Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Yard Machines Yard Machines 24" 208cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Yard Machines Yard Machines 24" 208cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

The Yard Machines 24" 208cc Two Stage Snow Thrower is a powerful, hard-working machine that makes the hard work of eliminating snow easier. This sturdy two stage snow thrower completes the job quickly and efficiently, leaving you more time to attend to other tasks. A push button provides easy electric starting, and the machine boasts enough power for clearing moderate snow conditions on medium sized driveways, sidewalks or patios.
Average Customer Rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation96%50 out of 52reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 38 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Yard Machines 24" 208cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Excellent machine for the price..

12/24/2012
By ,
Fridley MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used only once so far. Seems to do the job. Even has a light on front.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Yard Machines 24" 208cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

This is the one you need

01/05/2013
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At this point, I have only used it once - and am satisfied. From experience, this works great with a 6-8" snowfall. It also does a good job of completely removing the snow, and not leaving residual snow behind.
I am very glad I went with the 208cc instead of the 179cc I was considering. For a $100 difference, the larger motor (and headlight!) are worth it. The electric start is a great feature too.
Past my driveway, there is a small section of gravel - and when I was clearing that part, I heard noises 30+ feet away ..... it was gravel hitting mailboxes from this blower. So I had to be more careful and not let the blades get so close to the ground off of the pavement. Also beware of welcome mats that may be buried under the snow .... found that out the hard way.
During the first use it will blow snow further after 5-10 minutes of use (I read this in the manual and it is true.) Also mine came with some oil already in it - so you will only have to add a little your first time.
This blower is making me anxious for the next heavy snow fall!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Yard Machines 24" 208cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Great Machine

02/05/2014
By ,
Ridgefield, Ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really impressed today 2/5/14 with this machine. We had a 8 inch snow fall and then it rained, making this snow extremely heavy. I thought that I was going to have problems removing this snow, but this machine went through it very easily. I did spray the exhaust shoot with silicone and I never had one jam. The electric starter in a great feature and works perfectly. and this engine has a lot of power.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
PA
How far did it throw that heavy 8"?
Posted 02/18/2014
I have a long driveway without anyplace to put much snow along a good 20' of it. If this blower can throw that much of that kind of snow farther than 15' then it's perfect. Now I need to throw it two, even three times just to get it away and this makes even powdery snow much denser...
0points
Customer Avatar
Pa
wieght
Posted 02/06/2014
Is the weight really only 110 pounds as Walmart has for the specs? Just wondering because other similar blowers are 180 to 190 pounds. The lighter the better for me. Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Yard Machines 24" 208cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

All around great value, excellent snow blower

12/27/2013
By ,
Paw Paw, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Site to store pick-up, fully assembled, oil already in it, just had to add the gas & go! This Snow Blower totally exceeded my expectations 10 fold! Living in the snow belt with Lake Effect snow showers, it plowed through a 10" accumulation like a breeze. For me, having had 5 back surgeries, it handles like a charm with no effort on my behalf. TOTALLY LOVE this blower, so happy I chose this one over the many I compared :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Yard Machines 24" 208cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Good snow blower

12/22/2013
By ,
Pulaski, ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only used it 3 times this year so far but it works well. The only complaint I have is that the reverse gears 1 and 2 are slow.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Yard Machines 24" 208cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Great machine at the best price.

01/24/2012
By ,
Mauston, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you go to www.mtd.com you can see who sells what models. Wal-Mart has the same models for about the same price if not better then others & has the headlight! I bought this model in Sept. & was super easy to set up. 98% assembled. Put on the handle & chute, double check the oil to be sure & fill the gas tank. Itried the electric start, but haven't needed to use it since it starts so easy. Usually on the 1st. or 2nd. pull. Then I turn the choke to the halfway position for about 15 to 30 seconds & then to full open.
Once I turn it off, I always turn the choke back on, leave the key in it, slide the slow/fast (Run) lever back to fast (Run.) Then I leave it outside & just cover it well with a full size tarp. I'm going to get the cover for it though. This is a great machine at a great price. The only thing I don't like it the super slow Reverse on it, but when you release the drive handle, push down slightly it pulls back very easy on it's large enough wheels. Most machine have slow reverse because you are backing up a snowblower on snow & ice. If you went too fast & slipped you could get hurt. Awesome machine & made in the USA!!! Below it asks how often do I use it. I use it when ever needed as not even the weatherman can tell me how many times it will snow per week or month...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Yard Machines 24" 208cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Good machine. great price.

02/16/2014
By ,
Lebanon,PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The machine does a great job. The day I got it, it snowed the next 3 days. We had 18 inches the 1st day, 6-8 inches 2nd day and 1 inch of wet snow the 3rd day. It threw the snow over 20 feet.The wet snow about 3 feet. It clogged only one time in those 3 days. The machine didn't labor or rev up. it ran the same when it was cutting or just running. My neighbor said it sounded quieter then his. It's a little tough to spin it around. the wheels seem to have some resistance. I was a little disappointed.I tried to pull start it the first time and it wouldn't start. I used the electric started right up. Had to put more gas in shut it off. Took about 12-15 pulls to get it running again. It looks like you need full throttle and 1 or 2 clicks of choke and no priming . I've got it down to 2-3 pulls now. It seems to need very little choke even when it's cold. The starter pulls through very easily. When the plow came by and piled 2 feet high of snow at the end of my driveway. It went easily through it. I'm very happy with the machine. I have an MTD 2 cycle one stage electric start 21 inch snowblower I had for 20 years. It still works well. I changed the spark plug for the first time in that 20 years. I'm giving the machine to my daughter. I'm very happy with MTD Products.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Yard Machines 24" 208cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Love This!

12/27/2013
By ,
CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love my new snow blower! My husband passed away almost 3 years ago and I needed something that was easy to use and operate. My old snow blower decided to quit on me in last year's huge snow storm and I recently went out to purchase this one and am so glad I did! It's saved me so much time already plowing my driveway and very long sidewalk! I would definately recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Yard Machines 24" 208cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

A VERY GOOD SNOW BLOWER.

12/14/2013
By ,
06401
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HAS AN ELECTIC START, WORKS WELL. ALSO VERY EASY TO START MANUALLY, 1ST PULL. AND DOES HANDLE THE SNOW (9") WITH EASE .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Yard Machines 24" 208cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Good Snowblower

12/14/2013
By ,
Elkhart, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does an excellent job at clearing snow. Works best on flat, level surfaces. My only complaint is that it's difficult to turn due to its weight, even when the auger is engaged. Overall, it does a great job. Starts without a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Yard Machines 24" 208cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Good thrower

11/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is easy to assemble. And it worked very well on the heavy and wet snow like we got in October this year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
e hampton ct
first new snow blower
Posted 01/23/2012
i am getting this next weekend. i cant wait..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Yard Machines 24" 208cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Just in time.

02/11/2013
By ,
Webster NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just purchased this at the end of January to replace my 28 year old MTD single stage snow blower, that needed a new carb because of the new E-10 gasoline. I did not realize that you need to add ethylalcohol gas treatment to your gas at all times now. I just mix the treatment in the 5 gallon gas can every time i fill it up from here on out.I live in Webster N.Y.on lake Ontario just outside of Rochester, and we just got hit with some major snow this past weekend and the new snow blower cut it like a hot knife throught butter. Checked out many snow blowers on line and at Sears, Home Depot, Lowes, and the local small shops. Was considering a similar sized Sno-Tek, but read some bad reviews about plastic gears in the auger assembly. Read good things about the PowerMore engine, and i knew that Yardman MTD were built to last from past experience . Also checked out what Consumer Reports had to say about the model i had purchased, and it was all good.The Sno-Tek had better snow shoot controls, but i wanted a snowblower that will last me another 28 years, and not one that mite last 28 months.Snowblower from Wal-mart with free delivery $598, chompin through 2.5 ft. of snow and ice at the end of the driveway like a spoon through lumpy oatmeal,PRICELESS !!!!!!!!! P.S. set was easy , about 15 minutes. Mine came with oil,but its always a good idea to check it anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Yard Machines 24" 208cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Wish I'd had it years ago!

12/26/2013
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll keep it short. In my opinion, this is a great machine. It took all of 5 minutes to get it out of the crate, assembled and ready to run. Everything works as advertised. I am very happy with the whole experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Yard Machines 24" 208cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Great Buy!!!

12/17/2011
By ,
Cary, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Buy but big! Big is cool. After getting it unpacked and a little minor assembly (make sure you adjust the skid shoes on each side!), filled it full of gas and it started on the first 1/2 pull! (which is very easy also).
Another bonus it came with electric start (I don't remember reading that on the description) but very handy also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Yard Machines 24" 208cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

very good

12/23/2012
By ,
white mountains of arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I came home from Phx to the White Mountains and found 14 inches of wet snow in my driveway. I went into the garage and plugged the electric start in and the machine fired right up, the first time I had started it. It handled this snow easily, never plugged up. I went slow but in one hour all of my driveway was done. In the past it would have tqaken me 4 hours to shovel it. No back ache now. Love the machine, well built and easy to handle.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Yard Machines 24" 208cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Easy to put together, Snow Blower

11/11/2013
By ,
Amsterdam, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snow Blower, easy to put together. No Snow yet, but started right up. Had a previous 22" MTD Snow Blower just a step down, from this one. Price, size, light is why I bought this model. Looks impressive, w/shoes, and past experience w/this American made product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Yard Machines 24" 208cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Good value.

10/05/2012
By ,
Wappingers Falls, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall very good. I purchased as a gift for my Son. It was delivered on time and assembled very easy . It started easy and runs well. The only dissapointment was that the light did not have an on/off switch. The light is always on when running.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Yard Machines 24" 208cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Good unit!

02/19/2014
By ,
branchburg, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to replace my 15 year old MTD blower which I never had any repairs on in all that time. This unit is a little smaller than my old one, but performed admirably in a recent 10" snowfall. It would struggle with a really heavy snowfall of 15" I'll bet, but thankfully we don't get too many of those. It's easy to maneuver, starts easily (and has an electric start feature), and moves along pretty fast at the top speed.
You'll need a truck to pick it up at the store, as it comes in a big box with wooden framing. It's 95% assembled and was a snap to get it 100% assembled.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Yard Machines 24" 208cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Great machine

05/20/2014
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good control layout. Easy starting engine. Well built. E=xpect to get many years out of this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Yard Machines 24" 208cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Awesome!

02/19/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked this up right after the snow this week. We got about 8 inches. It was easy to put together and I had it up and running in about 30 minutes. Don't forget to buy oil too. It cut through the snow that had been built up and through in far into the yard. It had a tough time with the slush at the bottom of the driveway but easily plowed through the snow that was up to 2 feet on sidewalks. I would recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next