT. MY RESCUE CAT WAS THROWN OUT, DISEASED, FLEA INFESTED, ALMOST DEAD. A GREAT VET, A CARING LOCAL POUND, HAND FEEDING, AND A LOT OF LOVE, WITH SPECIAL KITTY. SHE IS NOW A HEALTHLY CAT, THAT LOVES TO PLAY.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food, 16 lb

My cats love this food

07/16/2012
By ,
Western Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It only cost me approximately $11.00 to have this delivered to my house. Considering that I have to drive 30 miles to the closest Wal-Mart, this is a great deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SC
Don't Pay for Shipping
Posted 08/27/2012
This catfood ships free to home. Check it out.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food, 16 lb

MY CAT LOVES THIS FOOD.

02/01/2014
By ,
mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IT'S GOOD FOR MY CAT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food, 16 lb

Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food

07/08/2012
By ,
Shelby NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great cat food for a great price.........this is only cat food that my cat will it. It has everything that cats need to be healthly and they enjoy it. My cat's name is Gypsie and she thinks this is best stuff in the world. She will not eat any can cat foods, she don't care for the other name brand cat foods, this is what she eats and loves and she is very healthy.
Your cat will love it too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food, 16 lb

special kitty gourmet cat food

07/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better value the brand name catfood and its value priced. Shipping of online orders is fast and easy and shipping is hassle free and quick.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food, 16 lb

Cat's Meow

07/29/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife said "You ordered cat food!" Why not? It was a couple bucks less than the store, and with the Styrofoam bowls I ordered to complete the order, I got free home shipping and delivery in 2 days! My cats love it too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food, 16 lb

With more than 2 cats this is worth the cost.

12/23/2012
By ,
Lake County
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I usually buy a better name brand and then a bag of any of the flavors. Not as nutrious as some foods but good for those who have more than 2 cats siince price is good and mine love it as much as the Purina. I serve this every other day. There are a few expensive brands that are exact or less nutrious then this food.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food, 16 lb

Wow it was a big bag, he loves it

05/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a new cat he has just turned 1 on the Cinco De Mayo holiday, and it will be nice to keep him happy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food, 16 lb

Made my cats throw up

01/12/2014
By ,
PR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Two of my cats threw up after eating this food, they are healthy cats that have never had any intestinal problems. I can see the quality gets worse every time. I had bought it before occasionally without problems but I never really trusted the quality, so this time I bought it because I ran out of the food they eat and there weren't many options in the store shelves.
Not buying it again, ever.
Also the Special Kitty canned food once made ALL my cats(had about 6 that time) throw up.
I don't recommend it. Spend 2 or 3 dollars more and buy a different brand. I'm throwing it out immediately.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food, 16 lb

Others are better

06/02/2013
By ,
McFadden's Bluff,IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After feeding my adult cat Special Kitty for several bags,he seemed to not be eating like I thought he should be. Along with SK on the Walmart shelf was Whiskas Meaty Selections Dry. About the same price,so bought a bag. Putting a bowl of each out for him made it plain the WMS was much prefered by a wide margin. Switching bowl locations sent him searching out the Whiskas without even touching the SK. To be fair,perhaps he's only burnt out on the SK and the WMS is new and more exciting to him. Time will tell,but for now,we have a new cat food,still at Walmart prices!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food, 16 lb

kitty loves it

11/13/2013
By ,
monroe nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
our cat loves the food and I love that it comes straight to our front door.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food, 16 lb

my cat must know something we don't

06/20/2013
By ,
duncan,sc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this would be great value if my cat would eat it for two week my cat refused to eat this food maybe because we have been buying 9 lives daily essentials before and we bought it we got tight on money today we brought back special kitty and buy the 9 lives again and my cat love it. it must be quality of food in it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food, 16 lb

It is not gluten free

12/03/2012
By ,
NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have switched foods for my cats (3 adult males) two of them have asthma problems and I have been told not to give them food with wheat because it aggravates their condition. Also, to aid with this condition, I should give them omega 3 in their food.
Unfortunately, special kitty is NOT gluten free! So, I will not give them this any more! I love them that much!!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food, 16 lb

My Cats

07/22/2013
By ,
Dorchester Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My cats loved this food. They are outside strays but they are mine, I needed something to give them that tastes great and looks great. Cheaper prices does not mean less value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food, 16 lb
03/10/2013
By ,
Memphis, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My cats love this food, it is reasonable and best part of it is that it is shipped straight to my
door free... can't beat that
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food, 16 lb
03/08/2013
By ,
Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FINALLY found a dry cat food my picky cats will eat !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Special Kitty Premium Gourmet Cat Food, 16 lb

My Cats Like It

03/21/2013
By ,
Norman,Ok.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My cats like the taste & I feed it as a meal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next